DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communications filed on 15 October 2025. Claims 1, 4-10, 14-17 and 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al. (Hereinafter, Howard, US 2014/0075324 A1) in view of Paris et al. (Hereinafter, Paris, US 2016/0364846 A1).
Per claim 1, Howard discloses a card display method (paragraph [0006], “ Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to devices and methods for dynamically altering a graphical user-interface layout based upon an icon representing a currently displayed portion of the graphical user-interface ... “; paragraph [0019]), comprising:
receiving a display operation for a media content card corresponding to a target media content (e.g., block 92 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0038], “ Process 90 begins by obtaining an input image (block 92). The input image may be an image related to a user selection and/or the current view within the GUI. For example, in an iTunes ® library, a user may select a particular piece of digital content, such as a movie, song, album, etc. In other cases, the user may select a genre, artist, or other page related to digital content ... “; Examiner’s Note: Howard discloses selecting a particular piece of digital content (i.e., target media content), such as a movie, song, album, etc. The input image (i.e., media content card) is displayed in a current view. ); and
displaying the media content card in response to the display operation(paragraph [0038], “…The iTunes®. GUI may provide a view pertaining to the user's particular selection. In such cases, an image associated with the user's selection may be prominently displayed on the view. Because the image is prominently displayed, it may be desirable to coordinate the layout of the current view with the image. Accordingly, the input image may be prominently displayed image of the current view. “), wherein the media content card comprises a first region (e.g., enlarged album icon 322 of album artwork or target picture as shown in Fig. 9; Examiner’s Note: Examiner is interpreting the region located in the right side of GUI 332 as a first region.) and a second region(e.g., left side of GUI 332 as shown in Fig. 9 ), the first region is used to display a target picture corresponding to the target media content(e.g., enlarged album icon 322 of album artwork or target picture as shown in Fig. 9), the second region is used to display media content information of the target media content (e.g., primary text 326 and secondary text 328 as shown in Fig. 9), and a background color of the second region is associated with a picture color of the target picture (e.g., background 330 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0039]; paragraph [0057]);
wherein before the displaying the media content card (e.g., block 92 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0038]) , the method further comprises:
determining a first color and a second color in the target picture(e.g., block 94 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0019]; paragraph [0039], “Once the input image has been obtained, an analysis of the image is performed to determine potential background colors as well as colors for other elements of the GUI (block 94) ...”; paragraph [0040]; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 6 discloses a process for determining background and dominant colors from an image associated with the digital content.); and
determining the background color of the second region according to the first color and the second color(e.g., blocks 96 and 98 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0040], “Once the background color is determined, the computer may determine a combination of the potential color choices that would be within acceptable parameters for a color scheme of the layout (block 96) ...” ; paragraph [0042], “Once the color selections are made, the layout (e.g., the background color, the color selections, and/or a version of the input image) are applied to the GUI (block 98)…”);
wherein the determining the background color of the second region according to the first color and the second color comprises:
performing a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region(paragraph[0050], “Further, as will be discussed in more detail below, the input image may be used as a background image that fades into the background color. Accordingly, the edges that are more centrally located in the background may be of more importance in determining a background color. In some embodiments, the center of an image may have a relatively high weight, especially when the image covers an entire portion of the GUI .. “; paragraph [0057], “ … As discussed above, image 334 may fade into the background 330, thus illustrating the importance of edge weighting the image when determining the background 330 color ... “; Examiner’s Note: Howard discloses the background image is a faded version of the image associated with the current view that becomes increasingly faded towards a body of the current view. Therefore, Howard discloses fading from a first color into the background color.).
Howard does not expressly disclose: wherein the performing a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region comprises:
using one color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a first vertex or at a first boundary of the second region,
using the other color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a second vertex or a second boundary of the second region, and
determining background colors to be displayed by [[of]] various pixels in the second region in a of gradually changing from the one color to the other color, so that background colors to be displayed by the various pixels in the second region gradually change from the one color to the other color in a direction from the first vertex to the second vertex or from the first boundary to the second boundary.
wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region.
