DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the electrode layer is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region” (of claims 1 and 20) and “the cathode layer is made of transmitting material at least corresponding to the transmitting region” (of claim 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Currently, no cathode electrode is shown in the drawings. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-10, 15 and 18- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 9,312,312) hereinafter “Tsai” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 1D of Tsai teaches a display panel (Column 1, Lines 5), comprising: a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Column 7, Line 25); and a driving layer group (Column 2, Lines 64); where the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively, each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Item 130A), a second sub-pixel (Item 130C), and a third sub-pixel (Item 130B) in different colors; and edge portions of two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are spaced apart from each other, and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item 140) between the two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units.
Tsai does not explicitly teach where the electrode layer is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region; wherein the driving layer group is provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material.
Fig. 6 of Jeon teaches a display device have a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Item 223); and a driving layer group (Item TFT’); wherein the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the electrode layer (Item 223) is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the driving layer group (Item TFT’) is provided with a through-hole (Item TAH), the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region (Item TA) and filled with a transparent material (Item 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrode layer be laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region because the electrode layer being a cathode layer allows the electrode to act as an opposite electrode (Jeon Paragraph 0166) and the hollowed part allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the driving layer group be provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 1D of Tsai further teaches where the first subpixel, the second subpixel and the third subpixel are all polygonal structures.
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 1D of Tsai further teaches where distance between centers of adjacent subpixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are equal.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 1D of Tsai further teaches where the transmitting region (Item 140) is in an axisymmetric shape.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 1D of Tsai further teaches where the transmitting region (Item 140) has an even number of edges.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tsai and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Tsai does not explicitly teach a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance.
Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 119); wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA) and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels (Item Pa) outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance (Paragraph 0160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance because this allows a light transmittance of the transmitting area to be improved (Jeon Paragraph 0160).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tsai and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Tsai does not teach where the first region is a thickness-reduced region or a transparent region, or the first region is replaced with a cavity.
Jeon further teaches where the first region is replaced with a cavity (Paragraph 0160 where the pixel defining layer has a hole).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first region be replaced with a cavity because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 1D of Tsai further teaches where the color of the first subpixel (Item 130A) is red, the color of the second subpixel (Item 130C) is blue and the color of the third subpixel (Item 130B) is green (Column 5, Lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 1D of Tsai teaches a display panel (Column 1, Lines 5), comprising: a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Column 7, Line 25); and a driving layer group (Column 2, Lines 64); where the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively, each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Item 130A), a second sub-pixel (Item 130C), and a third sub-pixel (Item 130B) in different colors; and edge portions of two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are spaced apart from each other, and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item 140) between the two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units.
Tsai does not explicitly teach where the electrode layer is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is made of a transmitting material at least corresponding to the transmitting region; wherein the driving layer group is provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material.
Fig. 6 of Jeon teaches a display device have a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Item 223); and a driving layer group (Item TFT’); wherein the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the electrode layer (Item 223) is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is made of a transmitting material (Paragraph 0166 where the cathode is made of ITO) at least corresponding to (Paragraph 0160 where the cathode is located in [corresponds to] the transmitting region by being present on the walls of the transmissive hole; See the Examiner’s Note below) the transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the driving layer group (Item TFT’) is provided with a through-hole (Item TAH), the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region (Item TA) and filled with a transparent material (Item 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrode layer be laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is made of a transmitting material at least corresponding to the transmitting region because the electrode layer being a cathode layer and the cathode at least corresponding to the transmissive area (by being present on the walls of the transmissive hole) allows the light transmission of the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the driving layer group be provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Examiner’s Note: The claim does not recite how the cathode corresponds to at least the transmitting region. In the rejection above the Examiner has identified that the cathode corresponds to the transmitting region by being present on the walls of the transmissive area hole within the transmitting region but could have also stated that the cathode at least corresponds to the transmitting region by have edges that define a transmissive hole within the transmitting region.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tsai and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Tsai does not explicitly teach a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance.
Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 119); wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA) and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels (Item Pa) outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance (Paragraph 0160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance because this allows a light transmittance of the transmitting area to be improved (Jeon Paragraph 0160).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tsai and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Tsai does not teach where the first region is a thickness-reduced region or a transparent region, or the first region is replaced with a cavity.
Jeon further teaches where the first region is replaced with a cavity (Paragraph 0160 where the pixel defining layer has a hole).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first region be replaced with a cavity because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 1D of Tsai teaches a display device, comprising a display panel (Column 1, Lines 5), comprising: a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Column 7, Line 25); and a driving layer group (Column 2, Lines 64); where the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively, each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Item 130A), a second sub-pixel (Item 130C), and a third sub-pixel (Item 130B) in different colors; and edge portions of two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are spaced apart from each other, and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item 140) between the two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units.
Tsai does not explicitly teach where the electrode layer is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region; wherein the driving layer group is provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material.
Fig. 6 of Jeon teaches a display device have a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Item 223); and a driving layer group (Item TFT’); wherein the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the electrode layer (Item 223) is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the driving layer group (Item TFT’) is provided with a through-hole (Item TAH), the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region (Item TA) and filled with a transparent material (Item 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrode layer be laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region because the electrode layer being a cathode layer allows the electrode to act as an opposite electrode (Jeon Paragraph 0166) and the hollowed part allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the driving layer group be provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Alternately, Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 2J of Wang teaches a display panel (Paragraph 0002), comprising: a pixel structure (Items A02 in Item A2); an electrode layer (Paragraph 0103 where there is a cathode layer); and a driving layer group (Item 359); where the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units (Item A02) arranged repetitively, each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Item 1), a second sub-pixel (Item 3), and a third sub-pixel (Item 2) in different colors; and edge portions of two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are spaced apart from each other, and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Portion of Item A02 not occupied by Item 30) between the two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units; wherein the electrode layer is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer (Paragraph 0103).
Wang does not explicitly teach where the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region; wherein the driving layer group is provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material.
Fig. 6 of Jeon teaches a display device have a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Item 223); and a driving layer group (Item TFT’); wherein the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item TA); the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the driving layer group (Item TFT’) is provided with a through-hole (Item TAH), the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region (Item TA) and filled with a transparent material (Item 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region because the the hollowed part allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the driving layer group be provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 2J of Wang further teaches where the first subpixel, the second subpixel and the third subpixel are all polygonal structures.
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 2J of Wang further teaches where distance between centers of adjacent subpixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are equal.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 2J of Wang further teaches where the transmitting region (Item 140) is in an axisymmetric shape.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 2J of Wang further teaches where the transmitting region (Item 140) has an even number of edges.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not explicitly teach a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance.
Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 119); wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA) and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels (Item Pa) outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance (Paragraph 0160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance because this allows a light transmittance of the transmitting area to be improved (Jeon Paragraph 0160).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not teach where the first region is a thickness-reduced region or a transparent region, or the first region is replaced with a cavity.
Jeon further teaches where the first region is replaced with a cavity (Paragraph 0160 where the pixel defining layer has a hole).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first region be replaced with a cavity because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 2J of Wang further teaches where the color of the first subpixel (Item 1) is red, the color of the second subpixel (Item 3) is blue and the color of the third subpixel (Item 2) is green.
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 2J of Wang further teaches where a blue light emitting sub pixel (Item 1) is larger than each of a red light emitting subpixel (Item 3) and a green light emitting subpixel (Item 2) in area (Paragraph 0327).
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 6 of Wang further teaches a substrate; and a photosensitive device (Item 111); where the pixel structure and the photosensitive device (Item 111) are disposed on two opposite sides of the substrate.
