DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, lines 2-6 recites the claim limitation “the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control not to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request by performing specific processing of suppressing, in the second mode, transmission of the change request from the first access point”. It is unclear how the connection destination processing that is not performed by the electronic device based on already receiving the change request (i.e., “based on the change request” in line 4) can suppress transmission of the change request from the first access point when it has already been received by the electronic device (i.e., “based on the change request” in line 4). Therefore it is unclear how the electronic device does not perform connection destination change processing when the change request is received according to lines 3-4 of claim 3, when transmission of the change request is suppressed from the first access point.
It is also unclear how the suppressing feature is performed by the electronic device when the suppressing of the transmission of the change request would be performed by the first access point which suppresses transmission of the change request, and since claims 1 and 3 are directed towards steps performed by the electronic device. Clarification is required.
Dependent claims 4-5 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on their dependence to dependent claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 15-16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita US (2018/0203652) in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357), and further in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Regarding Claim 1, Narita discloses an electronic device (see Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 i.e., MFP 100) comprising: at least one memory storing instructions (see Fig. 2 i.e., RAM/ROM 202-203 & Para’s [0006] i.e., image processing apparatus comprising: a memory device that stores a set of instructions, [0075], & [0109]); and at least one processor (see Fig. 2 i.e., CPU 201 & Para’s [0006] i.e., and at least one processor that executes the instructions, [0030], [0075], & [0109]), wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are configured (see Para’s [0075] & [0109]) to: receive a change request of an access point serving as a connection destination from a connected first access point; (see Figures 1-2 & Para’s [0027] i.e., For example, if the MFP 100 is connected to the AP 101 (i.e., “connected access point”), the connection destination wireless AP can be changed from the AP 101 to the AP 102, [0057], [0093] i.e., In step S610, the CPU 201 (i.e., MFP) receives, by the WLAN setting service 311, a setting request (i.e., “change request”) including the designation of the wireless AP (i.e., “connection destination”) to which the MFP 100 is to be connected by the infrastructure mode, via the specific AP (i.e., “connected access point”) from the mobile terminal 103 with which it is currently connected by the wireless direct connection, [0105] i.e., the CPU 201 searches for the wireless AP which was designated in the setting request received in step S610 and to which the MFP 100 is to connect (to newly connect due to the change in the connection destination), & [0106] i.e., More specifically, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so that the connection to the wireless AP designated in the setting request will be performed by the infrastructure mode. Note that if the MFP 100 is already connected to an external wireless AP by the infrastructure mode, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so as to change the connection destination wireless AP to the wireless AP designated in the setting request…As a result, if the MFP 100 is already connected to one of the wireless APs, the connection destination will be changed to the designated wireless AP (the connection destination network will be changed)).
and control, in a case where the electronic device is in a first mode, to perform connection destination change processing based on the change request, (In light of the applicants specification in Para’s [0076-0077], the claimed “first mode” refers to a normal mode in which the MFP operates which does not use a power saving mode) (Narita discloses the MFP 100 of Fig. 2 operates according to a normal mode (i.e., “first mode”) which does not use a power saving mode when performing the connection destination change, see Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093], [0105-0106] i.e., More specifically, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so that the connection to the wireless AP designated in the setting request (i.e., “change request”) will be performed by the infrastructure mode. Note that if the MFP 100 is already connected to an external wireless AP by the infrastructure mode, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so as to change the connection destination wireless AP to the wireless AP designated in the setting request…As a result, if the MFP 100 is already connected to one of the wireless APs, the connection destination will be changed to the designated wireless AP (the connection destination network will be changed))
While Narita discloses the MFP 100 operates in the first mode such as a normal mode of operation (i.e., does not use power saving mode) when performing the connection destination change processing (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093], & [0105-0106]), Narita does not disclose the claim feature of out of the first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357).
Akatsu discloses out of a first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode. In light of the applicants specification in Para’s [0076-0077], the claimed “second mode” refers to a power saving mode in which the MFP operates, (Akatsu, see Fig. 4 i.e., standby state (i.e., “first mode”) and low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) & Para’s [0003] i.e., bringing a MFP into an engine off state…to reduce power consumption of the MFP in power saving mode…reducing the clock frequency of a CPU to reduce power consumption of a PC for example. These techniques may be combined to provide a power saving system that reduces power consumption by reducing the clock frequency of the CPU in the engine off state of the MFP [0081-0084] i.e., The standby state 51 (i.e., “first mode”) is an operating state in which the respective units (i.e., devices) of the image forming apparatus 10 are activated, and the power consumption is higher than in the other operating states. That is, all functions of the image forming apparatus 10 are usable in the standby state & [0090] i.e., The low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) is an operating state in which the clock frequency of the CPU is reduced and the unnecessary power supply of the devices is turned off to reduce the power consumption…That is, in the low-clock engine off state 58, the clock frequency of the CPU is reduced (i.e., clock frequency of the CPU being reduced is lower than in the first mode))
and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (see Para’s [0083-0084] i.e., the image forming apparatus 10 transitions between the standby state 51 (i.e., “first mode”) and the engine off state 55 which includes the low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) (i.e., electronic device such as the MFP may operate in the second mode) & [0090])
(Akatsu suggests the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device, (see Para’s [0003], [0061], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device (i.e., MFP) which is operating in a first mode as disclosed in Narita to be able to operate either out of a first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode as performed by the electronic device (i.e., MFP) as disclosed in the teachings of Akatsu, because the motivation lies in Akatsu that the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device.
While Narita discloses the electronic device operates as a wireless terminal when performing the connection destination change processing based on the change request (see Para’s [0033] i.e., MFP operates in an infrastructure mode that causes the MFP 100 to operate as a wireless terminal, [0057-0058], [0072], [0093], & [0105-0106]), the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu does not disclose the claim feature of and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode, not to perform the connection destination change processing. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses in a case where an electronic device (see Fig. 2 i.e., multi-radio station 100 which may be a mobile terminal & Para [0068]) is in a second mode (i.e., “low or reduced power mode”), not to perform the connection destination change processing (see Para’s [0063] i.e., multi-radio station 100 (i.e., “electronic device”) transitions from the initial access point 102 to the target access point 104 & [0064] i.e., upon determining to transition, the multi-radio station 100 may activate a second communication link 108 between the multi-radio station 100 and the target access point 104 (i.e., “connection destination change processing”)…Activating the link (i.e., “connection destination change processing”) may include transitioning the link and/or link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) to a high or full power mode (i.e., the electronic device such as the multi-radio station 100 performs the connection destination change processing only in the full power mode and not while in the second mode such as the low or reduced power mode).
