DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s remarks submitted August 7, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, and all dependent thereon, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2: Applicant’s originally filed specification fails to adequately describe both “determining, by the terminal, the to-be-monitored control channel resource based on a granularity and the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource” and “determining, by the terminal, the to-be-monitored control channel resource according to a control channel element (CCE) to a resource element group (REG) mapping (CCE-REG mapping) mode used by a control resource set (coreset) and the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource” (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0294578 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”), alternatively in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0349180 A1 (hereinafter “Lu”), and in further view of either U.S. Publication No. 2020/0067676 A1 (hereinafter “Yi”) or U.S. Publication No. 2021/0099898 A1 (hereinafter “You”)1.
Regarding claims 1, 15, 19, and 20: Kim teaches a method for control channel monitoring, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, signaling sent by a network-side device, wherein the signaling is used to indicate a resource type of a time-frequency domain resource (see, e.g., figures 11 and 12, [0209]-[0217], [0411]-[0422]; UE receives configuration information indicating time-frequency domain resource parameters); and
determining, by the terminal, a to-be-monitored control channel resource based on the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource (see, e.g., figures 11 and 12, [0209]-[0217], [0411]-[0422]; UE determines to-be-monitored resources).
Kim does not explicitly state the term “resource type.” To the extent this feature is not inherent to Kim (e.g. by virtue of the parameters indicated in the configuration information for resource determination), it is nevertheless taught in Lu (see, e.g., [0005], [0283]-[0290]; note format indication). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Lu, such as the signaling and/or configuration functionality, within the system of Kim, in order to identify uplink or downlink implementation.
Kim alternatively modified by Lu further teaches a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate granularity, a CCE granularity, or a coreset granularity (see, e.g., Kim [0210]-[0217]; Lu [0238]-[0242]), but does not explicitly state the feature “wherein the determining, by the terminal, a to-be-monitored control channel resource based on the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource comprises: determining, by the terminal, the to-be-monitored control channel resource based on a granularity and the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource.” However, this feature is taught by Yi (see, e.g., [0455]-[0456]; note [0242], [0326], [0339]; note granularity implementations). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Yi, such as the signaling and/or configuration functionality, within the system of Kim alternatively modified by Lu, in order to account for network load.
Alternatively to Yi, the said feature is taught by You (see, e.g., [0006], [0081]-[0090], [0126]-[0135]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of You, such as the signaling and/or configuration functionality, within the system of Kim alternatively modified by Lu, in order to promote reliability or reduce overhead.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 1 is applicable to the method, terminal, and device of claims 15, 19, and 20, respectively.
Regarding claim 2: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the determining, by the terminal, a to-be-monitored control channel resource based on the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource comprises: determining, by the terminal, the to-be-monitored control channel resource according to CCE to a resource element group (REG) mapping (CCE-REG mapping) mode used by a control resource set (coreset) and the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource (see, e.g., Kim [0210]-[0217]; Lu [0235]; Yi [0242], [0326], [0339], [0455]-[0456]; and/or You [0081]-[0090], [0126]-[0135]). The motivation set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
Regarding claim 4: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the determining, by the terminal, the to-be-monitored control channel resource based on a granularity and the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the following: when the granularity is the PDCCH candidate granularity and the signaling indicates that all resources of a PDCCH candidate are downlink resources, determining, by the terminal, the PDCCH candidate as the to-be-monitored control channel resource; when the granularity is the CCE granularity and the signaling indicates that all resources of a CCE are downlink resources, determining, by the terminal, the CCE as the to-be-monitored control channel resource; or when the granularity is the coreset granularity and the signaling indicates that all resources of a coreset are downlink resources, determining, by the terminal, all PDCCH candidates in the coreset as the to-be-monitored control channel resource (see, e.g., Kim [0210]-[0217]; Lu [0238]-[0242]; Yi [0455]-[0456]; and/or You [0081]-[0090], [0126]-[0135]; note some or all resources of the particular granularity may be used depending on traffic). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the granularity is predefined in a protocol; the granularity is configured by the network-side device; or the granularity is determined by the terminal (see, e.g., Kim [0210]-[0217]; Lu [0238]-[0242]; Yi [0455]-[0456]; and/or You [0081]-[0090], [0126]-[0135]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 5.
Regarding claim 6: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the determining, by the terminal, the to-be-monitored control channel resource according to a CCE-REG mapping mode used by a control resource set (coreset) the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the following: when the CCE-REG mapping mode used by the coreset is interleaving, determining, by the terminal as the to-be-monitored control channel resource, all PDCCH candidates in the coreset whose resources are all downlink resources and that is indicated by the signaling; or when the CCE-REG mapping mode used by the coreset is interleaving, determining, by the terminal as the to-be-monitored control channel resource, the CCE whose resources are all the downlink resources and that is indicated by the signaling (see, e.g., Yi [0455]-[0456]; note [0242], [0326], [0339]; and/or You [0081]-[0090], [0126]-[0135]; note granularity implementations; see also Kim [0256]-[0270], [0404]; note PDCCH overbooking and dropping). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 2 is applicable to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches determining, by the terminal, to perform PDCCH overbooking and PDCCH dropping based on the to-be-monitored control channel resource (see, e.g., Kim [0256]-[0270], [0404]; note PDCCH overbooking and dropping).
