DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 31, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3 and 5-10 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every prior objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 2, 2026. More detailed provided below.
Response to Arguments
Claim objections:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous claim objections and the objection have been withdrawn.
35 USC § 112:
Applicant has cancelled claim 4, the previous 112(b) rejection have been withdrawn.
Applicant has amended claim 6, the previous 112(b) rejection have been withdrawn.
35 USC § 103;
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 5 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that Belkowski does not teach a laser illumination device. As stated in the previous Non-Final Office Action, Belkowski teaches a light integration device comprising a plurality of LEDs but does not explicitly state using laser diodes for treating inflammatory conditions. However, Loupis teaches laser diodes (para. 0115). The incorporation of Loupis’ laser diodes to Belkowski’s device, provides a laser illumination device. Additionally, applicant argues that Belkowski does not treat peripheral occlusive disease. Applicant’s specification (para. 0002, 0057) lists foot ulcer as the most significant symptom of a peripheral arterial occlusive disease, as well as having poor blood circulation. Belkowski’s device is used to treat inflammatory conditions by increasing circulation (para. 0027) and Loupis’ device is used for treating ulcers (para. 0219).
On pg.s 5-6 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that Belkowski teaches laser sensors. However, as stated in the previous Non-Final Office Action, Examiner used the plurality of LEDs associated with the light panel to teach the plurality of diodes emitting different wavelengths (para. 0025-0026). As noted in Belkowski (para. 0074), the sensors associated with a light integrated device may be laser sensors.
On pg.s 6-10 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that Belkowski’s heat dissipation member does not protect against laser diodes, which is different from the plurality of LEDs. Belkowski teaches a heat dissipation module that manages temperature within the light panel, where the plurality of LEDs are accommodated (para. 0044). Loupis teaches laser diodes (para. 0115). It would have been obvious to incorporate the heat dissipation module taught by Belkowski to use within Loupis’ laser diodes. Doing so dissipates heat associated with the laser diodes within the device.
On pg. 10 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that Walker’s tripod is different from the tripod of the instant application. It is well known in the art that a tripod is composed of a stand with three legs, which is shown in Walker’s Figure 4A. Additionally, Walker’s tripod is supporting the light sources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belkowski et al. (US 20230012300A1), hereinafter Belkowski, in view of Loupis et al. (US 20160016001A1), hereinafter Loupis, and in further view of Walker et al. (US 11229804B1), hereinafter Walker.
Regarding claim 1, Belkowski teaches a laser illumination device (Fig. 1A, para. 0006 (light integrated device)) for treating a peripheral artery occlusive disease (para. 0027, (inflammatory conditions, tissue level, "increase circulation")), which comprises:
a fixing frame (Fig. 1 para. 0026, (light panel), Fig. 3A, element 302A (clasp), combination of the panel and the clasp)), which includes a fixing member (Fig. 3A) and a bracket (Fig. 3A, element 302A (clasp)), the fixing member being disposed on a top of the bracket (Fig. 3A), wherein an area of an inner side of the fixing member is greater than 25 cm² (para. 0029 (height of 11.8 inches is 29.97 centimeters and width of 11 inches is 27.94 centimeters)) and t
he inner side of the fixing member is disposed with a plurality of a first kind of diodes which are used to emit light with a wavelength between 620 and 700 nm (para. 0026 (LEDs, 600-750 nm, 630 nm)), and a wavelength between 900 and 1100 nm (para. 0025 (LEDs, 750-1000 nm, 850 nm));
a power source (para. 0052 (power source)), which is disposed on the fixing frame and is used to supply power to the plurality of the first kind and the second kind of diodes (para. 0052 (power source connected to LEDs), 0006 (processor causes LEDs to operate), 0092 (processor within the machine learning outputs light)); and
the plurality of the first kind of diodes and the plurality of the second kind of diodes are used to emit laser light of different wavelengths (para. 0026 (plurality of LEDs, red light, near infrared light)) to irradiate an affected area of a patient (para. 0047 (tissue area)) suffering from the peripheral arterial occlusive disease ((para. 0027, (inflammatory conditions, tissue level, "increase circulation")).
