DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US# 2025/0184848 hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Xu et al. (US# 2021/0144606 hereinafter referred to as Xu).
RE Claim 1¸ Wu discloses an electronic apparatus comprising at least one memory and at least one processor which function as:
a processing unit configured to communicate with an information terminal via the currently connected AP and perform a specific process including transmission or reception of data (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087] – BS communicating (transmission/reception of data) with UE via relay UE); and
a control unit configured to,
in response to the change request in a first state, the first state being a state in which part of data for the specific process has been received or transmitted through communication with the information terminal and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])),
perform control to transmit a notification to the information terminal to request execution of a detection process for detecting the electronic apparatus before a connection with the currently connected AP is disconnected (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – BS sending notification of change to UE (i.e. RRCReconfiguration) to “discover” BS (e.g. perform synchronization with BS)), and to execute a connection destination change based on the change request to change the connection destination AP after transmission of the notification (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – UE changing from indirect path (via relay) to direct path (directly to BS) based on change request).
Wu does not specifically disclose
a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to.
However, Xu teaches of receiving a request to switch from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to (See Xu [0046] – network device receiving request to switch from indirect connection path (i.e. via relay AP) to direct connection path (i.e. directly to network device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, comprising a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to, as taught in Xu. One is motivated as such in order to better adapt to changing network conditions (See Xu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 8, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein in response to reception of the notification, the information terminal executes the detection process in a state in which part of the data for the specific process has been received or transmitted from or to the electronic apparatus and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])).
RE Claim 10, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the processing unit is configured to continue the specific process in response to reception or transmission of the rest of the data for the specific process through the communication with the information terminal after the connection destination change based on the change request is performed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – continuing specific process after).
RE Claim 16¸ Wu discloses a method for controlling an electronic apparatus, the method comprising:
a processing step of communicating with an information terminal via the currently connected AP and performing a specific process including transmission or reception of data (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087] – BS communicating (transmission/reception of data) with UE via relay UE); and
a control step of,
in response to reception of the change request in a first state, the first state being a state in which part of data for the specific process has been received or transmitted through communication with the information terminal and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])),
performing control to transmit a notification to the information terminal to request execution of a detection process for detecting the electronic apparatus before a connection with the currently connected AP is disconnected (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – BS sending notification of change to UE (i.e. RRCReconfiguration) to “discover” BS (e.g. perform synchronization with BS)), and to execute a connection destination change based on the change request to change the connection destination AP after transmission of the notification (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – UE changing from indirect path (via relay) to direct path (directly to BS) based on change request).
Wu does not specifically disclose
a receiving step of receiving a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to.
However, Xu teaches of a receiving step of receiving a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to (See Xu [0046] – network device receiving request to switch from indirect connection path (i.e. via relay AP) to direct connection path (i.e. directly to network device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, comprising a receiving step of receiving a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to, as taught in Xu. One is motivated as such in order to better adapt to changing network conditions (See Xu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 18¸ Wu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to cause one or more computers to function as:
a processing unit configured to communicate with an information terminal via the currently connected AP and perform a specific process including transmission or reception of data (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087] – BS communicating (transmission/reception of data) with UE via relay UE); and
a control unit configured to,
in response to the change request in a first state, the first state being a state in which part of data for the specific process has been received or transmitted through communication with the information terminal and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])),
perform control to transmit a notification to the information terminal to request execution of a detection process for detecting the electronic apparatus before a connection with the currently connected AP is disconnected (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – BS sending notification of change to UE (i.e. RRCReconfiguration) to “discover” BS (e.g. perform synchronization with BS)), and to execute a connection destination change based on the change request to change the connection destination AP after transmission of the notification (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – UE changing from indirect path (via relay) to direct path (directly to BS) based on change request).
Wu does not specifically disclose
a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to.
However, Xu teaches of receiving a request to switch from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to (See Xu [0046] – network device receiving request to switch from indirect connection path (i.e. via relay AP) to direct connection path (i.e. directly to network device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, comprising a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to, as taught in Xu. One is motivated as such in order to better adapt to changing network conditions (See Xu Background; Summary).
Claims 2, 5, 9, 14, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US# 2025/0184848 hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Xu et al. (US# 2021/0144606 hereinafter referred to as Xu) and Ruan (US# 2019/0104464).
RE Claim 2, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose wherein the detection process is a process for identifying an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the electronic apparatus obtained after an AP to which the electronic apparatus is connected is switched in accordance with the change request.
