DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Specifically, Claim 11 recites "excluding the resin molded article". Independent Claim 10 recites "a resin molded article", while Claim 11 excludes this limitation. Thus, it fails the test for proper dependency which requires inclusion of every limitation of the claim from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sahashi (US 6644236 B2, see reference in its entirety).
The applied reference has a common assignee (Richoh Company Ltd) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to independent Claim 10, Sahashi disclose(s): A determining method comprising:
forming a discoloring portion (Fig. 3: 9 and col. 3, lines 33-38) of a resin molded article (Fig. 3: 1);
discoloring in the discoloring portion of the resin molded article (col. 3, lines 33-38); and
determining the resin molded article to be deteriorated. (col. 3, lines 33-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahashi in view of Rekum et al. (US 2005/0125926 A1, see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Sahashi disclose(s): A resin molded article (Fig. 3 and col. 3, line 33) comprising:
a body having a first discolor speed discolored by deterioration of the body (Fig. 3: 9 and col. 3, line 44-50); and
a discoloring portion in the body and having a second element (Fig. 3: 109).
Sahashi does not specifically disclose: a second discolor speed faster than the first discolor speed discolored by deterioration of a discoloring portion.
However, Rekum teach(es) an article (¶ [0010]) comprising: a second discolor speed faster than the first discolor speed discolored by deterioration of a discoloring portion (¶ [0010] & [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Sahashi, with the teachings of Rekum , for the purpose of providing a breakdown of separate phases of deterioration (¶ [0027]).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Sahashi and Rekum disclose(s) the article of Claim 1.
Sahashi further disclose(s): wherein the body discolors to a first color (col. 3, lines 44-50).
The combination does not specifically disclose: the discoloring portion discolors to a second color different from the first color.
However, Rekum further teach(es): the discoloring portion discolors to a second color different from the first color (¶ [0010]).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Sahashi and Rekum disclose(s) the article of Claim 2.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the discoloring portion includes a printed portion, and the printed portion emerges by discoloring of the discoloring portion to the second color.
However, Rekum further teach(es): wherein the discoloring portion includes a printed portion, and the printed portion emerges by discoloring of the discoloring portion to the second color (¶ [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Sahashi and Rekum, with the further teachings of Rekum , for the purpose of visibly notifying the user of the deterioration of the article (¶ [0025]).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Sahashi and Rekum disclose(s) the article of Claim 3.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the printed portion includes readable information on the resin molded article.
However, Rekum further teach(es): wherein the printed portion includes readable information on the resin molded article (¶ [0025]).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Sahashi and Rekum disclose(s) the article of Claim 4.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the readable information includes at least one of a material, a grade, a lot number, or a manufacturing date of the resin molded article.
However, Rekum further teach(es): wherein the readable information includes at least one of a material, a grade, a lot number, or a manufacturing date of the resin molded article (¶ [0025]).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Sahashi and Rekum disclose(s) the article of Claim 4.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the printed portion includes any one of a barcode, a two-dimensional barcode, a number, and a symbol.
However, Rekum further teach(es): wherein the printed portion includes any one of a barcode, a two-dimensional barcode, a number, and a symbol (¶ [0025]).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Sahashi and Rekum disclose(s) the article of Claim 1.
Sahashi further disclose(s): a first discoloring portion discolors by a first outer factor including at least one of heat, ultraviolet light, temperature, or humidity (col. 3, lines 44-50); and a second portion deteriorating by a second outer factor including at least one of heat, ultraviolet light, temperature, or humidity, other than the first outer factor (col. 6, lines 5-10).
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the discoloring portion includes multiple discoloring portion; and a second discoloring portion discoloring.
However, Rekum further teach(es): wherein the discoloring portion includes multiple discoloring portion (¶ [0010]); and a second discoloring portion discoloring (¶ [0010]).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Sahashi and Rekum disclose(s) the article of Claim 1.
Sahashi further disclose(s): wherein the discoloring portion has a less environmental resistance than other portions of the resin molded article (col. 3, lines 44-50).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Sahashi and Rekum disclose(s) the article of Claim 1.
Sahashi further disclose(s): wherein reusability of the resin molded article is determined based on a discoloration of the discoloring portion (col. 4, lines 31-38).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim(s) 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12535476 B2 (Shimizu). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the Current Application is a broader claim than Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12535476 B2 (Shimizu) by broadening "a discoloration checker" (see below comparison table).
Claim(s) of Current Application 18/755708
Under Examination
(NOTE: bold italicized element(s) signify element(s) broadened)
Claim(s) of Application 18/757610
NOW U.S. Patent 12535476 B2
(NOTE: bold italicized element(s) signify element(s) broadened)
1. A resin molded article comprising:
a body having a first discolor speed discolored by deterioration of the body; and a discoloring portion in the body and having a second discolor speed faster than the first discolor speed discolored by deterioration of a discoloring portion.
2. The resin molded article according to claim 1, wherein the body discolors to a first color; and the discoloring portion discolors to a second color different from the first color.
1. A resin molded component comprising: a discoloration checker made of a first material discolored at a first speed; and a resin molded portion including the discoloration checker, the resin molded portion made of a second material discolored at a second speed faster than the first speed at which the first material of the discoloration checker discolors.
2. The resin molded component according to claim 1, wherein: the first material of the discoloration checker discolors at the first speed slower than the second speed at which the second material of the resin molded portion discolors due to at least one of ultraviolet rays, heat, or water vapor.
Conclusion
Regarding Claim(s) 11: Reasonable interpretations of the claims were not readily available based on the 112d issues explained above for determination of patentability under 35 USC 102 and 103 (consistent with MPEP 2163 & 2173).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate to indicators: McDaid (US 2023/0003639 A1); Urahama et al. (US 4279213); Winskowicz et al. (US 7967702 B2); Johnson (US 10267718 B2); Kemp et al. (US 7784508 B2); Welsh (US 5603161); Williams (US 6513370 B1); Ross et al. (US 11254112 B2); Ribi (US 2013/0061798 A1); Myers et al. (US 8870083 B2).
/TC/
24 June 2026
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855