DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The IDSs submitted on 06/26/2024, 08/01/2024, 08/02/2024 and 03/17/2025 has been entered and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “Uu and PC5”. It is suggested to spell out the acronyms (i.e., Uu and PC5) the first time they are being used in the claim. Similar objection applies to claims 7 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US 2023/0328840 A1, hereinafter “Cheng”).
As to claim 1:
Cheng discloses a method (see Fig. 3; [0152]-[0155]), performed by a first user equipment (UE) in connected mode with a base station (“the UE 115-e may be operating in a connected mode. That is, the UE 115-b may to begin with having a direct connection (e.g., via a Uu interface) with the base station 105-b”; Fig. 3; [0152]), of configuring sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) (“Various aspects of the process flow 300 relate to configuring the UE 115-e to operate in a power saving mode (also referred to as a sidelink DRX mode or a C-DRX mode)”; [0152]), the method (see Fig. 3; [0152]-[0155]) comprising:
generating for the base station a first RRC message including a desired SL-DRX configuration (“At 305, the UE 115-e may transmit sidelink DRX information to the base station 105-b, for example, via a Uu interface. The UE 115-e may transmit the sidelink DRX information in UE-assistance information (UAI). The sidelink DRX information may indicate a DRX preference, which may include a DRX cycle, an active duration of a DRX cycle, an offset period prior to the active duration of the DRX cycle, a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX retransmission timer, etc. The UE 115-b may thereby report its preference for sidelink DRX operations to the base station 105-b via the sidelink DRX information. The UE 115-e may determine the DRX preference based at least in part on a relay service or QoS requirements of pending data traffic at the UE 115-e, or both”; see Fig. 3; [0153] note: UAI = first RRC message); and
in response to the first RRC message, receiving via Uu from the base station a second RRC message specifying a DRX configuration for one or both of Uu and PC5 interfaces (“At 310, the base station 105-b may determine a sidelink DRX configuration, for example, based on the received sidelink DRX information from the UE 115-e. The sidelink DRX configuration may define a DRX pattern including an active duration of a DRX cycle and an inactive duration of a DRX cycle. The base station 105-b may configure a UE-specific DRX pattern for the UE 115-e via Uu RRC messages. That is, the base station 105-b may configure a single DRX pattern for the UE 115-b for both cellular communications (e.g., Uu reception/transmission) and relay discovery monitoring and selection (e.g., via PC5 interface)”; see Fig. 3; [0154] “At 315, the base station 105-b may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message including the sidelink DRX configuration to the UE 115-e”; [0155]).
As to claim 2:
Cheng further discloses in which the first RRC message comprises a UEAssistance Information (UAI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration (“At 305, the UE 115-e may transmit sidelink DRX information to the base station 105-b, for example, via a Uu interface. The UE 115-e may transmit the sidelink DRX information in UE-assistance information (UAI). The sidelink DRX information may indicate a DRX preference, which may include a DRX cycle, an active duration of a DRX cycle, an offset period prior to the active duration of the DRX cycle, a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX retransmission timer, etc. The UE 115-b may thereby report its preference for sidelink DRX operations to the base station 105-b via the sidelink DRX information. The UE 115-e may determine the DRX preference based at least in part on a relay service or QoS requirements of pending data traffic at the UE 115-e, or both”; see Fig. 3; [0153] note: UAI = first RRC message).
As to claim 7:
Cheng discloses a first user equipment (UE) in connected mode with a base station (“the UE 115-e may be operating in a connected mode. That is, the UE 115-b may to begin with having a direct connection (e.g., via a Uu interface) with the base station 105-b”; Fig. 3; [0152]), the first UE (UE; Figs. 3 and 11) comprising:
a processor (processor 1140; see Fig. 11; [0212]); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (“memory 1130 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1135 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor 1140 to perform various functions described herein”; Fig. 11; [0212]), configure sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) (“Various aspects of the process flow 300 relate to configuring the UE 115-e to operate in a power saving mode (also referred to as a sidelink DRX mode or a C-DRX mode)”; [0152]) and further configure the first UE to (see Fig. 3; [0152]-[0155]):
generate for the base station a first RRC message including a desired SL-DRX configuration (“At 305, the UE 115-e may transmit sidelink DRX information to the base station 105-b, for example, via a Uu interface. The UE 115-e may transmit the sidelink DRX information in UE-assistance information (UAI). The sidelink DRX information may indicate a DRX preference, which may include a DRX cycle, an active duration of a DRX cycle, an offset period prior to the active duration of the DRX cycle, a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX retransmission timer, etc. The UE 115-b may thereby report its preference for sidelink DRX operations to the base station 105-b via the sidelink DRX information. The UE 115-e may determine the DRX preference based at least in part on a relay service or QoS requirements of pending data traffic at the UE 115-e, or both”; see Fig. 3; [0153] note: UAI = first RRC message); and
in response to the first RRC message, receive via Uu from the base station a second RRC message specifying a DRX configuration for one or both of Uu and PC5 interfaces (“At 310, the base station 105-b may determine a sidelink DRX configuration, for example, based on the received sidelink DRX information from the UE 115-e. The sidelink DRX configuration may define a DRX pattern including an active duration of a DRX cycle and an inactive duration of a DRX cycle. The base station 105-b may configure a UE-specific DRX pattern for the UE 115-e via Uu RRC messages. That is, the base station 105-b may configure a single DRX pattern for the UE 115-b for both cellular communications (e.g., Uu reception/transmission) and relay discovery monitoring and selection (e.g., via PC5 interface)”; see Fig. 3; [0154] “At 315, the base station 105-b may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message including the sidelink DRX configuration to the UE 115-e”; [0155]).
