DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/11/24 comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: “The method” should be “The vehicle mirror assembly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumiya (EP 0292223) in view of Fletcher et al. (US 6,299,316).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumiya teaches a vehicle mirror assembly (abstract, col. 1, lines 1-5, “a vehicle rear view mirror” constituting a mirror assembly for a vehicle), comprising, a housing comprising an opening and a cavity (fig. 4 and 6; col. 4, lines 40-55,”the curved mirror 32 is coupled to the glass sheets 34 and 38 by top and bottom walls 44 and 46 and side walls 48 and 50 which together form an airtight casing” – the casing forms a housing with an opening facing the viewer and an interior cavity behind the switchable element; “the internal cavity of the casing is preferably either evacuated or filled with dry air or an inert gas” – explicitly identifying the internal cavity of the housing); a first mirror (34/36) switchable between a reflective state and a transparent state, the first mirror disposed in the housing opening (col. 3, lines 55-58 and col. 4, lines 1-25, “a conventional curved mirror 32 located behind a planar glass sheet 34 having a reflective electrochromic layer 36 on its front surface… the reflective electrochromic layer 36 is capable of adopting either a first state in which it is transparent or a second state in which it is reflective, depending on the application of an electrical signal” – the glass sheet 34 carrying the reflective electrochromic layer 36 constitutes the first mirror switchable between transparent and reflective states, disposed at the opening of the housing facing the driver, “when the reflective electrochromic layer 36 is in its reflective state, the mirror functions as a conventional mirror with a planar reflecting surface … when the reflective electrochromic layer 36 is in its transparent state, it passes incident light and a wider field of view is available from the curved mirror 32 behind it” – confirming binary switching between reflective state and transparent state as claimed); a second mirror (32) disposed in the housing cavity behind the first mirror (34/36; fig. 4; col. 3, lines 55-58, “a conventional curved mirror 32 located behind a planar glass sheet 34” – the conventional curved mirror 32 is the second mirror, disposed within the housing cavity behind the first switchable mirror element 34/36; fig. 6; col. 4, lines 45-50, “the curved mirror 32 is coupled to the glass sheets 34 and 38 by top and bottom walls 44 and 46 and side walls 48 and 50” – the second mirror 32 is structurally located inside and rearward of the first switchable mirror, within the defined cavity). Matsumiya does not specifically teach control circuitry coupled to the first mirror, wherein the control circuitry is configured to, receive a first signal indicating a first vehicle state; transmit, based on the first signal, a second signal for switching the first mirror from the transparent state to the reflective state; receive a third signal indicating a second vehicle state; and transmit, based on the third signal, a fourth signal for switching the first mirror from the reflective state to the transparent state. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fletcher teaches a vehicle mirror assembly, comprising control circuitry coupled to the first mirror (18; claim 1, “a control positioned external of said interior mirror housing and electrically connected with said reflective element for varying the reflectance state thereof”; and col. 3, lines 50-60, “the mirror control circuitry 46 includes logic circuitry to process the sensor output signal on the lead 34 to determine the appropriate level of mirror reflectivity, and drive circuitry which establishes the resultant drive voltage to be applied via the lead 22 across the electro-optic medium in the mirror unit18 to set the reflectivity accordingly), wherein the control circuitry is configured to, receive a first signal indicating a first vehicle state; transmit, based on the first signal, a second signal for switching the first mirror from the transparent state to the reflective state (col. 3, lines 40-45, “the circuitry 40 is a master controller for many vehicle functions, from which it sends and receives signals via input and output lines 44” – the control circuitry receives signals indicating vehicle states via the vehicle bus; col. 3, lines 50-60, “the mirror control circuitry 46 includes logic circuitry to process the sensor output signal on the lead 34 to determine the appropriate level of mirror reflectivity, and drive circuitry which establishes the resultant drive voltage to be applied via the lead 22 across the electro-optic medium in the mirror unit 18 to set the reflectivity accordingly” – i.e., upon receiving a first signal indicating a vehicle state (ambient/glare light level), the control circuitry transmits a drive signal to switch the mirror from transparent to reflective”; claim 1, “said control connects to said vehicle bus external to said interior mirror housing, said control processing at least one signal