DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 9/24/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-12, 15, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri et al. “Oteri” US 2024/0196469 in view of Zhou US 2022/0078725 and further in view of Hwang et al. “Hwang” US 2020/0245303.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 20, Zhou teaches a method, medium (paragraph 67) and a first wireless communication device, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless communication device (Figure 2) to:
select, for a message, a duty cycle, a bandwidth, and a quantity of bits to include in the message, wherein at least one of the bandwidth, the duty cycle, or the quantity of bits is selected based at least in part on one or more performance demands associated with the message and based at least in part on an absence of a pilot sequence associated with transmission of the message (wakeup signals are viewed as “duty cycles”; Paragraph 153. Further, these signals are configured based on SNR of a UE using a plurality of bandwidths and bits to be transmitted per symbol; Paragraph 154. Thus one can see a duty cycle, bandwidth and bits are selected/known and these values are based on the SNR (i.e. performance demand); and
transmit, to a second wireless communication device, the message comprising the quantity of bits during one or more symbols of a plurality of symbols and via one or more frequency resources within the bandwidth (there are a number of bits transmitted per symbol and this information regarding resources used for the wakeup signals can be signaled and/or configured; Paragraph 154. As this information is signaled, this infers the message is transmit to another (i.e. second) device). Paragraph 154 further teaches using frequency resources with respect to the bandwidth for transmission.
Oteri does not disclose wherein the first wireless communication device refrains from transmission during a remainder of the plurality of symbols, wherein the duty cycle corresponds to a ratio of the one or more symbols to a total quantity of symbols of the plurality of symbols, the total quantity of symbols comprising the one or more symbols and the remainder of the symbols; however, Zhou teaches the use of a duty cycle wherein the duty cycle is a ratio of UL to DL transmissions with respect to symbols. For instance, 8 symbols are configured for UL transmission so the duty cycle is 8/15 assuming 15 symbols; Paragraph 36. This would show a ratio, a total quantity of symbols (15) and transmission would occur in 8 of the 15 symbols thus the other 7 symbols are viewed as refraining from transmitting. Further yet, the way the claim language is written, if the system uses all the symbols, there are no symbols left to refrain from transmitting. In other words the ratio could be 1:1 where all symbols are used to transmit, thus leaving the “Refraining step” carrying no meaning.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Oteri to include the duty cycle is a ratio of one or more symbols to a total quantity of symbols and refraining from transmitting as taught by Zhou.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the device knows when to transmit data as taught by Zhou; Paragraph 36.
While Oteri teaches the length of a WUS can be constrained (thus the signals have an associated length), the cited art does not expressly disclose the selection/transmission is in accordance with a message length for a single symbol. Hwang teaches that in a basic transmission unit for a WUS, a single symbol is used; Paragraph 124. Further, the WUS is associated with a transmission length (i.e. threshold). Thus, one can see a basic transmission unit only includes a single symbol thus the amount of data and/or duty cycle would be selected in accordance with the single symbol for transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include a selection of duty cycle or quantity of bits in accordance with a message length threshold for a single symbol as taught by Hwang.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the base station can know the duration for a power saving (WUS) as taught by Hwang; Paragraph 130.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Oteri teaches identifying a set of data bits for transmissions wherein the BW, duty cycle or quantity of bits is chosen to transmit the bits in a single symbol based on performance demands (based on SNR, BW, bits, etc… are chosen. Further, the number of bits transmitted is per symbol (i.e. transmitting the bits in a single symbol); Paragraph 154).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Oteri teaches identifying a set of data bits for transmissions wherein the quantity of bits is chosen based on performance demands and the quantity is a subset of the set of data bits (based on SNR, BW, bits, etc… are chosen. Further, the number of bits transmitted is per symbol; Paragraph 154. The bits transmitted per symbol would be a subset of the total bits to be transmit).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Oteri teaches transmitting to the second device a second message including a second subset of the set of data bits (based on SNR, BW, bits, etc… are chosen. Further, the number of bits transmitted is per symbol; Paragraph 154. The bits transmitted per symbol would be a subset of the total bits to be transmit. Further, paragraph 149 teaches there are a plurality of symbols in the downlink for example, thus there would be multiple symbols transmit. Further yet multiple wakeup signals are transmit (first/second messages); Paragraph 153).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches select, for a second message, a second duty cycle, a second bandwidth, and a second quantity of bits to include in the second message, wherein at least one of the bandwidth, the duty cycle, or the quantity of bits is selected based at least in part on one or more performance demands associated with the message and based at least in part on an absence of a pilot sequence associated with transmission of the message and the second duty cycle/bandwidth/bits is different than the first (wakeup signals are viewed as “duty cycles” and there are a plurality of them (i.e. second message) and they correspond to UEs of different groups with different dutycycles/bandwidths; Paragraph 153. Further, these signals are configured based on s SNR of a UE using a plurality of bandwidths and bits to be transmitted per symbol; Paragraph 154. Thus, one can see a duty cycle, bandwidth and bits are selected/known and these values are based on the SNR (i.e. performance demand); and
transmit, to a second wireless communication device, the second message comprising the quantity of bits during one or more symbols of a plurality of symbols and via one or more frequency resources within the bandwidth (there are a number of bits transmitted per symbol and this information regarding resources used for the wakeup signals can be signaled and/or configured; Paragraph 154. As this information is signaled, this infers the message is transmit to another (i.e. second) device). Paragraph 154 further teaches using frequency resources with respect to the bandwidth for transmission.
