RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
This communication is responsive to the amendment filed 24-August-2026 with respect to application 18/755,455 filed 26-June-2024.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 10 and 12.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 9 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Jones et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2021/0365865 A1), hereinafter Jones, in view of Samsung Newsroom (NPL :”Introducing the New Galaxy SmartTag+”) hereinafter Samsung, and Mehta et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2017/0124853 A1), hereinafter Mehta.
Consider claim 1: A tracking system including a central monitoring location, a tracking device, and first tracking application configured to operate on a cellular device different than the tracking device, Jones discloses an electronic monitoring device and system comprising a monitoring center/backend (10), a wearable monitoring (tracking) device such as an exemplary wristband (40b), and a cellular device such as a smartphone (40a). The smartphone may comprise an application (345) (first tracking application) in conjunction [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-2, 5, 7; Para. 0002-0004]; the system comprising:
the tracking device attachable to a limb of monitored person, wherein embodiments disclose the wristband (40b) which may be paired with the smartphone and which comprises at least Bluetooth communication, battery, lock and health monitoring capabilities. [Fig. 4; Para. 0046-0049];
the tracking device having:
first electronic hardware that provides health and status information about the tracking device to the first tracking application when in range; wherein the wristband may include communication hardware for Bluetooth, BLE, Wi-Fi , NFC and other protocols to communicate with the smartphone and smartphone app (345) and also hardware for locking (430) and user health monitoring (425) (first electronic hardware) whereby the wristband may update the monitoring app, and provide notifications to the backend monitoring system if tampering or out of range (status) conditions are detected. The location of the wristband is tracked based on a paired communication between the wristband and smartphone, where the smartphone is location aware (GPS equipped) [Fig. 4; Para. 0046-0049];
second electronic hardware that is detectable by a second tracking application when in range, for which the second tracking application can determine relative location information about the tracking device relative to the second tracking application and transmit the relative location information to an independent tracking database, the independent tracking database being part of an ecosystem in which cellular devices cooperating with the ecosystem can detect the second electronic hardware; Jones discloses communication hardware for Bluetooth, BLE, Wi-Fi , NFC and other protocols, and that in some embodiments the wristband may further include a cellular radio and GPS receiver (second electronic hardware) similar to that for the smartphone [Fig. 5; Para. 0046, 0050] and that if so equipped, the wristband may provide location information directly to the backend system which comprises computer resources, programs (130) and databases (120) for tracking [Fig. 2, 4-5; Para. 0043, 0050, 0052]. Jones discloses that the system may be operated in a redundant manner, tracking a user based on location of the smartphone, by location of the wristband, and by a relative proximity of the two (pairing/communication range) [Para. 0054-0055].
the first tracking application being programmed to transmit an alert to the central monitoring location in response to loss of contact conditions between the tracking device and the first application; Jones discloses that if the devices become unpaired, the smartphone may send a notification to supervising authorities [Fig. 4; Para. 0046, 0071], wherein the notification may be sent to the backend monitor via the smartphone;
the central monitoring location being programmed to, in response to at least receipt of the alert:
send to the independent database a request for whether the second electronic hardware of the tracking device is within communication range of a device hosting the first application; wherein, the system may receive location information independently from the smartphone and the wristband to determine the location of each device, and also whether they are in close proximity to each other [Para. 0055]; and
implement, based on a response from the independent database to the request showing that the second electronic hardware is within communication range of the device hosting the first application, a technical difficulties protocol to repair communication between the tracking device and the first application;
send to the independent tracking database, based on a response from the independent tracking database to the request showing that the second electronic hardware is beyond communication range of the device hosting the first application, a request for at least a last known location of the second electronic hardware as detected within the ecosystem.
Jones discloses embodiments in which both the wristband and smartphone may each send location information to the backend/monitoring center, and the either the devices or backend may determine a relative proximity of the device pair. It would have been obvious to an artisan, therefore, that the backend (tracking database) would have possession of the current locations (and/or last reported location, if communication with a device is disrupted) and relative proximity of the devices.
