Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, and 17 none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein a first PUSCH repetition of the two PUSCH repetitions corresponds to an earliest PUSCH repetition on the uplink resources in the downlink slot, and wherein a second PUSCH repetition of the two PUSCH repetitions corresponds to a second earliest PUSCH repetition on the uplink resources in the downlink slot” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, and 19 none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein one PUSCH repetition of the two PUSCH repetitions corresponds to a PUSCH repetition on the uplink resources in the downlink slot, and wherein the other PUSCH repetition of the two PUSCH repetitions corresponds to a PUSCH repetition on the uplink slot”. when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 10, 13, 15, 18 and 20 have been objected by virtue of dependency on claims 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 17 and 19 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2022/0330289, hereinafter Chen) in view of Ibrahim et al. (US 2023/0217477, hereinafter Ibrahim).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method performed by a terminal (350 of fig. 3) in a communication system (para 0079; UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, uplink subband configuration information including resource information (para 0079; the base station may indicate to the UE resources in which the UE may use for transmitting the PUSCH or the PUSCH repetition. For example, the base station may transmit a start and length indicator value (SLIV) to the UE, where the SLIV may indicate/include a starting symbol (S) and a length (L) of PUSCH (e.g., in symbols) in which the UE may use for transmitting the PUSCH or the PUSCH repetition in a slot);
receiving, from the base station, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration information including information on a PUSCH repetition (para 0085-0086; when a base station requests a UE to provide AP-CSI report via DCI that also schedules multiple PUSCH repetitions, the UE may be configured to multiplex one or more AP-CSI reports on the first PUSCH repetition, which may apply to both PUSCH repetition Type A and PUSCH repetition Type B. For example, referring back to FIG. 5, if a base station requests a UE to provide AP-CSI reporting via a DCI that also schedules four PUSCH repetitions (e.g., K=4) based on PUSCH repetition Type A, the UE may be configured to multiplex one or more AP-CSI reports on the first PUSCH repetition (e.g., at slot n) but not on other PUSCH repetitions);
receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the PUSCH repetition, the DCI including aperiodic channel state information (CSI) request indicator
(para 0085-0086; and 0089; a base station may configure/trigger CSI reporting from a UE to be aperiodic (AP) (e.g., using a PUSCH), periodic (e.g., using a PUCCH), and/or semi-persistent (SP) (e.g., using a PUCCH or DCI-activated PUSCH). FIG. 9 - triggering AP-CSI reporting on PUSCH. A base station (or a component of the base station) may trigger a UE to transmit AP-CSI report on PUSCH via DCI (e.g., UL DCI), where the base station may configure up to 128 trigger states for the UE via RRC (e.g., via a higher layer parameter Aperiodic TriggerStateList) and each trigger state may be associated with one or more (e.g., up to sixteen (16)) CSI report settings. In one example, if a “CSI request” field in the DCI has N bits, a maximum of 2.sup.N−1 trigger states may be activated through MAC-CE);
identifying two PUSCH repetitions for multiplexing aperiodic CSI (para 0044; 0085; 0097-0098; first and second repetitions); and transmitting, to the base station, uplink data multiplexed with the aperiodic CSI on the two PUSCH repetitions on at least one of the uplink resources in the downlink slot or an uplink slot (para 0077; 0105; 0121; UE transmits data – fig. 18 – uplink slot).
Chen does not explicitly disclose that the resource information indicates uplink resources in a downlink slot.
In an analogous art, Ibrahim discloses that the resource information indicates uplink resources in a downlink slot (para 0121; and 0126-0127; TDD_UL_DL_configCommon).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s method/system by having Ibrahim’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation by enabling optimization and reconfiguration of a communications system.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a terminal in a communication system, the terminal comprising: transceivers (para 0070; transmitter/receiver); and a controller (para 0071; controller), including processors (para 0070; a processor), configured to perform the method steps of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses a method performed by a base station (310 of fig. 3) in a communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal, uplink subband configuration information including resource information (para 0079; the base station may indicate to the UE resources in which the UE may use for transmitting the PUSCH or the PUSCH repetition. For example, the base station may transmit a start and length indicator value (SLIV) to the UE, where the SLIV may indicate/include a starting symbol (S) and a length (L) of PUSCH (e.g., in symbols) in which the UE may use for transmitting the PUSCH or the PUSCH repetition in a slot);
transmitting, to the terminal, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration information including information on a PUSCH repetition (para 0085-0086; when a base station requests a UE to provide AP-CSI report via DCI that also schedules multiple PUSCH repetitions, the UE may be configured to multiplex one or more AP-CSI reports on the first PUSCH repetition, which may apply to both PUSCH repetition Type A and PUSCH repetition Type B. For example, referring back to FIG. 5, if a base station requests a UE to provide AP-CSI reporting via a DCI that also schedules four PUSCH repetitions (e.g., K=4) based on PUSCH repetition Type A, the UE may be configured to multiplex one or more AP-CSI reports on the first PUSCH repetition (e.g., at slot n) but not on other PUSCH repetitions);
transmitting, to the terminal, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the PUSCH repetition, the DCI including aperiodic channel state information (CSI) request indicator
(para 0085-0086; and 0089; a base station may configure/trigger CSI reporting from a UE to be aperiodic (AP) (e.g., using a PUSCH), periodic (e.g., using a PUCCH), and/or semi-persistent (SP) (e.g., using a PUCCH or DCI-activated PUSCH). FIG. 9 - triggering AP-CSI reporting on PUSCH. A base station (or a component of the base station) may trigger a UE to transmit AP-CSI report on PUSCH via DCI (e.g., UL DCI), where the base station may configure up to 128 trigger states for the UE via RRC (e.g., via a higher layer parameter Aperiodic TriggerStateList) and each trigger state may be associated with one or more (e.g., up to sixteen (16)) CSI report settings. In one example, if a “CSI request” field in the DCI has N bits, a maximum of 2.sup.N−1 trigger states may be activated through MAC-CE);
and receiving, from the terminal, uplink data multiplexed with the aperiodic CSI on the two PUSCH repetitions on at least one of the uplink resources in the downlink slot or an uplink slot (para 0077; 0105; 0121; UE transmits data – fig. 18 – uplink slot).
Chen does not explicitly disclose that the resource information indicates uplink resources in a downlink slot.
In an analogous art, Ibrahim discloses that the resource information indicates uplink resources in a downlink slot (para 0121; and 0126-0127; TDD_UL_DL_configCommon).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s method/system by having Ibrahim’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation by enabling optimization and reconfiguration of a communications system.
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses a base station (310) in a communication system, the terminal comprising: transceivers (para 0068; transmitter/receiver); and a controller (para 0068; controller), including processors (para 0068; a processor), configured to perform the method steps of claim 6.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462