Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 12-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 8 and 12-20 recite a sensor that detects a ratio of a degraded powder material to a non-degraded powder material in a first powder material.
At best, [0247] describes the degradation and perhaps could be used to choose a sensor that measures some proxy for degradation that could be related to the ratio. Such a sensor and method, such as an oxygen sensor detecting that the oxygen level has gotten too high, however, would operate by a different process than the recited method.
The claims recite any sensor that can measure the ratio of degraded to non-degraded powder. The nature of this invention is for a sensor in a powder conveyance system, such as those listed in [0122]. References such as Mark (US 2019/0255612; US 11,913,724) teach moisture sensors to detect reduction-oxidation equilibrium points [0110-11] to determine how much the environment favors degradation (oxidation). Perhaps this information in combination with other data could be used to derive the ratio of degraded powder to non-degraded powder, but this is not a connection explicit in the reference nor taught by Applicant. At best, [0118] of Rushton (US 2022/0247180; US 12,121,967) teaches using big data analysis tools to track key process variables to determine the amount of metal powder recycling that is appropriate. This analysis would lead to ratios and proportions of the virgin powder needed, which could be phrased in terms of the ratio of degraded to non-degraded powder within the recycled powder passing through the powder conveyance system. However, [0019] of Rushton teaches assessing with substitutional element chemistry, which would test for powder being degraded (having other elements in the metal powder). This relies on processes not taught by Applicant. A person of ordinary skill in this art would have an understanding of powder conveyances, associated sensors, and the challenges of powder oxidation or other degradation. Sensor output is predictable in this art area, and perhaps kinetics would be understandable or rates of degradation. The inventor does not provide any direction as to how sensor information would detect the ratio as claimed. Applicant has not presented an example of such a sensor. Considerable experimentation would be needed to determine if one of the types of sensors taught by Applicant in [0122] could be used to measure something that in turn, through calibration, could be used to derive an imputed ratio of degraded to nondegraded powder.
In short, Applicant recites a s method with a sensor detecting a ratio of degraded to non-degraded powder in a powder conveyance system without teaching what the sensor is measuring to figure that out or how that ratio could be derived from various measurable properties of the conveyance system. The prior art teaches sensors in powder conveyance systems, as well as concern over powder degradation, including by oxidation. Perhaps a detailed knowledge of the state of the powder conveyance system and the kinetics of the degrading reaction (such as oxidation) could be modeled and understood to derive the claimed ratio, but that is well beyond what Applicant has disclosed. Accordingly, these claims have not been enabled by Applicant’s disclosure.
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “a powder conveyance system operatively coupled to the valve and configured to allow the starting material to pass therethrough.” It is unclear if the “powder conveyance system” or the “valve” is so configured. For the purpose of examination, and in an effort to avoid a contradiction and in alignment with claim 12, the claim language is understood to mean the “powder conveyance system” is so configured. The claim is understood to mean that the starting material passes through the powder conveyance system, as other parts of the claim require that the first powder material pass through the valve to join the second powder material and form the starting material. Claims 2-11 rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwab (US 2024/0157447) in view of Kopschinski (US 2024/0269751).
Regarding claim 1, Schwab discloses a device for three-dimensional (3D) printing a three-dimensional (3D) object (additive manufacturing system 200, [0014] [0024], Fig. 2), the device comprising: a buffer reservoir configured to enclose a first powder material to be used for the 3D printing (virgin powder in one of the powder source containers 210A-D, [0024] [0034], Fig. 2); configured to provide the first powder material to a second powder material to generate a starting material for the 3D printing (mix of virgin powder and unused powder that has been recycled in one of the powder source containers 210A-D, [0024] [0034], Fig. 2), the second powder material being previously used in the 3D printing or in another 3D printing operation (unused powder, [0024] [0034], Fig. 2); a powder conveyance system operatively coupled to the valve (loop shown in Fig. 2 extends through powder source containers, [0024] [0034], Fig. 2) and configured to allow the starting material to pass therethrough (unused powder enters, is mixed, and is deployed for printing, [0024] [0034], Fig. 2); wherein at least a portion of the second powder material is degraded during its passage in the powder conveyance system or during the 3D printing (effect of oxygen on the powder, [0031]); and wherein the system is configured to facilitate addition of the first material to the powder conveyance system if a ratio of the degraded portion of the second powder material to the remaining portion of the second powder material is above a threshold (mixture with more virgin powder based on oxidation resistance, [0027]; the system’s ability to adapt the blend constitutes the ability to function as recited and therefore is configured to do so).