Jones discloses that in various embodiments each of the smartphone and wristwatch may independently provide location and other information to the backend monitor but does not disclose use of an independent tracking database as claimed. Analogous prior art clearly teaches this feature:
Samsung discloses a SmartTag, which communicates using BLE and UWB protocols to communicate with a user smartphone to provide relative location information, and also that the SmartTag may communicate using the BLE transceiver and protocol (second equipment) with other user devices within a Galaxy device network (independent database) allowing the user to request location information through a SmartTags Find application and database (independent database) [Page 1-4].
Jones discloses that if the devices are unpaired, the backend may be notified but does not disclose a particular corrective action. This is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Mehta discloses a method and system for situational awareness for emergency response, comprising a wearable device, a communication device and a server [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Para. 0003-0004; Claim 1-3] and particularly, that “responsive to detecting that the data communication link between the wearable device and communication device is severed, storing all periodic measured values …. at the wearable device since the last successfully received value at the communication device…. calculating the distance of the wearable device from the communication device, based on the signal strength of the received digital signals, angle of arrival of the multi-path signals, and aspects of other signals received from the wearable device, and reporting this distance to an emergency dispatch center for the purpose of emergency response” [Para. 0124].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention for the tracking application obtain location directly if the device is within communication range, and to request location information from an independent network and database when the device is not within communication range, as taught by Samsung, and to determine if device communication link is severed (un-paired), to save and report last known distance between the devices for the purpose of an emergency response, as taught by Mehta, and applied to an electronic monitoring device and system using a wearable monitoring device as taught by Jones, in order to continue to monitor location of the wrist device even if beyond Bluetooth communication range; and to correct system operation.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, the central monitoring location being further programmed to:
receive, from the independent tracking database, a location of the second electronic hardware relative to the ecosystem; and
dispatch authorities to the location as received by the central monitoring location.
Jones discloses that both the wristband and smartphone may each send location information to the backend/monitoring center, and the either the devices or backend may determine a relative proximity of the device pair [Para. 0046-0055].
Samsung discloses that location may be determined based on proximity (within communication range) of another device within a Galaxy device network, and that location may be displayed on a map [Page 1-4].
Mehta, moreover, discloses that relative location (distance) between units may be determined and reported in order to provide an emergency response [Para. 0124-0125].
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 3: The system of claim 3, wherein the location of the second electronic hardware relative to the ecosystem as received by the central monitoring location is based on a location of a device, cooperating with the ecosystem and different from the device that hosts the first application, that detected the second electronic hardware.
Jones discloses that the smartphone and wristband individually and separately provide location information for the particular device, and that either the device, and/or the backend system may determine from these the relative proximity (location) [Para. 0046, 0071].
Samsung discloses that the smartTag may communicate using the BLE transceiver and protocol (second equipment) with other user devices within a Galaxy device network (independent database) allowing the user/backend monitor to request location information through a SmartTags Find application and database (independent database) [Page 1-4]
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the tracking device lacks an ability to directly determine its absolute location, such that the absolute location of the first application serves as a first proxy for the location of the tracking device, within a range of error defined by an operating range between the first electronic hardware and the device hosting the first application. Jones specifically discloses that the arrangement in which the smartphone and wrist band are paired, and the smartphone location is used as a proxy for the wristband location [Para. 0046].
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the technical difficulties protocol includes contacting the monitored person to inform them the system is not working properly.
Jones discloses ‘….that if the paired device becomes unpaired for some reason, the smartphone may send a notification to the supervising authorities and immediately initiate the biometric check-in process….” Where the biometric check-in process includes contacting the user to provide biometric samples [Para. 0071].
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the central monitoring location being further programmed to:
send, to the independent tracking database, a request for at least a last known direction of travel of the second electronic hardware relative a device hosting the first application; and
receive, from the independent tracking database, the requested last known direction of travel.
Samsung discloses that location may be determined based on proximity (within communication range) of another device within a Galaxy device network, and that location may be displayed on a map [Page 1-4].
Mehta discloses that: “In addition to GPS, mobile or wearable device(s) may provide information from an accelerometer, magnetometer, gyroscope, etc., about the speed and direction of the user.” [Para. 0030], and that the wearable device and/or communication device may send information, including location and other information to an emergency dispatch center.
