DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is in response to the amendment filed on 07/14/2026 for Application No. 18/755,863. By the amendment, claims 1, 3-7, 9-30 and 32-33 are pending with claims 1, 3-7 and 9-26 being amended, new claims 27-30 and 32-33 being added and claims 2 and 8 being canceled.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 32 and 33 have been renumbered as 31 and 32, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “at least one spring” recites in line 13 appears to be the same spring feature of the spring means recited in line 11 of the claim. If applicant intends to present the claimed arrangement, the Office recommends that the limitation should be replaced with limitation - -a least one spring of the spring means- - for clarity. For purposes of examination, these limitations have been interpreted as the same feature.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/14/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments with respect to the objection of claims 1-23 and 24-26 and the rejections of claims 11 and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive and have been withdrawn accordingly. However, the amendment with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 12, 14, 17-26 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Markstrom and claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Markstrom and Sakuda, and claim 13 over Markstrom have been fully considered but they do not overcome the rejections set forth in the prior action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments, see the Remarks filed 07/14/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 24 and 28 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue on the middle portion of page 9 – page 10 of the Remarks that Markstrom does not disclose a cam follower and does not contact the radially inner surfaces of the actuation elements having the cam surfaces 21B,21B’.
This is found not persuasive because the cam surfaces or profiles 21B,21B’ are actuated or acted upon a respective bearing or cam followers 47B,47B’. In other words, when the steering shaft 2B is rotated, the cam surfaces 21B,21B’ will act on a respective bearing 47B,47B’ and therefore are in contact with one another to cause the rocker arrangement 45B,45B’ to rotate around the pivot shaft 46B,46B’. See paragraphs [0117] – [0019] and the annotated Figure 5 below. This rationale also applies to new claim 28. See the rejection below.
For at least the reasons mentioned above, the rejection of claims 24-26 is maintained. Accordingly, claims 28-30 and 32-33 are rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-28 and 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Markstrom et al. (US 2025/0042465A1).
Regarding claim 24, Markstrom discloses a steering column return assembly for a vehicle (see at least figs. 1, 2 and 5), comprising:
a cam member (par [0117]; fig. 5, i.e., two actuation elements, not labeled) comprising a cam surface (21B,21B’),
wherein the cam member (par [0117]; fig. 5, i.e., two actuation elements, not labeled) is constrained to rotate with an elongate steering shaft (2) of the vehicle;
a cam follower (See Annotated Figure 5 below, “CF”) in contact with the cam surface (21B,21B’);
a lever (45B,45B’) connected to a lever pivot (46B,46B’) and arranged to support the cam follower (CF); and
spring means (43B,43B’) connected to the lever (45B,45B’) and biassing the cam follower (CF) into contact with the cam surface (21B,21B’) via the lever (45B,45B’);
wherein, in use, the spring means (43B,43B’) urges the cam follower (CF) to displace the cam member (par [0117]; fig. 5, i.e., two actuation elements, not labeled) in a direction which returns the elongate steering shaft (2) towards the straight ahead position (par [0107], i.e., the mechanical feedback arrangement (PFFE) 4 will generate a force in the steering wheel 1 opposite to the direction of the movement when turning away from the centre (i.e. straight ahead position) or if the electric feedback motor 3 fails, the PFFE 4 will generate a force that will try to return the steering wheel 1 to centre).
Regarding claim 25, Markstrom discloses a vehicle (par [0001], i.e., a vehicle as indicated in claim 1) comprising a steering column assembly (i.e., power assisted steer by Wire vehicle steering system 100) as claimed in claim 1 or a steering column return assembly according to claim 24.
Regarding claim 26, Markstrom discloses a vehicle (par [0001], i.e., a vehicle as indicated in claim 24) comprising a steering column return assembly (i.e., power assisted steer by Wire vehicle steering system 100) according to claim 24.
Regarding claim 27, Markstrom discloses the steering column assembly according to claim 1, wherein the spring means includes at least one spring (43B,43B’) having a first end pivotally connected to the lever (i.e., at the end of lever member 45B or 45B’).