As to claim 8:
Cheng further discloses in which the first RRC message comprises a UEAssistance Information (UAI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration (“At 305, the UE 115-e may transmit sidelink DRX information to the base station 105-b, for example, via a Uu interface. The UE 115-e may transmit the sidelink DRX information in UE-assistance information (UAI). The sidelink DRX information may indicate a DRX preference, which may include a DRX cycle, an active duration of a DRX cycle, an offset period prior to the active duration of the DRX cycle, a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX retransmission timer, etc. The UE 115-b may thereby report its preference for sidelink DRX operations to the base station 105-b via the sidelink DRX information. The UE 115-e may determine the DRX preference based at least in part on a relay service or QoS requirements of pending data traffic at the UE 115-e, or both”; see Fig. 3; [0153] note: UAI = first RRC message).
As to claim 13:
Cheng discloses a baseband processor (processor 1140; see Fig. 11; [0212]-[0214]) of a first user equipment (UE) (UE; Figs. 3 and 11), the first UE in connected mode with a base station (“the UE 115-e may be operating in a connected mode. That is, the UE 115-b may to begin with having a direct connection (e.g., via a Uu interface) with the base station 105-b”; Fig. 3; [0152]), to configure sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) (“Various aspects of the process flow 300 relate to configuring the UE 115-e to operate in a power saving mode (also referred to as a sidelink DRX mode or a C-DRX mode)”; [0152]), the baseband processor (processor 1140; see Fig. 11; [0212]-[0214]) comprising:
circuitry (“processor 1140 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof)”; see Fig. 11; [0214]) configured to:
generate for the base station a first RRC message including a desired SL-DRX configuration (“At 305, the UE 115-e may transmit sidelink DRX information to the base station 105-b, for example, via a Uu interface. The UE 115-e may transmit the sidelink DRX information in UE-assistance information (UAI). The sidelink DRX information may indicate a DRX preference, which may include a DRX cycle, an active duration of a DRX cycle, an offset period prior to the active duration of the DRX cycle, a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX retransmission timer, etc. The UE 115-b may thereby report its preference for sidelink DRX operations to the base station 105-b via the sidelink DRX information. The UE 115-e may determine the DRX preference based at least in part on a relay service or QoS requirements of pending data traffic at the UE 115-e, or both”; see Fig. 3; [0153] note: UAI = first RRC message); and
in response to the first RRC message, receive via Uu from the base station a second RRC message specifying a DRX configuration for one or both of Uu and PC5 interfaces (“At 310, the base station 105-b may determine a sidelink DRX configuration, for example, based on the received sidelink DRX information from the UE 115-e. The sidelink DRX configuration may define a DRX pattern including an active duration of a DRX cycle and an inactive duration of a DRX cycle. The base station 105-b may configure a UE-specific DRX pattern for the UE 115-e via Uu RRC messages. That is, the base station 105-b may configure a single DRX pattern for the UE 115-b for both cellular communications (e.g., Uu reception/transmission) and relay discovery monitoring and selection (e.g., via PC5 interface)”; see Fig. 3; [0154] “At 315, the base station 105-b may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message including the sidelink DRX configuration to the UE 115-e”; [0155]).
As to claim 14:
Cheng further discloses in which the first RRC message comprises a UEAssistance Information (UAI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration (“At 305, the UE 115-e may transmit sidelink DRX information to the base station 105-b, for example, via a Uu interface. The UE 115-e may transmit the sidelink DRX information in UE-assistance information (UAI). The sidelink DRX information may indicate a DRX preference, which may include a DRX cycle, an active duration of a DRX cycle, an offset period prior to the active duration of the DRX cycle, a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX retransmission timer, etc. The UE 115-b may thereby report its preference for sidelink DRX operations to the base station 105-b via the sidelink DRX information. The UE 115-e may determine the DRX preference based at least in part on a relay service or QoS requirements of pending data traffic at the UE 115-e, or both”; see Fig. 3; [0153] note: UAI = first RRC message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-6, 9-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2023/0328840 A1) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2023/0156854 A1, hereinafter “Cheng ‘854”).
