DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 08/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 and 24-37 are pending. Claims 3 and 35 are withdrawn. Claims 21-23 are cancelled. Claims 36 and 37 are new.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 06/18/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 23, the status identifier “Currently Amended)” should apparently be replaced with “Cancelled”, or the like (due to its dependency from cancelled claim 22).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: high-pressure cleaning apparatus in claim 34, hard surface cleaning apparatus in claim 34, and dry ice cleaning apparatus in claim 34.
Based on a review of the specifications, there do not appear to be structural examples provided by which the terms may be interpreted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 34 recites the features high-pressure cleaning apparatus, hard surface cleaning apparatus, and dry ice cleaning apparatus, which are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). However, the specification as filed does not appear to provide structural examples of these terms.
Claims 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-pressure” in claim 34 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-pressure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 36 recites the limitation "the indication" in line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 36, the phrase “the indication” in line 14 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear exactly what this is referring to. If new claim 36 is intended to be in response to allowable subject matter for claim 8 as discussed in the Office action mailed 03/12/2026 (and repeated below), such that new claim 36 is that claim 8 written in independent claim form, it is noted that claim 8 depends from claim 5. However, the limitations of claim 5, which would provide antecedent basis and clarification for “the indication” in new claim 36, are not included in new claim 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 12-18, 20, 24, 26-28 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2017/0049288 to Knutson et al. (“Knutson”).
Regarding claim 1, Knutson teaches a cleaning system (abstract, Fig. 1, para [0050] – [0051)), comprising a cleaning apparatus with at least one cleaning tool (Fig. 1, ref. 22, 30 and 32, para [0018]), a sensor device for detecting a propagation of vibrations due to the operation of the cleaning apparatus and providing input information related thereto (Fig. 4A, ref. 50, para [0051] – [0051]), and a data processing device on which an application program is running or is runnable, in which the input information is able to be analyzed (Fig. 2, ref. 10 and 18, para [0019], [0050] – [0051]), wherein, by means of the analysis of the input information, it is ascertainable whether the detected propagation of vibrations is an abnormal propagation of vibrations which is indicative of an actual operating state which deviates from a normal operating state of the cleaning apparatus, wherein, depending on the deviation, a cause of the abnormal propagation of vibrations is determinable and/or a corrective measure with regard to correcting the cause of the abnormal propagation of vibrations is providable by the data processing device (para [00580] – [0051]).
Knutson does not explicitly teach the system wherein the propagation of vibrations is detected at successive time intervals and/or is recorded for a specified period of time for analysis by the data processing device.
However, since Knutson discloses the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed system, the Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 can be made when the prior art product seems to be identical except that the prior art is silent as to an inherent characteristic. MPEP 2112(III)(A).
Once a reference teaching a product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. MPEP 2112(V).
Regarding claim 2, Knutson discloses a system wherein the sensor device comprises at least one microphone, and wherein the abnormal propagation of vibrations is or comprises a noise that occurs during operation of the cleaning apparatus (para [0050] – [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Knutson does not explicitly teach the system being operated in a manner wherein the cause of the abnormal propagation of vibrations comprises at least one of the following: - a fault or an impending fault of the cleaning apparatus; - a fault or an impending fault of at least one functional unit and/or at least one cleaning tool; - excessive wear or progressive wear of a functional unit of the cleaning apparatus and/or at least one cleaning tool; - incorrect operation by an operator; - a shortage or excess of a consumable component for operating the cleaning apparatus. However, since Knutson discloses the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed system, the Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 5, Knutson discloses a system wherein the cleaning system comprises an indicator unit, at which an indication is configured to be output to an operator as a corrective measure regarding the cause of the abnormal propagation of vibrations (Fig. 5, ref. 92A-C, ref. para [0026], [0062]).
Regarding claim 6, Knutson discloses a cleaning system wherein the indicator unit is or comprises at least one of the following: - an optical display unit, with a controllable image display; - an acoustic indicator unit; and - a haptic indicator unit (Fig. 5, ref. 92A-C, ref. para [0026], [0062]).
