DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/16/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application. Examiner appreciates the thorough explanation of the invention and amendments provided in the applicant’s response.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
On page 6 of Applicant’s remarks filed 1/16/2025, Applicant asserts “Applicant submits that Ozaki fails to teach or suggest at least "a frame comprising at least one elongate member" and "a panel" where "the frame and the panel are mechanically connected to one another" as required by claim 1, for example, and as similarly recited in claim 16.”
Examiner asserts Figure 5 of Ozaki demonstrates a frame (element 20), comprising at least one elongate member (element 250), and a panel (element 170), where the frame and the panel are mechanically connected to one another (as seen in Figure 5) under broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. An annotated Figure 5 may be found below:
Given these reasons, claims 1 and 16 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ozaki et al. (US 20210114735 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ozaki teaches a base unit for an aircraft seat unit, the base unit comprising: a frame (Figures 4-5, 11, element 20) comprising at least one elongate member (Figures 4-5, 11, element 250); a panel (element 170); wherein the frame and the panel are mechanically connected to one another (Figure 5), such that the frame and the panel define a mounting structure for an aircraft seat (element 160) and such that the aircraft seat is on a first side of the panel (as depicted in Figure 7); and wherein the frame and the panel define a storage space on a second side of the panel and below the mounting structure (Figures 4-5, and 11, element 242), wherein the base unit comprises a forward side and a rear side opposite from the forward side (inasmuch as applicant has claimed), wherein the mounting structure extends between the forward side and the rear side (inasmuch as applicant has claimed), wherein at least one of the forward side or the rear side of the base unit defines an opening to the storage space (Figures 4-5, 11), and wherein the storage space is approximately cuboidal (Figures 4-5, 11).
Regarding claim 2, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the at least one elongate member comprises a metal material (¶[0008, 0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the at least one elongate member is extruded (inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 4, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a first elongate member and second elongate member (elements 230 and 240 are elongate inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 5, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 4, wherein the first elongate member is mechanically attached to the second elongate member by the panel (as depicted in Figure 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the panel comprises a honeycomb structure (¶ [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the base unit comprises a plurality of panels (elements 230, 240, 330, 160 may all be construed as a plurality of panels).
Regarding claim 8, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, further comprising one or more connection points, the connection points configured to enable an aircraft seat to be connected to the base unit (¶ [0050] indicates that the seat is eventually attached. Examiner asserts this would require one or more attachment points. Figures 1 and 7 depict the seat connected to the base unit after attachment).
Regarding claim 9, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, further comprising a seat connection panel (elements 230, 240, 330, 160 may all be construed as a plurality of panels).
Regarding claim 10, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, further comprising bracing configured to further increase a structural rigidity and/or a strength of the base unit (Figures 1, 5, 7, and 12 all depict a plurality of finishing panels, arm rests, and additional shell pieces, all of which would increase structural rigidity and the strength of the unit inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 11, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, comprising one or more connection points being located on a seat connection panel and/or bracing, the connection points configured to enable an aircraft seat to be connected to the base unit (¶ [0050] indicates that the seat is eventually attached. Examiner asserts this would require one or more attachment points. More, ¶ [0050] refers to element 160 as “an upper seat support structure”. Figures 1 and 7 depict the seat connected to the base unit after attachment).
Regarding claim 12, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, further comprising a console panel mounted to an upper portion of the base unit the console panel configured to provide an armrest and/or table, and/or storage options for a passenger (as depicted in Figure 7).
Regarding claim 13, Ozaki teaches the invention in claim 1, further comprising one or more screens to hide structural elements of the base unit from a passenger (element 210).
Regarding claim 14, Ozaki teaches an aircraft seat unit, the aircraft seat unit comprising a base unit according to claim 1, and an aircraft seat mounted to the base unit (Figure 7).
Regarding claim 15, Ozaki teaches an aircraft seat unit according to claim 14, wherein the base unit comprises one or more connection points located on a seat connection panel and/or bracing, and the aircraft seat is connected to the connection points (¶ [0050] indicates that the seat is eventually attached. Examiner asserts this would require one or more attachment points. More, ¶ [0050] refers to element 160 as “an upper seat support structure”. Figures 1 and 7 depict the seat connected to the base unit after attachment).
Regarding claim 16, Ozaki teaches a base unit for an aircraft seat unit, the base unit comprising: a frame (Figures 4-5, 11, element 20) comprising at least one elongate member (Figures 4-5, 11, element 250); a panel (element 170); wherein the frame and the panel are mechanically connected to one another (Figure 5), such that the frame and the panel define a mounting structure for an aircraft seat (element 160) and such that the aircraft seat is on a first side of the panel (as depicted in Figure 7); and wherein the frame and the panel define a storage space below the panel of the mounting structure (Figures 4-5, and 11, element 242) and which is approximately cuboidal and accessible to a user of the aircraft seat unit from a front side and/or a rear side of the base unit (Figures 4-5, and 11, element 242), and wherein the frame and the panel further defines an open section with an opening defined on a rear side of the base unit (Figure 11, element 242), wherein the open section is configured to allow a rear side passenger to place their feet within the open section (configurable inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/TIMOTHY D COLLINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3644