DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8, 10-11, 13-14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donauer et al. (US 2010/0054515 A1) and Kaiser (US 11,683,625 B2).
A handheld wireless microphone apparatus: a main body (fig.1-2 (2); par [31]); an RF antenna located in a bottom portion of the main body (;fig.1-2 (3); par [31]/the antenna associated with wireless microphone); a plug connector attached to a top end of the main body, said array of plug connectors being arranged to receive electrical audio signals from at least a first type of microphone head and from a second type of microphone head, said first type of microphone head having audio output conductors in a first physical configuration, and said second type of microphone head having audio output conductors in a second physical configuration (par [31]/the head may be connected to body to enable such receive of electrical audio signals).
However, the prior art as in Donauer et al. never specify of various connectors herein array of plug connectors to receive the electrical audio signals. However, Kaiser disclose of the similar concept related to an array of plug connectors to receive the electrical audio signals (fig.2/7 (134-138); col.6 line 55-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted various connectors herein array of plug connectors to receive the electrical audio signals so as to pass through the various electrical audio signals for processing prior to transmissions.
Donauer et al. further disclose of such processing means located within the main body to receive said electrical audio signals from the array of plug connectors and provide audio transmission signals to the RF antenna for wireless RF transmission (par [3, 31]/signal is processed prior to transmission to antenna); a removable microphone head connection adapter comprising a collar that includes means for mechanically attaching the collar to the said first type of microphone head, means for mechanically attaching the collar to the said second type of microphone head, and means for mechanically attaching the collar to the top end of the main body such that plug connectors on the top end of the main sleeve connect electrically with the output connectors of the first type of microphone when the collar is attached to the first type of microphone head and the plug connectors on the top end of the main sleeve connect electrically with the output connectors of the second type of microphone head when the collar is attached to the second type of microphone head (fig.1-3 (4); par [9, 31]).
The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 1, although, the prior art lacked of the specific as wherein the means on the collar for mechanically attaching the collar to the said first type of microphone head comprises threads configured to fit threads on the first type of microphone head, and means on the collar for mechanically attaching the collar to the said second type of microphone head comprises threads configured to fit threads on the second type of microphone head.
But, noted that Kaiser disclose of such means on the collar for mechanically attaching the collar to a microphone head comprises threads configured to fit threads on the microphone head (fig.1C (122); col.8 line 15-30). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art with means for attaching the various microphones as mentioned by adding such aspect related to such means on the collar for mechanically attaching the collar to a microphone head comprises threads configured to fit threads on the microphone head so as to provide strong attachment for the corresponding microphone heads.
The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 1, but the prior art never specify as wherein the means on the collar for mechanically attaching the collar to the said first type of microphone head comprises a clip-on, a snap-on, or a magnetic connection mechanism, and means on the collar for mechanically attaching the collar to the said second type of microphone head comprises a clip-on, a snap-on, or a magnetic connection mechanism.
But, noted that Kaiser disclose of such means on the collar for mechanically attaching the collar to a microphone head comprises a clip-on, a snap-on, or a magnetic connection mechanism (fig.1C (122); col.8 line 27-30). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art with means for attaching the various microphones as mentioned by adding such aspect related to such means on the collar for mechanically attaching the collar to a microphone head comprises a clip-on, a snap-on, or a magnetic connection mechanism on the microphone head so as to provide strong attachment for the corresponding microphone heads.
12. The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the array of plug connectors attached to the top end of the main body are arranged to receive electrical audio signals from varied microphone heads.
Although, the prior art never specify of such specific a third type of microphone head, said third type of microphone head having audio output conductors in either the first physical configuration or the second configuration; and the collar is able to connect the third type of microphone head to the microphone body using either said means for mechanically attaching the collar to the said first type of microphone head or said means for mechanically attaching the collar to the said second type of microphone head.
But, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the varied microphone heads and the connectors to receive the corresponding electrical audio signal by specifying such a third type of microphone head, said third type of microphone head having audio output conductors in either the first physical configuration or the second configuration; and the collar is able to connect the third type of microphone head to the microphone body using either said means for mechanically attaching the collar to the said first type of microphone head or said means for mechanically attaching the collar to the said second type of microphone head for achieving the same result as to allow interchangeable microphone heads to be receive by corresponding microphone housing.
