Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because “where” should be –wherein--. The limitation “where" indicates a place or situation, while "wherein" is a term meaning "in which". Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-15 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/9/2026.
The traversal is on the grounds that the “basis for restriction is the assertion that the flashing member of apparatus Claims 1 to 11 and 16 to 20 (corresponding to Invention I) can be made by injection molding”. Examiner responds that the inventions are distinct because it has been shown that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process, the process in this case being injection molding. For example, while sheet material could be produced in injection molding, sheet material would not be provided in injection molding. It is stock polymer raw material that would be provided in injection molding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is objected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites “a first piece of sheet material forming an element is bent along two parallel lines to have a first bend and a second bend”, which is confusing because it appears to be a method step (bending) in clams drawn to an article. It is assumed the claim recites a first bend connects the first section and the planar third section and a second bend connects the second section and the planar third section, wherein the planar third section extends between the first section and the second section, said planar third section extending along the length axis and at an angle to both the first section and the second section, the bends being parallel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 16-17, 19-20, and 22 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VKR Holdings (EP3404162) in view of VKR Holdings (EP3517229).
Claim 1. VKR ‘162 teaches a flashing member 21 23 for a roof window comprising a frame, said frame comprising a plurality of frame members including a top frame member, a bottom frame member 14, and two side frame members, said plurality of frame members delimiting a frame opening and each of said plurality of frame members having an outer side, para. 29, facing away from the frame opening,
wherein said flashing member is formed from a sheet material (as seen in 3, member 1,2,3,4 is essentially a bent sheet,
wherein said flashing member comprises an elongate main element having two ends and at least one end element 23,
wherein the elongate main element comprises a first section 1 extending along a length axis and a height axis of the flashing member, and
a second section 2 extending along the length axis and a width axis of the flashing member, said length axis extending between the two ends of the elongate main element, and the at least one end element 23 is attached to the main element at one end and connected to the first section and the second section by a seam connection, see fig. 4, especially at 235, the elongate main element further comprises a planar third section 3 extending between the first section and the second section, said planar third section extending along the length axis and at an angle to both the first section and the second section, fig. 3.
VKR ‘162 does not teach the seam connection is a folded seam connection. VKR ‘229 teaches a seam connection is a folded seam connection, page 2, lines 1-17.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the seam connection to be a folded seam connection “to provide a flashing element for a roof window, which can be made using less material and preferably made from aluminium flashing members”, para. 6.
Annotated fig. 3, VKR ‘162
2. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘162 further teaching the planar third section extends at angles of 120-140 degrees with respect to the first section and the second section, see fig. 3. If Applicant should disagree, Examiner indicates that it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the angle to be as claimed for water shedding.
3. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘162 further teaching the planar third section extends at angles of at least 110 degrees with respect to the first section and the second section, see fig. 3. If Applicant should disagree, Examiner indicates that it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the angle to be as claimed for water shedding.
4. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘162 further teaching the height axis and the width axis are substantially perpendicular to each other, and the first section and the second section extend in directions that are substantially perpendicular to each other, fig. 3.
5. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘229 further teaching the folded seam connection is a flat lock seam, abstract.
6. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘162 further comprising a fourth section 4 extending from an edge of the first section opposite the planar third section, said fourth section capable of engaging with a correspondingly dimensioned exterior side of a frame member.
7. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘162 further teaching the flashing member is configured for use as a bottom flashing member mounted at the bottom frame member of the roof window mounted in an inclined roof 4, figs. 1 and 4.
8. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘162 further teaching a skirt element s extends in continuation of the second section.
9. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘229 further teaching the sheet material is sheet metal (aluminum).
10. VKR ‘162 does not expressly teach a total height of the elongate main element along the height axis is 25-60 mm. It would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a total height of the elongate main element along the height axis to be 25-60 mm for waterproofing, especially considering the main element of both VKR ‘162 and the present member are similarly structured and identically used.
11. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘162 further teaching a roof window mounted in an inclined roof structure, where a flashing member according to claim 1 is mounted at a bottom frame member of the roof window, below the roof window when seen in a direction of inclination of the inclined roof structure, abstract, fig. 4.
16. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, VKR ‘162 further teaching the planar third section extends at angles of at least 120 degrees with respect to the first section and the second section, see fig. 3. If Applicant should disagree, Examiner indicates that it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the angle to be as claimed for water shedding.
17. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 6, VKR ‘162 further teaching the flashing member is configured for use as a bottom flashing member mounted at the bottom frame member of the roof window mounted in an inclined roof, abstract, fig. 4.
19. VKR ‘162 does not expressly teach a total height of the elongate main element along the height axis is at least 25 mm and less than 50 mm. However, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for a total height of the elongate main element along the height axis to be at least 25 mm and less than 50 mm for strength, VKR ‘162 and the present main element being structurally similar and used in identical roof window applications.
20. VKR ‘162 does not expressly teach a total height of the elongate main element along the height axis is at least 25 mm and less than 40 mm. However, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for a total height of the elongate main element along the height axis to be at least 25 mm and less than 40 mm for strength, VKR ‘162 and the present main element being structurally similar and used in identical roof window applications.
22. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 teaches the flashing member according to claim 1, at least VKR ‘162, fig. 3, further teaching, as best understood, a first bend connects the first section and a planar third section (the section between the first (vertical top) section and the horizontal part of 21) and a second bend (the lower of the two bends) connects the second section and the planar third section, wherein the planar third section extends between the first section and the second section, said planar third section extending along the length axis and at an angle to both the first section and the second section, the bends being parallel, fig. 3.
Claim 18 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VKR Holdings ‘162 in view of VKR Holdings ‘229 and in further view of Lynch (2010/0037549).
18. VKR ‘162 in view of VKR ‘229 does not expressly teach the sheet material is sheet metal comprising at least 50% recycled aluminium. Lynch teaches at least 50% recycled aluminium, para. 43. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the aluminum to be at least 50% recycled for cost savings.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J KENNY/Examiner, Art Unit 3633