Schwab teaches a system substantially as claimed. Schwab does not disclose how blended virgin and unused (recycled) powder is added to a powder source container 210A-D. Accordingly, Schwab does not disclose a valve operatively coupled to the buffer reservoir and configured to provide the first powder material to a second powder material to generate a starting material for the 3D printing, a valve operatively coupled to the buffer reservoir and configured to provide the first powder material to a second powder material to generate a starting material for the 3D printing. (permission of powder from supply 29 to reservoir 7, [0055], Fig. 1), and wherein the valve is configured to facilitate addition of the first material to the powder conveyance system if a ratio of the degraded portion of the second powder material to the remaining portion of the second powder material is above a threshold.
However, in the same field of endeavor of handling recycled powder for an additive manufacturing system (additive manufacturing machines 3, abstract, [0053], Fig. 1), Kopschinski teaches a buffer reservoir configured to enclose a first powder material to be used for the 3D printing (raw material powder supply 29, [0055], Fig. 1); a valve operatively coupled to the buffer reservoir and configured to provide the first powder material to a second powder material to generate a starting material for the 3D printing (permission of powder from supply 29 to pass to reservoir 7, [0055], Fig. 1), the second powder material being previously used in the 3D printing or in another 3D printing operation (reservoir 7 also fed by raw material power recycling stream 31, [0055], Fig. 1); a powder conveyance system operatively coupled to the valve (loop from each machine 3 to recycle stream 31 to reservoir 7 and fed back to machines 3, [0055], Fig. 1) and configured to allow the starting material to pass therethrough (reservoir 7 that has been filled with virgin and recycled powder and passes through from there, [0055-56], Fig. 1); and wherein the valve is configured to facilitate addition of the first material to the powder conveyance system if a ratio of the degraded portion of the second powder material to the remaining portion of the second powder material is above a threshold (capable of controlling proportion of recycled and virgin powder added to reservoir and therefore configured to, [0055-56], Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Schwab such that storage containers 210A-D are filled as in the manner of Kopschinski filling the reservoir with controlled blends of recycled and virgin powder because Schwab teaches that some storage containers 210A-D have mixtures of unused and virgin powder [0024] and [0055-56] of Kopschinski teaches a way to do so. Accordingly, as modified a valve from the stored virgin powder controls flow to a storage container 210 of Schwab.
Regarding claim 2, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the powder conveyance system is configured to enclose a robust gas comprising a reactive agent in a concentration lower than that in an ambient atmosphere external to the powder conveyance system (build environment enclosed in a relatively inert environment with oxygen monitoring, [0026]; unused powder in circulation subject to moisture removal or dehydration, thus lower concentration of water, [0027]), the reactive agent being configured to react with the powder material to generate a reaction product (a) during propagation of the powder material in the powder conveyance system (moisture, [0027]) and/or (b) during the printing (oxygen, [0026]), the degradation of the powder material comprising the reaction product (oxidation of the powder material).
Regarding claim 3, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the first powder material and the second powder material include elemental metal, metal alloy, an allotrope of elemental carbon, or a ceramic (Schwab, [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the powder conveyance system further comprises a separator operatively coupled to the valve (filtered, Schwab [0027]; the phrase “operatively coupled” is interpreted to encompass fluid communication between the sieve and the valve, which would be the case for a system where the sieve is upstream of the valve; in any event, virgin powder that is added, after use, would circulate through the recycle system of Schwab and any unused portion would eventually be filtered, [0026-27], Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the separator includes a cyclonic separator or a sieve assembly (filtering in this context constitutes operation of a sieve assembly, Schwab, [0026-27]).