Belkowski does not teach a plurality of a first kind of diodes are laser diodes, a plurality of a second kind of diodes are laser diodes, and a tripod, which is disposed at a bottom of the bracket to support the fixing frame.
However, Loupis teaches a laser illumination device (Fig. 1, element 100 (device for emitting light)) for treating a peripheral arterial occlusive disease (para. 0219 (ulcers), which comprises:
a fixing frame (Fig. 1, element 108, para. 0144 (body)) which includes a fixing member and a bracket (Fig. 1, element 106, para. 0144 (head)), the fixing member being disposed on a top of the bracket (Fig. 1), and the inner side of the fixing member is disposed with a plurality of a first kind of laser diodes (para. 0115 (diode lasers)) which are used to emit laser light with a wavelength between 620 and 700 nm (para. 0049 (635-750 nm)), and
a plurality of a second kind of laser diodes which are used to emit laser light with a wavelength between 900 and 1100 nm (para. 0153 (third set of LEDs, 800-1000 nm); the plurality of the first kind of laser diodes and the plurality of the second kind of laser diodes (para. 0115 (diode lasers)) are used to emit laser light of different wavelengths (para. 0053 (emit light from a plurality of light sources), to irradiate an affected area of a patient suffering from the peripheral arterial occlusive disease (para. 0095 (treatment area irradiated)).
Loupis does not teach a tripod which is disposed at a bottom of the bracket to support the fixing frame.
However, Walker teaches a tripod (Fig. 4A, col. 8, lines 59-61 (tripod supports the light sources), which is disposed at a bottom of the bracket to support the fixing frame (Fig. 4A, element 44 (mount)).
Belkowski, Loupis, and Walker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of light integrated devices for phototherapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Belkowski to incorporate the teachings of Loupis and provide a plurality of laser diodes emitting different wavelengths. Loupis discloses light sources capable of emitting light with characteristics corresponding to both light emitting diodes and diode lasers, thereby suggesting the interchangeability or supplementation of such light sources in Belkowski's device.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Belkowski to incorporate the teachings of Walker and provide a tripod for the laser illumination device. Belkowski teaches a base (Fig. 3A), while Walker teaches a tripod, it is well known in the art to use a tripod for a base.
Regarding Claim 2, Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) teaches a laser illumination device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Belkowski further discloses a heat dissipation member disposed outside the fixing member (para. 0044 (heat dissipation module in light panel, manages temperature of LEDs)) to dissipate heat generated by the plurality of laser diodes.
Regarding Claim 3, Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) teaches a laser illumination device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Belkowski further discloses wherein the number of each of the plurality of the first kind of laser diodes and the plurality of the second kind of laser diodes is at least 8 (para. 0006 (one or more LEDs), para 0038 (8 LEDs on each row)).
Regarding Claim 5, Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) teaches a laser illumination device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Belkowski further discloses wherein the inner side of the fixing member is in a planar or curved shape (para. 0028 (curved light panel)).
Regarding Claim 7, Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) teaches a laser illumination device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Belkowski further discloses wherein the power source is further connected to a timing device so that the power source automatically turns off at a set time (para. 0033 (light panel includes a timer configured to automatically shut-off light panel)).
Regarding Claim 8, Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) teaches a laser illumination device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Belkowski further discloses a programmable digital controller (para. 0077 (processor located at the device)) for controlling the power source (para. 0052 (power source connected to LEDs), 0006 (processor causes LEDs to operate), 0092 (processor within the machine learning outputs light)), ensuring that a light power density of the laser light emitted by the plurality of the first kind and the second kind of laser diodes (para. 0039 (irradiance of light)) on the patient's affected area (para. 0027 (emit light towards a subject)).
Belkowski does not teach a light power density range from 8 to 200 mW/cm².
