DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, and 5-6 are pending. Claims 2 and 4 are canceled. Claims 5-6 are new.
In view of the amendment, filed 02/25/2026, the following objections and rejections are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 10/28/2025:
Claim objections
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs et al., US 20190210277 A1, in view of Dasappa et al., WO 2017182928 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sachs discloses a 3D printer having a powder scattering prevention function (Fig. 1A, Abstract), the 3D printer comprising:
A build box (print box 108, Fig. 1A, [0094]) provided therein with a build plate (plate supporting object 102 and powder 104 in print box 108, Fig. 1A);
A supply box (powder supply 106, Fig. 1A, [0094]) provided therein with a supply plate configured to supply powder to the build box (plate supporting powder 104 in supply 106, Fig. 1A);
A binder nozzle (printhead 114 for delivering a binder, Fig. 1A, [0094]) disposed above the build box (Figs. 1A-1C) and configured to spray a binder onto a layer of powder formed in the build box ([0094], Fig. 1B);
A fine water nozzle (evaporator 112, Fig. 1A, [0094], that directs a vapor phase of a first fluid to the powder layer, [0096], the first fluid being water, [0097]) disposed on a side of the binder nozzle (Figs. 1A-1C) disposed above the build box (Figs. 1A-1C) and configured to spray fine water particles which is obtained by atomizing water using ultrasonic waves (the evaporator including an atomizer that atomizes the first fluid by ultrasonic atomization, [0169]-[0171]), into the build box (Fig. 1B).
Sachs discloses the binder nozzle and fine water nozzle being disposed above the build box and the supply box and arranged for horizontal movement together, with the fine water nozzle being disposed on a side of the binder nozzle (Figs. 1A-1C).
Sachs is silent as to a particular movement system and thus does not disclose a rail extending in each of an x- and y-axis direction, wherein the binder nozzle and the fine water nozzle are installed on the rail to be movable in the x- and y-directions and at least the binder nozzle is movable upward and downward.
In the analogous art of additive manufacturing (Abstract), Dasappa discloses a 3D printing system having a movement system for moving multiple deposition heads together (Figs. 4A-4B, [0037]-[0040]). Dasappa teaches the movement system includes a rail/gantry arrangement such that the heads are movable in x- and y- axis directions (along horizontal members 456 and 452, Fig. 4B) as well as movable up and down (via upright support 454, Fig. 4B, [0037]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sachs to include a movement system including a rail disposed above the build box and the supply box and extending in each of an x- and y-axis direction, wherein the binder nozzle and the fine water nozzle are installed on the rail to be movable in the x- and y-directions and upward and downward in order to provide a suitable means for the translation of the devices as described by Sachs as well as to enable movement in multiple directions relative to a print surface as taught by Dasappa.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs et al., US 20190210277 A1, in view of Dasappa et al., WO 2017182928 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang et al., US 20220274179 A1, and optionally Scott, US 20110291331 A1.
Regarding claim 6, modified Sachs discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a chamber in which the build box, the supply box, the binder nozzle, and the fine water nozzle are disposed (Sachs: build chamber 115, Fig. 1A, [0094]); wherein the fine water nozzle is configured to spray the fine water particles so as to wet powder in the build box ([0097]-[0099], Figs. 1B, 1D).
Sachs does not specifically disclose a blowing fan provided above the chamber to be located above the nozzles and configured to generate a descending airflow; an exhaust part provided below the chamber to be located below the build box and configured to exhaust the descending airflow to an outside of the chamber, an exhaust filter provided in the exhaust part, wherein the exhaust filter is configured to filter wetted powder contained in the descending airflow exhausted through the exhaust part so as to prevent the wetted powder from being discharged to the outside of the chamber through the exhaust part.
In the analogous art of 3D printing, Kang discloses a powder bed 3D printer enclosure (Figs. 5-6) including a blowing fan (blower fan 222, Figs. 5-6) provided above the chamber (above printing space 132, Figs. 5-6) to be located above the printing structures and configured to generate a descending airflow (above printing space and providing air flow downward, Figs. 5-6, [0075]); an exhaust part provided below the chamber to be located below the build box (see section of gas flow path 220 indicated by circled downward facing arrows up to filter assembly 230, Fig. 6 below) and configured to exhaust the descending airflow to an outside of the chamber (see section of gas flow path 220 indicated by circled upward facing arrow, Fig. 6, the section being outside of chamber 130).
Kang further discloses an exhaust filter provided in the exhaust part (filter assembly 230, Fig. 6), wherein the exhaust filter is configured to filter wetted powder contained in the descending airflow exhausted through the exhaust part (filters powder, [0077], Fig. 7) so as to prevent the wetted powder from being discharged to the outside of the chamber through the exhaust part (filtering of powder prevents powder from being discharged with gas from the filter to gas flow path 220, Fig. 7). Kang teaches the arrangement provides a powder removal function for removing powder from a finished part more conveniently and quickly ([0024]-[0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printer of Sachs to include the gas flow arrangement disclosed by Kang in order to provide a configuration for conveniently and quickly removing unused residual powder from a formed three dimensional object as taught by Kang.
Assuming arguendo that Applicant disagrees that Kang discloses the exhaust part being configured to exhaust the descending airflow to an outside of the chamber because the airflow is shown as ultimately directed back to the chamber after its passage through the section outside of the chamber, Scott is optionally further applied.