(Tadahal suggests the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication, (see Para’s [0061-0064] & [0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device which performs connection destination change processing based on the change request and that can operate in the second mode as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu to not perform the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (i.e., power saving mode) as disclosed in the teachings of Tadahal, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication.
Regarding Claim 2, Narita discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control, in a case where the electronic device is in the first mode and the change request is received, to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request (Narita, see Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093], & [0105-0106]), but does not disclose the claim feature and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode and the change request is received. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357).
Akatsu discloses in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode, communication can be performed based on the communication function of the communication I/F 119 being enabled (see Para’s [0083-0084] i.e., the image forming apparatus 10 transitions between the standby state 51 (i.e., “first mode”) and the engine off state 55 which includes the low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) (i.e., electronic device such as the MFP may operate in the second mode) & [0090] i.e., when the power saving state of the image forming apparatus 10 is the low-clock engine off state 58…the communication function of the communication I/F 119 is enabled)
(Akatsu suggests the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device, (see Para’s [0003], [0061], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device such as the MFP which receives the change request as disclosed in Narita to operate in the second mode as performed by the electronic device (i.e., MFP) as disclosed in Akatsu which results in the change request being received in a case the electronic device is in the second mode, because the motivation lies in Akatsu that the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device.
The combination of Narita in view of Akatsu does not disclose the claim feature of
not to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses in a case where an electronic device (see Fig. 2 i.e., multi-radio station 100 which may be a mobile terminal & Para [0068]) is in a second mode (i.e., “low or reduced power mode”), not to perform the connection destination change processing (see Para’s [0063] i.e., multi-radio station 100 (i.e., “electronic device”) transitions from the initial access point 102 to the target access point 104 & [0064] i.e., upon determining to transition, the multi-radio station 100 may activate a second communication link 108 between the multi-radio station 100 and the target access point 104 (i.e., “connection destination change processing”)…Activating the link (i.e., “connection destination change processing”) may include transitioning the link and/or link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) to a high or full power mode (i.e., the electronic device such as the multi-radio station 100 performs the connection destination change processing only in the full power mode and not while in the second mode such as the low or reduced power mode).
(Tadahal suggests the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication, (see Para’s [0061-0064] & [0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device which performs connection destination change processing based on the change request and that can operate in the second mode as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu to not perform the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (i.e., power saving mode) as disclosed in the teachings of Tadahal, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode, the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control not to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request (see rejection of claim 1 over the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal)
by performing specific processing of suppressing, in the second mode, transmission of the change request from the first access point, (Narita, see Para’s [0084] & [0090] i.e., In step S617, the CPU 201 transmits an error notification indicating the rejection of the connection request to the mobile terminal 103 which is the transmission source of the connection request (i.e., suppressing transmission of the change request))
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Narita in view of Tadahal discloses the device according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the second mode is a power saving mode in which power consumption is lower than in the first mode. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357).
Akatsu discloses wherein the second mode (see Fig. 4 i.e., low-clock engine off state 58 is the “second mode”) is a power saving mode in which power consumption is lower than in the first mode (see Fig. 4 i.e., standby state 51 is the “first mode”)), (see Para’s [0082] i.e., the standby state is an operating state…and the power consumption is higher than in the other operating states & [0090] i.e., low-clock engine off state 58 reduces the power consumption)
(Akatsu suggests the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device, (see Para’s [0003], [0061], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device (i.e., MFP) which is operating in a first mode as disclosed in Narita to be able to operate either out of a first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode as performed by the electronic device (i.e., MFP) as disclosed in the teachings of Akatsu, because the motivation lies in Akatsu that the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device.
Regarding Claim 16, Narita discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device further comprises a printer configured to print an image on a print medium, (see Fig. 2 i.e., printer unit 206 & Para’s [0029], [0031], & [0043])
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the at least one memory and the at least one processor control to perform change of the connection destination based on the change request, the at least one memory and the at least one processor control to change to an access point (Narita, see Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093], & [0105-0106]), but does not disclose to change to an access point of a 6-GHz frequency band. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses an electronic device transitions from a first access point to a second access point which may be an access point of a 6-GHz frequency band, (see Para’s [0028] i.e., a link may use a channel or band around 6 GHz, [0111] i.e., an access point can be configured for communication over a frequency band such as 6GHz & [0063-0064] i.e., multi-radio station may transition to a target access point which may use a 6-GHz frequency band)
(Tadahal suggests the electronic device transitions to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication, (see Para’s [0061-0064] & [0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the change of the connection destination based on the change request, to change to an access point as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu to be transitioned to a target access point of a 6-GHz frequency band such as the target access point as disclosed in Tadahal, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the electronic device transitions to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication.
Regarding Claim 20, Narita discloses an electronic device control method executed in an electronic device (see Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 i.e., MFP 100) including at least one processor (see Fig. 2 i.e., CPU 201 & Para’s [0006] i.e., and at least one processor that executes the instructions, [0030], [0075], & [0109]), the method comprising: receive a change request of an access point serving as a connection destination from a connected first access point; (see Figures 1-2 & Para’s [0027] i.e., For example, if the MFP 100 is connected to the AP 101 (i.e., “connected access point”), the connection destination wireless AP can be changed from the AP 101 to the AP 102, [0057], [0093] i.e., In step S610, the CPU 201 (i.e., MFP) receives, by the WLAN setting service 311, a setting request (i.e., “change request”) including the designation of the wireless AP (i.e., “connection destination”) to which the MFP 100 is to be connected by the infrastructure mode, via the specific AP (i.e., “connected access point”) from the mobile terminal 103 with which it is currently connected by the wireless direct connection, [0105] i.e., the CPU 201 searches for the wireless AP which was designated in the setting request received in step S610 and to which the MFP 100 is to connect (to newly connect due to the change in the connection destination), & [0106] i.e., More specifically, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so that the connection to the wireless AP designated in the setting request will be performed by the infrastructure mode. Note that if the MFP 100 is already connected to an external wireless AP by the infrastructure mode, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so as to change the connection destination wireless AP to the wireless AP designated in the setting request…As a result, if the MFP 100 is already connected to one of the wireless APs, the connection destination will be changed to the designated wireless AP (the connection destination network will be changed)).