Mehta doesn’t explicitly disclose that information sent to the dispatch center includes direction and speed of travel, but it would have been obvious to the artisan to do so, where this information, along with last known location, allows prediction of travel path and future location for planning an emergency response
Consider claim 9: A tracking method using a central monitoring location, a tracking device, and a first tracking application and a second tracking application on a cellular device different that the tracking device, Jones discloses an electronic monitoring device, system and method comprising a monitoring center/backend (10), a wearable monitoring (tracking) device such as an exemplary wristband (40b), and a cellular device such as a smartphone (40a). The smartphone may comprise an application (345) (first tracking application) in conjunction [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-2, 5, 7; Para. 0002-0004]; the method comprising:
at the tracking device:
locking the tracking device to a limb of monitored person, the tracking device including at least first electronic hardware and second electronic hardware; the tracking system comprising a lockable wristband (tracking device) (40b), which comprises a tamper-proof locking mechanism (710), in communication with a smartphone (cellular device) (40a). The wristband may include the hardware for locking (430) and user health monitoring (425) (first electronic hardware) and for communication using Bluetooth, BLE Wi-Fi, NFC and/or other protocols (second hardware [Fig. 3, 4, 7; Para. 0044, 0046, 0058].
sending, from the first electronic hardware to the first application when in range, health and status information about the tracking device; The wristband may update the smartphone and smartphone app (345) and provide notifications to the backend monitoring system if tampering or out of range (status) conditions are detected. The location of the wristband is tracked based on a paired communication between the wristband and smartphone, where the smartphone is location aware (GPS equipped) [Fig. 4; Para. 0046-0049];
sending, by the first application to the central monitoring location, an alert signal in response to loss of contact conditions between the first electronic hardware and the first application; if the devices become unpaired, the smartphone (app 345a) may send a notification to the backend monitoring system (10) and supervising authorities [Para. 0046, 0071];
at the central monitoring location in response to at least receiving the alert signal:
sending, to an independent third party database that monitors the second electronic hardware via an ecosystem of devices that can detect the second electronic hardware, a request for whether the second electronic hardware is in communication range of a device hosting the first application; wherein, the backend may receive location information independently from the smartphone and the wristband to determine the location of each device, and also whether they are in close proximity to each other [Para. 0055];
implementing, based on a response from the independent database to the request showing that the second electronic hardware is within communication range of the device hosting the first application, a technical difficulties protocol to repair communication between the tracking device and the first application; and
sending to the independent tracking database, based on a response from the independent tracking database to the request showing that the second electronic hardware is beyond communication range of the device hosting the first application, a request for at least a last known location of the second electronic hardware as detected within the ecosystem.
Jones discloses embodiments in which both the wristband and smartphone may each send location information to the backend/monitoring center, and the either the devices or backend may determine a relative proximity of the device pair. It would have been obvious to an artisan, therefore, that the backend (tracking database) would have possession of the current locations (and/or last reported location, if communication with a device is disrupted) and relative proximity of the devices.
Jones discloses that in various embodiments each of the smartphone and wristwatch may independently provide location and other information to the backend monitor but does not disclose use of an independent tracking database as claimed. Analogous prior art clearly teaches this feature:
Samsung discloses a SmartTag, which communicates using BLE and UWB protocols to communicate with a user smartphone to provide relative location information, and also that the SmartTag may communicate using the BLE transceiver and protocol (second equipment) with other user devices within a Galaxy device network (independent database) allowing the user to request location information through a SmartTags Find application and database (independent database) [Page 1-4].