Regarding claim 8: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches PDCCH overbooking and PDCCH dropping based on the to-be-monitored control channel resource (see, e.g., Kim [0256]-[0270], [0404]; note PDCCH overbooking and dropping), but does not explicitly state the particular granularity implementations – and therefore does not explicitly teach “wherein the determining, by the terminal, to perform PDCCH overbooking and PDCCH dropping based on the to-be-monitored control channel resource comprises at least one of the following: when a granularity is a CCE granularity and all resources of at least one CCE of a PDCCH candidate on which the to-be-monitored control channel resource is located are downlink resources, determining, by the terminal, to perform PDCCH overbooking and PDCCH dropping based on an effective CCE comprised in the PDCCH candidate; when a granularity is a CCE granularity and all resources of all CCEs of a PDCCH candidate on which the to-be-monitored control channel resource is located are downlink resources, determining, by the terminal, to perform PDCCH overbooking and PDCCH dropping based on the PDCCH candidate; when a granularity is a PDCCH candidate granularity, determining, by the terminal, to perform PDCCH overbooking and PDCCH dropping based on the to-be-monitored control channel resource; or when a granularity is a coreset granularity, determining, by the terminal, to perform PDCCH overbooking and PDCCH dropping based on the to-be-monitored control channel resource.” However these features are taught by Yi (see, e.g., [0455]-[0456]; note [0242], [0326], [0339]; note granularity implementations). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Yi, such as the signaling and/or configuration functionality, within the system of Kim alternatively modified by Lu, in order to account for network load.
Regarding claims 9 and 17: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the signaling comprises at least one of the following: indication information, used to indicate a resource type of a time-frequency domain resource; or determining information, used to determine information about a resource type of a time-frequency domain resource (see, e.g., Kim figures 11 and 12, [0209]-[0217], [0411]-[0422]; UE receives configuration information indicating time-frequency domain resource parameters; note also Lu [0005]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 9.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 9 is applicable to the method of claim 17.
Regarding claim 11: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the signaling comprises at least one of the following: radio resource control (RRC) signaling; group common group common (DCI); first scheduling DCI, used to schedule a single terminal; second scheduling DCI, used to schedule a plurality of terminals in at least one cell in a cell group or at least one carrier in a carrier group; or medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling (see, e.g., Kim [0411]-[0418]).
Regarding claim 12: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the resource type comprises at least one of the following: an uplink resource, a downlink resource, an unknown resource, an unavailable resource, resource identifier information, or resource monitoring information, wherein: the resource identifier information is used to identify a target control channel resource in a target slot; and the resource monitoring information is used to indicate whether to monitor a control channel resource in the target slot (see, e.g., Kim [0209]-[0217], [0411]-[0422]; Lu [0005], [0251], [0283]-[0290]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 12.
Regarding claim 13: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the determining, by the terminal, a to-be-monitored control channel resource based on the resource type, indicated by the signaling, of the time-frequency domain resource comprises: when the resource type comprises the resource identifier information, determining, by the terminal as the to-be-monitored control channel resource, the target control channel resource, identified by the resource identifier information, in the target slot; and when the resource type comprises the resource monitoring information, and the resource monitoring information indicates that the control channel resource is monitored in the target slot, determining, by the terminal, all time-frequency domain resources in the target slot as to-be-monitored control channel resource (see, e.g., Kim [0209]-[0217], [0411]-[0422]; Lu [0005], [0251], [0283]-[0290]; note identifying information is directed for particular slots).
Regarding claim 14: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the terminal does not expect the coreset to be configured on an uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) or a downlink (DL) BWP comprising an uplink subband (UL subband) (see, e.g., Kim [0209]-[0217], [0411]-[0422]; Lu [0005]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 14.
Regarding claim 16: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, further teaches wherein the signaling is used to indicate to at least one of the following: the signaling is used to indicate that all resources of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate are downlink resources; the signaling is used to indicate that all resources of a control channel element (CCE) are downlink resources; or the signaling is used to indicate that all resources of a control resource set coreset are downlink resources. (see, e.g., Yi [0455]-[0456]; note [0242], [0326], [0339]; note some or all resources of the particular granularity may be used depending on traffic). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 15 is applicable to claim 16.
10. Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, alternatively in further view of Lu, in further view of either Yi or You, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0089704 A1 (hereinafter “Shrivastava”).
Regarding claims 10 and 18: Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You further teaches the feature wherein the indication information comprises a frequency domain format indicator (FFI), wherein the FFI is used to indicate a time-frequency domain resource, and a resource type of the time-frequency domain resource (see, e.g., Kim [0209]-[0217], [0411]-[0422]; also Lu [0005], [0234], [0283]-[0290]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 10.
Alternatively, and/or to the extent the said feature is not inherent to the system of Kim alternatively modified by Lu, and further Yi or You, it is nevertheless taught by Shrivastava (see, e.g., [0019], [0128]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Shrivastava, such as the signaling and/or configuration functionality, within the system of Kim alternatively modified by Lu, in order to specify frequency parameters.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 10 is applicable to the method of claim 18.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
1 You was cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement submitted August 24, 2026 (U.S. Patent Application Publications; cite no. 1).