However, Ruan teaches of wherein the detection process is a process for identifying an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the electronic apparatus obtained after an AP to which the electronic apparatus is connected is switched in accordance with the change request (See Ruan [0041], [0055], [0094], [0097] – establishing WFD with printer; discovering addressing during WFD establishment; addressing used for WFD uses IP address).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein the detection process is a process for identifying an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the electronic apparatus obtained after an AP to which the electronic apparatus is connected is switched in accordance with the change request, as taught in Ruan. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce the processing load of a device (See Ruan Background; Summary).
RE Claim 5, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose wherein the specific process is at least one of printing, scanning, and facsimile transmission.
However, Ruan teaches of wherein the specific process is at least one of printing, scanning, and facsimile transmission (See Ruan FIG 2; Summary – e.g. printer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein the specific process is at least one of printing, scanning, and facsimile transmission, as taught in Ruan. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce the processing load of a device (See Ruan Background; Summary).
RE Claim 9, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 8 above. Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose wherein in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, the information terminal receives or transmits the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target.
However, Ruan teaches of wherein in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, the information terminal receives or transmits the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target (See Ruan [0041], [0055], [0094], [0097] – establishing WFD with printer; discovering addressing during WFD establishment; using newly discovered addressing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, the information terminal receives or transmits the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target, as taught in Ruan. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce the processing load of a device (See Ruan Background; Summary).
RE Claim 14¸ Wu discloses an information terminal for communicating with an electronic apparatus, the electronic apparatus including:
a processing unit configured to communicate with the information terminal via the currently connected AP and perform a specific process including transmission or reception of data (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087] – BS communicating (transmission/reception of data) with UE via relay UE); and
a control unit configured to,
in response to reception of the change request in a first state, the first state being a state in which part of data for the specific process has been received or transmitted through communication with the information terminal and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])),
perform control to transmit a notification to the information terminal to request execution of a detection process for detecting the electronic apparatus before a connection with the currently connected AP is disconnected (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – BS sending notification of change to UE (i.e. RRCReconfiguration) to “discover” BS (e.g. perform synchronization with BS)), and to execute a connection destination change based on the change request to change the connection destination AP after transmission of the notification (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – UE changing from indirect path (via relay) to direct path (directly to BS) based on change request),
the information terminal comprising at least one memory and at least one processor which function as:
a second control unit configured to:
in response to reception of the notification, perform control to execute the detection process in a state in which part of the data for the specific process has been received or transmitted from or to the electronic apparatus and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])).
Wu does not specifically disclose
a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to; or
in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target.
However, Xu teaches of a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to (See Xu [0046] – network device receiving request to switch from indirect connection path (i.e. via relay AP) to direct connection path (i.e. directly to network device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, comprising a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to, as taught in Xu. One is motivated as such in order to better adapt to changing network conditions (See Xu Background; Summary).
Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target.
However, Ruan teaches of wherein in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target (See Ruan [0041], [0055], [0094], [0097] – establishing WFD with printer; discovering addressing during WFD establishment; using newly discovered addressing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target, as taught in Ruan. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce the processing load of a device (See Ruan Background; Summary).
RE Claim 17¸ Wu discloses a method for controlling an information terminal for communicating with an electronic apparatus, the electronic apparatus including:
a processing unit configured to communicate with the information terminal via the currently connected AP and perform a specific process including transmission or reception of data (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087] – BS communicating (transmission/reception of data) with UE via relay UE); and
a control unit configured to,
in response to reception of the change request in a first state, the first state being a state in which part of data for the specific process has been received or transmitted through communication with the information terminal and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])),
perform control to transmit a notification to the information terminal to request execution of a detection process for detecting the electronic apparatus before a connection with the currently connected AP is disconnected (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – BS sending notification of change to UE (i.e. RRCReconfiguration) to “discover” BS (e.g. perform synchronization with BS)), and to execute a connection destination change based on the change request to change the connection destination AP after transmission of the notification (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – UE changing from indirect path (via relay) to direct path (directly to BS) based on change request),
the method comprising:
in response to reception of the notification, perform control to execute the detection process in a state in which part of the data for the specific process has been received or transmitted from or to the electronic apparatus and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])).
Wu does not specifically disclose
a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to; or
in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target.
