DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are examined in this office action below.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/372683, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 18/372683 (and earlier foreign filing HK32023079214.7 to which both the current and '683 application claim the benefit of) does not recite where the amorphous alloy has a composition that includes impurities. The presence or absence of impurities is not mentioned in either of the previous applications to which benefit is claimed and there is no disclosure of the inclusion of any elements other than Au, Ge, Si, Ag, Bi, Pd, and Pt in either the claims or the specific examples cited in the Tables in the specification. Thus, these disclosures do not provide support for an "amorphous alloy consisting of, apart from impurities" as instantly claimed. As such, claims 1-19 below have the effective filing date of 6/27/24 of the instant application and this will be used to examine the claims below.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology such as “said amorphous alloy”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-11, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2025/114721 A1 of Houghton.
As to claims 1-4, 7-8, and 10-11, Houghton discloses a bulk metallic glass (Houghton, abstract) with the composition in comparison to the claims in Table A below.
Table A
Element
Claim Limitation
Houghton claims 1, 4, and 6- 9 (at %)
Au
Claim 1: 52.55-75.13%
Claim 3: 69.4%
Claim 4: 68.2%
Claim 5: 65.83%
Claim 6: 63.46%
Claim 7: 63.68-73.59%
Claim 8: 61.28-72.99%
Claim 9: 52.59-73.59%
Claim 10: 66.85-71.85%
Claim 11: 64.45-70.95%
Claim 12: 58.95-69.15%
At least 45% (claim 1)
Ge
Claim 1: 11.74-15.55%
Claims 3-6: 13.65%
Claims 7-9: 12.65-15.55%
Claims 10-12: 12.65-14.65%
7-15% (claim 6)
Si
Claim 1: 8.13-10.77%
Claims 3-6: 9.45%
Claims 7-9: 8.76-10.77%
Claims 10-12: 9-10%
7-12% (claim 4)
At least one selected from the group consisting of Ag, Bi, Pd and Pt
Claim 1: 5-21.13%
Up to 15% of Ag and Pd (claim 9)
Ag
Claim 2: 5-10%
Claims 3-6: 7.5%
Claims 7-9: 5-10%
Claims 10-12: 6.5-8.5%
Up to 15% (claim 8)
Bi
Claim 2:0.01-8.69%
Claim 5: 2.37%
Claim 6: 4.74%
Claim 9: 1.5-8.69%
Claim 12: 1.8-5.5%
Pd
Claim 2:0.01-2.44%
Claims 4-6: 1.2%
Claims 8-9: 0.6-2.4%
Claims 11-12: 0.9-2.4%
Less than 5% (claim 7)
Pt
Claim 2: 0.01-2.44%
Pd and Pt in total
Claim 2: 0.01-2.44%
Less than 5% Pd (claim 7)
Houghton discloses a range for Au-based bulk solidifying amorphous alloy composition which overlaps the claimed ranges and amounts in claims 1-4, 7-8, and 10-11. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches these form amorphous microstructures throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) . See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
As to claim 13, Houghton does not explicitly disclose where the amorphous alloy comprises one or more of the following properties: i. a minimum critical casting thickness of 0.5 mm; ii. a minimum glass transition temperature at 315K; iii. a supercooled liquid region of minimum 10K. However, as Houghton discloses a composition which overlaps the claimed ranges, this same composition would necessarily have the same properties of i. a minimum critical casting thickness of 0.5 mm; ii. a minimum glass transition temperature at 315K; iii. a supercooled liquid region of minimum 10K. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), see MPEP § 2112.01(II).
As to claims 14-16, Houghton discloses where the alloys were prepared using conventional methods, by preparing an alloy melt with the desired ratio of ingredients, and casting the alloy melt into amorphous solid samples (Houghton, pg. 12, lines 25-26), thereby meeting the limitation of a crucible as a crucible is merely a vessel used for melting a substance that requires a high degree of heat such as a metal alloy. While Houghton does not disclose the order of addition, there must be some order of addition to a crucible. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the claimed order of adding elements as selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results, see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(C) citing In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946).
As to claims 17-18, Houghton discloses that compositions within the scope of the claims exhibit a balance of properties suitable for application in forming jewellery (Houghton, pg. 13, lines 10-14), meeting the claim limitation as a piece of jewelry is a decorative item.
As to claim 19, Houghton discloses where the alloys were prepared using conventional methods, by preparing an alloy melt with the desired ratio of ingredients, and casting the alloy melt into amorphous solid samples (Houghton, pg. 12, lines 25-26), meeting the limitation where the component is formed by molding as the process of casting uses a mold and therefore Houghton is disclosing where a components is being formed by molding.
Claims 5-6, 9, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2025/114721 A1 of Houghton as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0344999 A1 of Na.
As to claims 5-6, 9, and 12, Houghton discloses the Au-based bulk solidifying amorphous alloy compositions (Houghton, abstract) in comparison to the claims in Table A above. However, Houghton does not disclose where Bi is 2.37 at%, 4.74 at%, 1.5-8.69 at%, nor 1.8-5.5 at%.
Na relates to the same field of endeavor of Au-based metallic glass (Na, paragraph [0002]). Na teaches adding up to 10 at% of Bi to the alloy (Na, paragraph [0038]). Na teaches that the alloy demonstrates a critical casting thickness of at least 5 millimeters (Na, paragraph [0046]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add up to 10 at% Bi as taught by Na into the Au-based metallic glass composition disclosed in Houghton, thereby achieving critical casting thickness of at least 5 millimeters (Na, paragraph [0046]). As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches these form amorphous microstructures throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) . See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,054,819 B1 in view of US 2008/0185076 A1 of Schroers.
As to claim 1, US’819 discloses An amorphous alloy consisting of: i. 52.55-75.13 at. % of Au; ii. 11.74-15.55 at. % of Ge; iii. 8.13-10.77 at. % of Si; iv. 5-21.13 at. % being at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ag, Bi, Pd and Pt. However, US’819 does not disclose where this is the composition apart from impurities.
Schroers relates to the same field of endeavor of Au-based amorphous alloys (Schroers, abstract). Schroers teaches where there are levels of impurities such as oxygen in the alloy (Schroers, paragraph [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include impurities such as oxygen in the alloy thereby combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results as the only difference between US’819 and the instant claims is the recitation that it has a composition apart from impurities, Schroers teaches that it is known that impurities exist in these types of Au-based amorphous alloys, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this combination would be predictable.
With respect to claims 2-19, they are substantially identical to claims 2-19 in US’819 and therefore are rejected.
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JOSHUA S CARPENTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1733