Jones discloses that if the devices are unpaired, the backend may be notified but does not disclose a particular corrective action. This is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Mehta discloses a method and system for situational awareness for emergency response, comprising a wearable device, a communication device and a server [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Para. 0003-0004; Claim 1-3] and particularly, that “responsive to detecting that the data communication link between the wearable device and communication device is severed, storing all periodic measured values …. at the wearable device since the last successfully received value at the communication device…. calculating the distance of the wearable device from the communication device, based on the signal strength of the received digital signals, angle of arrival of the multi-path signals, and aspects of other signals received from the wearable device, and reporting this distance to an emergency dispatch center for the purpose of emergency response” [Para. 0124].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention for the tracking application obtain location directly if the device is within communication range, and to request location information from an independent network and database when the device is not within communication range, as taught by Samsung, and to determine if device communication link is severed (un-paired), to save and report last known distance between the devices for the purpose of an emergency response, as taught by Mehta, and applied to an electronic monitoring device, system and method using a wearable monitoring device as taught by Jones, in order to continue to monitor location of the wrist device even if beyond Bluetooth communication range; and to correct system operation.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, further comprising at the central monitoring location:
receiving, from the independent tracking database, a location of the second electronic hardware relative to the ecosystem; and
dispatching authorities to the location as received by the central monitoring location.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 3, and as applied to claim 9.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 11: The method of claim 11, wherein the location of the second electronic hardware relative to the ecosystem as received by the central monitoring location is based on a location of a device, cooperating with the ecosystem and different from the device that hosts the first application, that detected the second electronic hardware.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 4, and as applied to claims 9 and 11.
Consider claim 13 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein the tracking device lacks an ability to directly determine its absolute location, such that the absolute location of the first application serves as a first proxy for the location of the tracking device, within a range of error defined by an operating range between the first electronic hardware and the device hosting the first application.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 5, and as applied to claim 9.
Consider claim 14 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein the technical difficulties protocol includes contacting the monitored person to inform them the first electronic hardware and the device hosting the first application are not communicating properly.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 6, and as applied to claim 9.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, further comprising at the central monitoring location:
sending, to the independent tracking database, a request for at least a last known direction of travel of the second electronic hardware relative a device hosting the first application; and
receiving, from the independent tracking database, the requested last known direction of travel.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 8, and as applied to claim 9.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Jones et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2021/0365865 A1), hereinafter Jones, Samsung Newsroom (NPL: ”Introducing the New Galaxy SmartTag+”) hereinafter Samsung, and Mehta et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2017/0124853 A1), hereinafter Mehta, and further in view of Bloch et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2004/0235512 A1), hereinafter Bloch.
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the loss of contact conditions include loss of contact for more than a predetermined amount of time or a predetermined quantity of sporadic contact over a predetermined amount of time.
Jones and Mehta both teach a determination of communication loss between devices, and a response thereto, but neither discloses measurement of a duration of time from disconnection. This a known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Bloch discloses a portable data security device in communication with a backup device [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Para. 0001, 0004-0008] and particularly that “an alert procedure may be initiated by the portable data storage device if the portable data storage device is out of range of communication with the backup device for a predetermined period” [Para. 0028-0029].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to issue an alert if communication is lost for a predetermined time, as taught by Bloch, and applied to an electronic monitoring device and system using a wearable monitoring device as taught by Jones, as modified by Samsung and Mehta, in order to prevent false alarms caused by a transient interruption.
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein the loss of contact conditions include loss of contact for more than a predetermined amount of time or a predetermined quantity of sporadic contact over a predetermined amount of time. This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 2, and as applied to claim 9.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Jones et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2021/0365865 A1), hereinafter Jones, Samsung Newsroom (NPL: ”Introducing the New Galaxy SmartTag+”) hereinafter Samsung, and Mehta et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2017/0124853 A1), hereinafter Mehta, and further in view of Zhang et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2023/0136219 A1), hereinafter Zhang.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the second electronic hardware is an AIRTAG, and the send to the independent tracking database is a Find My AIRTAG request.
Samsung discloses a tracking device, system and method using a Galaxy SmartTag+ and Find application operating with a Galaxy device network (Samsung products) and does not disclose the equivalent Apple AIRTAG and Find My AIRTAG products.
Zhang discloses a traceable card holder and particularly discloses the Apple AIRTAG as a tracking device with operation analogous to that of the SmartTag+ [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Para. 0001, 0003, 0036].