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 2J of Wang teaches a display panel (Paragraph 0002), comprising: a pixel structure (Items A02 in Item A2); an electrode layer (Paragraph 0103 where there is a cathode layer); and a driving layer group (Item 359); where the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units (Item A02) arranged repetitively, each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Item 1), a second sub-pixel (Item 3), and a third sub-pixel (Item 2) in different colors; and edge portions of two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are spaced apart from each other, and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Portion of Item A02 not occupied by Item 30) between the two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units; wherein the electrode layer is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer (Paragraph 0103).
Wang does not explicitly teach where the cathode layer is made of a transmitting material at least corresponding to the transmitting region; wherein the driving layer group is provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material.
Fig. 6 of Jeon teaches a display device have a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Item 223); and a driving layer group (Item TFT’); wherein the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item TA), the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is made of a transmitting material (Paragraph 0166 where the cathode is made of ITO) at least corresponding to (Paragraph 0160 where the cathode is located in [corresponds to] the transmitting region by being present on the walls of the transmissive hole; See the Examiner’s Note below) the transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the driving layer group (Item TFT’) is provided with a through-hole (Item TAH), the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region (Item TA) and filled with a transparent material (Item 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cathode layer made of a transmitting material at least corresponding to the transmitting region because the electrode layer being a cathode layer and the cathode at least corresponding to the transmissive area (by being present on the walls of the transmissive hole) allows the light transmission of the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the driving layer group be provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Examiner’s Note: The claim does not recite how the cathode corresponds to at least the transmitting region. In the rejection above the Examiner has identified that the cathode corresponds to the transmitting region by being present on the walls of the transmissive area hole within the transmitting region but could have also stated that the cathode at least corresponds to the transmitting region by have edges that define a transmissive hole within the transmitting region.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not explicitly teach a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance.
Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 119); wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA) and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels (Item Pa) outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance (Paragraph 0160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance because this allows a light transmittance of the transmitting area to be improved (Jeon Paragraph 0160).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not teach where the first region is a thickness-reduced region or a transparent region, or the first region is replaced with a cavity.
Jeon further teaches where the first region is replaced with a cavity (Paragraph 0160 where the pixel defining layer has a hole).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first region be replaced with a cavity because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 2J of Wang teaches a display device, comprising a display panel (Paragraph 0002), comprising: a pixel structure (Items A02 in Item A2); an electrode layer (Paragraph 0103 where there is a cathode layer); and a driving layer group (Item 359); where the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units (Item A02) arranged repetitively, each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Item 1), a second sub-pixel (Item 3), and a third sub-pixel (Item 2) in different colors; and edge portions of two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are spaced apart from each other, and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Portion of Item A02 not occupied by Item 30) between the two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units; wherein the electrode layer is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer (Paragraph 0103).
Wang does not explicitly teach where the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region; wherein the driving layer group is provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material.
Fig. 6 of Jeon teaches a display device have a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Item 223); and a driving layer group (Item TFT’); wherein the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item TA); the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the driving layer group (Item TFT’) is provided with a through-hole (Item TAH), the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region (Item TA) and filled with a transparent material (Item 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region because the the hollowed part allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the driving layer group be provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Alternately, utilizing a different embodiment of Wang, Claims 1-3, 5-12, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 2I of Wang teaches a display panel (Paragraph 0002), comprising: a pixel structure (Items A02 in Item A2); an electrode layer (Paragraph 0103 where there is a cathode layer); and a driving layer group (Item 359); where the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units (Item A02) arranged repetitively, each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Item 1), a second sub-pixel (Item 3), and a third sub-pixel (Item 2) in different colors; and edge portions of two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are spaced apart from each other, and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Portion of Item A02 not occupied by Item 30) between the two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units; wherein the electrode layer is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer (Paragraph 0103).
Wang does not explicitly teach where the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region; wherein the driving layer group is provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material.
Fig. 6 of Jeon teaches a display device have a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Item 223); and a driving layer group (Item TFT’); wherein the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item TA); the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the driving layer group (Item TFT’) is provided with a through-hole (Item TAH), the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region (Item TA) and filled with a transparent material (Item 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cathode layer is provided with a hollowed pattern at least corresponding to the transmitting region because the the hollowed part allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the driving layer group be provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where the first subpixel, the second subpixel and the third subpixel are all polygonal structures.
