DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 01/16/2025 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “through-hole taper portion on an inner surface of the intermediate nozzle through-hole” in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9-12, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naito (WO 2004020080).
Naito discloses:
1. A slit chamber (atomizing device 12, fig. 2), comprising: a fluid guide nozzle (14) to which a raw material (inflow arrow in fig. 2) is introduced; an upstream nozzle (17) disposed downstream of the fluid guide nozzle, the upstream nozzle including an upstream nozzle fluid guide (19) for the raw material to pass through (as seen in fig. 2); an intermediate nozzle (18a) disposed downstream of the upstream nozzle, the intermediate nozzle including an intermediate nozzle atomizing channel (21 of 18a) to atomize the raw material; and a downstream nozzle (18b or 18c) disposed downstream of the intermediate nozzle, the downstream nozzle including a downstream nozzle atomizing channel (21 of 18b or 18c) to atomize the raw material that has flown the intermediate nozzle. (Note, regarding the phrase “water”, a claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115.)
3. The slit chamber according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate nozzle (18a) includes an intermediate nozzle through-hole (22, 23 of 18a) for flowing the raw material atomized in the intermediate nozzle atomizing channel (21) toward downstream (toward 18b), and the downstream nozzle (18b) includes a downstream nozzle through-hole (22, 23 of 18b) for flowing the raw material atomized in the downstream nozzle atomizing channel toward downstream (toward 18c, 15).
5. The slit chamber according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the intermediate nozzles (18a, 18b) are arranged in series (as seen in fig. 2).
6. The slit chamber according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the intermediate nozzle atomizing channels (21 in 18a and 18b) and/or a plurality of the downstream nozzle atomizing channels (21 in 18b or 18c) are arranged radially.
9. The slit chamber according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate nozzle has an intermediate nozzle groove (one of the additional radial flow passages 21 that is after the first one on the left, as seen in fig. 2) to which the raw material enters, and a discharge hole (22, 23) to which leaked (interpreted as “raw material which could not enter the first intermediate nozzle atomizing channel”) raw material enters (see arrows in fig. 2 showing the fluid flow).
10. The slit chamber according to claim 1, further comprising: a fastener (threaded portion shown in fig. 5) configured to tighten the upstream nozzle(17), the intermediate nozzle (18a), and the downstream nozzle (18b)(fig. 5).
11. The slit chamber according to claim 1, further comprising: a seal member (27, in the recessed portion 37 of fig. 5) disposed between the upstream nozzle and the intermediate nozzle or between the intermediate nozzle and the downstream nozzle (all these options are covered by the embodiment shown in figs. 5-7).
12. The slit chamber according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of the intermediate nozzles (18a, 18b), and a seal member (27) disposed between the plurality of the intermediate nozzles (as seen from figs. 2, 5-7).
13. The slit chamber according to claim 2, wherein the intermediate nozzle (18a) includes an intermediate nozzle through-hole (22, 23 of 18a) for flowing the raw material atomized in the intermediate nozzle atomizing channel (21) toward downstream (toward 18b), and the downstream nozzle (18b or 18c) includes a downstream nozzle through-hole (22, 23 of 18b or 18c) for flowing the raw material atomized in the downstream nozzle atomizing channel toward downstream (toward 15).
15. The slit chamber according to claim 3, wherein a plurality of the intermediate nozzle atomizing channels (21 in 18a and 18b) and/or a plurality of the downstream nozzle atomizing channels (21 in 18b or 18c) are arranged radially (21 seen extending radially in fig. 2).
17. The slit chamber according to claim 5, wherein a plurality of the intermediate nozzle atomizing channels (21 in 18b or 18c) and/or a plurality of the downstream nozzle atomizing channels (21 in 18b or 18c) are arranged radially.
20. An atomizing apparatus (fig. 1), comprising: a raw material tank (not shown but would be connected to the raw material supply port 10) configured to store a raw material; a liquid supply pump (11) configured to pressurize and supply the raw material in the raw material tank; and the slit chamber according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 8, 13-14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (WO 2004020080) in view of Adkins et al. (US 6631851).
Naito discloses the invention as essentially claimed, except for wherein at least one of the intermediate nozzle atomizing channel and the downstream nozzle atomizing channel includes a tapered portion; wherein at least one of the intermediate nozzle atomizing channel and the downstream nozzle atomizing channel has a shape having a smaller cross-sectional area toward downstream; and wherein at least one of the intermediate nozzle atomizing channel and the downstream nozzle atomizing channel has an inlet having a convex curvature or a concave curvature at an end.
Adkins et al. teaches tapered portions in radial atomizing nozzles are well known in the art, including wherein the taper has a shape having a smaller cross-sectional area toward downstream (see fig. 4, outer tapered portion 7 of nozzle insert 9 is smaller than the inner portion), and wherein the nozzle atomizing channel has an inlet having a convex curvature or a concave curvature at an end (concave portion of inner portion of 7 as seen in fig. 4), for the purpose of providing a rounded shape profile that ensures flow stability (col. 3, ll. 9-11), in a manner yielding predictable results and known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Naito, such that at least one of the intermediate nozzle atomizing channel and the downstream nozzle atomizing channel includes a tapered portion; wherein at least one of the intermediate nozzle atomizing channel and the downstream nozzle atomizing channel has a shape having a smaller cross-sectional area toward downstream; and wherein at least one of the intermediate nozzle atomizing channel and the downstream nozzle atomizing channel has an inlet having a convex curvature or a concave curvature at an end, as taught by Adkins et al., for the purpose of using a nozzle having a rounded shape profile that ensures flow stability, in a manner yielding predictable results and known in the art.
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (WO 2004020080) in view of Soukup (US 20130242692).
Naito discloses the invention as essentially claimed, except for wherein the intermediate nozzle includes a through-hole taper portion on an inner surface of the intermediate nozzle through-hole.
Soukup teaches related axially arranged atomizing nozzle channels (46) which include a through-hole taper portion on an inner surface of the nozzle through-hole, for the purpose of providing a channel that induces mixing [0020] and for enabling flow speed to increase for a given supply pressure, in a manner known in the art and which yields predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Naito, wherein the intermediate nozzle includes a through-hole taper portion on an inner surface of the intermediate nozzle through-hole, as suggested by Soukup, for the purpose of providing a channel that induces mixing and for enabling flow speed to increase for a given supply pressure, in a manner known in the art and which yields predictable results.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (WO 2004020080) in view of Maeda (US 20220234011).
Naito discloses the invention as essentially claimed, except for further including a pressure intensifier configured to pressurize the raw material supplied from the liquid supply pump.
Maeda teaches pressure intensifiers (1) configured to pressurize the raw material (101) supplied from the liquid supply pump (102) are known to be used in atomizing systems for the purpose of cleaning the apparatus or inside the system, or for preventing contamination of the raw materials in the case where a high degree of cleanliness is required, or in the case where the apparatus is used for various pressurized raw materials ([0003]-[0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Naito, to include a pressure intensifier configured to pressurize the raw material supplied from the liquid supply pump, as taught by Maeda, for the purpose of cleaning the apparatus or inside the system, or for preventing contamination of the raw materials in the case where a high degree of cleanliness is required, or in the case where the apparatus is used for various pressurized raw materials, in a manner known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220234015 discloses tapered nozzle openings for reducing cavitation and pressure loss [0113]-[0114].
/MARINA A TIETJEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753