In the analogous art of additive manufacturing (Abstract), Scott discloses a gas flow circuit (Fig. 3) including an exhaust 600 exiting the build chamber 220 enclosing space 225, the exhaust including a filter arrangement (filters 610, 620) and a pump/valve element 650 by which the gas can be directed to continue through the circuit or be pumped to atmosphere via exhaust line 655 (Fig. 3, [0050]-[0052]). Scott teaches the configuration enables adjustment of chamber pressure and composition as desired ([0051]-[0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust part of the combination to be additionally configured to exhaust the descending airflow to an outside of the chamber in order to provide the capability of redirecting a portion of the filtered gas to atmosphere as necessary to adjust a pressure or composition of the chamber interior as desired, as taught by Scott.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs et al., US 20190210277 A1, in view of Dasappa et al., WO 2017182928 A1, and Kang et al., US 20220274179 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Sachs discloses a 3D printer having a powder scattering prevention function (Fig. 1A, Abstract), the 3D printer comprising:
A build box (print box 108, Fig. 1A, [0094]) provided therein with a build plate (plate supporting object 102 and powder 104 in print box 108, Fig. 1A);
A supply box (powder supply 106, Fig. 1A, [0094]) provided therein with a supply plate configured to supply powder to the build box (plate supporting powder 104 in supply 106, Fig. 1A);
A binder nozzle (printhead 114 for delivering a binder, Fig. 1A, [0094]) disposed above the build box (Figs. 1A-1C) and configured to spray a binder onto a layer of powder formed in the build box ([0094], Fig. 1B);
A fine water nozzle (evaporator 112, Fig. 1A, [0094], that directs a vapor phase of a first fluid to the powder layer, [0096], the first fluid being water, [0097]) disposed on a side of the binder nozzle (Figs. 1A-1C) disposed above the build box (Figs. 1A-1C) and configured to spray fine water particles which is obtained by atomizing water using ultrasonic waves (the evaporator including an atomizer that atomizes the first fluid by ultrasonic atomization, [0169]-[0171]), into the build box (Fig. 1B),
A chamber (build chamber 115, Fig. 1A, [0094]) in which the build box, the supply box, the binder nozzle, and the fine water nozzle are disposed (Fig. 1A).
Sachs discloses the binder nozzle and fine water nozzle being disposed above the build box and the supply box and arranged for horizontal movement together, with the fine water nozzle being disposed on a side of the binder nozzle (Figs. 1A-1C).
Sachs is silent as to a particular movement system and thus does not disclose a rail disposed above the build box and the supply box and extending in each of an x- and y-axis direction, wherein the binder nozzle and the fine water nozzle are installed on the rail to be movable in the x- and y-directions and at least the binder nozzle is movable upward and downward.
In the analogous art of additive manufacturing (Abstract), Dasappa discloses a 3D printing system having a movement system for moving multiple deposition heads together (Figs. 4A-4B, [0037]-[0040]). Dasappa teaches the movement system includes a rail/gantry arrangement such that the heads are movable in x- and y- axis directions (along horizontal members 456 and 452, Fig. 4B) as well as movable up and down (via upright support 454, Fig. 4B, [0037]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sachs to include a movement system including a rail disposed above the build box and the supply box and extending in each of an x- and y-axis direction, wherein the binder nozzle and the fine water nozzle are installed on the rail to be movable in the x- and y-directions and upward and downward in order to provide a suitable means for the translation of the devices as described by Sachs as well as to enable movement in multiple directions relative to a print surface as taught by Dasappa.
Sachs does not disclose a blowing fan provided above the chamber to be located above the binder nozzle and the fine water nozzle and configured to generate a descending airflow, and a return part configured to return the descending airflow to the blowing fan.
In the analogous art of 3D printing, Kang discloses a powder bed 3D printer enclosure (Figs. 5-6) including a blowing fan (blower fan 222, Figs. 5-6) provided above the chamber (above printing space 132, Figs. 5-6) to be located above the printing structures and configured to generate a descending airflow (above printing space and providing air flow downward, Figs. 5-6, [0075]); and a return part (see section indicated by circled arrows of gas flow path 220, Fig. 6) configured to return the descending airflow to the blowing fan (section of 220 includes inlet from chamber 130 back to blower fans 222, Fig. 6). Kang teaches the arrangement provides a powder removal function for removing powder from a finished part more conveniently and quickly ([0024]-[0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printer of Sachs to include the gas flow arrangement disclosed by Kang in order to provide a configuration for conveniently and quickly removing unused residual powder from a formed three dimensional object as taught by Kang.
Regarding claim 5, modified Sachs discloses the apparatus of claim 3, further comprising: a return filter provided in the return part (Kang: filter assembly 230 shown above chamber 130, Fig. 6), wherein the fine water nozzle is configured to spray the fine water particles so as to wet the powder in the build box (Sachs: [0097]-[0099], Figs. 1B, 1D), and wherein the exhaust filter is configured to filter wetted powder contained in the descending airflow introduced into the return part so as to prevent the wetted powder form being introduced back into the blowing fan through the return part and circulating within the chamber (filters powder removed from inside the chamber, [0069], [0077]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior claim rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180065303 A1, Schade discloses a relevant ceiling airflow arrangement (Fig. 13).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754