Oteri does not disclose wherein the first wireless communication device refrains from transmission during a remainder of the plurality of symbols, wherein the duty cycle corresponds to a ratio of the one or more symbols to a total quantity of symbols of the plurality of symbols, the total quantity of symbols comprising the one or more symbols and the remainder of the symbols; however, Zhou teaches the use of a duty cycle wherein the duty cycle is a ratio of UL to DL transmissions with respect to symbols. For instance, 8 symbols are configured for UL transmission so the duty cycle is 8/15 assuming 15 symbols; Paragraph 36. This would show a ratio, a total quantity of symbols (15) and transmission would occur in 8 of the 15 symbols thus the other 7 symbols are viewed as refraining from transmitting. Further yet, the way the claim language is written, if the system uses all the symbols, there are no symbols left to refrain from transmitting. In other words the ratio could be 1:1 where all symbols are used to transmit, thus leaving the “Refraining step” carrying no meaning.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Oteri to include the duty cycle is a ratio of one or more symbols to a total quantity of symbols and refraining from transmitting as taught by Zhou.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the device knows when to transmit data as taught by Zhou; Paragraph 36.
Regarding claim 10, Oteri teaches receiving a feedback from the second device for the message and the second bandwidth, duty cycle or bits is chosen based on the feedback (a UE transmits feedback to the base station and the base station may send another wakeup signal where the wakeup signal uses different sets of parameters; Paragraph 152).
Regarding claim 11, Oteri teaches transmit the message to a UE wherein the second device is a UE and the first is a network entity (Figure 1B shows a base station in communication with a UE (See also paragraphs 153-154 where a base station sends the signaling to the UE).
Regarding claim 12, Oteri does not expressly state the second device is a network entity and the first is a UE; however, Zhou teaches the ability for a UE to send configuration information to the base station; Figures 7 and 8. Thus when combined with Oteri, the configuration information would be viewed as being sent from a UE towards a base station (i.e. network entity).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Oteri to include the second device is a base station and the first device is a UE as taught by Zhou.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the device knows when to transmit data as taught by Zhou; Paragraph 36.
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri in view of Zhou in view of Hwang and further in view of Das et al. “Das” US 2003/0148770.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, the prior art does not disclose identifying a set of bits wherein the quantity of bits is chosen based on performance demands and selecting an amount of redundancy to include; however, Das teaches that based on a quality indicator (performance demands) the base station can select the number of data bits and redundancy to send in a slot; Paragraph 4.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include identifying a quantity of bits based on performance and redundancy to include as taught by Das.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the base station can properly determine what to send in a given time slot as taught by Das; Paragraph 4.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri in view of Zhou in view of Hwang and further in view of Freda et al. “Freda” US 2026/0142755.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art does not teach the first and second devices are UEs; however, Freda teaches that wakeup signals can be send on the sidelink, thus both the first and second devices would be UEs; Paragraph 132.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include the first and second devices are UEs as taught by Freda.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the WTRU can perform proper functions during the “on duration” as taught by Freda; Paragraph 132.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri in view of Zhou in view of Hwang and further in view of Barbu et al. “Barbu” US 2023/0388929.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not disclose energy-harvesting devices and receiving a backscatter reply; however, Barbu teaches sending a wakeup signal to an energy harvesting device; Paragraph 66 and Figure 2. Further, the device is capable of sending backscatter signals for activation; Paragraphs 86.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include an energy-harvesting device which can send backscatter signals as taught by Barbu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the device can receive a wakeup signal without consuming power as taught by Barbu; Paragraph 66.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 9-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411