DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-11 in the reply filed on 9/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 8, and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0061360 (JUCKER), United States Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0064765 (BIRNBAUM), United States Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0143311 (GILLOTA), United States Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0129430 (MIYATA), United States Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0352206 (Wagner-Salvini).
As to claims 1, 3, 5 and 7, JUCKER teaches a beverage such as ready to drink tea or energy drink [0004] for health [0009] and hair growth [0099]. The beverage may comprise water and ashwagandha [0077]. It would have been obvious for the water to be noncarbonated, as carbonation is not mentioned. Additionally, the beverage can be packaged [0019].
JUCKER is silent as to adding Pygeum africanum, zinc, biotin, and thiamine.
BIRNBAUM teaches a composition that can be consumed as a drink [0006]. The composition promotes health and hair growth [0021]. The composition can contain Pygeum africanum [0075], zinc [0046], biotin [0045], and thiamine [0045].
It would have been obvious to add the ingredients of BIRNBAUM to JUCKER, as BIRNBAUM teaches the ingredients promote health and hair growth.
The references above are silent as to adding leucine, isoleucine and valine.
GIILOTTA teaches a composition for health [0197] and includes ingredients known for providing healthy hair [0085]. This composition includes valine, isoleucine and valine [0013].
The references above are silent as to adding valine, isoleucine and valine.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add valine, isoleucine and valine to the references above as GILLOTA teaches they are beneficial additives that can be added to a beverage for health and hair growth.
The references above are silent as adding bamboo extract.
MIYATA teaches that bamboo extract [0031] can be an effective ingredient to promote health and strong hair [0021] and [0032].
It would have been obvious to add bamboo extract to the references above, as MIYATA teaches they are beneficial additives that can be added to a beverage for health and hair growth.
The references above are silent as to adding lion’s mane mushroom extract [0220] –[0222], reishi mushroom extract (i.e., Ganoderma lucidum mushroom) [0063], and horsetail extract [0139].
WAGNER-SILVA teaches that bamboo extract [0031] can be an effective ingredient to promote health and strong hair [0021] and [0032].
It would have been obvious to add the ingredients of WAGNER-SILVA to the references above, as WAGNER-SILVA teaches they are beneficial additives that can be added to a beverage for health [0020] and be included with ingredients that promote hair growth [0191].
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). **
While all the reference are directed to composition for health and hair improvement, the recitations that the compositions are a tea or energized beverage for hydration and support of head hair health are intended uses that do not result in a patentable difference. In this regard, "intended use" in patent claims describes the purpose or function of an invention rather than its physical structure or configuration (see also MPEP 2111.02). The intended use does not result in different ingredients or structure of the composition
As to claims 2 and 6, [0011] of JUCKER teaches that citric acid can be added.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUCKER, BIRNBAUM, WAGNER-SILVA, GILOTA, MIYATA and United States Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0246404 (YUCEL).
JUCKER teaches a beverage such as ready to drink tea or energy drink [0004] for health [0009] and hair growth [0099]. The beverage may comprise water and ashwagandha [0077]. It would have been obvious for the water to be noncarbonated, as carbonation is not mentioned. Additionally, the beverage can be packaged [0019]. JUCKER additionally teaches that Vitamin B3 and B12 but silent as to adding theanine [0062], [0090] and taurine [0087], [0100], and [0113] in health compositions.
JUCKER is silent as to adding Pygeum africanum, zinc, biotin, and thiamine.
BIRNBAUM teaches a composition that can be consumed as a drink [0006]. The composition promotes health and hair growth [0021]. The composition can contain Pygeum africanum [0075], zinc [0046], biotin [0045], and thiamine [0045].
It would have been obvious to add the ingredients of BIRNBAUM to JUCKER, as BIRNBAUM teaches the ingredients promote health and hair growth.
The references above are silent as to adding leucine, isoleucine and valine.
GIILOTTA teaches a composition for health [0197] and includes ingredients known for providing healthy hair [0085]. This composition includes valine, isoleucine and valine [0013].
The references above are silent as to adding valine, isoleucine and valine.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add valine, isoleucine and valine to the references above as GILLOTA teaches they are beneficial additives that can be added to a beverage for health and hair growth.
The references above are silent as adding bamboo extract.
MIYATA teaches that bamboo extract [0031] can be an effective ingredient to promote health and strong hair [0021] and [0032].
It would have been obvious to add bamboo extract to the references above, as MIYATA teaches they are beneficial additives that can be added to a beverage for health and hair growth.
The references above are silent as to adding lion’s mane mushroom extract [0220] –[0222], reishi mushroom extract (i.e., Ganoderma lucidum mushroom) [0063], and horsetail extract [0139].
WAGNER-SILVA teaches that bamboo extract [0031] can be an effective ingredient to promote health and strong hair [0021] and [0032].
It would have been obvious to add the ingredients of WAGNER-SILVA to the references above, as WAGNER-SILVA teaches they are beneficial additives that can be added to a beverage for health [0020] and be included with ingredients that promote hair growth [0191].
The references above are silent as to theanine and taurine.
YUCEL teaches that theanine and taurine can be added in health and hair compositions [0112].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the theanine and taurine of YUCEL, as YUCEL teaches that theanine and taurine can be added in health and hair compositions [0112]
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). **
While all the reference are directed to composition for health and hair improvement, the recitations that the compositions are a tea or energized beverage for hydration and support of head hair health are intended uses that do not result in a patentable difference. In this regard, "intended use" in patent claims describes the purpose or function of an invention rather than its physical structure or configuration (see also MPEP 2111.02). The intended use does not result in different ingredients or structure of the composition
As to claim 10, [0011] of JUCKER teaches that citric acid can be added.
As to claim 11, JUCKER teaches a beverage such as ready to drink tea or energy drink [0004] for health [0009]. The beverage can be packaged [0019].
As noted above, while the references are directed to composition for health and hair improvement, the recitations that the composition is an energized beverage is an intended use that does not result in a patentable difference.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791