Regarding claim 6, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the powder conveyance system is configured to mix the first powder material with the second powder material to generate the starting material (as modified, mixed in reservoir 7 of Kopschinski, [0055-56], before entry to storage container 210 of Schwab, [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the powder conveyance system is configured to mix the first powder material with the second powder material at least in part by adding the first powder material and the second powder material into a reservoir of the powder conveyance system (as modified, virgin powder and unused powder added to reservoir 7 of Kopschinski and mixed, [0055-56], before entry to storage container 210 of Schwab, [0024]).
Regarding claim 9, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the valve is configured to control flow of the first powder material into the powder conveyance system continuously, intermittently, or not flow (control of flow to reservoir with some or none entails the recited control, Kopschinski [0055-56]).
Regarding claim 10, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the powder conveyance system is configured to direct the starting material to a material dispensing mechanism configured to dispense the starting material layerwise to facilitate print the 3D object (Schwab [0024-25]).
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwab (US 2024/0157447) in view of Kopschinski (US 2024/0269751) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rushton (US 2022/0274180).
Regarding claim 8, Schwab as modified teaches comprising a sensor configured to detect the ratio of the degraded portion of the second powder material to the remaining portion of the second powder material (a number of sensors for the stored environment and/or build environment to detect degradation and usability of the powder, Schwab [0021] [0026-29]; this is utilized for a use based model using machine learning techniques).
Schwab as modified teaches a system substantially as claimed. It is not explicit that these sensors are detecting a ratio as claimed.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing with recycling of powder, detecting degradation and additions of appropriate levels of virgin powder, [0004-05]), Rushton teaches a sensor configured to detect the ratio of the degraded portion of the second powder material to the remaining portion of the second powder material (optical assessment with substitutional chemistry detects proportion of degradation (addition of other elements getting into the powder), [0019-20], with big data analysis tools to determine the amount of metal powder recycling that is appropriate (how oxidized / whether it is overly oxidized), [0087] [0118]; the amount of metal powder recycling that is appropriate would include the ratio of the degraded to non-degraded powder so that the virgin powder would restore the non-degraded portion to the appropriate amount, [0087]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Schwab to utilize sensors as taught in Rushton because [0029] of Schwab teaches using machine learning to develop a use based model and [0118] of Rushton similarly teaches using big data analysis to accomplish this goal. [0087] [0118] of Rushton further clarifies that this analysis determines the appropriate amount of metal powder recycling, and hence the ratio of degraded to non-degraded powder such that the amount of virgin powder results in the proper amount of non-degraded powder.
Regarding claim 11, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the buffer reservoir is configured to enclose an internal atmosphere that is different by at least one characteristic from an ambient environment external to the buffer reservoir (controlled stored environment, like the controlled build environment with inert gas, Schwab [0029].
Schwab teaches a system substantially as claimed. Schwab might not be explicit that the stored environment and any other steps of the powder conveyance are under an inert environment.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing with recycling of powder, detecting degradation and additions of appropriate levels of virgin powder, [0004-05]), Rushton is explicit, teaching wherein the buffer reservoir is configured to enclose an internal atmosphere that is different by at least one characteristic from an ambient environment external to the buffer reservoir (all steps under an inert environment, [0005] [0011] [0065-66] [0090]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Schwab such that the buffer reservoir is configured to enclose an internal atmosphere that is different by at least one characteristic from an ambient environment external to the buffer reservoir (inert gas instead of ambient air) because [0005] of Rushton teaches doing so to manage against the risk of powder oxidation.
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwab (US 2024/0157447) in view of Kopschinski (US 2024/0269751) and Rushton (US 2022/0274180).