related to said at least one other vehicle function said at least one signal being sent to or received by said microprocessor via said vehicle bus” – the vehicle bus carries signals indicating vehicles states which control circuitry receives and acts upon to change the reflectance state of the mirror); receive a third signal indicating a second vehicle state; and transmit, based on the third signal, a fourth signal for switching the first mirror from the reflective state to the transparent state (col. 4, lines 10-15, “the operation of the control circuity 46 may be automatically overridden by the controller 40 when the latter determines that the vehicle is in reverse gear, as indicated by a sensor input at 44” – a third signal indicating a second vehicle state, namely reverse gear engagement, causes he controller to transmit a fourth signal to return the mirror to a different reflectance state; the mirror control switch 66 further permits the driver to manually disable the control circuitry to return reflectivity to maximum and the reflective-to-transparent transition as in combination with Matsumiya’s figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the vehicle mirror assembly of Matsumiya with control circuitry coupled to the first mirror, wherein the control circuitry is configured to, receive a first signal indicating a first vehicle state; transmit, based on the first signal, a second signal for switching the first mirror from the transparent state to the reflective state; receive a third signal indicating a second vehicle state; and transmit, based on the third signal, a fourth signal for switching the first mirror from the reflective state to the transparent state of Fletcher, for the purpose of automatically controlling mirror reflectance in response to vehicle operating conditions (col. 4, lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumiya teaches a method comprising, disposing a first mirror in an opening of a housing, wherein the first mirror is switchable between a reflective state and a transparent state (col. 3, lines 55-58 and col. 4, lines 1-25, “a conventional curved mirror 32 located behind a planar glass sheet 34 having a reflective electrochromic layer 36 on its front surface… the reflective electrochromic layer 36 is capable of adopting either a first state in which it is transparent or a second state in which it is reflective, depending on the application of an electrical signal” –glass sheet 34 carrying electrochromic layer 36 constitutes the first mirror element disposed at the housing opening. It is switchable between a transparent state (first state) and a reflective state (second state) by application of an electrical signal. Since the assembling the mirror described involves the step of disposing the switchable element in the housing opening.); disposing a second mirror in a cavity of the housing behind the first mirror (34/36; fig. 4; col. 3, lines 55-58, “a conventional curved mirror 32 located behind a planar glass sheet 34” – the conventional curved mirror 32 is the second mirror, disposed within the housing cavity behind the first switchable mirror element 34/36.). Matsumiya does not specifically teach coupling control circuity to the first mirror; and configuring the control circuitry to, receive a first signal indicating a first vehicle state; transmit, based on the first signal, a second signal for switching the first mirror from the transparent state to the reflective state; receive a third signal indicating a second vehicle state; and transmit, based on the third signal, a fourth signal for switching the first mirror from the reflective state to the transparent state. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fletcher teaches a method, comprising coupling control circuity to the first mirror (18; claim 1, “a control positioned external of said interior mirror housing and electrically connected with said reflective element for varying the reflectance state thereof”; and col. 3, lines 50-60, “the mirror control circuitry 46 includes logic circuitry to process the sensor output signal on the lead 34 to determine the appropriate level of mirror reflectivity, and drive circuitry which establishes the resultant drive voltage to be applied via the lead 22 across the electro-optic medium in the mirror unit18 to set the reflectivity accordingly); and configuring the control circuitry to, receive a first signal indicating a first vehicle state (col. 3, lines 40-45, “the circuitry 40 is a master controller for many vehicle functions, from which it sends and receives signals via input and output lines 44”; claim 1, “said control connects to said vehicle bus external to said interior mirror housing, said control processing at least one signal related to said at least one other vehicle function said at least one signal being sent to or received by said microprocessor via said vehicle bus” – configuring the microprocessor to receive signals indicating vehicle states (ambient light, reverse gear, and other vehicle conditions) over the bus is the express configuration); transmit, based on the first signal, a second signal for switching the first mirror from the transparent