Howard discloses: wherein the performing a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region comprises:
using one color of the first color (e.g., color portions 203a as shown in Fig. 2 ) and the second color (e.g., color portions 203c as shown in Fig. 2) as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a first vertex or at a first boundary of the second region(Abstract, “ Embodiments described herein are directed to methods and systems for facilitating control of smoothness of transitions between images. In embodiments, a difference of color values of pixels between a foreground image and the background image are identified along a boundary associated with a location at which to paste the foreground image relative to the background image ... “; paragraph [0006]; paragraphs [0023-0024]; paragraph [0063]),
using the other color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a second vertex or a second boundary of the second region(e.g., steps 903-906 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0078-0080]; Examiner’s Note: Paris discloses selecting a first image and the second image located at boundaries. Paris then determines pixel color for the selected images.), and
determining background colors to be displayed by [[of]] various pixels in the second region in a of gradually changing from the one color to the other color(e.g., step 909 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0081], “At step 909, a set of pixel data for each pixel of a selected image region is identified. A selected image region generally refers to an area or region on which to operate or modify pixel colors such that the background and foreground images can blend smoothly. Stated differently, a selected image region refers to a pixel area or region in which a color or filter effect (e.g., gradual effect) can be applied to an image. In some embodiments, a selected image region is defined by a boundary or a selected image region defines the boundary…”; Fig. 10), so that background colors to be displayed by the various pixels in the second region gradually change from the one color to the other color in a direction from the first vertex to the second vertex or from the first boundary to the second boundary(e.g., steps 912-918 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0086-0107]; Examiner’s Note: Paris describes compositing a first image and a second image with a seamless transition as illustrated in Fig. 3and outline in claim 1 of Paris. ).
wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region(paragraph [0005]; paragraph [0021]; Fig. 2 illustrates wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region.; Examiner’s Note: Paris stated goal is the improve the color transition of pixels across a boundary, i.e., at opposite to each other. ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the methods and systems of Paris with the automated graphical user interface layout for improving the transition in the color of pixels across a boundary between a foreground image in association with a background image as suggested by Paris (paragraph [0005]).
Per claim 4,Howard and Baek disclose the method according to claim1, wherein before the determining the first color and the second color in the target picture, the method further comprises: according to color proportions of a plurality of colors in the target picture, obtaining a color whose color proportion satisfies a first preset condition from the target picture as the first color(Howard, paragraph [0050],” After the input image is resized, the background color may be selected using process 192. First, hue and grayscale histograms from the input image edges are generating, taking into account edge weighting (blocks 198 and 200, respectively). The hue may describe a particular color's association with a defined color, while the grayscale may define a particular color's intensity …. “; paragraphs [0051-0052]; Examiner’s Note: Howard uses a hue histogram to determine the dominant hue.), and obtaining a color whose color proportion satisfies a second preset condition from the target picture as the [[a]] second color(paragraph [0050],” After the input image is resized, the background color may be selected using process 192. First, hue and grayscale histograms from the input image edges are generating, taking into account edge weighting (blocks 198 and 200, respectively). The hue may describe a particular color's association with a defined color, while the grayscale may define a particular color's intensity …. “; paragraph [0051]; Examiner’s Note: Howard uses a grayscale histogram to determine the dominant hue.).
Per claim 5, Howard and Baek disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying a target identifier of the target media content in a third region of the media content card adopting a third color associated with the target picture as a background color of the third region (Howard, e.g., primary text 326 as shown Fig. 9; paragraph [0057], “ … As illustrated by the enlarged album icon 322 and the selector arrow 324, a user has selected an album in the Albums view of iTunes® Based upon this selection, the layout generator may determine a primary text color and a secondary text color for use in the GUI layout. For example, based upon the album artwork (e.g., icon 322) the layout generator may determine that the background color should be #efefef, that the primary text color should be #921316, and that the secondary text color should be #1f274e ... “).
Per claim 6, Howard and Baek disclose the method according to claim 5, before the displaying the target identifier of the target media content in the media content card, the method further comprises: according to color proportions of a plurality of colors in the target picture, obtaining a color whose color proportion satisfies a third preset condition from the target picture as the third color (Howard, paragraph [0052]; Examiner’s Note: Howard discloses merging the hue/grayscale colors based on dominance of color in image.).
Per claim 7, Howard and Baek disclose the method according to claim 5, further comprising: switching the target picture displayed in the first region(Howard, paragraph [0038], “Process 90 begins by obtaining an input image (block 92). The input image may be an image related to a user selection and/or the current view within the GUI. For example, in an iTunes® library, a user may select a particular piece of digital content, such as a movie, song, album, etc. In other cases, the user may select a genre, artist, or other page related to digital content ... “), and updating the background color of the second region and a background color of the third region according to a switched target picture, in response to satisfying a preset switching condition(Howard, paragraph [0038], “…The iTunes® GUI may provide a view pertaining to the user's particular selection. In such cases, an image associated with the user's selection may be prominently displayed on the view. Because the image is prominently displayed, it may be desirable to coordinate the layout of the current view with the image. Accordingly, the input image may be prominently displayed image of the current view. “; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 3 discloses updating the background color of the second region and a background color of the third region according to a switched target picture, in response to satisfying a preset switching condition. ).