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where the first subpixel and the third subpixel (Items 1 and 2, respectively) have different number of edges (Where the first subpixel has 6 edges and the third subpixel has 5 edges).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where distance between centers of adjacent subpixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are equal.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where the transmitting region (Item 140) is in an axisymmetric shape.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where the transmitting region (Item 140) has an even number of edges.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not explicitly teach a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance.
Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 119); wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA) and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels (Item Pa) outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance (Paragraph 0160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance because this allows a light transmittance of the transmitting area to be improved (Jeon Paragraph 0160).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not teach where the first region is a thickness-reduced region or a transparent region, or the first region is replaced with a cavity.
Jeon further teaches where the first region is replaced with a cavity (Paragraph 0160 where the pixel defining layer has a hole).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first region be replaced with a cavity because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where the color of the first subpixel (Item 1) is red, the color of the second subpixel (Item 3) is blue and the color of the third subpixel (Item 2) is green.
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where a blue light emitting sub pixel (Item 1) is larger than each of a red light emitting subpixel (Item 3) and a green light emitting subpixel (Item 2) in area (Paragraph 0327).
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 6 of Wang further teaches a substrate; and a photosensitive device (Item 111); where the pixel structure and the photosensitive device (Item 111) are disposed on two opposite sides of the substrate.
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 2I of Wang teaches a display panel (Paragraph 0002), comprising: a pixel structure (Items A02 in Item A2); an electrode layer (Paragraph 0103 where there is a cathode layer); and a driving layer group (Item 359); where the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units (Item A02) arranged repetitively, each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Item 1), a second sub-pixel (Item 3), and a third sub-pixel (Item 2) in different colors; and edge portions of two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units are spaced apart from each other, and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Portion of Item A02 not occupied by Item 30) between the two adjacent sub-pixels in same color of adjacent repeating units; wherein the electrode layer is laminated with the pixel structure, the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer (Paragraph 0103).
Wang does not explicitly teach where the cathode layer is made of a transmitting material at least corresponding to the transmitting region; wherein the driving layer group is provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material.
Fig. 6 of Jeon teaches a display device have a pixel structure; an electrode layer (Item 223); and a driving layer group (Item TFT’); wherein the pixel structure comprises a plurality of repeating units arranged repetitively and the pixel structure comprises a transmitting region (Item TA), the electrode layer comprises a cathode layer, the cathode layer is made of a transmitting material (Paragraph 0166 where the cathode is made of ITO) at least corresponding to (Paragraph 0160 where the cathode is located in [corresponds to] the transmitting region by being present on the walls of the transmissive hole; See the Examiner’s Note below) the transmitting region (Item TA); wherein the driving layer group (Item TFT’) is provided with a through-hole (Item TAH), the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region (Item TA) and filled with a transparent material (Item 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cathode layer made of a transmitting material at least corresponding to the transmitting region because the electrode layer being a cathode layer and the cathode at least corresponding to the transmissive area (by being present on the walls of the transmissive hole) allows the light transmission of the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the driving layer group be provided with a through-hole, the through-hole is correspondingly disposed in the transmitting region and filled with a transparent material because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Examiner’s Note: The claim does not recite how the cathode corresponds to at least the transmitting region. In the rejection above the Examiner has identified that the cathode corresponds to the transmitting region by being present on the walls of the transmissive area hole within the transmitting region but could have also stated that the cathode at least corresponds to the transmitting region by have edges that define a transmissive hole within the transmitting region.
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where the first subpixel (Item 1), the second subpixel (Item 3) and the third subpixel (Item 2) are all polygonal structures, and at least two of the first subpixel, the second subpixel and the third subpixel have different numbers of edges (Where the first subpixel has 6 edges and the third subpixel has 5 edges).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not explicitly teach a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance.
Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 119); wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region (Item TA) and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels (Item Pa) outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance (Paragraph 0160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer; wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a first region corresponding to the transmitting region and having a first light transmittance and a second region corresponding to the subpixels outside the transmitting region and having a second light transmittance, and the first light transmittance is greater than the second light transmittance because this allows a light transmittance of the transmitting area to be improved (Jeon Paragraph 0160).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not teach where the first region is a thickness-reduced region or a transparent region, or the first region is replaced with a cavity.
Jeon further teaches where the first region is replaced with a cavity (Paragraph 0160 where the pixel defining layer has a hole).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first region be replaced with a cavity because this allows for a light transmittance in the transmissive area to be remarkably increased (Jeon Paragraph 0173).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” and in further view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0336543) hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 2J of Wang further teaches where each of the repeating units comprises one first subpixel (Item 1), one second subpixel (Item 3) and one third subpixel (Item 2).
Wang does not teach where each of the repeating units comprises two third subpixels nor where in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel is arranged in one row or column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel is arranged in an adjacent row or column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel, and the two third subpixels are arranged in another adjacent column or row relative to the first subpixel or the second subpixel.
Fig. 10 of Wang teaches a repeating unit, each of the repeating units comprises one first subpixel (Item 113), one third subpixel (Item 112) and two third subpixels (Items 111); and in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel (Item 113) is arranged in one column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel (Item 112) is arranged in an adjacent column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel (Item 113), and the two third subpixels (Items 111) are arranged in another adjacent column relative to the second subpixel (Item 113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the repeating units comprises two third subpixels nor where in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel is arranged in one row or column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel is arranged in an adjacent row or column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel, and the two third subpixels are arranged in another adjacent column or row relative to the first subpixel or the second subpixel because this arrangement is known to yield a display device having high pixels per inch (Wang Paragraph 0072).
Examiner’s Note:: The Examiner notes that the presence of additional repeating units with different configurations in the same display area does not detract from the teaching of repeating units having the claimed configuration.
Alternately, utilizing a different embodiment of Wang, Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” and in further view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0336543) hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where each of the repeating units comprises one first subpixel (Item 1), one second subpixel (Item 3) and one third subpixel (Item 2).
Wang does not teach where each of the repeating units comprises two third subpixels nor where in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel is arranged in one row or column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel is arranged in an adjacent row or column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel, and the two third subpixels are arranged in another adjacent column or row relative to the first subpixel or the second subpixel.
Fig. 10 of Wang teaches a repeating unit, each of the repeating units comprises one first subpixel (Item 113), one third subpixel (Item 112) and two third subpixels (Items 111); and in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel (Item 113) is arranged in one column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel (Item 112) is arranged in an adjacent column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel (Item 113), and the two third subpixels (Items 111) are arranged in another adjacent column relative to the second subpixel (Item 113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the repeating units comprises two third subpixels nor where in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel is arranged in one row or column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel is arranged in an adjacent row or column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel, and the two third subpixels are arranged in another adjacent column or row relative to the first subpixel or the second subpixel because this arrangement is known to yield a display device having high pixels per inch (Wang Paragraph 0072).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner notes that the presence of additional repeating units with different configurations in the same display area does not detract from the teaching of repeating units having the claimed configuration.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 9,312,312) hereinafter “Tsai” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” and in further view of Park (US 2019/0214596) hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Tsai and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except a pixel defining layer where the electrode layer is provided with at least one hollowed pattern corresponding to the pixel defining layer.
Fig. 2 of Park teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 21) and a cathode electrode layer (Item 23) where the cathode electrode layer (Item 23) is provided with at least one hollowed pattern corresponding to the pixel defining layer (Item 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer where the electrode layer is provided with at least one hollowed pattern corresponding to the pixel defining layer because this yields a light transmitting area such that light can efficiently go through the display to a photosensitive device below the pixels (Park Paragraph 0100).