Loupis teaches a laser illumination device (Fig. 1, element 100 (device for emitting light)), which further comprises a programmable digital controller (Fig. 1, element 114)) for controlling the power source (para. 0146 (powers on/off LEDs)), ensuring that a light power density of the laser light emitted by the plurality of the first kind and the second kind of laser diodes (para. 0105 (modulates the power density of the light)) on the patient's affected area ranges from 8 to 200 mW/cm² (para. 0013 (power density of the light, about 15 to 75 mW/cm²)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Belkowski to incorporate the teachings of Loupis and provide a light power density range for the plurality of laser diodes to the affected area of a patient. Doing so would ensure that the light power density is in the range to provide therapeutic effects, as well as prevents the patient from having tissue damage or discomfort due to possible overheating.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belkowski, in view of Loupis, and in further view of Walker and Liu et al. (US 20130190845A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 6, Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) teaches a laser illumination device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Belkowski further discloses wherein the plurality of the first kind of laser diodes and the plurality of the second kind of laser diodes are respectively installed on the inner side of the fixing member in an interleaved manner (Fig. 1A, para. 0038 (arranged in a random pattern)).
Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) does not teach a maximum and a minimum light intensities on an irradiated area of a target surface are within ±30% of an average light intensity.
Liu teaches a laser illumination device (abstract), wherein the plurality of the first kind of laser diodes (para. 0006 (one or more first LEDs that emit light primarily at a first wavelength)) and the plurality of the second kind of laser diodes (para. 0006 (one or more second LEDs that emit light primarily at a second wavelength)) are respectively installed on the inner side of the fixing member (para. 006 (positioned along a panel edge)) in an interleaved manner (para. 0083 (non- uniform spaced LEDs)), ensuring that a maximum and a minimum light intensities on an irradiated area of a target surface are within +30% of an average light intensity (para. 0012 (uniformity of light projection of +/- 30% over the area of the panel front surface), 0078 (light emitted from the LEDs enters into panel through edge)).
Belkowski and Liu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of light integrated devices for phototherapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Belkowski to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide an irradiated surface within +30% of an average light intensity. Doing so would promote the consistent therapeutic effectiveness and reduces overexposure or underexposure to the irradiated surface.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belkowski, in view of Loupis, and in further view of Walker and Cassano et al. (US 20220323784A1), hereinafter Cassano.
Regarding Claim 9, Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) teaches a laser illumination device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Belkowski further discloses wherein the power source provides the power in an alternating manner (para. 0052 (power source connected to LEDs), 0006 (processor causes LEDs to operate), 0092 (processor within the machine learning outputs light)).
Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) does not teach a frequency range of 40 to 1000 Hz.
Cassano teaches a laser illumination device (para. 0002 (device for photo biomodulation therapy)) wherein the power source (Fig. 1, element 200 (controller), para. 0065 (controller supplies power to light sources)), provides the power in an alternating manner (para. 0104 (controller controls power level and pulsed/continuous operation of light sources)) with an alternating frequency of 40 to 1000 Hz (para. 0047 (emit light in a frequency range, about 40 Hz), 0048 (about 1000 Hz), para. 0104 (an individual light source can be actuated in a pulsed or continuous mode independent of other light sources)).
Belkowski and Cassano are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of light integrated devices for phototherapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Belkowski to incorporate the teachings of Cassano and provide a power supply having an alternating frequency of 40 to 1000 Hz. Doing so would provide adjustment of the light sources to achieve a desired therapeutic effect. Similarly, selecting a frequency range optimized treatment efficiency and irradiation time.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belkowski, in view of Loupis, and in further view of view of Walker and Herzog et al. (US 20230404667A1), hereinafter Herzog.
Regarding Claim 10, Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) teaches a laser illumination device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Belkowski further discloses temperature sensor (para. 0081 (temperature sensor)) installed on the fixing member for sensing a skin temperature of the patient (para. 0081 (body part temperature)).
Belkowski (in view of Loupis and in further view of Walker) does not explicitly disclose that the temperature sensor is infrared.
Herzog teaches a teaches an infrared temperature sensor (para. 0042 (infrared sensor)) installed on the fixing member for sensing a skin temperature of the patient (para. 0042 (measuring the temperature of the patient's skin)).
Belkowski and Herzog are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser skin treatment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Belkowski to incorporate the teachings of Herzog and provide an infrared temperature sensor. Doing so would allow the sensor to reach the infrared ranges of the wavelengths, thereby providing patient safety to prevent overheating.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EILEEN ROBLES/Examiner, Art Unit 3792 /William J Levicky/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796