Per claim 8, Howard discloses a card display device (e.g., device 10 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0021]), comprising:
an operation receiving module (e.g., input structures 18 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0024]), configured to receive a display operation for a media content card corresponding to a target media content (e.g., block 92 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0038], “ Process 90 begins by obtaining an input image (block 92). The input image may be an image related to a user selection and/or the current view within the GUI. For example, in an iTunes ® library, a user may select a particular piece of digital content, such as a movie, song, album, etc. In other cases, the user may select a genre, artist, or other page related to digital content ... “; Examiner’s Note: Howard discloses selecting a particular piece of digital content (i.e., target media content), such as a movie, song, album, etc. The input image (i.e., media content card) is displayed in a current view.); and
a card display module(e.g., display 12 as shown in Fig. 1), configured to display the media content card in response to the display operation(paragraph [0025]), wherein the media content card comprises a first region (e.g., enlarged album icon 322 of album artwork or target picture as shown in Fig. 9; Examiner’s Note: Examiner is interpreting the region located in the right side of GUI 332 as a first region.) and a second region(e.g., left side of GUI 332 as shown in Fig. 9 ), the first region is used to display a target picture corresponding to the target media content(e.g., enlarged album icon 322 of album artwork or target picture as shown in Fig. 9), the second region is used to display media content information of the target media content (e.g., primary text 326 and secondary text 328 as shown in Fig. 9), and a background color of the second region is associated with a picture color of the target picture (e.g., background 330 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0039]; paragraph [0057]);
wherein the card display device further comprises:
a color determination module(e.g., computer 50 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0032]), configured to determine a first color (e.g., a background color) and a second color (e.g., a dominant colors) in the target picture before displaying the media content card(e.g., block 92 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0038]); and
a background color determination module(e.g., computer 50 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0032]), configured to determine the background color of the second region according to the first color and the second color(e.g., blocks 96 and 98 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0040], “Once the background color is determined, the computer may determine a combination of the potential color choices that would be within acceptable parameters for a color scheme of the layout (block 96) ...” ; paragraph [0042], “Once the color selections are made, the layout (e.g., the background color, the color selections, and/or a version of the input image) are applied to the GUI (block 98)…”);
the background color determination module is configured to perform a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region, to determine the background color of the second region (Paragraph[0050], “Further, as will be discussed in more detail below, the input image may be used as a background image that fades into the background color. Accordingly, the edges that are more centrally located in the background may be of more importance in determining a background color. In some embodiments, the center of an image may have a relatively high weight, especially when the image covers an entire portion of the GUI .. “; paragraph [0057], “ … As discussed above, image 334 may fade into the background 330, thus illustrating the importance of edge weighting the image when determining the background 330 color ... “; Examiner’s Note: Howard discloses the background image is a faded version of the image associated with the current view that becomes increasingly faded towards a body of the current view. Therefore, Howard discloses fading from a first color into the background color.)
Howard does not expressly disclose: wherein the performing a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region comprises:
using one color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a first vertex or at a first boundary of the second region,
using the other color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a second vertex or a second boundary of the second region, and
determining background colors to be displayed by [[of]] various pixels in the second region in a of gradually changing from the one color to the other color, so that background colors to be displayed by the various pixels in the second region gradually change from the one color to the other color in a direction from the first vertex to the second vertex or from the first boundary to the second boundary.
wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region.