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 1D of Tsai further teaches where in at least one subpixel in the first subpixel, the second subpixel and the third subpixel, distances between pixel edges of a pixel defining opening of the pixel defining layer and corresponding edge portions of the at least one subpixel are equal to each other.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” and in further view of Park (US 2019/0214596) hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except a pixel defining layer where the electrode layer is provided with at least one hollowed pattern corresponding to the pixel defining layer.
Fig. 2 of Park teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 21) and a cathode electrode layer (Item 23) where the cathode electrode layer (Item 23) is provided with at least one hollowed pattern corresponding to the pixel defining layer (Item 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer where the electrode layer is provided with at least one hollowed pattern corresponding to the pixel defining layer because this yields a light transmitting area such that light can efficiently go through the display to a photosensitive device below the pixels (Park Paragraph 0100).
Alternately, utilizing a different embodiment of Wang, Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” and in further view of Park (US 2019/0214596) hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except a pixel defining layer where the electrode layer is provided with at least one hollowed pattern corresponding to the pixel defining layer.
Fig. 2 of Park teaches a pixel defining layer (Item 21) and a cathode electrode layer (Item 23) where the cathode electrode layer (Item 23) is provided with at least one hollowed pattern corresponding to the pixel defining layer (Item 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel defining layer where the electrode layer is provided with at least one hollowed pattern corresponding to the pixel defining layer because this yields a light transmitting area such that light can efficiently go through the display to a photosensitive device below the pixels (Park Paragraph 0100).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” and in further view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0336543) hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 2J of Wang further teaches where each of the repeating units comprises one first subpixel (Item 1), one second subpixel (Item 3) and one third subpixel (Item 2).
Wang does not teach where each of the repeating units comprises two third subpixels nor where in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel is arranged in one row or column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel is arranged in an adjacent row or column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel, and the two third subpixels are arranged in another adjacent column or row relative to the first subpixel or the second subpixel.
Fig. 10 of Wang teaches a repeating unit, each of the repeating units comprises one first subpixel (Item 113), one third subpixel (Item 112) and two third subpixels (Items 111); and in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel (Item 113) is arranged in one column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel (Item 112) is arranged in an adjacent column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel (Item 113), and the two third subpixels (Items 111) are arranged in another adjacent column relative to the second subpixel (Item 113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the repeating units comprises two third subpixels nor where in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel is arranged in one row or column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel is arranged in an adjacent row or column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel, and the two third subpixels are arranged in another adjacent column or row relative to the first subpixel or the second subpixel because this arrangement is known to yield a display device having high pixels per inch (Wang Paragraph 0072).
Examiner’s Note:: The Examiner notes that the presence of additional repeating units with different configurations in the same display area does not detract from the teaching of repeating units having the claimed configuration.
Alternately, utilizing a different embodiment of Wang, Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” and in further view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0336543) hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang and Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 2I of Wang further teaches where each of the repeating units comprises one first subpixel (Item 1), one second subpixel (Item 3) and one third subpixel (Item 2).
Wang does not teach where each of the repeating units comprises two third subpixels nor where in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel is arranged in one row or column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel is arranged in an adjacent row or column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel, and the two third subpixels are arranged in another adjacent column or row relative to the first subpixel or the second subpixel.
Fig. 10 of Wang teaches a repeating unit, each of the repeating units comprises one first subpixel (Item 113), one third subpixel (Item 112) and two third subpixels (Items 111); and in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel (Item 113) is arranged in one column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel (Item 112) is arranged in an adjacent column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel (Item 113), and the two third subpixels (Items 111) are arranged in another adjacent column relative to the second subpixel (Item 113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the repeating units comprises two third subpixels nor where in each of the repeating units, the first subpixel is arranged in one row or column of the pixel structure, the second subpixel is arranged in an adjacent row or column of the pixel structure relative to the first subpixel, and the two third subpixels are arranged in another adjacent column or row relative to the first subpixel or the second subpixel because this arrangement is known to yield a display device having high pixels per inch (Wang Paragraph 0072).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner notes that the presence of additional repeating units with different configurations in the same display area does not detract from the teaching of repeating units having the claimed configuration.
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891