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein the second electronic hardware is an AIRTAG, and the send to the independent tracking database is a Find My AIRTAG request.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 7, and as applied to claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application and is presented to the Applicant for consideration:
The subject matter of both claims 2 and 7, incorporated into claim 1 and presented in independent form.
The subject matter of both claims 10 and 15, incorporated into claim 19 and presented in independent form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 24-August-2026 have been carefully and fully considered by the Examiner, and responses are provided as follow:
Consider Applicant remarks with respect to objections made to claims 2 and 10 for informalities Remarks: page 7]: Amendment of these claims obviates the objections, which have been withdrawn.
Consider Applicant remarks with respect to rejection of claims 4 and 12 under 35 USC §112(b) as indefinite [Remarks: page 7]: Amendment of these claims obviates the rejections, which have been withdrawn.
Consider Applicant remarks with respect to rejection of claims 1, 3-9 and 11-16 under 35 USC §103 over Jones (US 2021/0365865 A1), Zhang (US 2023/0136219 A1) and Mehta (US 2017/0124853 A1) [Remarks: page 7-14]:
Regarding independent claim 1: This claim has been amended to require that a first tracking application operates on a cellular device that is different from the tracking device. Applicant arguments, in summary is that the tracking system taught by Jones fails to teach this feature. These arguments fail to be persuasive for a number of reasons. Jones teaches a first embodiment in which tracking is based on use of a smartphone alone {Fig 3; Para. 0044-0045], a second embodiment in which the smartphone is paired with a wristband (40b) wherein the wristband has only shortrange communication capability, and the smartphone provides location, application and backend communication capability [Fig. 4; Para. 0046-0049], and a third embodiment in which the wristband has location and cellular capability and operates without the smartphone. Jones further discloses that a full capability wristband (as shown and described with respect to [Fig. 5]), may still operate in paired manner with the smartphone, providing redundant tracking information. Applicant arguments fail to address these embodiments, and particularly those with respect to paired configurations.
The rejection in this Office action has been amended to address the claim amendment and to better illustrate how various elements disclosed by Jones correspond to those claimed.
Arguments also assert that Zhang and Mehta fail to teach an application in a separate cellular device. These arguments are not persuasive and are moot because Jones renders these features obvious, and the claim is now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Jones, Samsung (NPL) and Mehta, the new rejection, necessitated by the amendment.
Regarding claims 3-6 and 8: No additional or separate arguments have been made with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of base claim 1. These claims are now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Jones, Samsung and Mehta based on the new rejection of the base claim, and on the citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action.
Regarding claim 7: No additional or separate arguments have been made with respect to this claim, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of base claim 1. The claim is now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Jones, Samsung, Mehta and Zhang, based on the new rejection of the base claim, and on the citations and analysis presented in this Office action.
Regarding independent claim 9: This claim has been amended in similar fashion as for claim 1, and the same arguments have been presented. These arguments are not persuasive and/or moot for the same reasons provided previously. This is now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Jones, Samsung and Mehta.
Regarding claims 11-14 and 16: No additional or separate arguments have been made with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of base claim 9. These claims are now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Jones, Samsung and Mehta based on the new rejection of the base claim, and on the citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action.
Regarding claim 15: No additional or separate arguments have been made with respect to this claim, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of base claim 9. The claim is now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Jones, Samsung, Mehta and Zhang, based on the new rejection of the base claim, and on the citations and analysis presented in this Office action.
Consider Applicant remarks with respect to rejection of claims 2 and 10 under 35 USC §103 over Jones, Zhang, Mehta and Bloch (US 2004/0235512 A1): No additional or separate arguments have been made with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of base claims 1 and 9 respectively. The claims are now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Jones, Samsung, Mehta and Bloch (US 2004/0235512 A1), based on the new rejection of the base claim, and on the citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Bauer et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2018/0012471 A1) disclosing a universal personal emergency information notification and reporting system and method.
Wojcik et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # XXX) disclosing removal detection of a wearable computer.
Haselton (NPL: CNBC, published 27-April-2021) disclosing “Apple AirTags versus Tile tracker: how they compare”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at (571)272-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685