and in a case where the electronic device is in a first mode, controlling to perform connection destination change processing based on the change request, (In light of the applicants specification in Para’s [0076-0077], the claimed “first mode” refers to a normal mode in which the MFP operates which does not use a power saving mode) (Narita discloses the MFP 100 of Fig. 2 operates according to a normal mode (i.e., “first mode”) which does not use a power saving mode when performing the connection destination change, see Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093], [0105-0106] i.e., More specifically, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so that the connection to the wireless AP designated in the setting request (i.e., “change request”) will be performed by the infrastructure mode. Note that if the MFP 100 is already connected to an external wireless AP by the infrastructure mode, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so as to change the connection destination wireless AP to the wireless AP designated in the setting request…As a result, if the MFP 100 is already connected to one of the wireless APs, the connection destination will be changed to the designated wireless AP (the connection destination network will be changed))
While Narita discloses the MFP 100 operates in the first mode such as a normal mode of operation (i.e., does not use power saving mode) when performing the connection destination change processing (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093], & [0105-0106]), Narita does not disclose the claim feature of out of the first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357).
Akatsu discloses out of a first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode. In light of the applicants specification in Para’s [0076-0077], the claimed “second mode” refers to a power saving mode in which the MFP operates, (Akatsu, see Fig. 4 i.e., standby state (i.e., “first mode”) and low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) & Para’s [0003] i.e., bringing a MFP into an engine off state…to reduce power consumption of the MFP in power saving mode…reducing the clock frequency of a CPU to reduce power consumption of a PC for example. These techniques may be combined to provide a power saving system that reduces power consumption by reducing the clock frequency of the CPU in the engine off state of the MFP [0081-0084] i.e., The standby state 51 (i.e., “first mode”) is an operating state in which the respective units (i.e., devices) of the image forming apparatus 10 are activated, and the power consumption is higher than in the other operating states. That is, all functions of the image forming apparatus 10 are usable in the standby state & [0090] i.e., The low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) is an operating state in which the clock frequency of the CPU is reduced and the unnecessary power supply of the devices is turned off to reduce the power consumption…That is, in the low-clock engine off state 58, the clock frequency of the CPU is reduced (i.e., clock frequency of the CPU being reduced is lower than in the first mode))
and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (see Para’s [0083-0084] i.e., the image forming apparatus 10 transitions between the standby state 51 (i.e., “first mode”) and the engine off state 55 which includes the low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) (i.e., electronic device such as the MFP may operate in the second mode) & [0090])
(Akatsu suggests the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device, (see Para’s [0003], [0061], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device (i.e., MFP) which is operating in a first mode as disclosed in Narita to be able to operate either out of a first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode as performed by the electronic device (i.e., MFP) as disclosed in the teachings of Akatsu, because the motivation lies in Akatsu that the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device.
While Narita discloses the electronic device operates as a wireless terminal when performing the connection destination change processing based on the change request (see Para’s [0033] i.e., MFP operates in an infrastructure mode that causes the MFP 100 to operate as a wireless terminal, [0057-0058], [0072], [0093], & [0105-0106]), the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu does not disclose the claim feature of and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode, controlling not to perform the connection destination change processing. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses in a case where an electronic device (see Fig. 2 i.e., multi-radio station 100 which may be a mobile terminal & Para [0068]) is in a second mode (i.e., “low or reduced power mode”), controlling not to perform the connection destination change processing (see Para’s [0063] i.e., multi-radio station 100 (i.e., “electronic device”) transitions from the initial access point 102 to the target access point 104 & [0064] i.e., upon determining to transition, the multi-radio station 100 may activate a second communication link 108 between the multi-radio station 100 and the target access point 104 (i.e., “connection destination change processing”)…Activating the link (i.e., “connection destination change processing”) may include transitioning the link and/or link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) to a high or full power mode (i.e., the electronic device such as the multi-radio station 100 performs the connection destination change processing only in the full power mode and not while in the second mode such as the low or reduced power mode).
(Tadahal suggests the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication, (see Para’s [0061-0064] & [0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device which performs connection destination change processing based on the change request and that can operate in the second mode as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu to not perform the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (i.e., power saving mode) as disclosed in the teachings of Tadahal, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication.
Regarding Claim 21, Narita discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions (see Para [0109]) that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer (see Para’s [0006], [0030], [0075] & [0109]) to: receive a change request of an access point serving as a connection destination from a connected first access point; (see Figures 1-2 & Para’s [0027] i.e., For example, if the MFP 100 is connected to the AP 101 (i.e., “connected access point”), the connection destination wireless AP can be changed from the AP 101 to the AP 102, [0057], [0093] i.e., In step S610, the CPU 201 (i.e., MFP) receives, by the WLAN setting service 311, a setting request (i.e., “change request”) including the designation of the wireless AP (i.e., “connection destination”) to which the MFP 100 is to be connected by the infrastructure mode, via the specific AP (i.e., “connected access point”) from the mobile terminal 103 with which it is currently connected by the wireless direct connection, [0105] i.e., the CPU 201 searches for the wireless AP which was designated in the setting request received in step S610 and to which the MFP 100 is to connect (to newly connect due to the change in the connection destination), & [0106] i.e., More specifically, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so that the connection to the wireless AP designated in the setting request will be performed by the infrastructure mode. Note that if the MFP 100 is already connected to an external wireless AP by the infrastructure mode, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so as to change the connection destination wireless AP to the wireless AP designated in the setting request…As a result, if the MFP 100 is already connected to one of the wireless APs, the connection destination will be changed to the designated wireless AP (the connection destination network will be changed)).
and control, in a case where the electronic device is in a first mode, to perform connection destination change processing based on the change request, (In light of the applicants specification in Para’s [0076-0077], the claimed “first mode” refers to a normal mode in which the MFP operates which does not use a power saving mode) (Narita discloses the MFP 100 of Fig. 2 operates according to a normal mode (i.e., “first mode”) which does not use a power saving mode when performing the connection destination change, see Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093], [0105-0106] i.e., More specifically, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so that the connection to the wireless AP designated in the setting request (i.e., “change request”) will be performed by the infrastructure mode. Note that if the MFP 100 is already connected to an external wireless AP by the infrastructure mode, the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so as to change the connection destination wireless AP to the wireless AP designated in the setting request…As a result, if the MFP 100 is already connected to one of the wireless APs, the connection destination will be changed to the designated wireless AP (the connection destination network will be changed))
While Narita discloses the MFP 100 operates in the first mode such as a normal mode of operation (i.e., does not use power saving mode) when performing the connection destination change processing (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093], & [0105-0106]), Narita does not disclose the claim feature of out of the first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357).
