DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 6, the claim language such as “SDI port” is an acronym and full word is required as claim language.
As per claim 13, the claim language such as “SDI port” is an acronym and full word is required as claim language.
As per claim 20, the claim language such as “SDI port” is an acronym and full word is required as claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a metadata extraction module for extracting video camera metadata for an original high resolution video file directly from a video camera via a high bandwidth channel” in claim 1.
“an encoder module for encoding a lower-resolution proxy video file corresponding to the extracted metadata” in claim 1.
“a transmission module for wirelessly transmitting the lower-resolution proxy video file and the extracted metadata” in claim 1.
“a metadata extraction module for extracting video camera metadata for an original high resolution video file directly from a video camera via a high bandwidth channel” in claim 15.
“an encoder module for encoding a lower-resolution proxy video file corresponding to the extracted metadata” in claim 15.
“a transmission module for wirelessly transmitting the lower-resolution proxy video file and the extracted metadata” claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Rinne
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rinne(USPubN 2014/0365605).
As per claim 1, Rinne teaches a system for transmission of proxy video clips for video processing, comprising:
a metadata extraction module for extracting video camera metadata for an original high resolution video file directly from a video camera via a high bandwidth channel(“The user apparatus 120 may also have a metadata element 121 for creating data usable as metadata of the multimedia content captured by the multimedia device 110.” in Para.[0082], “the proprietary application in the user apparatus 120 may be a client application of a service whose server application is running on the server apparatus 130 of the system 100. The proprietary application may capture the multimedia data for the first path. Also metadata for the captured multimedia may be retrieved by the proprietary application from the metadata elements 121 of the user apparatus 120. The default application may be an imaging application of the user apparatus 120. For the second path, the multimedia data captured by the default application may be imported to the proprietary application before transmitting to the server apparatus 130. The proprietary application may check the multimedia data and extract and apply metadata for the multimedia data” in Para.[0085], “The camera 260 may be a still image camera or a video stream camera, capable for creating multimedia data and providing metadata information” in Para.[0093], “The image sensor 340 may be a device converting an optical image into an electronic signal, for example a charge-coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) active pixel sensor. The image sensor 340 may provide metadata information of the image sensor 340” in Para.[0101], “Some metadata 520 may be written by the camera” in Para.[0114], “The multimedia device 110 is configured to be connectable to a user apparatus 120 over a data connection 112. The data connection 112 may be a wired connection or a wireless connection. The wired connection may comprise Universal Serial Bus (USB), High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) or local area network (LAN), for example. The wireless connection may comprise Bluetooth.TM., Radio Frequency Identification (RF-ID) or wireless local area network (WLAN), for example” in Para.[0080], The proprietary application can be interpreted as a metadata extraction module because it extracts metadata from image sensor.);
an encoder module for encoding a lower-resolution proxy video file corresponding to the extracted metadata(“The software 230 may also provide converting multimedia data from a first resolution to a second resolution and providing requested blocks of multimedia data.” In Para.[0088], “The user apparatus may convert the captured first multimedia data 800 of the first resolution into a second multimedia data 810 of a second resolution. The second resolution is lower than the first resolution enabling a file size of the multimedia data to be reduced. The reduced size file is easier for the user apparatus to transmit for the server” in Para.[0127]); and
a transmission module for wirelessly transmitting the lower-resolution proxy video file and the extracted metadata(“The user apparatus may convert the captured first multimedia data 800 of the first resolution into a second multimedia data 810 of a second resolution. The second resolution is lower than the first resolution enabling a file size of the multimedia data to be reduced. The reduced size file is easier for the user apparatus to transmit for the server” in Para.[0127], “The user apparatus 120 is configured to be connectable to a wireless communication network 140 over a wireless connection 122. The wireless connection 122 may comprise a mobile cellular network or a wireless local area network (WLAN), for example. The wireless communication network may be to a public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, over a data connection 141. The user apparatus 120 may be configured to be connectable to the public data communication network 150 directly over a data connection 123. The data connection 123 may comprise a wired or wireless connection, such as a local area network (LAN) or a wireless local area network (WLAN), for example.” in Para.[0082], “The communication interface module 250 implements at least part of radio transmission. The communication interface module 250 may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, or LTE (Long Term Evolution) radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB), for example. The communication interface module 250 may be integrated into the user apparatus 120, or into an adapter, card or the like that may be inserted into a suitable slot or port of the user apparatus 120. The communication interface module 250 may support one radio interface technology or a plurality of technologies. The user apparatus 120 may comprise a plurality of communication interface modules 250. Captured multimedia may be transmitted to a wireless communication network 140 using the communication interface 250.” in Para.[0094]).
As per claim 2, Rinne teaches wherein the high bandwidth channel comprises one or more of a Wi-Fi channel and an Ethernet channel provided on the video camera(Para.[0080]).
As per claim 3, Rinne teaches wherein the metadata extraction module is adapted to establish a data tunnel between the metadata extraction module and the video camera via one or more of the Wi-Fi channel and the Ethernet channel(Para.[0080]).
As per claim 4, Rinne teaches wherein the metadata extraction module is configured to extract video camera metadata via the established data tunnel substantially in real-time(Para.[0080], [0081]).
As per claim 5, Rinne teaches wherein the metadata extraction module formats the extracted video camera metadata in an extracted metadata file that can be transmitted together with or independently of the lower-resolution proxy video file(Para.[0093], [0101]).
As per claim 6, Rinne teaches wherein the extracted metadata file includes video camera metadata normally inaccessible via conventional metadata extraction via an SDI port, thereby providing comprehensive video camera metadata which may assist a video editor when editing the lower-resolution proxy video file(Para.[0080], [0127]).
As per claim 7, Rinne teaches wherein the transmission module is adapted to transmit the extracted metadata file and the lower-resolution proxy video file via one or more wireless networks comprising one or more of 4G LTE, 5G, STARLINK™, and traditional GEO satellite connectivity(Para.[0127], [0094]).
As per claim 8, the limitations in the claim 8 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 9, the limitations in the claim 9 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 10, the limitations in the claim 10 has been discussed in the rejection claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 11, the limitations in the claim 11 has been discussed in the rejection claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 12, the limitations in the claim 12 has been discussed in the rejection claim 5 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 13, the limitations in the claim 13 has been discussed in the rejection claim 6 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 14, the limitations in the claim 14 has been discussed in the rejection claim 7 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 15, the limitations in the claim 15 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, the limitations in the claim 16 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 17, the limitations in the claim 17 has been discussed in the rejection claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the limitations in the claim 18 has been discussed in the rejection claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, the limitations in the claim 19 has been discussed in the rejection claim 5 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, the limitations in the claim 20 has been discussed in the rejection claim 6 and rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484