Howard discloses: wherein the performing a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region comprises:
using one color of the first color (e.g., color portions 203a as shown in Fig. 2 ) and the second color (e.g., color portions 203c as shown in Fig. 2) as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a first vertex or at a first boundary of the second region(Abstract, “ Embodiments described herein are directed to methods and systems for facilitating control of smoothness of transitions between images. In embodiments, a difference of color values of pixels between a foreground image and the background image are identified along a boundary associated with a location at which to paste the foreground image relative to the background image ... “; paragraph [0006]; paragraphs [0023-0024]; paragraph [0063]),
using the other color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a second vertex or a second boundary of the second region(e.g., steps 903-906 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0078-0080]; Examiner’s Note: Paris discloses selecting a first image and the second image located at boundaries. Paris then determines pixel color for the selected images.), and
determining background colors to be displayed by [[of]] various pixels in the second region in a of gradually changing from the one color to the other color(e.g., step 909 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0081], “At step 909, a set of pixel data for each pixel of a selected image region is identified. A selected image region generally refers to an area or region on which to operate or modify pixel colors such that the background and foreground images can blend smoothly. Stated differently, a selected image region refers to a pixel area or region in which a color or filter effect (e.g., gradual effect) can be applied to an image. In some embodiments, a selected image region is defined by a boundary or a selected image region defines the boundary…”; Fig. 10), so that background colors to be displayed by the various pixels in the second region gradually change from the one color to the other color in a direction from the first vertex to the second vertex or from the first boundary to the second boundary(e.g., steps 912-918 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0086-0107]; Examiner’s Note: Paris describes compositing a first image and a second image with a seamless transition as illustrated in Fig. 3 c and outline in claim 1 of Paris. ).
wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region(paragraph [0005]; paragraph [0021]; Fig. 2 illustrates wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region.; Examiner’s Note: Paris stated goal is the improve the color transition of pixels across a boundary, i.e., at opposite to each other. ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the methods and systems of Paris with the automated graphical user interface layout for improving the transition in the color of pixels across a boundary between a foreground image in association with a background image as suggested by Paris (paragraph [0005]).
Per claim 9, Howard discloses an electronic apparatus, comprising:
a processor(e.g., processor(s) 20 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0027]); and
a memory (e.g., memory 22 as shown in Fig. 1) communicatively connected with the processor, wherein the memory stores a computer program executable by the processor, upon the computer program being executed by the processor, the processor can execute a card display method(paragraphs [0028-0029]); the card display method comprises:
receiving a display operation for a media content card corresponding to a target media content (e.g., block 92 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0038], “ Process 90 begins by obtaining an input image (block 92). The input image may be an image related to a user selection and/or the current view within the GUI. For example, in an iTunes ® library, a user may select a particular piece of digital content, such as a movie, song, album, etc. In other cases, the user may select a genre, artist, or other page related to digital content ... “; Examiner’s Note: Howard discloses selecting a particular piece of digital content (i.e., target media content), such as a movie, song, album, etc. The input image (i.e., media content card) is displayed in a current view. ); and
displaying the media content card in response to the display operation(paragraph [0038], “…The iTunes®. GUI may provide a view pertaining to the user's particular selection. In such cases, an image associated with the user's selection may be prominently displayed on the view. Because the image is prominently displayed, it may be desirable to coordinate the layout of the current view with the image. Accordingly, the input image may be prominently displayed image of the current view. “), wherein the media content card comprises a first region (e.g., enlarged album icon 322 of album artwork or target picture as shown in Fig. 9; Examiner’s Note: Examiner is interpreting the region located in the right side of GUI 332 as a first region.) and a second region(e.g., left side of GUI 332 as shown in Fig. 9 ), the first region is used to display a target picture corresponding to the target media content(e.g., enlarged album icon 322 of album artwork or target picture as shown in Fig. 9), the second region is used to display media content information of the target media content (e.g., primary text 326 and secondary text 328 as shown in Fig. 9), and a background color of the second region is associated with a picture color of the target picture (e.g., background 330 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0039]; paragraph [0057] );
wherein before the displaying the media content card (e.g., block 92 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0038]) , the method further comprises:
determining a first color and a second color in the target picture(e.g., block 94 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0019]; paragraph [0039], “Once the input image has been obtained, an analysis of the image is performed to determine potential background colors as well as colors for other elements of the GUI (block 94) ...”; paragraph [0040]; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 6 discloses a process for determining background and dominant colors from an image associated with the digital content.); and
determining the background color of the second region according to the first color and the second color(e.g., blocks 96 and 98 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0040], “Once the background color is determined, the computer may determine a combination of the potential color choices that would be within acceptable parameters for a color scheme of the layout (block 96) ...” ; paragraph [0042], “Once the color selections are made, the layout (e.g., the background color, the color selections, and/or a version of the input image) are applied to the GUI (block 98)…”);
wherein the determining the background color of the second region according to the first color and the second color comprises:
performing a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region(paragraph[0050], “Further, as will be discussed in more detail below, the input image may be used as a background image that fades into the background color. Accordingly, the edges that are more centrally located in the background may be of more importance in determining a background color. In some embodiments, the center of an image may have a relatively high weight, especially when the image covers an entire portion of the GUI .. “; paragraph [0057], “ … As discussed above, image 334 may fade into the background 330, thus illustrating the importance of edge weighting the image when determining the background 330 color ... “; Examiner’s Note: Howard discloses the background image is a faded version of the image associated with the current view that becomes increasingly faded towards a body of the current view. Therefore, Howard discloses fading from a first color into the background color.).