16. The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 1 further comprising a battery and power conversion circuitry (Do-fig.4 (10); par [31]/ since the processor unit is operating according to battery, then such conversion circuit is inherently there).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donauer et al. (US 2010/0054515 A1) and Kaiser (US 11,683,625 B2) and Chen (US 10,149,037 B1).
The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 1, but the prior art never specify as wherein the means for mechanically attaching the collar to the top end of the main body includes keys extending inward from the inside surface of the collar and spread circumferentially on the inside surface of the collar, and the top end of the main body further comprises an entry notch and a peripheral key slot for each key on the collar.
However, chen disclose of a certain housing wherein the means for mechanically attaching includes keys extending inward from the inside surface of the housing and spread circumferentially on the inside surface of the housing , and the top end of the main body further comprises an entry notch and a peripheral key slot for each key on the housing (col.2 line 1-7; col.9 line 45-55). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such concept related to means for mechanically attaching includes keys extending inward from the inside surface of the housing and spread circumferentially on the inside surface of the housing , and the top end of the main body further comprises an entry notch and a peripheral key slot for each key on the housing for providing secure attachment.
The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 4, but the prior art never mentioned further comprising a compression ring located between the collar and the main body when the collar is attached to the main body.
But it shall be noted, it is well known in the art to have such aspect related to a compression ring located between the collar and the main body when the collar is attached to the main body. Thus, one of the ordinary could have modified the prior art by adding such mentioned compression ring so as to provide proper attachment and securing of the housing as desired.
Claim(s) 6-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donauer et al. (US 2010/0054515 A1) and Kaiser (US 11,683,625 B2) and Su (US 2023/0156387 A1).
The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 1, but the art never specify as wherein the plug connectors have resilient or spring mounted pins.
However, Su disclose of similar system wherein a plug connector has resilient or spring mounted pins (fig.3 (12); par [36, 54]). Thus ,one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted plug connector has resilient or spring mounted pins so as to allow contact for implementing the electrical connection.
The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 6, but the prior never specify as wherein the audio output conductors on said first and second type of microphone heads comprise a series of annular contacts.
However, one of the ordinary skills in the art could varied the mentioned output conductors to any desired configurations and including having the audio output conductors on said first and second type of microphone heads comprise a series of annular contacts as per engineering preference with no unexpected result for achieving the electrical connections.
The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 7, wherein at least some of the plug connectors in the array are located at different radial distances from a center axis of the annular contacts on the first or second type of microphone heads when the respective head is attached to the collar and the top end of the main body (fig.2/7 (134-138)).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donauer et al. (US 2010/0054515 A1) and Kaiser (US 11,683,625 B2) and Veneri et al. (US 9,866,972 B2).
15. The handheld microphone apparatus according to claim 1, but the art never specify as wherein the processing means comprises a field programmable gate array and the handheld microphone apparatus further comprising: a. a preamplifier which receives the analog audio signal and outputs amplified analog audio signal; b. an analog to digital converter which digitizes the amplified analog signal that is transmitted to the field programmable gate array; c. an RF upconverting circuit which receives an audio output signal from the field programmable gate array and output an RF audio signal to a power amplifier, which in turn is connected to the antenna.
However, Veneri et al. disclose of the similar aspect concerning the processing means comprises a field programmable gate array and the handheld microphone apparatus further comprising: a. a preamplifier which receives the analog audio signal and outputs amplified analog audio signal; b. an analog to digital converter which digitizes the amplified analog signal that is transmitted to the field programmable gate array; c. an RF upconverting circuit which receives an audio output signal from the field programmable gate array and output an RF audio signal to a circuitry, which in turn is connected to the antenna (fig.5-6 (20); col.3 line 40-55; col.5 line 57-61). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such various processing including a field programmable gate array and the handheld microphone apparatus further comprising: a. a preamplifier which receives the analog audio signal and outputs amplified analog audio signal; b. an analog to digital converter which digitizes the amplified analog signal that is transmitted to the field programmable gate array; c. an RF upconverting circuit which receives an audio output signal from the field programmable gate array and output an RF audio signal to a circuitry, which in turn is connected to the antenna so as to process the signal to desired format for wireless transmission.
Although, the prior never mentioned of the power amplifier processing, but the examiner takes official notice having such a particular power amplifier is well known in the art. Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted power amplifier so as to augment the receive signal to provide the suitable signal prior to transmission to compensate for distortion.
Conclusion
Ex aminer interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695