DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species
Species 1: Claims 82-92.
Species 2: Claims 93-102.
Species 3: Claims 103-113.
Species 4: Claims 114-120.
The species are independent or distinct because they are different embodiments/devices. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, no claims are generic.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Geoffrey Dekleine on 4/8/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species 1, claims 82-92. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 93-120 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Double Patenting
Claims 82-92 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-44 of U.S. Patent No. 12053623 and 1-62 of US Patent No. 11179557 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the application claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 82-92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Georges (US 2022/0323744 A1).
Regarding claim 82, Georges discloses A modular implantable medical device (eg. Para. 146-153), comprising:- a functional unit intracorporeally implantable (eg. Para. 36, 43, 174, claim 9);- a control wire configured to attach to and project from the functional unit (eg. Para. 272, 326, 516, 536, 548, 549, 568, 594-595); and- a docking unit configured to intracorporeally dock the functional unit (eg. Para. 146, 220, 272-278, 319-327, Fig. 10, 32-34, 37, Para. 517, docking unit 602), wherein at least one of the control wire and the docking unit is further configured to be moved relative to the other one of the control wire and the docking unit for intracorporeally docking the functional unit and the docking unit together, when the control wire is attached to the functional unit (eg. Para. 272-278, 319-327, 1163-1183, 1191-1200, 1201-1207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the embodiments of Georges to have alternative equivalent ways to connect the control wire and functional units with the central docking unit as desired.
Regarding claim 83, Georges discloses the control wire is extracorporeally pullable for intracorporeally docking the functional unit to the docking unit, and is extracorporeally pushable for intracorporeally undocking the functional unit from the docking unit (eg. Para. 278, 326, 421, 460, 532, 545, 564).
Regarding claim 84, Georges discloses the functional unit is intracorporeally operable, and the control wire is configured for the functional unit attached to the control wire to be electrically operated through the control wire (eg. Para. 516, 548, 567, 594, 616).
Regarding claim 85, Georges discloses one or more of the functional units for a total of two or more functional units, and one or more of the control wires for a total of two or more control wires; the two or more functional units being intracorporeally implantable; each one of the two or more control wires being configured to attach to and project from a respective one of the two or more functional units; the docking unit being further configured to intracorporeally dock the two or more functional units; and at least one of the docking unit and the two or more control wires being further configured to be moved relative to the other one of the docking unit and the two or more control wires for intracorporeally docking the two or more functional units and the docking unit together, when the two or more control wires are respectively attached to the two or more functional units (eg. Fig. 7, Para. 272-277, 319-327, 369-377, 410-421, 516-517).
Regarding claim 86, Georges discloses the two or more functional units are arrangeable substantially coaxially relative to each other when undocked from the docking unit and enclosed in a sheath, and are substantially transversally arranged one next to another when docked to the docking unit (Eg. Para. 9, Para. 272-278, 319-327, 369-377, 410-421, 452-461, 482-484, 532-542).
Regarding claim 87, Georges discloses the docking unit is electrically non- powerable (eg. 319-327, 369-377, 410-421, 452-461, 482-484, 532-542, mechanical coupling).
Regarding claim 88, Georges discloses the docking unit and the functional unit are free from magnetic interaction therebetween for intracorporeally operating the functional unit (eg. 319-327, 369-377, 410-421, 452-461, 482-484, 532-542, mechanical coupling using inter-receiving-surface portions).
Regarding claim 89, Georges discloses the docking unit is non-expandable (eg. Para. 146).
Regarding claim 90, Georges discloses the docking unit is intracorporeally non- anchorable by itself (eg. Para. 319-327, 369-377, 410-421, 452-461, 482-484, 532-542, using wires).
Regarding claim 91, Georges discloses an anchor configured to couple to the docking unit; the anchor including an unanchored configuration for intracorporeal delivery of the docking unit, and an anchored configuration for intracorporeally anchoring the docking unit; the functional unit being intracorporeally non- dockable to the docking unit coupled to the anchor in the unanchored configuration; and the functional unit being intracorporeally dockable between the docking unit and the anchor coupled to the docking unit and in the anchored configuration (eg. Para. 410-421, 474-484, 503, 507-517, 532, 533, 542-549).
Regarding claim 92, Georges discloses the functional unit is a transcatheterly implantable blood pump, and the control wire is an electrical wire configured for the transcatheterly implantable blood pump to be electrically operated therethrough (eg. Abstract, Para. 21, 26, 47, 525, 531, 540, 542, 557, 578, 606).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796