Akatsu discloses out of a first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode. In light of the applicants specification in Para’s [0076-0077], the claimed “second mode” refers to a power saving mode in which the MFP operates, (Akatsu, see Fig. 4 i.e., standby state (i.e., “first mode”) and low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) & Para’s [0003] i.e., bringing a MFP into an engine off state…to reduce power consumption of the MFP in power saving mode…reducing the clock frequency of a CPU to reduce power consumption of a PC for example. These techniques may be combined to provide a power saving system that reduces power consumption by reducing the clock frequency of the CPU in the engine off state of the MFP [0081-0084] i.e., The standby state 51 (i.e., “first mode”) is an operating state in which the respective units (i.e., devices) of the image forming apparatus 10 are activated, and the power consumption is higher than in the other operating states. That is, all functions of the image forming apparatus 10 are usable in the standby state & [0090] i.e., The low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) is an operating state in which the clock frequency of the CPU is reduced and the unnecessary power supply of the devices is turned off to reduce the power consumption…That is, in the low-clock engine off state 58, the clock frequency of the CPU is reduced (i.e., clock frequency of the CPU being reduced is lower than in the first mode))
and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (see Para’s [0083-0084] i.e., the image forming apparatus 10 transitions between the standby state 51 (i.e., “first mode”) and the engine off state 55 which includes the low-clock engine off state 58 (i.e., “second mode”) (i.e., electronic device such as the MFP may operate in the second mode) & [0090])
(Akatsu suggests the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device, (see Para’s [0003], [0061], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device (i.e., MFP) which is operating in a first mode as disclosed in Narita to be able to operate either out of a first mode and a second mode in which a clock frequency of the at least one processor is lower than in the first mode as performed by the electronic device (i.e., MFP) as disclosed in the teachings of Akatsu, because the motivation lies in Akatsu that the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device.
While Narita discloses the electronic device operates as a wireless terminal when performing the connection destination change processing based on the change request (see Para’s [0033] i.e., MFP operates in an infrastructure mode that causes the MFP 100 to operate as a wireless terminal, [0057-0058], [0072], [0093], & [0105-0106]), the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu does not disclose the claim feature of and in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode, not to perform the connection destination change processing. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses in a case where an electronic device (see Fig. 2 i.e., multi-radio station 100 which may be a mobile terminal & Para [0068]) is in a second mode (i.e., “low or reduced power mode”), not to perform the connection destination change processing (see Para’s [0063] i.e., multi-radio station 100 (i.e., “electronic device”) transitions from the initial access point 102 to the target access point 104 & [0064] i.e., upon determining to transition, the multi-radio station 100 may activate a second communication link 108 between the multi-radio station 100 and the target access point 104 (i.e., “connection destination change processing”)…Activating the link (i.e., “connection destination change processing”) may include transitioning the link and/or link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) to a high or full power mode (i.e., the electronic device such as the multi-radio station 100 performs the connection destination change processing only in the full power mode and not while in the second mode such as the low or reduced power mode).
(Tadahal suggests the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication, (see Para’s [0061-0064] & [0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device which performs connection destination change processing based on the change request and that can operate in the second mode as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu to not perform the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (i.e., power saving mode) as disclosed in the teachings of Tadahal, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita US (2018/0203652) in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357), and further in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kishimoto US (2016/0246553).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal discloses the device according to claim 3, including and announce, together with the connection, that the electronic device does not meet the change request of the connection destination (Narita, see Fig. 6B i.e., step S617 error notification is sent from the MFP together with the connection established to the first AP & Para [0084] i.e., In step S617, the CPU 201 transmits an error notification indicating the rejection of the connection request to the mobile terminal 103 which is the transmission source of the connection request (i.e., via the connecting AP)), however the references combined does not disclose the claim feature of wherein in a case where the electronic device is shifted from the first mode to the second mode, the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control to, as the specific processing, cancel connection with the first access point, connect again to the first access point. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Kishimoto US (2016/0246553).
Kishimoto discloses wherein in a case where the electronic device (see Fig. 9 & Para [0066]) is shifted from the first mode to the second mode (see Para [0071] i.e., when the power saving mode is transitioned into, a network I/F 906 is first disconnected),
the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control to, as the specific processing, cancel connection with the first access point(see Para [0071] i.e., when the power saving mode is transitioned into, a network I/F 906 is first disconnected), connect again to the first access point, (see Para [0071] i.e., when the power saving mode is transitioned into, a network I/F 906 is first disconnected, the link connection to the switch 102 is made again, and then link detection unit 1015 detects the link connection)
(Kishimoto suggests in order to reduce power in the power saving mode to the utmost, it is necessary to restart the CPU and network interface card (NIC) of the electronic device so an established link is first disconnected and then the link connection is performed once again for satisfying a job request (see Para’s [0067], [0071], & [0074])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the a case where the electronic device is shifted into the second mode as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal to perform the announcement when the connection established again by performing the steps disclosed in Kishimoto such as wherein in a case where the electronic device is shifted from the first mode to the second mode, performing cancellation of the connection with the first access point and connecting again to the first access point, because the motivation lies in Kishimoto that in order to reduce power in the power saving mode to the utmost, it is necessary to restart the CPU and network interface card (NIC) of the electronic device so an established link is first disconnected and then the link connection is performed once again for satisfying a job request.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita US (2018/0203652) in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357), and further in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Cherian et al. US (2015/0282056).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu discloses the device in the second mode according to claim 3 including the specific processing, and wherein the electronic device such as the MFP operates as an access point or a wireless terminal (Narita, see Para [0033]), but does not disclose the electronic device determining information representing that a radio wave situation is inferior to a measured situation in regard to another access point except the first access point. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses an electronic device (see Fig. 2, muti-radio station 100) determining information representing that a radio wave situation is inferior to a measured situation in regard to another access point except the first access point (see Para [0063] i.e., determination may be based on a comparison of relative received signal strengths (i.e., “measurement information”) of the initial and target access points by the multi-radio station (i.e., in an example where it is determined not to transition, the radio wave situation such as the signal strength of the target access point may be inferior to the initial access point))
(Tadahal suggests the measurement information is used for by the electronic device for determining whether the electronic device should transition from the initial AP to the target AP based on whether the target AP provides better signal strength (see Para’s [0061-0064])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu to determine whether it should change to the connection destination based on gathering the measurement information disclosed in Tadahal who discloses an electronic device determining measurement information representing that a radio wave situation is inferior to a measured situation in regard to another access point except the first access point, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the measurement information is used for by the electronic device for determining whether the electronic device should transition from the initial AP to the target AP based on whether the target AP provides better signal strength.
The combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal does not disclose the claim features of respond to a measurement request received from the first access point by the measurement information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Cherian et al. US (2015/0282056).
Cherian discloses an electronic device such as an AP respond to a measurement request received from a station by measurement information regarding surrounding/neighboring APs (see Para’s [0051] i.e., measurement request or beacon request as defined in IEEE 802.11k and measurement report & [0053] i.e., the measurement frame 400 may further be transmitted by the STA to an AP to request the AP to gather information regarding the surrounding/neighboring APs).
(Cherian suggests the measurement request sent to the AP is used to request the AP to gather information regarding surrounding neighboring APs in order to determine an AP of interest (see Para’s [0051-0053]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the MFP which operates as an access point to receive from the STA via the connected access point as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal a measurement request and respond to the measurement request with the measurement information representing that a radio wave situation is inferior to a measured situation in regard to another access point except the first access point, based on the teachings of Cherian who discloses an electronic device such as an AP respond to a measurement request received from a station by measurement information regarding surrounding/neighboring APs, because the motivation lies in Cherian that the measurement request sent to the AP is used to request the AP to gather information regarding surrounding neighboring APs in order to determine an AP of interest.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita US (2018/0203652) in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357), and further in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dhammawat et al. USP (11,411,942).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: control to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request but the setting about connection with the second access point is a second setting different from a first setting, (Narita, see Para’s [0027], [0034] i.e., Each of the plurality of wireless APs to be activated on the MFP 100 may be set with a different KEY (an encryption Key) for each SSID…Each of the plurality of wireless APs may use a different WLAN standard or may have a different level of security (i.e., security and encryption level used by the second access point may be a “second setting”) [0057], [0093], & [0105-0106] i.e., the CPU 201 controls the WLAN I/F 208 so as to change the connection destination wireless AP to the wireless AP designated in the setting request), but does not disclose the claim features of control to perform the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode and control not to perform the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses control to perform the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (see Para [0064] i.e., the multi-radio station 100 may activate a second communication link 108 between the multi-radio station 100 and the target access point 104…Activating the link may include transitioning the link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (i.e., in a case where the MFP is in the second mode) to a high or full power mode)
and control not to perform the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (see Para’s [0063-0064] i.e., upon determining to transition, the multi-radio station 100 may activate a second communication link 108 between the multi-radio station 100 and the target access point 104 (i.e., “connection destination change processing”)…Activating the link may include transitioning the link and/or link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) to a high or full power mode (i.e., the electronic device such as the multi-radio station 100 performs the connection destination change processing only in the full power mode and not while in the second mode such as the low or reduced power mode).
(Tadahal suggests the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication, (see Para’s [0061-0064] & [0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device which performs connection destination change processing based on the change request and that can operate in the second mode as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu to not perform the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode (i.e., power saving mode) as disclosed in the teachings of Tadahal, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication.
The combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal does not disclose the claim feature of control not to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request in a case where a setting about connection with a second access point serving as a connection destination after change based on the change request is a first setting different from the second setting. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Dhammawat et al. USP (11,411,942).
Dhammawat discloses control not to perform the connection destination change processing in a case where a setting about connection with a second access point serving as a connection destination after change is a first setting different from the second setting (see Col. 1 lines 15-35 i.e., In WPA-3, no roaming solution is defined for devices that may switch from one WiFi6 access point to another. Reliance on traditional sticky key caching (SKC) (i.e., “first setting”) for roaming purposes has shortcomings (i.e., suggests connection destination change (i.e., roaming) is not suitable for SKC since SKC for roaming purposes has shortcomings)…For example, according to SKC (i.e., “first setting”), every time a device attempts to connect to a new access point, the device needs to perform a separate authentication process that involves creating of a PMK and PMK ID. A record of each PMK/PMKID is then to be maintained at a controller which has storage capacity limitations & Col. 8 lines 42-Col. 9 lines 1-28 i.e., SKC doesn’t ensure 100% success in roaming from one access point to another).
(Dhammawat suggests in WPA-3, reliance on sticky key caching (SKC) (i.e., “first setting”) for roaming purposes has shortcomings and does not ensure success in roaming from one access point to another, (see Col. 1 lines 15-35 & Col. 8 lines 42-Col. 9 lines 1-28).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the connection destination change processing to the second AP based on the change request as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal to not to be performed when the second AP has a first setting such as sticky key caching (SKC) which may be different from the second setting, based on the teachings of Dhammawat who discloses sticky key caching (SKC) for roaming purposes when switching from one access point to another has shortcomings, because the motivation lies in Dhammawat that in WPA-3, reliance on sticky key caching (SKC) (i.e., “first setting”) for roaming purposes has shortcomings and does not ensure success in roaming from one access point to another.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal discloses the device according to claim 6, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the first setting is a setting using predetermined encryption processing in the connection with the second access point. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Dhammawat et al. USP (11,411,942).
Dhammawat discloses wherein the first setting is a setting using predetermined encryption processing in the connection with the second access point (see Col. 1 lines 15-35 i.e., In WPA-3, no roaming solution is defined for devices that may switch from one WiFi6 access point to another. Reliance on traditional sticky key caching (SKC) (i.e., “first setting”) for roaming purposes has shortcomings…according to SKC, a PMK and corresponding PMKID is created & Col. 8 line 42-Col. 9 lines 1-28 i.e., creation of PMK and a corresponding PMKID & Col. 12 lines 46-65 i.e., 4-way handshake for derived key generation (i.e., “predetermined encryption processing”) is based on generated PMK and PMKID).