Howard does not expressly disclose: wherein the performing a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region comprises:
using one color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a first vertex or at a first boundary of the second region,
using the other color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a second vertex or a second boundary of the second region, and
determining background colors to be displayed by [[of]] various pixels in the second region in a of gradually changing from the one color to the other color, so that background colors to be displayed by the various pixels in the second region gradually change from the one color to the other color in a direction from the first vertex to the second vertex or from the first boundary to the second boundary.
wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region.
Howard discloses: wherein the performing a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region comprises:
using one color of the first color (e.g., color portions 203a as shown in Fig. 2 ) and the second color (e.g., color portions 203c as shown in Fig. 2) as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a first vertex or at a first boundary of the second region(Abstract, “ Embodiments described herein are directed to methods and systems for facilitating control of smoothness of transitions between images. In embodiments, a difference of color values of pixels between a foreground image and the background image are identified along a boundary associated with a location at which to paste the foreground image relative to the background image ... “; paragraph [0006]; paragraphs [0023-0024]; paragraph [0063]),
using the other color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a second vertex or a second boundary of the second region(e.g., steps 903-906 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0078-0080]; Examiner’s Note: Paris discloses selecting a first image and the second image located at boundaries. Paris then determines pixel color for the selected images.), and
determining background colors to be displayed by [[of]] various pixels in the second region in a of gradually changing from the one color to the other color(e.g., step 909 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0081], “At step 909, a set of pixel data for each pixel of a selected image region is identified. A selected image region generally refers to an area or region on which to operate or modify pixel colors such that the background and foreground images can blend smoothly. Stated differently, a selected image region refers to a pixel area or region in which a color or filter effect (e.g., gradual effect) can be applied to an image. In some embodiments, a selected image region is defined by a boundary or a selected image region defines the boundary…”; Fig. 10), so that background colors to be displayed by the various pixels in the second region gradually change from the one color to the other color in a direction from the first vertex to the second vertex or from the first boundary to the second boundary(e.g., steps 912-918 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0086-0107]; Examiner’s Note: Paris describes compositing a first image and a second image with a seamless transition as illustrated in Fig. 3 c and outline in claim 1 of Paris. ).
wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region(paragraph [0005]; paragraph [0021]; Fig. 2 illustrates wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region.; Examiner’s Note: Paris stated goal is the improve the color transition of pixels across a boundary, i.e., at opposite to each other. ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the methods and systems of Paris with the automated graphical user interface layout for improving the transition in the color of pixels across a boundary between a foreground image in association with a background image as suggested by Paris (paragraph [0005]).
Per claim 10, Howard and Paris disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium(e.g., memory 22 as shown in Fig. 1), the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer instruction, the computer instruction, upon the processor being executed, is used to cause the card display method according to claim 1 to be implemented (Howard, paragraph [0028]).
Per claim 14, Howard and Paris disclose the card display device according to claim 8, further comprising: a first color acquisition module, configured to obtain a color whose color proportion satisfies the first preset condition from the target picture as the first color, before the determining the first color and the second color in the target picture, according to color proportions of a plurality of various colors in the target picture (Howard, e.g., block 94 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0039]; paragraph [0050],” After the input image is resized, the background color may be selected using process 192. First, hue and grayscale histograms from the input image edges are generating, taking into account edge weighting (blocks 198 and 200, respectively). The hue may describe a particular color's association with a defined color, while the grayscale may define a particular color's intensity …. “; paragraphs [0051-0052]; Examiner’s Note: Howard uses a hue histogram to determine the dominant hue.) and obtain a color whose color proportion satisfies the second preset condition from the target picture as the second color(Howard, e.g., Block 96 as shown in Fig. 3; Abstract; paragraph[0040], “Once the background color is determined, the computer may determine a combination of the potential color choices that would be within acceptable parameters for a color scheme of the layout (block 96)…” ; paragraph [0050],” After the input image is resized, the background color may be selected using process 192. First, hue and grayscale histograms from the input image edges are generating, taking into account edge weighting (blocks 198 and 200, respectively). The hue may describe a particular color's association with a defined color, while the grayscale may define a particular color's intensity …. “; paragraph [0051]; Examiner’s Note: Howard uses a grayscale histogram to determine the dominant hue.)
