DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of claim 1, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
With respect to independent claim 1, the closest prior art Ji et al. (CN111271561, of record) and Pasta et al. (WO2021176269, of rec0rd), fails to disclose in combination with all of the other elements of the claim wherein the transmission assembly comprises:
a first threaded rod, wherein the first threaded rod is rotatably arranged on the mounting frame, and the first threaded rod is threadedly connected with a first lens module;
a second threaded rod, wherein the second threaded rod is rotatably arranged on the mounting frame, and the first threaded rod is threadedly connected with a second lens module; and
a speed change structure, wherein the speed change structure is provided with an input end and two output ends, the driving part is connected with the input end of the speed change structure, and the two output ends of the speed change structure are rotatably connected with the first threaded rod and the second threaded rod respectively, and wherein the speed change structure is used to adjust the rotational speeds of the first threaded rod and the second threaded rod. Modification of Ji and/or Pasta to include the mechanical arrangement would require undue experimentation to redesign either or both of the closest prior art for no obvious benefit.
Claims 11-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasta et al. (of record) in view of Zhang et al. (PGPUB 20180208311).
Regarding claim 10, Pasta discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (Page 1 first and second paragraphs), comprising:
a fuselage (Page. 2 last paragraph and Figs. 1-2); and
at least one camera module (11 in Fig. 37 shows two cameras) mounted to the fuselage (P. 2 last paragraph),
wherein the camera module comprises:
a mounting frame connected to the fuselage (not labeled, but the pair of cameras, 11, are shown to be attached to an L-shaped member that fixes them to the retracting components in Fig. 2);
two lens modules comprising a first lens module and a second lens module fixed to opposite ends of the mounting frame, wherein the first lens module and the second lens module are respectively oriented to face away from the mounting frame (Figs. 2 and 37 where the pair of lens modules attach to the L-shaped member and each face away on opposite ends); and
a driving mechanism configured to drive movement of the first lens module and the second lens module so that they protrude from the fuselage to capture an image, and configured to drive movement of the first lens module and the second lens module to retract the first lens module when the UAV lands, thereby protecting the first lens module from scratches (Figs. 43-45 indicate the rotation of the camera housing in and out of the fuselage during take-off and landing, P. 2 second and third paragraphs),
wherein the driving mechanism comprises a motor, and the motor is fixed to the mounting frame and positioned between the first lens module and the second lens module (P. 1 third paragraph).
Pasta does not disclose that the image is a panoramic image.
However, Zhang teaches an aerial imaging system comprising a pair of cameras ([0008]) that generate a panoramic image ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine Pasta and Zhang such that the pair of cameras generated a panoramic image motivated by improving situational awareness by widening the view.
Regarding claim 23, Pasta discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (Page 1 first and second paragraphs), comprising:
a fuselage (Page. 2 last paragraph and Figs. 1-2); and
at least one camera module (11 in Fig. 37 shows two cameras) mounted to the fuselage (P. 2 last paragraph),
wherein the camera module comprises:
a mounting frame connected to the fuselage (not labeled, but the pair of cameras, 11, are shown to be attached to an L-shaped member that fixes them to the retracting components in Fig. 2);
two lens modules comprising a first lens module and a second lens module fixed to opposite ends of the mounting frame, wherein the first lens module and the second lens module are respectively oriented to face away from the mounting frame (Figs. 2 and 37 where the pair of lens modules attach to the L-shaped member and each face away on opposite ends); and
a driving mechanism configured to drive movement of the first lens module and the second lens module so that they protrude from the fuselage to capture a panoramic image, and configured to drive movement of the first lens module and the second lens module to stow them when the UAV lands, thereby protecting the first lens module from scratches (Figs. 43-45 indicate the rotation of the camera housing in and out of the fuselage during take-off and landing, P. 2 second and third paragraphs),
wherein the driving mechanism comprises a motor, and the motor is fixed to the mounting frame and positioned between the first lens module and the second lens module (P. 1 third paragraph).
Pasta does not disclose that the image is a panoramic image.
However, Zhang teaches an aerial imaging system comprising a pair of cameras ([0008]) that generate a panoramic image ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine Pasta and Zhang such that the pair of cameras generated a panoramic image motivated by improving situational awareness by widening the view.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasta in view of Zhang and further in view of Webster (PGPUB 20050242274).
Regarding claim 22, modified Pasta does not disclose wherein the first lens module and the second lens module are fixed to the opposite ends of the mounting frame using threaded fasteners.
However, Webster teaches a camera module attached via a threaded fastener (1120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine modified Pasta and Webster such that each camera module was assembled onto the frame using threaded fasteners motivated by allowing quick assembly and disassembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks on pages 13 and 14 assert that Pasta fails to disclose the lenses and motor arrangement of claim 10. The office respectfully disagrees. Figures 43-45 show the pair of lens modules, set like binoculars such that they are on opposite sides of the assembly, retracted and extended from the fuselage. Page 2 of Pasta describes the use of a motor to drive the indicated rotation. Pages 8-10 provide more detail about this rotation and its mechanics. Further, Fig. 4 shows at least part of the rotation driving assembly sits centered between the two lens modules.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS S FISSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872