As to claim 3:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which the first RRC message comprises a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which the first RRC message comprises a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration (“the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer”; see Fig. 16; [0098] note: SUI = RRC message).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow the first RRC message to comprise a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 4:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which SUI or RRC message contain DRX configurations used by peer UEs.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which SUI or RRC message contain DRX configurations used by peer UEs (“the remote UE may indicate a specific (preferred) sidelink DRX configuration to the relay (e.g., via PC5 RRC). For example, the preferred sidelink DRX configuration may have DRX ON durations that are a subset of a remote UE group common DRX ON”; [0092] note: UE group = peer UEs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow SUI or RRC message to contain DRX configurations used by peer UEs. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 5:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which the first RRC message includes parameters for common DRX operations.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which the first RRC message includes parameters for common DRX operations (“the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer”; Figs. 14-16; [0098] “the preferred sidelink DRX configuration may have DRX ON durations that are a subset of a remote UE group common DRX ON”; [0092]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow the first RRC message to include parameters for common DRX operations. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 6:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which the first RRC message includes parameters for link-specific DRX operations.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which the first RRC message includes parameters for link-specific DRX operations (“the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer”; see Fig. 16; [0098] sidelink DRX preference (i.e., DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer) = link-specific DRX operations).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow the first RRC message to include parameters for link-specific DRX operations. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 9:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which the first RRC message comprises a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which the first RRC message comprises a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration (“the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer”; see Fig. 16; [0098] note: SUI = RRC message).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow the first RRC message to comprise a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 10:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which SUI or RRC message contain DRX configurations used by peer UEs.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which SUI or RRC message contain DRX configurations used by peer UEs (“the remote UE may indicate a specific (preferred) sidelink DRX configuration to the relay (e.g., via PC5 RRC). For example, the preferred sidelink DRX configuration may have DRX ON durations that are a subset of a remote UE group common DRX ON”; [0092] note: UE group = peer UEs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow SUI or RRC message to contain DRX configurations used by peer UEs. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 11:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which the first RRC message includes parameters for common DRX operations.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which the first RRC message includes parameters for common DRX operations (“the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer”; Figs. 14-16; [0098] “the preferred sidelink DRX configuration may have DRX ON durations that are a subset of a remote UE group common DRX ON”; [0092]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow the first RRC message to include parameters for common DRX operations. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 12:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which the first RRC message includes parameters for link-specific DRX operations.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which the first RRC message includes parameters for link-specific DRX operations (“the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer”; see Fig. 16; [0098] sidelink DRX preference (i.e., DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer) = link-specific DRX operations).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow the first RRC message to include parameters for link-specific DRX operations. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 15:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which the first RRC message comprises a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which the first RRC message comprises a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration (“the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer”; see Fig. 16; [0098] note: SUI = RRC message).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow the first RRC message to comprise a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message including the desired SL-DRX configuration. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 16:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which SUI or RRC message contain DRX configurations used by peer UEs.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which SUI or RRC message contain DRX configurations used by peer UEs (“the remote UE may indicate a specific (preferred) sidelink DRX configuration to the relay (e.g., via PC5 RRC). For example, the preferred sidelink DRX configuration may have DRX ON durations that are a subset of a remote UE group common DRX ON”; [0092] note: UE group = peer UEs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow SUI or RRC message to contain DRX configurations used by peer UEs. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 17:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which the first RRC message includes parameters for common DRX operations.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which the first RRC message includes parameters for common DRX operations (“the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer”; Figs. 14-16; [0098] “the preferred sidelink DRX configuration may have DRX ON durations that are a subset of a remote UE group common DRX ON”; [0092]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow the first RRC message to include parameters for common DRX operations. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
As to claim 18:
Cheng discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose in which the first RRC message includes parameters for link-specific DRX operations.
However, Cheng ‘854 discloses in which the first RRC message includes parameters for link-specific DRX operations (“the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer”; see Fig. 16; [0098] sidelink DRX preference (i.e., DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer) = link-specific DRX operations).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng ‘854 into Cheng’s system/method as it would allow the first RRC message to include parameters for link-specific DRX operations. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also provided improvements in NR and LTE technology, including improvements to sidelink communications (Cheng ‘854 [0005]-[0006]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record below is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Li et al. (US 2023/0309016 A1) teaches at operation 3, the UE 902 sends sidelink UE information message (e.g., SidelinkUEInformationNR) or UE assistance information for sidelink message to the BS 906 indicating a sidelink cast type (sl-CastType) set as unicast and the related UE pair or link ID or index or pair of L2 source ID and destination ID or L2 destination ID, associated SL DRX information (e.g., QoS profile or parameters, traffic pattern, power saving, etc.) or preferred SL DRX configuration(s) received from the higher layer or UE 904 during or after the PC5 RRC connection establishment. At operation 4A, the BS decides an SL DRX configuration based on the input from UE 902 (e.g., Tx UE's sidelink UE information message or UE assistance information for sidelink message) and sends the SL DRX configuration for sidelink unicast communication from UE 902 to UE 904 (e.g., sl-drx-config1 under sl-ConfigDedicateNR) via an RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., RRCReconfiguration) (see at least Fig. 9A; [0094]).
Park et al. (US 2024/0357702 A1) teaches a UE may obtain DRX configuration including at least one information related to Uu DRX timer or information related to SL DRX timer. For example, the DRX configuration is configured for UE or pre-configured. For example, BS or TX UE may transmit, to the RX UE, SL DRX configuration based on such as PC5-RRC (see at least [0200]).
Conclusion
/MARIELA VIDAL CARPIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476