Regarding claim 12, Schwab discloses a system for three-dimensional (3D) printing a three-dimensional (3D) object (additive manufacturing system 200, [0014] [0024], Fig. 2) comprising one or more memory devices configured to store instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to ([0006]): detect, via a sensor, a ratio of a degraded powder material to a non-degraded powder material in a first powder material (a number of sensors for the stored environment and/or build environment to detect degradation and usability of the powder, Schwab [0021] [0026-29]; this is utilized for a use based model using machine learning techniques),
wherein at least a portion of the first powder material is disposed within a powder conveyance system (unused powder is circulating, [0024] [0034], Fig. 2); determine, via a processor, if the ratio of the degraded powder material to the non-degraded powder material is above a threshold (no longer viable due to oxygen effects, [0031]);
actuate a valve to provide an amount of non-degraded powder material from a second powder material to the portion of the first powder material disposed within the powder conveyance system (create a mix of virgin powder and unused powder that has been recycled in one of the powder source containers 210A-D, [0024] [0034], Fig. 2) and mix, via the powder conveyance system, the first powder material with the second powder material to form a starting material (mix of virgin powder and unused powder that has been recycled in one of the powder source containers 210A-D, [0024] [0034], Fig. 2).
Schwab teaches a system substantially as claimed. Schwab does not disclose how blended virgin and unused (recycled) powder is added to a powder source container 210A-D. It is not explicit that the sensors of Schwab are detecting a ratio of a degraded powder material to a non-degraded powder material in a first powder material. Schwab does not disclose if the ratio of the degraded powder material to the non-degraded powder material is above the threshold, actuate a valve to provide an amount of non-degraded powder material from a second powder material disposed within a buffer reservoir to the portion of the first powder material disposed within the powder conveyance system, the buffer reservoir being coupled to the powder conveyance system via the valve.
However, in the same field of endeavor of handling recycled powder for an additive manufacturing system (additive manufacturing machines 3, abstract, [0053], Fig. 1), Kopschinski teaches actuate a valve to provide an amount of non-degraded powder material from a second powder material disposed within a buffer reservoir to the portion of the first powder material disposed within the powder conveyance system (permission of powder from supply 29 to pass to reservoir 7 where it is joined by powder from raw material powder recycling stream 31, [0055], Fig. 1), the buffer reservoir being coupled to the powder conveyance system via the valve (structure that provides permission of powder from supply 29 to pass to reservoir 7, [0055], Fig. 1.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Schwab such that storage containers 210A-D are filled as in the manner of Kopschinski filling the reservoir with controlled blends of recycled and virgin powder because Schwab teaches that some storage containers 210A-D have mixtures of unused and virgin powder [0024] and [0055-56] of Kopschinski teaches a way to do so. Accordingly, as modified a valve from the stored virgin powder controls flow to a storage container 210 of Schwab. Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing with recycling of powder, detecting degradation and additions of appropriate levels of virgin powder, [0004-05]), Rushton teaches detect, via a sensor, a ratio of a degraded powder material to a non-degraded powder material in a first powder material (optical assessment with substitutional chemistry detects proportion of degradation (addition of other elements getting into the powder), [0019-20], with big data analysis tools to determine the amount of metal powder recycling that is appropriate (how oxidized / whether it is overly oxidized), [0087] [0118]; the amount of metal powder recycling that is appropriate would include the ratio of the degraded to non-degraded powder so that the virgin powder would restore the non-degraded portion to the appropriate amount, [0087]), if the ratio of the degraded powder material to the non-degraded powder material is above the threshold, actuate a valve to provide an amount of non-degraded powder material from a second powder material disposed within a buffer reservoir to the portion of the first powder material disposed within the powder conveyance system (ensuring the appropriate amount of powder recycling is the ratio of the degraded to non-degraded powder so that the virgin powder would restore the non-degraded portion to the appropriate amount, [0087] [0118]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Schwab to utilize sensors as taught in Rushton because [0029] of Schwab teaches using machine learning to develop a use based model and [0118] of Rushton similarly teaches using big data analysis to accomplish this goal. [0087] [0118] of Rushton further clarifies that this analysis determines the appropriate amount of metal powder recycling, and hence the ratio of degraded to non-degraded powder such that the amount of virgin powder results in the proper amount of non-degraded powder.
