DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of beta-sitosterol for species A, beeswax for species B, sesame oil for species C, and huangqin for species D in the reply filed on August 19, 2026 is acknowledged.
4. Claims 15, 17, and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
5. Claims 1-14, 16, and 19-21 are examined on the merits in regards to the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-14, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (US 7,211,276).
Xu teaches a method for repairing damaged mucosal tissue in a patient by orally administering a composition an edible oil homogenized with an edible wax at a concentration ranging from 0.5% to 50% by weight and a sterol compound at a concentration of at least 0.1%, where the edible oil, the edible wax and the sterol compound are homogenized to form a colloid with the edible wax adopting a microcrystal form at ambient temperature where the size of the microcrystals are 0.1-100 micrometers in length. The reference teaches that the microcrystals are dispersed uniformly in the oil. The reference teaches that the sterol can be beta-sitosterol, that the wax can be beeswax, and the oil can be sesame oil. The reference teaches that the sterol can be present at 0.5 to 20% or 1 to 10% by weight. The reference teaches that the wax is present at 3 to 30% by weight (see column 3, lines 6-45 and column 4, lines 4-17 and 46 and the claims). The reference teaches that the composition contains less than 1% water by weight (see column 3, lines 51-54 and claim 19). The reference teaches that the composition is administered at 0.5 to 10 g per day or 2-8 g per day. In addition, the reference teaches that the composition can be formulated into a hard gel capsule or 0.5 g soft gel capsule where 1-10 of the capsules are administered twice a day (see column 6, lines 58-63 and claims 3-6 and 22). The reference teaches that the composition can also contain an extract of huangqin (see claim 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 7,211,276) in view of Senior ("Can Sesame Oil Extract Help Treat Crohn's Disease? Researchers Seeking Participants in Trial", College of Medicine: University of Central Florida Internet News, August 29, 2018, 2 pgs).
The teachings of Xu are discussed above. The reference teaches that the composition can repair mucosal tissue damage caused by a gastrointestinal disorder in general (see claim 33). However, the reference does not specifically teach treating damage caused by Crohn’s disease in particular. However, Crohn’s disease is a gastrointestinal disorder known to cause mucosal damage. In addition, Senior teaches that sesame oil can be useful in treating Crohn’s disease. Thus, an artisan of would reasonably expect that the sesame oil containing tissue repairing composition taught by Xu would be useful for treating damage caused by Crohn’s disease in particular because sesame oil was known to be useful in treating this disease. This reasonable expectation of success would have motivated the artisan to modify Xu to specifically teach damage caused by Crohn’s disease.
8. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655