DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because a bracket ([]) should embrace the illustrations of Figs. 8A-B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6394138, Vu.
Note, the terms i-Block, i-Bridge and K1S manifold are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, and the specification fails to define said terms. The Examiner is one having ordinary skill in the art of pipe couplings where instant application is classified.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses a delivery system comprising: a modular flow substrate comprising an i-Block (214) and an i-Bridge(232); wherein the i-Block comprises a first i-Block conduit port (252), a second i-Block conduit port (252), a plurality of mounting apertures (214), a connection depression (218), at least one i-Block connection aperture and a fluid pathway extending between the first i-Block conduit port and the second i-Block conduit port; wherein the i-Bridge (col, 11, lines 44-59) comprises an i-Bridge conduit port, a manifold connection conduit port, at least one connection aperture, at least one mounting aperture, a connection protrusion (left end), and a fluid pathway extending between the i-Bridge conduit port and the manifold connection conduit port, wherein the connection protrusion is sized and configured to fit within the connection depression of the i-Block and wherein the at least one connection aperture is configured to match with the at least one i-Block connection aperture to allow for a fastener to secure the i-Bridge to the i-Block to form the modular flow substrate, wherein the plurality of mounting apertures of the modular flow substrate are configured to couple the modular flow substrate to at least one manifold and at least one fluid handling component.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses the i-Bridge includes a component attachment surface.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses a valve (260), pressure transducer, filter, or regulator is attached to the component attachment surface.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses the at least one manifold is configured to be connected to the i-Bridge via the manifold connection conduit port.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses the i-Bridge conduit port is defined within the connection protrusion.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses the i-Bridge includes two connection apertures, and wherein the connection apertures are disposed in line with the i-Bridge conduit port.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses the i-Bridge includes two connection apertures, and wherein the connection apertures are disposed asymmetrically in relation to the i-Bridge conduit port.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses the modular flow substrate is formed from a solid block of material that includes stainless steel (the manifold blocks can be formed of a 316L stainless steel), hastelloy, aluminum, brass, or polymer.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses the first and second i-Block conduit ports are defined in a component attachment surface of the i-Block.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 11-19 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Vu discloses a K1S manifold is connected to a lower surface of the i-Bridge (lower surface is considered to be toward the right end of the manifold).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20060027274, Funes.
Note, the terms i-Block, i-Bridge and K1S manifold are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, and the specification fails to define said terms. The Examiner is one having ordinary skill in the art of pipe couplings where instant application is classified.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses a delivery system comprising: a modular flow substrate comprising an i-Block (T2) and an i-Bridge (T3); wherein the i-Block comprises a first i-Block conduit port (82a), a second i-Block conduit port (82b), a plurality of mounting apertures (82, 84), a connection depression (64c), at least one i-Block connection aperture and a fluid pathway extending between the first i-Block conduit port and the second i-Block conduit port; wherein the i-Bridge comprises an i-Bridge conduit port, a manifold connection conduit port, at least one connection aperture (82a), at least one mounting aperture (82b), a connection protrusion (64b), and a fluid pathway extending between the i-Bridge conduit port and the manifold connection conduit port, wherein the connection protrusion is sized and configured to fit within the connection depression of the i-Block and wherein the at least one connection aperture is configured to match with the at least one i-Block connection aperture to allow for a fastener to secure the i-Bridge to the i-Block to form the modular flow substrate, wherein the plurality of mounting apertures of the modular flow substrate are configured to couple the modular flow substrate to at least one manifold and at least one fluid handling component.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses the i-Bridge includes a component attachment surface.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses a valve (51-56), pressure transducer, filter, or regulator is attached to the component attachment surface.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses the at least one manifold is configured to be connected to the i-Bridge via the manifold connection conduit port.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses the connection protrusion and the connection depression include correspondingly rounded edges.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses the i-Bridge conduit port is defined within the connection protrusion.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses the i-Bridge includes two connection apertures, and wherein the connection apertures are disposed in line with the i-Bridge conduit port.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses the i-Bridge includes two connection apertures, and wherein the connection apertures are disposed asymmetrically in relation to the i-Bridge conduit port.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses the first and second i-Block conduit ports are defined in a component attachment surface of the i-Block.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses the i-Bridge conduit port includes a leak port (85, 86).
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Funes discloses a K1S manifold is connected to a lower surface of the i-Bridge (T4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu.
In regards to claims 5-6, Vu discloses the claimed invention except for the connection protrusion and the connection depression include correspondingly rounded or right angle edges. Applicant has failed to provide criticality for rounded or right angle edges, and the Vu invention in fully capable of having rounded or right angle edges. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funes.
In regards to claim 6, Funes discloses the claimed invention except for the connection protrusion and the connection depression include correspondingly rounded or right angle edges. Applicant has failed to provide criticality for rounded or right angle edges, and the Funes invention in fully capable of having rounded or right angle edges. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regards to claim 10, Funes discloses the claim invention except for the modular flow substrate being formed from a solid block of material that includes stainless steel, hastelloy, aluminum, brass, or polymer. Applicant has failed to provide criticality for the modular flow substrate being formed from a solid block of material that includes stainless steel, hastelloy, aluminum, brass, or polymer, and the Funes invention is fully capable of being formed from a solid block of material that includes stainless steel, hastelloy, aluminum, brass, or polymer. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate the modular flow substrate from a solid block of material that includes stainless steel, hastelloy, aluminum, brass, or polymer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679