However, Xu teaches of a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to (See Xu [0046] – network device receiving request to switch from indirect connection path (i.e. via relay AP) to direct connection path (i.e. directly to network device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, comprising a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to, as taught in Xu. One is motivated as such in order to better adapt to changing network conditions (See Xu Background; Summary).
Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target.
However, Ruan teaches of wherein in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target (See Ruan [0041], [0055], [0094], [0097] – establishing WFD with printer; discovering addressing during WFD establishment; using newly discovered addressing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target, as taught in Ruan. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce the processing load of a device (See Ruan Background; Summary).
RE Claim 19¸ Wu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to cause one or more computers to function as:
a processing unit configured to communicate with the information terminal via the currently connected AP and perform a specific process including transmission or reception of data (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087] – BS communicating (transmission/reception of data) with UE via relay UE); and
a control unit configured to,
in response to reception of the change request in a first state, the first state being a state in which part of data for the specific process has been received or transmitted through communication with the information terminal and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])),
perform control to transmit a notification to the information terminal to request execution of a detection process for detecting the electronic apparatus before a connection with the currently connected AP is disconnected (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – BS sending notification of change to UE (i.e. RRCReconfiguration) to “discover” BS (e.g. perform synchronization with BS)), and to execute a connection destination change based on the change request to change the connection destination AP after transmission of the notification (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 7; [0026], [0087]-[0088] – UE changing from indirect path (via relay) to direct path (directly to BS) based on change request),
a second control unit configured to:
in response to reception of the notification, perform control to execute the detection process in a state in which part of the data for the specific process has been received or transmitted from or to the electronic apparatus and reception or transmission of rest of the data has not been completed (See Wu FIGs 1-2, 5; [0088] – (i.e. 501) UE is already accessing the network node over an indirect path associated with a relay node but has more data to transmit/receive (i.e. 503); continues to transmit/receive data after handover from indirect path (relay) to direct path (UE<->BS) (i.e. [0088])).
Wu does not specifically disclose
a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to; or
in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target.
However, Xu teaches of a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to (See Xu [0046] – network device receiving request to switch from indirect connection path (i.e. via relay AP) to direct connection path (i.e. directly to network device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, comprising a receiving unit configured to receive a change request from a currently connected access point (AP) to change a connection destination AP to connect to, as taught in Xu. One is motivated as such in order to better adapt to changing network conditions (See Xu Background; Summary).
Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target.
However, Ruan teaches of wherein in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target (See Ruan [0041], [0055], [0094], [0097] – establishing WFD with printer; discovering addressing during WFD establishment; using newly discovered addressing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein in response to a new IP address of the electronic apparatus being successfully identified in the detection process, perform control to receive or transmit the rest of the data by using the new IP address as a transmission target, as taught in Ruan. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce the processing load of a device (See Ruan Background; Summary).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US# 2025/0184848 hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Xu et al. (US# 2021/0144606 hereinafter referred to as Xu) and Shibata (US# 2018/0048785).
RE Claim 3, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose wherein the detection process is a process including name resolution for the electronic apparatus.
However, Shibata teaches of wherein the detection process is a process including name resolution for the electronic apparatus (See Shibata [0079] – printer receives name resolution request as part of discovery communication establishment process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, better improve communication involving an access point (See Shibata Background; Summary).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US# 2025/0184848 hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Xu et al. (US# 2021/0144606 hereinafter referred to as Xu) and Li et al. (US# 2019/0387458 hereinafter referred to as Li).
RE Claim 4, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose wherein the detection process includes at least one of a process using a multicast domain name system (DNS), a process using Link-Local Multicast Name Resolution (LLMNR), and a process for requesting a DNS server to perform name resolution.
However, Li teaches of wherein the detection process includes at least one of a process using a multicast domain name system (DNS), a process using Link-Local Multicast Name Resolution (LLMNR), and a process for requesting a DNS server to perform name resolution (See Li [0050] – multicast DNS service discovery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein the detection process includes at least one of a process using a multicast domain name system (DNS), a process using Link-Local Multicast Name Resolution (LLMNR), and a process for requesting a DNS server to perform name resolution, as taught in Li. One is motivated as such in order to provide multicast name service where no DNS servers exist that is easy to set up and maintain (See Li [0050]-[0051]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US# 2025/0184848 hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Xu et al. (US# 2021/0144606 hereinafter referred to as Xu) and Kim et al. (US# 2013/0128311 hereinafter referred to as Kim).