Per claim 15, Howard and Paris disclose the card display device according to claim 8, wherein the card display module is further configured to display a target identifier of the target media content in a third region of the media content card adopting a third color associated with the target picture as a background color of the third region(Howard, e.g., primary text 326 as shown Fig. 9; paragraph [0057], “ … As illustrated by the enlarged album icon 322 and the selector arrow 324, a user has selected an album in the Albums view of iTunes® Based upon this selection, the layout generator may determine a primary text color and a secondary text color for use in the GUI layout. For example, based upon the album artwork (e.g., icon 322) the layout generator may determine that the background color should be #efefef, that the primary text color should be #921316, and that the secondary text color should be #1f274e ... “).
Per claim 16, Howard and Paris disclose the card display device according to claim 15, further comprising: a second color acquisition module, configured to obtain a color whose color proportion satisfies a third preset condition from the target picture as the third color, before displaying the target identifier of the target media content in the media content card, according to color proportions of a plurality of colors in the target picture(Howard, paragraph [0052]; Examiner’s Note: Howard discloses merging the hue/grayscale colors based on dominance of color in image.).
Per claim 17, Howard and Paris disclose the card display device according to claim 15, further comprising: a background color update module, configured to switch the target picture displayed in the first region(Howard, paragraph [0038], “Process 90 begins by obtaining an input image (block 92). The input image may be an image related to a user selection and/or the current view within the GUI. For example, in an iTunes® library, a user may select a particular piece of digital content, such as a movie, song, album, etc. In other cases, the user may select a genre, artist, or other page related to digital content ... “), in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied, and update the background color of the second region and a background color of the third region according to a switched target picture (Howard, paragraph [0038], “…The iTunes® GUI may provide a view pertaining to the user's particular selection. In such cases, an image associated with the user's selection may be prominently displayed on the view. Because the image is prominently displayed, it may be desirable to coordinate the layout of the current view with the image. Accordingly, the input image may be prominently displayed image of the current view. “; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 3 discloses updating the background color of the second region and a background color of the third region according to a switched target picture, in response to satisfying a preset switching condition.).
Per claim 20, Howard and Paris disclose the method according to claim 4, further comprising: displaying a target identifier of the target media content in a third region of the media content card adopting a third color associated with the target picture as a background color of the third region(Howard, e.g., primary text 326 as shown Fig. 9; paragraph [0057], “ … As illustrated by the enlarged album icon 322 and the selector arrow 324, a user has selected an album in the Albums view of iTunes® Based upon this selection, the layout generator may determine a primary text color and a secondary text color for use in the GUI layout. For example, based upon the album artwork (e.g., icon 322) the layout generator may determine that the background color should be #efefef, that the primary text color should be #921316, and that the secondary text color should be #1f274e ... “).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 15 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-10 of the Applicant’s Response, applicants argue that Howard and Baek do not expressly disclose: wherein the performing a two-color gradient on the first color and the second color to obtain the background color of the second region comprises:
using one color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a first vertex or at a first boundary of the second region,
using the other color of the first color and the second color as a background color to be displayed by pixels at a second vertex or a second boundary of the second region, and
determining background colors to be displayed by [[of]] various pixels in the second region in a manner of gradually changing from the one color to the other color, so that background colors to be displayed by the various pixels in the second region gradually change from the one color to the other color in a direction from the first vertex to the second vertex or from the first boundary to the second boundary.
wherein the first vertex and the second vertex are two vertices opposite to each other in the second region, and the first boundary and the second boundary are two boundaries opposite to each other in the second region.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because Howard and Baek were not relied upon to discloses Applicant’s specific arguments. Paris discloses performing the two-color gradient on the two colors to determine the background color of the certain region as discussed above.
Accordingly, Examiner maintains the rejection of amended independent claim 1.
Independent Claims 8 and 9
The amended independent Claims 8 and 9 recite features similar to the features of the amended Claim 1 and are not patentable for at least the same reasons discussed above with regard to amended Claim 1 as well as for the additional subject matter recited therein. Accordingly, Examiner maintains the rejections of claims 8 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 4-7, 10, 14-17, and 20
The remaining claims depend directly or indirectly from claims 1 and 8 and thus are not patentable at least based on their dependency as well as for the additional subject matter recited therein. Therefore, Examiner maintains the rejections of these dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178