Regarding claim 7, Knutson discloses a system wherein the indication comprises corrective information for the operator to correct the cause of the abnormal propagation of vibrations (para [0038], [0048], [0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Knutson discloses a system wherein the cleaning apparatus comprises the sensor device and/or the data processing device and/or an indicator unit for outputting an indication regarding the cause of the abnormal propagation of vibrations (para [0044], [0045], [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Knutson discloses a system wherein the cleaning apparatus comprises a control unit for controlling the operation of the cleaning apparatus, wherein the control unit comprises or forms the data processing device (Fig. 2, ref. 10 and 18, para [0019], [0050] – [0051]).
Regarding claim 14, Knutson discloses a system wherein the cleaning system comprises a portable capturing apparatus which comprises the sensor device, the data processing device and/or an indicator unit for outputting an indication relating to the abnormal propagation of vibrations (para [0058], [0063], Fig. 1, ref. 22, 30 and 32, para [0018], Fig. 4A, ref. 50, para [0051] – [0051], and Fig. 2, ref. 10 and 18, para [0019], [0050] – [0051]).
Regarding claim 15, Knutson discloses a system wherein the capturing apparatus is one of the following: smartphone, tablet computer, laptop computer, smartwatch (para [0058], [0063]).
Regarding claim 16, Knutson discloses a system wherein the capturing apparatus is detachably connected or is configured to be detachably connected to the cleaning apparatus (para [0058], [0063]).
Regarding claim 17, Knutson discloses a system wherein the cleaning apparatus has a receptacle useful for the capturing apparatus, on which receptacle the capturing apparatus is arrangeable in a defined position (para [0042])).
Regarding claim 18, Knutson discloses a system wherein at least one electrical connection element for electrically connecting the capturing apparatus to the cleaning apparatus is arranged on the receptacle, and/or wherein the data processing device of the capturing device is couplable wirelessly to a control unit of the cleaning apparatus (para [0017], [0027], [0043] – [0050], [0098]).
Regarding claim 20, Knutson does not explicitly teach the system wherein the propagation of vibrations is recorded and/or monitored for a specified period of time to create the input information. However, since Knutson discloses the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed system, the Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 24, Knutson discloses a control unit (Fig. 2, ref. 10 and 18, para [0019], [0050] – [0051]), but does not explicitly teach the system being operated in a manner wherein a communication connection between the data processing device and a control unit of the cleaning apparatus is provided, wherein a detection of the propagation of vibrations, the provision of the input information and/or an analysis of the input information only takes place when the cleaning apparatus, in particular at least one functional unit and/or a cleaning tool of the cleaning apparatus, is in operation. However, since Knutson discloses the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed system, the Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 26, Knutson discloses a system wherein the cleaning system in the cleaning apparatus and/or in the capturing apparatus comprises a storage device (para [0036], [0050]), and wherein the wherein the cleaning apparatus and/or the capturing apparatus is connectable to a spatially remotely arranged data processing device via a communication interface and the abnormal propagation of vibrations and/or the input information is transmittable to the data processing device (para [0058], [0063]), but does not explicitly teach the system being operated in a manner wherein the storage device is used for storing the detected abnormal propagation of vibrations and/or the input information. However, since Knutson discloses the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed system, the Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 27, Knutson does not disclose the system being operated in a manner wherein the analysis of the input information by the application program is configured to be carried out in accordance with at least one of the following methods: use of a neural network, K-nearest neighbor analysis, decision tree method, machine learning algorithm, deep learning technology. However, since Knutson discloses the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed system, the Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 28, Knutson discloses a system wherein the data processing device comprises a communication interface (Fig. 5, para [0017], [0057]) but does not explicitly teach the system being operated in a manner wherein the communication interface is used for transmitting an update of the application program. However, since Knutson discloses the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed system, the Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 32, Knutson discloses a system wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to be self-propelled and self-steering (para [0004], [0019], [0072]). It is noted that the present specification does not appear to demonstrate the criticality of the cleaning apparatus being self-propelled and self-steering (note present claim 33).
Regarding claim 33, Knutson discloses a system wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to be user-guided and comprises an operating unit for guiding the cleaning apparatus (para [0004], [0019]). It is noted that the present specification does not appear to demonstrate the criticality of the cleaning apparatus being user-guided and comprising an operating unit for guiding the cleaning apparatus (note present claim 32).