RE Claim 6, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further function as:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a dynamic IP address as an IP address of the electronic apparatus, and
the control unit is configured to, in response to the connection destination change based on the change request being performed in the first state, perform control to transmit the notification when the acquisition unit is set to newly acquire the dynamic IP address.
However, Kim teaches of wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further function as:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a dynamic IP address as an IP address of the electronic apparatus (See Kim [0088] – determining dynamic IP address), and
the control unit is configured to, in response to the connection destination change based on the change request being performed in the first state, perform control to transmit the notification when the acquisition unit is set to newly acquire the dynamic IP address (See Kim [0088] – transferring dynamic IP address to wireless device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further function as:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a dynamic IP address as an IP address of the electronic apparatus, and
the control unit is configured to, in response to the connection destination change based on the change request being performed in the first state, perform control to transmit the notification when the acquisition unit is set to newly acquire the dynamic IP address, as taught in Kim. One is motivated as such in order to manage safety and improve convenience when using image forming apparatuses (See Kim Background; Summary).
Claims 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US# 2025/0184848 hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Xu et al. (US# 2021/0144606 hereinafter referred to as Xu) and Ramasamy et al. (US# 2023/0131406 hereinafter referred to as Ramasamy).
RE Claim 11, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose wherein the electronic apparatus performs IEEE 802.11ax connection to an AP and performs a process compliant with an IEEE 802.11ax standard.
However, Ramasamy teaches of wherein the electronic apparatus performs IEEE 802.11ax connection to an AP and performs a process compliant with an IEEE 802.11ax standard (See Ramasamy [0014], [0027], [0075] – communicating with and changing APs; using 802.11ax).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein the electronic apparatus performs IEEE 802.11ax connection to an AP and performs a process compliant with an IEEE 802.11ax standard, as taught in Ramasamy. One is motivated as such in order to improve managing communication with multiple antennas (See Ramasamy Background).
RE Claim 13, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose wherein the connection destination change based on the change request is performed to change the connection destination AP to an AP in a 6 GHz band.
However, Ramasamy teaches of wherein the connection destination change based on the change request is performed to change the connection destination AP to an AP in a 6 GHz band (See Ramasamy [0027], [0029], [0048] – devices operating in 6 GHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein the connection destination change based on the change request is performed to change the connection destination AP to an AP in a 6 GHz band, as taught in Ramasamy. One is motivated as such in order to improve managing communication with multiple antennas (See Ramasamy Background).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US# 2025/0184848 hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Xu et al. (US# 2021/0144606 hereinafter referred to as Xu) and Tanaka et al. (US# 2026/0230228 hereinafter referred to as Tanaka).
RE Claim 12, Wu, modified by Xu, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wu, modified by Xu, does not specifically disclose wherein the electronic apparatus performs at least one of a process compliant with Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) and a process compliant with Target Wake Time (TWT).
However, Tanaka teaches of wherein the electronic apparatus performs at least one of a process compliant with Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) and a process compliant with Target Wake Time (TWT) (See Tanaka [0104] – TWT and OFDMA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu, wherein the electronic apparatus performs at least one of a process compliant with Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) and a process compliant with Target Wake Time (TWT), as taught in Tanaka. One is motivated as such in order to better handle communication to account for link failures (See Tanaka Background; Summary).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US# 2025/0184848 hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Xu et al. (US# 2021/0144606 hereinafter referred to as Xu), Ruan (US# 2019/0104464), and Katahira (US# 2013/0188216).
RE Claim 15, Wu, modified by Xu and Ruan, discloses an information terminal, as set forth in claim 14 above. Wu, modified by Xu and Ruan, does not specifically disclose wherein the second control unit is configured to, in response to failure of identification of the new IP address of the electronic apparatus in the detection process, perform control to execute the detection process again within a predetermined time after the notification is received.
However, Katahira teaches of wherein the second control unit is configured to, in response to failure of identification of the new IP address of the electronic apparatus in the detection process, perform control to execute the detection process again within a predetermined time after the notification is received (See Katahira FIG 8A; [0005], [0011], [0058], [0064] – if connection process has failure, performing retry for a set duration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Wu, modified by Xu and Ruan, wherein the second control unit is configured to, in response to failure of identification of the new IP address of the electronic apparatus in the detection process, perform control to execute the detection process again within a predetermined time after the notification is received, as taught in Katahira. One is motivated as such in order to account for and mitigate connection errors (See Katahira Background; Summary).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hamada (US# 2015/0223281 – which teaches of printer AP handover).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477