state to the reflective state (col. 3, lines 50-60, “the mirror control circuitry 46 includes logic circuitry to process the sensor output signal on the lead 34 to determine the appropriate level of mirror reflectivity, and drive circuitry which establishes the resultant drive voltage to be applied via the lead 22 across the electro-optic medium in the mirror unit18 to set the reflectivity accordingly” – upon receiving a first signal (vehicle state signal on lead 34), the control circuitry is configured to transmit a second signal (drive voltage on lead 22) that switches the mirror from its transparent state to its reflective state.) receive a third signal indicating a second vehicle state (col. 4, lines 10-15, “the operation of the control circuity 46 may be automatically overridden by the controller 40 when the latter determines that the vehicle is in reverse gear, as indicated by a sensor input at 44” – the controller is configured to receive a signal at input 44 indicating a vehicle state change); and transmit, based on the third signal, a fourth signal for switching the first mirror from the reflective state to the transparent state (col. 4, lines 10-15, “the operation of the control circuity 46 may be automatically overridden by the controller 40 when the latter determines that the vehicle is in reverse gear, as indicated by a sensor input at 44” [this implies a return to the prior state when reverse gear is no longer engaged] – upon receiving the third signal indicating the second vehicle state, the control circuit is configured to transmit the fourth signal causing the reflective-to-transparent transition as in combination with Matsumiya’s figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the method of Matsumiya with coupling control circuity to the first mirror; and configuring the control circuitry to, receive a first signal indicating a first vehicle state; transmit, based on the first signal, a second signal for switching the first mirror from the transparent state to the reflective state; receive a third signal indicating a second vehicle state; and transmit, based on the third signal, a fourth signal for switching the first mirror from the reflective state to the transparent state of Fletcher, for the purpose of automatically controlling mirror reflectance in response to vehicle operating conditions (col. 4, lines 1-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitation to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not disclose the claimed vehicle mirror assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the first vehicle state indicates a first selection of a reverse gear at a vehicle; and the second vehicle state indicates a second selection of a forward gear at the vehicle.”
Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not disclose the claimed vehicle mirror assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “the first mirror comprises a first section and a second section, wherein the first section and the second section are each independently switchable between the reflective state and the transparent state; and the control circuitry configured to transmit the second signal for switching the first mirror from the transparent state to the reflective state is further configured to transmit the second signal for switching the first section of the first mirror to the reflective state.”
Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not disclose the claimed vehicle mirror assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “the reflective state is a first reflective state and the transparent state is a first transparent state; the vehicle mirror assembly further comprises, a third mirror disposed proximate to the first mirror such that the first mirror and the third mirror comprise a first surface; a fourth mirror switchable between a second reflective state and a second transparent state disposed proximate to the second mirror such that the second mirror and the fourth mirror comprise a second surface, wherein the first and third mirrors and the second and fourth mirrors are arranged such that the first surface and the second surface intersect; and the control circuitry is further configured to: transmit, based on the first signal, a fifth signal for switching the fourth mirror from the second transparent state to the second reflective state; and transmit, based on the third signal, a sixth signal for switching the fourth mirror from the second reflective state to the second transparent state.”
Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not disclose the claimed vehicle mirror assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “a plurality of mirrors, each mirror of the plurality of mirrors switchable between respective reflective and transparent states, wherein: each mirror of the plurality of mirrors is disposed in the housing at a fixed angle relative to the other mirrors of the plurality of mirrors; the plurality of mirrors are arranged in pairs, with each pair of mirrors forming a respective surface such that a plurality of surfaces are formed; and each surface of the plurality of surfaces intersects with each other surface at a common point.”