Regarding claim 34, Knutson discloses a system wherein the cleaning apparatus is one of the following: scrubber-dryer, sweeper, high-pressure cleaning apparatus, suction device for cleaning purposes, mopping device, hard surface cleaning apparatus, dry ice cleaning apparatus (para [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 19, 25 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0049288 to Knutson et al. (“Knutson”).
Regarding claim 11, Knutson does not explicitly teach the system wherein the cleaning system comprises, arranged spatially remotely from the data processing device, a further data processing device to which information about the cause of the abnormal propagation of vibrations and/or, if the cause is unable to be ascertained, information relating to this is transmittable. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Knutson system wherein it includes a further data processing system, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance processing power, save time and provide for backup. Note that duplication of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). The modified Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the recited manner.
Regarding claim 19, Knutson discloses an operating unit of the cleaning apparatus, on which at least one operating element for operating the cleaning apparatus by an operator is arranged (Fig. 2, ref. 20, para [0013]), but does not explicitly teach the system wherein the receptacle is arranged on an operating unit of the cleaning apparatus, on which at least one operating element for operating the cleaning apparatus by an operator is arranged. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Knutson system wherein the receptacle is arranged on an operating unit of the cleaning apparatus, on which at least one operating element for operating the cleaning apparatus by an operator is arranged, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance convenience for an operator. Note that rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 25, Knutson discloses a system wherein the data processing device is arranged spatially separated from the sensor device (note Fig. 4A) and wireless communication (para [0057] – [0061]), but does not explicitly teach the system wherein the data processing device is connectable to said sensor device via a wireless communication connection, via which the abnormal propagation of vibrations and/or the input information is transmittable to the data processing device. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Knutson system wherein the data processing device is connectable to said sensor device via a wireless communication connection, via which the abnormal propagation of vibrations and/or the input information is transmittable to the data processing device, with a reasonable expectation of success, in view of the disclosure of wireless communication and in order to enhance process control and communication.
Regarding claim 29, Knutson does not explicitly teach the system wherein the cleaning system comprises two or more cleaning apparatuses, in particular of the same type. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Knutson system wherein it includes two or more cleaning apparatuses, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance cleaning, save time and provide for backup. Note that duplication of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 30, Knutson does not explicitly teach the system wherein the cleaning system comprises two or more data processing devices which are assigned to the cleaning apparatuses, wherein the application program, depending on a location of use of the cleaning apparatuses, is the same for locations of use of the same type or differs for different locations of use. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Knutson system wherein it includes two or more data processing devices, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance process control, save time and provide for backup. Note that duplication of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Further, the modified Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 31, Knutson discloses a system wherein the data processing device comprises a communication interface (Fig. 5, para [0017], [0057]) but does not explicitly teach the system being operated in a manner wherein the communication interface is used for transmitting an update of the application program and wherein the application programs are synchronizable with one another in the case of a location of use of the same type. However, since Knutson discloses the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed system, the Knutson system appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 37 is allowed.
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, and are objected to on other grounds as discussed above, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if amended to cure the other objection issues.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art reference is US 2017/0049288 to Knutson et al. The prior art references of record, taken alone or in combination, do not anticipate or suggest fairly the limitations of: wherein the indication in the case of ambiguous determination of the cause of the abnormal propagation of vibrations comprises the specification of a plurality of possible causes (as in claim 8), or wherein the corrective measure comprises the decommissioning of the cleaning apparatus or of a functional unit of the cleaning apparatus and/or of a cleaning tool which has been identified as the cause of the abnormal propagation of vibrations (as in claims 10 and 37), in combination with the other structural elements as instantly recited. Upon further search no other prior art has been located at the date of this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the applied art does not teach or suggest that the propagation of vibrations is detected at successive time intervals, or recording the vibrations for a specified period of time for analysis by the data processing device (remarks, page 12, last para), a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the lack of written description rejections of claim 34 is improper since claim 34 was presented as-is in the original filing (remarks, page 13, last para), it is noted that applicant’s argument, and MPEP 608.04 (cited by applicant), address the issue of new matter. However, there is not a new matter rejection, but rather lack of written description rejections for the mean-plus-function terms of the claim.
Regarding applicant’s assertion that the skilled artisan would readily understand what the various cleaning apparatuses recited in claim 34 are (remarks, page 14, first para), it is noted that arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. MPEP 2145.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714