Regarding claim 28, Markstrom discloses a steering column assembly for a vehicle (see at least figs, 1, 2 and 5), comprising:
an elongate steering shaft (2 or 2B on fig. 5) mounted for rotation about its longitudinal axis and configured for attachment of a steering member (1) at one end, the steering shaft being rotatable in both directions from a position corresponding to a straight ahead position (para. [0107]);
a cam member (par [0117]; fig. 5, i.e., two actuation elements, not labeled) comprising a cam surface (21B,21B’),
wherein the cam member is constrained to rotate with the steering shaft, the cam surface being a radially inner surface of the cam member (paragraphs [0117], [0119] – [0121]; fig. 5, i.e., i.e., inner surface of the two actuation elements engage with outer surface of steering shaft 2, not labeled);
a cam follower (See Annotated Figure 5 below, “CF”) in contact with the cam surface;
a lever (45B,45B’) pivotally connected to a lever pivot and arranged to support the cam follower; and
spring means (43B,43B’) connected to the lever and biassing the cam follower into contact with the cam surface via the lever; and
at least one spring (43B,43B’) urging the cam follower to displace the cam member in a direction which returns the elongate steering shaft towards the straight ahead position (par [0107], i.e., the mechanical feedback arrangement (PFFE) 4 will generate a force in the steering wheel 1 opposite to the direction of the movement when turning away from the centre (i.e. straight ahead position) or if the electric feedback motor 3 fails, the PFFE 4 will generate a force that will try to return the steering wheel 1 to centre).
Regarding claim 30, Markstrom discloses the steering column assembly according to claim 28, wherein an end of the spring means opposite the lever (45B,45B’) is fixedly connected to a fixed spring anchor (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 32, Markstrom discloses the steering column assembly according to claim 28, wherein the spring means comprises a pair of spaced compression springs (i.e., compressiong springs 43B, 43B’).
Annotated Figure 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markstrom as indicated above and further in view of Sakuda et al. (US 2017/0291632 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Markstrom discloses the steering column assembly according to claim 28, wherein the spring means (43B,43B’) comprises a spring (paragraphs [0115] and [0116], i.e., coil spring) but does not specifically teach the spring is a torsion spring. In addition, Markstrom further teaches the spring element(s) can be any other type of springs that are being elastic and providing a force when the spring element is deformed, i.e., the coil springs shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 could be replaced with any other appropriate spring elements. See paragraphs [0115] and [0116].
Sakuda discloses an association or cam mechanism 80 includes a cam member 81 connected to a fastening shaft 21 (so as to be rotatable together therewith in an integrated manner), a cam follower arm 78, a boss portion 81a fitted to an outer peripheral surface of the fastening shaft 21, a torsion spring 82 includes a coiled portion 82a that surrounds a boss portion 71, a first engagement portion 82b that extends from the coiled portion 82a so as to engage with an outer peripheral surface of the boss portion 81a of the cam member 81 and a second engagement portion 82c for engaging with the cam follower arm 73. Sakuda further teaches that “the biasing member 82 biases the second tooth formation member 70 in a rotating manner in a counterclockwise direction in FIG. 4 (indicate by a blank arrow in FIG. 4). In a state where the second tooth 72a of the second tooth formation member 70 biased by the biasing member 82 so as to rotate counterclockwise engages with the first tooth 41, a tooth lock is attained as illustrated in FIG. 4”, See paragraphs [0042] – [0044] and Figure 4. In order to arrive at the claim invention, the torsion spring 82 of Sakuda would be arranged around a respective pivot shaft 46B,46B’ where one end of the spring 82 fixed to an outer surface of rocker 45B,45B’ and the other end or engage portion engages with the steering shaft 2B. It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have a torsion spring employed on the pivot shaft instead having the coil spring connected to one of the lever end as taught by Sakuda for the purpose of compactness and durability. Torsion springs are well known in the art for compactness and reliable, and substituting the torsion spring for a coil spring would not change the way the device functions and would perform equally well. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result of improvement in operation which renders the claim obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-23 are allowed except for the informality issues set forth above.
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the steering column assembly having the a cam assembly and in combination with the remaining features recited, particularly the “spring means pivotally connected to the lever and biassing the cam follower into contact with the cam surface via the lever; wherein spring means urges the cam follower to displace the cam member in a direction which returns the elongate steering shaft towards the straight ahead position”.
Regarding claim 29, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the steering column assembly according to claim 28 and in combination with the features recited.
Markstrom discloses a similar steering column assembly (figs. 1, 2 and 5) includes a cam assembly (2B, 21B, 21B’) and a spring 43B connected to a pivotable lever 45B but does not teach a pivotable spring as required by claim 1. See the previous rejection and the rejection indicated above.
Claims 3-23 are allowable upon dependent from an allowed base claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 August 25, 2026