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not disclose the claimed vehicle mirror assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “the first mirror is curved mirror, and the first mirror is the first mirror of a plurality of curved switchable mirrors, each mirror of the plurality of curved switchable mirrors having a different radius of curvature; and the plurality of curved switchable mirrors are arranged in the housing such that each mirror of the plurality of curved switchable mirrors provides a different level of zoom when it is respectively switched on.”
Specifically, with respect to claim 7, is object to for the same reason as claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not disclose the claimed vehicle mirror assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the first mirror is a convex mirror having a smaller surface area than the second mirror.”
Specifically, with respect to claim 9, is object to for the same reason as claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not disclose the claimed vehicle mirror assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “the first mirror is a movable mirror; the control circuitry is further configured to: receive a fifth signal indicating a gaze direction of a driver of a vehicle; and generate a sixth signal for moving the first mirror in a direction based on the received fifth signal indicating the gaze direction of the driver of the vehicle.”
Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not disclose the claimed vehicle mirror assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “the first mirror is switchable to a plurality of different semi-transparent states between the reflective state and the transparent state; and the control circuitry is further configured to: receive a fifth signal indicating a position of a steering wheel of a vehicle; transmit, based on the fifth signal, a sixth signal for switching the first mirror to a semi-transparent state of the different semi-transparent states.”
Regarding claim 13, the prior art does not disclose the claimed method specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “the first vehicle state indicates a first selection of a reverse gear at a vehicle; and the second vehicle state indicates a second selection of a forward gear at the vehicle.”
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not disclose the claimed method specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “the first mirror comprises a first section and a second section, wherein the first section and the second section are each independently switchable between the reflective state and the transparent state; and configuring the control circuitry to transmit the second signal for switching the first mirror from the transparent state to the reflective state further comprises configuring the control circuitry to transmit the second signal for switching the first section of the first mirror to the reflective state.“
Regarding claim 15, the prior art does not disclose the claimed method specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the reflective state is a first reflective state and the transparent state is a first transparent state, and the method further comprises:disposing a third mirror disposed proximate to the first mirror such that the first mirror and the third mirror comprise a first surface; disposing a fourth mirror switchable between a second reflective state and a second transparent state proximate to the second mirror such that the second mirror and the fourth mirror comprise a second surface, wherein the first and third mirrors and the second and fourth mirrors are arranged such that the first surface and the second surface intersect; and configuring the control circuitry further comprises configuring the control circuitry to: transmit, based on the first signal, a fifth signal for switching the fourth mirror from the second transparent state to the second reflective state; and transmit, based on the third signal, a sixth signal for switching the fourth mirror from the second reflective state to the second transparent state.”
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not disclose the claimed method specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the method further comprises: disposing each mirror of a plurality of mirrors in the housing at a fixed angle relative to the other mirrors of the plurality of mirrors, wherein each mirror of the plurality of mirrors is switchable between respective reflective and transparent states; arranging the plurality of mirrors in pairs, with each pair of mirrors forming a respective surface such that a plurality of surfaces are formed and each surface of the plurality of surfaces intersects with each other surface at a common point.”
Regarding claim 17, the prior art does not disclose the claimed method specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the first mirror is curved mirror, and the first mirror is the first mirror of a plurality of curved switchable mirrors, each mirror of the plurality of curved switchable mirrors having a different radius of curvature, the method further comprising arranging the plurality of curved switchable mirrors in the housing such that each mirror of the plurality of curved switchable mirrors provides a different level of zoom when it is respectively switched on.”
Specifically, with respect to claim 18, is object to for the same reason as claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art does not disclose the claimed vehicle mirror assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “the first mirror is a convex mirror having a smaller surface area than the second mirror.”
Specifically, with respect to claim 20, is object to for the same reason as claim 19.
Conclusion
/HENRY DUONG/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 05/29/26