DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 21, 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US patent application publication of Pan et al. (2020/0021236).
As to claim 1, Pan discloses a solar power generation system comprising: a
plurality of photovoltaic (PV) arrays (231) configured to generate low voltage direct current (LVDC) power (see paragraph [0025], lines 1-2 and Figure 2); a plurality of DC to DC converters (233), each of the plurality of DC to DC converters (233) configured to receive LVDC power from at least one of the plurality of PV arrays (231), convert the LVDC power to medium voltage DC (MVDC) power (outputs of converters 233) (see paragraph [0025], lines 3-5 and Figure 2), and output the MVDC power at a predefined voltage level (the outputs of the DC to DC converters are connected to the same MVDC bus, therefore the voltage level of the bus is the predefined voltage level, see Figure 2); a plurality of branch MVDC busses (outputs of 233), each of the plurality of branch MVDC busses configured to convey MVDC power from at least one of the plurality of DC to DC converters (233) (see Figure 2); a main MVDC bus (input to 240) configured to receive MVDC power from each of the plurality of branch MVDC busses (outputs of 233) (see Figure 2); at least one inverter (240) configured to receive MVDC power from the main MVDC bus (input to 240) and convert the MVDC power to medium voltage alternating current (MVAC) power (see paragraph [0025], lines 19-24 and Figure 2); and a distribution transformer (205) configured to receive MVAC power from the at least one inverter (240) and convert the MVAC power to high voltage AC power (see paragraph [0021], lines 8-12 and Figure 2).
As to claim 3, Pan discloses an energy storage system (250) configured to store energy generated by at least some of the plurality of PV arrays (231) (see paragraph [0026], lines 3-7 and Figure 2).
As to claim 4, the energy storage system (250) is electrically coupled to the main MVDC bus (input to 240) (see Figure 2).
As to claim 8, Pan discloses a method for operating a solar power generation system, the method comprising: generating, by a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) arrays (231), low voltage direct current (LVDC) power (see paragraph [0025], lines 1-2 and Figure 2); converting, by a plurality of DC to DC converters (233) configured to receive LVDC power from at least one of the plurality of PV arrays, the LVDC power to medium voltage (MVDC) power (outputs of converters 233) (see paragraph [0025], lines 3-5 and Figure 2), wherein the MVDC power is output at a predefined voltage level (the outputs of the DC to DC converters are connected to the same bus, therefore the voltage of the bus is the predefined voltage level, see Figure 2); conveying, by a plurality of branch MVDC busses, VDC power from at least one of the plurality of DC to DC converters to a main MVDC bus (input to 240) (see Figure 2); converting, by at least one inverter configured to receive MVDC power from the main MVDC bus, the MVDC power to medium voltage alternating current (MVAC) power (see paragraph [0025], lines 19-24 and Figure 2); and converting, by a distribution transformer configured to receive MVAC power from the at least one inverter (240), the MVAC power to high voltage AC power (see paragraph [0021], lines 8-12 and Figure 2).
As to claim 10, Pan discloses storing energy generated by at least some of the plurality of PV arrays (231) in an energy storage system (250) (see paragraph [0026], lines 3-7 and Figure 2).
As to claim 11, the energy storage system (250) is electrically coupled to the main MVDC bus (input to 240) (see Figure 2).
As to claim 15, Pan discloses a solar power distribution system comprising: a plurality of direct current (DC) to DC converters (233) configured to receive low voltage DC (LVDC) power from at least one of a plurality of photovoltaic (PV) arrays (231), convert the LVDC power to medium voltage DC (MVDC) power (outputs of converters 233) (see paragraph [0025], lines 1-5 and Figure 2) and output the MVDC power at a predefined voltage level (the outputs of the DC to DC converters are connected to the same bus, therefore the voltage of the bus is the predefined voltage level, see Figure 2); a plurality of branch MVDC busses (outputs of 233), each of the plurality of branch MVDC busses configured to convey MVDC power from at least one of the plurality of DC to DC converters (233) (see Figure 2); a main MVDC bus (input to 240) configured to receive MVDC power from each of the plurality of branch MVDC busses (outputs of 233) (see Figure 2); at least one inverter (240) configured to receive MVDC power from the main MVDC bus (input to 240) and convert the MVDC power to medium voltage alternating current (MVAC) power (see paragraph [0025], lines 19-24 and Figure 2); and a distribution transformer (205) configured to receive MVAC power from the at least one inverter (240) and convert the MVAC power to high voltage AC power (see paragraph [0021], lines 8-12 and Figure 2).
As to claim 17, Pan discloses an energy storage system (250) configured to store energy generated by at least some of the plurality of PV arrays (231) (see paragraph [0026], lines 3-7 and Figure 2).
As to claim 18, the energy storage system (250) is electrically coupled to the main MVDC bus (input to 240) (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 9, 12, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of the international patent application publication of Zhang et al. (WO 2022/252191).
As to claim 2, Pan discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for a plurality of diodes, each of the plurality of diodes electrically coupled between one of the plurality of branch MVDC busses and the main MVDC bus. Zhang discloses a similar solar power generation system, comprising a plurality of diodes (121), each of the plurality of diodes (121) electrically coupled between a branch bus (111 or 112) and a main MVDC bus (input to inverter 130) (see paragraph [0128], lines 1-4 and Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have connected a plurality of diodes between one of the plurality of branch MVDC busses of Pan and the main MVDC bus, in order to prevent current from flowing back into the photovoltaic strings.