(Dhammawat suggests the WiFi protected access protocol (WPA-3) which uses sticky key caching (SKC) is used for improving security of wireless networks such as next generation IEEE 802.11x WiFi6 networks (see Col. 1 lines 15-35)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the connection destination change processing to the second AP as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal to use a first setting such as sticky key caching (SKC) which uses predetermined encryption processing as disclosed in the teachings of Dhammawat, because the motivation lies in Dhammawat that the WiFi protected access protocol (WPA-3) which uses sticky key caching (SKC) is used for improving security of wireless networks such as next generation IEEE 802.11x WiFi6 networks.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita US (2018/0203652) in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357), further in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762), and further in view of Dhammawat et al. USP (11,411,942) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kawasaki et al. US (2017/0324566).
Regarding Claim 8, Narita in view of Akatsu, further in view of Tadahal, and further in view of Dhammawat discloses the device according to claim 7, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the predetermined encryption processing is Wi-Fi Protected Access-Extensible Authentication Protocol (WPA-EAP). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kawasaki et al. US (2017/0324566).
Kawasaki discloses wherein a predetermined encryption processing is Wi-Fi Protected Access-Extensible Authentication Protocol (WPA-EAP) used for the communication between an access point and an electronic device, (see Fig. 3E & Para [0084] i.e., Fig. 3E illustrates an embodiment of the system similar to Fig. 3A, but contains the addition of Wi-Fi-based encryption requirement configured to use PKI, providing an outside layer of encryption based on Wi-Fi standards such as WPA-EAP (Wi-Fi Protected Access-Extensible Authentication Protocol). In this embodiment, the addition of a Wi-Fi controller 355 which may be integrated into the Wi-Fi AP 350 is serving as an encryption gateway)
(Kawasaki suggests the Wi-Fi Protected Access-Extensible Authentication Protocol (WPA-EAP) is used for providing encryption for the Wi-Fi communications for securing the communication, (see Para’s [0069] & [0084])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the predetermined encryption processing according to WPA used in Narita in view of Akatsu, further in view of Tadahal, and further in view of and further in view of Dhammawat to use Wi-Fi Protected Access-Extensible Authentication Protocol (WPA-EAP) which is used for the communication between an access point and an electronic device as disclosed in the teachings of Kawasaki, because the motivation lies in Kawasaki that the Wi-Fi Protected Access-Extensible Authentication Protocol (WPA-EAP) is used for providing encryption for the Wi-Fi communications for securing the communication.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita US (2018/0203652) in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357), and further in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watanabe et al. US (2014/0153017).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal discloses the device according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein in a case where the electronic device is in the first mode but in a predetermined state, the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control not to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Watanabe et al. US (2014/0153017).
Watanabe discloses wherein in a case where the electronic device is in a predetermined state (see Para [0057] i.e., execution progress of the scan job (i.e., progress of scan job by MFP may be the “predetermined state”)), the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control not to perform a handover operation (see Para’s [0056-0058] i.e., Upon receipt of the handover request from the mobile device 100, the MFP 200 may calculate a predictive waiting time that may be required to complete scanning, based on, for example, the details of the job settings, an execution progress of the scan job…Thereafter, the MFP 200 may transmit a handover response to the mobile device 100. The calculated predictive waiting time and connection information for establishing the wireless communication using the WFD system may be added to the handover response & [0059] i.e., Upon receipt of the handover response, the mobile device 100 may wait until the predictive waiting time has elapsed. After the predictive waiting time has elapsed, the mobile device 100 may request the MFP 200 to establish a connection using the WFD protocol with the mobile device 100 (i.e., “handover operation”)).
(Watanabe suggests that the handover operation is not performed by the MFP until the time required to complete a scanning job has completed according to a determined predictive waiting time in order to successfully perform the scanning job by the MFP without interrupting its connection settings, (see Para’s [0056-0059])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the MFP in the first mode to be further configured to control not to perform the handover operation such as the connection destination change processing based on the change request as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal in a case where the electronic device is in in a predetermined state, such as when performing a scanning job based on the teachings of Watanabe who discloses wherein in a case where the electronic device is in a predetermined state such as executing a scan job, the MFP is controller not to perform a handover operation, which results in not performing the connection destination change processing in a case where the electronic device is in a predetermined state, because the motivation lies in Watanabe that the handover operation is not performed by the MFP until the time required to complete a scanning job has completed according to a determined predictive waiting time in order to successfully perform the scanning job by the MFP without interrupting its connection settings.
Regarding Claim 10, Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal discloses the device according to claim 9, but does not disclose wherein the predetermined state includes a state in which a job is being executed. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Watanabe et al. US (2014/0153017).
Watanabe discloses wherein the predetermined state includes a state in which a job is being executed (see Para’s [0056-0059] i.e., Upon receipt of the handover request from the mobile device 100, the MFP 200 may calculate a predictive waiting time that may be required to complete scanning, based on, for example, the details of the job settings, an execution progress of the scan job…Thereafter, the MFP 200 may transmit a handover response to the mobile device 100. The calculated predictive waiting time and connection information for establishing the wireless communication using the WFD system may be added to the handover response)
(Watanabe suggests that the handover operation is not performed by the MFP until the time required to complete a scanning job has completed according to a determined predictive waiting time in order to successfully perform the scanning job by the MFP without interrupting its connection settings, (see Para’s [0056-0059])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the MFP in the first mode to be further configured to control not to perform the handover operation such as the connection destination change processing based on the change request as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal in a case where the electronic device is in in a predetermined state, such as when performing a scanning job based on the teachings of Watanabe who discloses wherein in a case where the electronic device is in a predetermined state such as executing a scan job, the MFP is controller not to perform a handover operation, because the motivation lies in Watanabe that the handover operation is not performed by the MFP until the time required to complete a scanning job has completed according to a determined predictive waiting time in order to successfully perform the scanning job by the MFP without interrupting its connection settings.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita US (2018/0203652) in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357), and further in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mestanov et al. US (2018/0049077).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, discloses the device according to claim 1, the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request, (Narita, see Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093], & [0105-0106]), but does not disclose wherein in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode to perform the connection destination change processing. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses wherein in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode to perform the connection destination change processing (see Para’s [0063] i.e., multi-radio station 100 (i.e., “electronic device”) transitions from the initial access point 102 to the target access point 104 & [0064] i.e., upon determining to transition, the multi-radio station 100 may activate a second communication link 108 between the multi-radio station 100 and the target access point 104 (i.e., “connection destination change processing”)…Activating the link (i.e., “connection destination change processing”) may include transitioning the link and/or link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) (i.e., “second mode”) to a high or full power mode).
