Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dryburgh et al. (6,059,364).
Regarding claim 1, Dryburgh et al. disclose an aircraft seat unit comprising a backshell 41 and a seat 2, the seat having a seat pan portion 43 connected to a back portion 42, wherein the seat is configured to slide within the backshell between an upright configuration (figure 14), where a passenger can sit on the seat pan portion in a sitting position with their back supported by the back portion of the seat, and a bed configuration (figure 16), where the passenger can lie on the seat pan and seat back portions.
Regarding claim 2, Dryburgh et al. disclose space occupied by the back portion 42 of the seat when in the upright configuration becomes space available for the passenger's use when the back portion is in the bed configuration (figure 16).
Regarding claim 3, Dryburgh et al. disclose the seat is supported by a slider 56 to assist with the translation of the seat between the upright configuration and the bed configuration.
Regarding claim 5, Dryburgh et al. disclose an actuator (col. 5, lines 60-65) to slide the seat between the upright configuration and the bed configuration.
Regarding claim 6, Dryburgh et al. disclose one or more guide slots 50 to guide the seat between the upright configuration and the bed configuration.
Regarding claim 9, Dryburgh et al. disclose the seat pan 43 and seat back 42 comprise two separate portions attached together.
Regarding claim 10, Dryburgh et al. disclose an aircraft seat unit according to claim 1 and a leg rest 44.
Regarding claim 11, Dryburgh et al. disclose a method of moving an aircraft seat unit according to claim 1 from an upright configuration to a bed configuration or vice versa, the method comprising the step of: a. sliding the seat from one configuration to the other configuration (see figures 14-16).
Regarding claim 12, Dryburgh et al. disclose the step of sliding the seat comprises manually sliding the seat (col. 5, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 13, Dryburgh et al. disclose the seat slides within the backshell 41 of the seat unit, such that space occupied by the back portion of the seat when in the upright configuration becomes space available for the passenger's use when the back portion is in the bed configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dryburgh et al. in view of Kodati et al. (12,187,437).
Regarding claim 4, Kodati et al. disclose a handle 162 for manually sliding the seat between the upright configuration and the bed configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kodati et al. and a use handle to manually operate the seat of Dryburgh et al. because it is simple and cost efficient.
Regarding claim 14, Kodati et al. disclose a method of moving an aircraft seat unit according to claim 11 comprising the step of locking (via locking mechanism 158) the seat when the seat is in the upright configuration and/or in the bed configuration, and unlocking the seat for moving the seat from one configuration to the other configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kodati et al. and a use a locking mechanism in the seat of Dryburgh et al. in order to prevent any accidental injuries or damages.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dryburgh et al. in view of Beroth et al. (7,607,732).
Regarding claim 7, Beroth et al. disclose the seat comprises a foam cushion (col. 2, lines 60-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Beroth et al. and use a foam cushion in the invention of Dryburgh et al. because it is lightweight and cost efficient.
Regarding claim 8, Beroth et al. disclose the seat pan 46 and seat back 44 is one integrated portion (figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Beroth et al. and use integrated seat pan and back in the invention of Dryburgh et al. because it is simple and efficient.
Furthermore, applicant discloses the integrated seat pan and seat back are an obvious modification of separate seat pan and back.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636