Regarding claim 13, Schwab as modified teaches a system substantially as claimed. Schwab does not disclose wherein the powder conveyance system is configured to enclose a robust gas comprising a reactive agent in a concentration lower than that in an ambient atmosphere external to the powder conveyance system, the reactive agent being configured to react with the first powder material to generate a reaction product while the powder material is disposed within the powder conveyance system or during the 3D printing.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing with recycling of powder, detecting degradation and additions of appropriate levels of virgin powder, [0004-05]), Rushton teaches wherein the powder conveyance system is configured to enclose a robust gas comprising a reactive agent in a concentration lower than that in an ambient atmosphere external to the powder conveyance system (all steps under an inert environment, and oxygen sensors are described because that is not going to be perfectly inert,[0005] [0011] [0065-66] [0090-91]), the reactive agent being configured to react with the first powder material to generate a reaction product while the powder material is disposed within the powder conveyance system or during the 3D printing (oxidation of the powder, [0005]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Schwab such the powder conveyance system is configured to enclose a robust gas comprising a reactive agent in a concentration lower than that in an ambient atmosphere external to the powder conveyance system (inert gas instead of ambient air means a lower oxygen concentration) because [0005] of Rushton teaches doing so to manage against the risk of powder oxidation.
Regarding claim 14, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the first powder material and the second powder material include elemental metal, metal alloy, an allotrope of elemental carbon, or a ceramic (Schwab, [0013]).
Regarding claim 15, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the powder conveyance system further comprises a separator operatively coupled to the valve (filtered, Schwab [0027]; the phrase “operatively coupled” is interpreted to encompass fluid communication between the sieve and the valve, which would be the case for a system where the sieve is upstream of the valve; in any event, virgin powder that is added, after use, would circulate through the recycle system of Schwab and any unused portion would eventually be filtered, [0026-27], Fig. 2; see also, [0013] of Rushton).
Regarding claim 16, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the separator includes a cyclonic separator or a sieve assembly (filtering in this context constitutes operation of a sieve assembly, Schwab, [0026-27]; see also, [0013] of Rushton).
Regarding claim 17, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the powder conveyance system is configured to mix the first powder material with the second powder material at least in part by adding the first powder material and the second powder material into a reservoir of the powder conveyance system (as modified, virgin powder and unused powder added to reservoir 7 of Kopschinski and mixed, [0055-56], before entry to storage container 210 of Schwab, [0024]).
Regarding claim 18, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the valve is configured to control flow of the second powder material into the powder conveyance system continuously, intermittently, or not flow (control of flow to reservoir with some or none entails the recited control, Kopschinski [0055-56]).
Regarding claim 19, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the powder conveyance system is configured to direct the starting material to a material dispensing mechanism configured to dispense the starting material layerwise to facilitate the 3D printing (Schwab [0024-25]).
Regarding claim 11, Schwab as modified teaches wherein the buffer reservoir is configured to enclose an internal atmosphere that is different by at least one characteristic from an ambient environment external to the buffer reservoir (controlled stored environment, like the controlled build environment with inert gas, Schwab [0029].
Schwab teaches a system substantially as claimed. Schwab might not be explicit that the stored environment and any other steps of the powder conveyance are under an inert environment.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing with recycling of powder, detecting degradation and additions of appropriate levels of virgin powder, [0004-05]), Rushton is explicit, teaching wherein the buffer reservoir is configured to enclose an internal atmosphere that is different by at least one characteristic from an ambient environment external to the buffer reservoir (all steps under an inert environment, [0005] [0011] [0065-66] [0090]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Schwab such that the buffer reservoir is configured to enclose an internal atmosphere that is different by at least one characteristic from an ambient environment external to the buffer reservoir (inert gas instead of ambient air) because [0005] of Rushton teaches doing so to manage against the risk of powder oxidation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schwab (US 12,390,859) teaches subject matter similar to Schwab (US 2024/0157447), cited above. Herbert (US 12,121,967) teaches subject matter similar to Rushton (US 2022/0274180), cited above. Fung (US 2021/0402697) teaches a recyclability ratio concept, the proportion of recycled material that should be used with virgin powder.
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744