(Tadahal suggests the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication, (see Para’s [0061-0064] & [0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device which performs the connection destination change processing based on the change request as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu to be in a case where the electronic device is in the second mode as disclosed in Tadahal, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication
While Narita discloses the change request received by the electronic device including the connection destination (see Para’s 0027], [0057], [0093] i.e., a setting request including the designation of the wireless AP to which the MFP 100 is to be connected, & [0105-0106] i.e., setting request) and the electronic device operates as a wireless terminal when performing the connection destination change processing based on the change request (see Para’s [0033] i.e., MFP operates in an infrastructure mode that causes the MFP 100 to operate as a wireless terminal, [0057-0058], [0072], [0093], & [0105-0106]), the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal does not disclose the claim feature of but information representing a reason of change of the connection destination included in the change request represents a predetermined reason. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Mestanov et al. US (2018/0049077).
Mestanov discloses a change request (see Fig. 12 i.e., deployment information) including information representing a reason of change of the connection destination represents a predetermined reason (see Fig. 12 & Para [0078] i.e., a first Access point 1 provides the wireless communication device with deployment information (i.e., “change request”), thus enabling the wireless communication device to take an informed decision whether to initiate a scan for a new serving access point 2. If the deployment information and the subsequent scanning provides reasons for the wireless device to change to a new serving access point, the wireless device may initiate a connection procedure to the new access point & [0080] i.e., reason of change to the new AP represents a predetermined reason such as when the signal level the STA receives from AP1 is lower than the preconfigured roaming threshold which makes the signal level degrade and the connection between the first access point 1 and the STA unavailable for communication).
(Mestanov suggests the wireless device transitions to the new access point which provides a better signal level than AP 1 based on the deployment information (see Para’s [0078] & [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the change request used for the electronic device transitioning to the changed access point as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal to include the information representing a reason of change of the connection destination which represents a predetermined reason included in the change request received by the electronic device as disclosed in Mestanov, because the motivation lies in Mestanov that the wireless device transitions to the new access point which provides a better signal level than AP 1 based on the deployment information.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal discloses the device according to claim 11, but does not disclose wherein the predetermined reason is a reason corresponding to cancellation of connection between the access point and the electronic device. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Mestanov et al. US (2018/0049077).
Mestanov discloses wherein the predetermined reason is a reason corresponding to cancellation of connection between the access point and the electronic device (see Fig. 12 & Para [0078] i.e., a first Access point 1 provides the wireless communication device with deployment information (i.e., “change request”), thus enabling the wireless communication device to take an informed decision whether to initiate a scan for a new serving access point 2. If the deployment information and the subsequent scanning provides reasons for the wireless device to change to a new serving access point, the wireless device may initiate a connection procedure to the new access point & [0080] i.e., reason of change to the new AP represents a predetermined reason corresponding to cancellation of the connection due to the signal level the STA receives from AP1 being lower than the preconfigured roaming threshold which makes the signal level degrade).
(Mestanov suggests the wireless device transitions to the new access point which provides a better signal level than AP 1 based on the deployment information (see Para’s [0078] & [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the change request used for the electronic device transitioning to the changed access point as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal to include the information representing a reason of change of the connection destination which represents a predetermined reason corresponding to cancellation of connection between the access point and the electronic device as included in the change request disclosed in Mestanov, because the motivation lies in Mestanov that the wireless device transitions to the new access point which provides a better signal level than AP 1 based on the deployment information.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein in a case where the change request is received in the second mode, (Narita, see Para’s [0027], [0057], [0093] i.e., a setting request including the designation of the wireless AP to which the MFP 100 is to be connected, & [0105-0106] i.e., setting request) and perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request (Narita, see Para’s [0105-0106]), but does not disclose the claim feature of the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control to shift the electronic device from the second mode to the first mode, and then perform the connection destination change processing. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses the electronic device configured to control to shift the electronic device from the second mode to the first mode (see Para [0064] i.e., Activating the link when transitioning between the multi-radio station and the target access point may include transitioning (i.e., “shift”) the link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) (i.e., “second mode”) to a high or full power mode (i.e., “first mode”)), and then perform the connection destination change processing (see Para [0064] i.e., Activating the link (i.e., “connection destination processing”) when transitioning between the multi-radio station and the target access point may include transitioning (i.e., “shift”) the link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) (i.e., “second mode”) to a high or full power mode (i.e., “first mode”))
(Tadahal suggests the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication, (see Para’s [0061-0064] & [0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request received in the second mode as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu to control to shift the electronic device from the second mode to the first mode and then perform the connection destination change processing as disclosed in Tadahal, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication.
The combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal does not disclose the change request including information representing the predetermined reason. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Mestanov et al. US (2018/0049077).
Mestanov discloses the change request including information representing the predetermined reason (see Fig. 12 & Para [0078] i.e., a first Access point 1 provides the wireless communication device with deployment information (i.e., “change request”), thus enabling the wireless communication device to take an informed decision whether to initiate a scan for a new serving access point 2. If the deployment information and the subsequent scanning provides reasons for the wireless device to change to a new serving access point, the wireless device may initiate a connection procedure to the new access point & [0080] i.e., reason of change to the new AP represents a predetermined reason such as when the signal level the STA receives from AP1 is lower than the preconfigured roaming threshold which makes the signal level degrade and the connection between the first access point 1 and the STA unavailable for communication).
(Mestanov suggests the wireless device transitions to the new access point which provides a better signal level than AP 1 based on the deployment information (see Para’s [0078] & [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the change request used for the electronic device transitioning to the changed access point as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal to include the information representing a reason of change of the connection destination which represents a predetermined reason included in the change request received by the electronic device as disclosed in Mestanov, because the motivation lies in Mestanov that the wireless device transitions to the new access point which provides a better signal level than AP 1 based on the deployment information.
Regarding Claim 14, Narita discloses the device according to claim 13, wherein in a case where the change request is received in the second mode, (Narita, see Para’s 0027], [0057], [0093] i.e., a setting request including the designation of the wireless AP to which the MFP 100 is to be connected, & [0105-0106] i.e., setting request) and perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request (Narita, see Para’s [0105-0106]), but does not disclose the claim feature of the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to control to shift the electronic device from the second mode to the first mode, and then perform the connection destination change processing. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762).