As to claim 5, Pan discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above, except for a plurality of filters, each of the plurality of filters electrically coupled between one of the plurality of branch MVDC busses and the main MVDC bus. Zhang discloses a similar solar power generation system, comprising a plurality of filters (141,142), each of the plurality of filters electrically coupled between a branch MVDC bus and the maim MVDC bus (see paragraph [0128], lines 5-7 and Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have coupled filters between each of the branch MVDC busses of pan and the main MVDC bus, in order to allow communication between each of the DC/DC converters and the inverter.
As to claim 9, Pan discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for each of a plurality of diodes electrically coupled between one of the plurality of branch MVDC busses and the main MVDC bus. Zhang discloses a similar solar power generation system, comprising a plurality of diodes (121), each of the plurality of diodes (121) electrically coupled between a branch bus (111 or 112) and a main MVDC bus (input to inverter 130) (see paragraph [0128], lines 1-4 and Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have connected a plurality of diodes between one of the plurality of branch MVDC busses of Pan and the main MVDC bus, in order to prevent current from flowing back into the photovoltaic strings.
As to claim 12, Pan discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above, except for a plurality of filters, each of the plurality of filters electrically coupled between one of the plurality of branch MVDC busses and the main MVDC bus. Zhang discloses a similar solar power generation system, comprising a plurality of filters (141,142), each of the plurality of filters electrically coupled between a branch MVDC bus and the maim MVDC bus (see paragraph [0128], lines 5-7 and Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have coupled filters between each of the branch MVDC busses of pan and the main MVDC bus, in order to allow communication between each of the DC/DC converters and the inverter.
As to claim 16, Pan discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for a plurality of diodes, each of the plurality of diodes electrically coupled between one of the plurality of branch MVDC busses and the main MVDC bus. Zhang discloses a similar solar power generation system, comprising a plurality of diodes (121), each of the plurality of diodes (121) electrically coupled between a branch bus (111 or 112) and a main MVDC bus (input to inverter 130) (see paragraph [0128], lines 1-4 and Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have connected a plurality of diodes between one of the plurality of branch MVDC busses of Pan and the main MVDC bus, in order to prevent current from flowing back into the photovoltaic strings.
As to claim 19, Pan discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above, except for a plurality of filters, each of the plurality of filters electrically coupled between one of the plurality of branch MVDC busses and the main MVDC bus. Zhang discloses a similar solar power generation system, comprising a plurality of filters (141,142), each of the plurality of filters electrically coupled between a branch MVDC bus and the maim MVDC bus (see paragraph [0128], lines 5-7 and Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have coupled filters between each of the branch MVDC busses of pan and the main MVDC bus, in order to allow communication between each of the DC/DC converters and the inverter.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of the US patent application publication of Suryanarayana et al. (2018/0166881).
As to claim 6, Pan discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for the LVDC power having a bipolar voltage of about +/- 1.5 kilovolts. Suryanarayana discloses a medium voltage solar power generation system comprising solar panel arrays supplying LVDC power from the solar panel arrays and converting the LVDC power to MVDC power, wherein the LVDC power has a bipolar voltage of about +/- 1.5 kilovolts (1,000V to 1,500V) (see paragraph [0005], lines 14-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used LVDC power with a bipolar voltage of about +/- 1.5 kilovolts because LVDC is usually at least about +/- 1.5 kilovolts.
As to claim 7, the MVDC power of Suryanarayana has a bipolar voltage in a range of about +/- 10 kilovolts to about +/- 40 kilovolts (+/-5 kV to +/-25 kV, which includes +/- 10 kilovolts to +/- 25 kilovolts) (see paragraph [0005], lines 16-17).
As to claim 13, Pan discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for the LVDC power having a bipolar voltage of about +/- 1.5 kilovolts. Suryanarayana discloses a medium voltage solar power generation system comprising solar panel arrays supplying LVDC power from the solar panel arrays and converting the LVDC power to MVDC power, wherein the LVDC power has a bipolar voltage of about +/- 1.5 kilovolts (1,000V to 1,500V) (see paragraph [0005], lines 14-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used LVDC power with a bipolar voltage of about +/- 1.5 kilovolts because LVDC is usually at least about +/- 1.5 kilovolts.
As to claim 14, the MVDC power of Suryanarayana has a bipolar voltage in a range of about +/- 10 kilovolts to about +/- 40 kilovolts (+/-5 kV to +/-25 kV, which includes +/- 10 kilovolts to +/- 25 kilovolts) (see paragraph [0005], lines 16-17).
As to claim 20, Pan discloses all of the claimed features, as set forth above,
except for the LVDC power having a bipolar voltage of about +/- 1.5 kilovolts. Suryanarayana discloses a medium voltage solar power generation system comprising solar panel arrays supplying LVDC power from the solar panel arrays and converting the LVDC power to MVDC power, wherein the LVDC power has a bipolar voltage of about +/- 1.5 kilovolts (1,000V to 1,500V) (see paragraph [0005], lines 14-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used LVDC power with a bipolar voltage of about +/- 1.5 kilovolts because LVDC is usually at least about +/- 1.5 kilovolts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, page 7, filed November 21, 2025, with respect to the objections to the drawings and the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of the drawings and claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed November 21, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant states that Pan does not describe or suggest a solar power generation system as recited in amended claim 1 because the DC-DC optimizers of Pan are not configured to output MVDC power at a predefined voltage level and Pan is silent with respect to an output of the DC-DC optimizers being at a particular voltage level. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The DC-DC optimizers of Pan have their inputs connected to a common MVDC bus. The outputs of the DC-DC optimizers are therefore at the voltage level of the bus, which is a predefined voltage level. It is noted that even if the DC-DC optimizers had different output voltages, they would still each output their own predefined voltage level.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAL KAPLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836