Tadahal discloses the electronic device configured to control to shift the electronic device from the second mode to the first mode (see Para [0064] i.e., Activating the link when transitioning between the multi-radio station and the target access point may include transitioning (i.e., “shift”) the link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) (i.e., “second mode”) to a high or full power mode (i.e., “first mode”)), and then perform the connection destination change processing (see Para [0064] i.e., Activating the link (i.e., “connection destination processing”) when transitioning between the multi-radio station and the target access point may include transitioning (i.e., “shift”) the link-associated hardware from a low or reduced power mode (e.g., doze mode) (i.e., “second mode”) to a high or full power mode (i.e., “first mode”))
(Tadahal suggests the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication, (see Para’s [0061-0064] & [0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the connection destination change processing based on the change request received in the second mode as disclosed in Narita to control to shift the electronic device from the second mode to the first mode and then perform the connection destination change processing as disclosed in Tadahal, because the motivation lies in Tadahal that the electronic device activates the second communication link between the electronic device and the target access point by transitioning link-associated hardware of the electronic device from a low or reduced power mode to a full power mode in order to successfully transition the electronic device to the target access point which offers better signal strength to the electronic device than the initial access point and avoids short outage of interruption of data communication.
The combination of Narita in view of Tadahal does not disclose the change request including information representing the predetermined reason. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Mestanov et al. US (2018/0049077).
Mestanov discloses the change request including information representing the predetermined reason (see Fig. 12 & Para [0078] i.e., a first Access point 1 provides the wireless communication device with deployment information (i.e., “change request”), thus enabling the wireless communication device to take an informed decision whether to initiate a scan for a new serving access point 2. If the deployment information and the subsequent scanning provides reasons for the wireless device to change to a new serving access point, the wireless device may initiate a connection procedure to the new access point & [0080] i.e., reason of change to the new AP represents a predetermined reason such as when the signal level the STA receives from AP1 is lower than the preconfigured roaming threshold which makes the signal level degrade and the connection between the first access point 1 and the STA unavailable for communication).
(Mestanov suggests the wireless device transitions to the new access point which provides a better signal level than AP 1 based on the deployment information (see Para’s [0078] & [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the change request used for the electronic device transitioning to the changed access point as disclosed in Narita in view of Tadahal to include the information representing a reason of change of the connection destination which represents a predetermined reason included in the change request received by the electronic device as disclosed in Mestanov, because the motivation lies in Mestanov that the wireless device transitions to the new access point which provides a better signal level than AP 1 based on the deployment information.
The combination of Narita in view of Tadahal, and further in view of Mestanov does not disclose and then shift the electronic device from the first mode to the second mode. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357).
Akatsu discloses shift the electronic device from the first mode to the second mode (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0082], [0083-0084] i.e., the image forming apparatus transitions between the standby state 51 and the engine off state 55 including low-clock engine off state 58. & [0090])
(Akatsu suggests the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device, (see Para’s [0003], [0061], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device (i.e., MFP) which performs the connection destination change processing by shifting the MFP from the second mode to the first mode as disclosed in Narita in view of Tadahal, and further in view of Mestanov to shift the electronic device from the first mode to the second mode based on the teachings of Akatsu who discloses determining to transition the MFP from the first mode to the second power saving mode, because the motivation lies in Akatsu that the electronic device (i.e., MFP) is able to operate in the second mode which is a power saving mode in order to perform power control and reduce power consumption for saving power of the electronic device.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita US (2018/0203652) in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357), and further in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alizadeh et al. US (2024/0389028).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal discloses the device according to claim 1, including wherein the electronic device such as the MFP operates as a wireless access point (AP) for communicating with the mobile terminal 103 (see Fig. 1 & Para [0033]), the references combined do not disclose wherein the electronic device is a device capable of an operation corresponding to at least one of Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) and Target Wake Time (TWT). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Alizadeh et al. US (2024/0389028).
Alizadeh discloses wherein a wireless AP is a device capable of an operation corresponding to a Target Wake Time (TWT) (see Para’s [0003] i.e., Target wake time (TWT) allows an access point and clients of the AP to negotiate specific time windows for when clients are expected to wake up in order to communicate to the AP & [0017] i.e., TWT scheduling which allows an AP and clients of the AP to negotiate specific time windows for when clients are expected to wake up in order to communicate to the AP & [0021])
(Alizadeh suggests the TWT scheduling allows an AP and clients of the AP to negotiate specific time windows for when clients are expected to wake up in order to communicate to the AP and TWT provides for optimization of services in Wi-Fi based networks and power saving opportunities to preserve energy at the devices (see Para’s [0003], [0017], & [0021])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the MFP which operates as a wireless access point (AP) for communicating with the mobile terminal as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal to be capable of an operation corresponding to the Target Wake Time (TWT) used for communication between the wireless AP and client of the AP as disclosed in the teachings of Alizadeh, because the motivation lies in Alizadeh that the TWT scheduling allows an AP and clients of the AP to negotiate specific time windows for when clients are expected to wake up in order to communicate to the AP and TWT provides for optimization of services in Wi-Fi based networks and power saving opportunities to preserve energy at the devices.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita US (2018/0203652) in view of Akatsu US (2019/0155357), and further in view of Tadahal et al. US (2023/0239762) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki US (2024/0069842).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal discloses the device according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the electronic device is a device capable of an operation complying with IEEE802.11ax. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Suzuki US (2024/0069842).
Suzuki discloses wherein the electronic device (see Fig. 1 i.e., MFP 1) is a device capable of an operation complying with IEEE802.11ax (see Para’s [0016-0025] i.e., operations 13-16 performed by MFP 1 & [0026] i.e. the communication unit 17 executes communication processing for wireless communication with another communication device in the vicinity…Furthermore, the communication unit 17 conforms to the 802.11ax standard)
(Suzuki suggests the communication unit 17 of the MFP conforms to the IEEE802.11ax standard for efficiently performing operations of the MFP and which can communicate using a security protocol for securing the communications (see Para [0026])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the electronic device used for communication as disclosed in Narita in view of Akatsu, and further in view of Tadahal to be capable of an operation complying with IEEE802.11ax as performed by the MFP as disclosed in the teachings of Suzuki, because the motivation lies in Suzuki that the communication unit 17 of the MFP conforms to the IEEE802.11ax standard for efficiently performing operations of the MFP and which can communicate using a security protocol for securing the communications.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461