DETAILED ACTION
In amendments dated 08/04/2026, applicant(s) amended claims 1 – 3, 5, 6, 8 – 12, 14, 15, 17 and 18. Claims 1 – 18 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
In the remarks on page 14 the applicant notes that the title has been amended to overcome the prior objections. In view of the amendments to the title objections the prior objections regarding the title is hereby withdrawn.
In the remarks on pages 14 - 15 the applicant notes that the Fig. 6 from Drawings has been replaced. In view of the replacements to the Drawings, the objections regarding the Drawing is hereby withdrawn.
In the remarks on page 15 the applicant notes that the claim objections in claims 1, 6, 10 and 15 has been amended to overcome the prior objections. In view of the amendments to the claim objections the prior objections regarding the claim objections are hereby withdrawn.
In the Remarks on pages 15 the Applicant notes that claims have been clarified based 35 USC §112 (f) interpretations. In view of the clarification the prior 35 USC §112 (f) interpretations are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 15 - 18, filed on 08/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 – 18 under Morisaki under 102 (a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Morisaki in view of Mukai (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2017/0050812 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 3, 5, 6, 9 - 12, 14, 15 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morisaki et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2021/0087007 A1, hereinafter ‘Morisaki’) in view of Mukai (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2017/0050812 A1, hereinafter ‘Mukai’).
With respect to claim 1, Morisaki teaches a scanning device (e.g., an image forming apparatus, an image reading device or a scanner, ¶0002 and/or ¶0163, Fig. 1), comprising a control unit (e.g., a controller 70, ¶0159) and an image detection unit (e.g., CCD, ¶0035), wherein: the control unit is used to control the scanning device to transport an original document at a first speed (e.g., a controller 70 configured to control the image forming apparatus to convey a document as feeding speed, ¶0073); the image detection unit is used to detect a position where the original document reaches (e.g., detect a position where the document reaches, ¶0073, ¶0076); when the image detection unit detects that a front end position of the original document reaches a first scanning preset position, the control unit controls the scanning device to transport the original document at a second speed, wherein the second speed is smaller than the first speed (e.g., when detecting that a leading end of the document reaches a first position, the controller controls the image forming apparatus to convey the document at lower speed, in which is lower than the feeding speed, ¶0073, ¶0076, ¶0079, ¶0089); and after the scanning is completed, when the image detection unit detects that a rear end position of the original document reaches a first scanning end position, the control unit controls the original document to be transported at the first speed and discharged (e.g., upon reading is completed, when detecting that a rear end position of the document reaches a position, the controller controls the document to be conveyed back to the feeding speed and ejected, ¶0069, ¶0079 - ¶0083, ¶0091, ¶0099 & ¶0158); but fails to teach that said control unit is including a motor and that said image detection unit is including a scanning sensor; and that said control unit controls said scanning device to change a speed of transporting said original document from said first speed to a second speed, wherein the first speed gradually decreases to the second speed and the second speed gradually increase to the first speed.
However, in the same field of endeavor of scanning device and regulating speeds upon detecting edge/end of sheets, the mentioned claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Mukai. In particular, Mukai teaches a control unit including a motor (e.g., a second motor, abstract, Fig. 2) and an image detection unit including a scanning sensor (e.g., an image sensor, abstract, Fig. 2); when detecting a front end position of the original document reaches a first scanning position, controls the scanning device to change a speed of transporting the original document from a first speed to a second speed (e.g., when detecting leading edge, controls the reading device to decrease/reduce speed, abstract, ¶0004 - ¶0005, ¶0065 - ¶0068, ¶0087), wherein the second speed is smaller than the first speed (e.g., the second speed will be slower, ¶0087); wherein the first speed gradually decreases to the second speed and the second speed gradually increase to the first speed (e.g. the first speed decelerate to the second speed, and the second speed accelerates to the first speed, ¶0063 - ¶0065, ¶0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the image forming apparatus of Morisaki as taught by Mukai since Mukai suggested within abstract, ¶0004 - ¶0005, ¶0065 - ¶0068 and ¶0087 that such modification would regulate speeds in order to prevent or reduce conveyance (transport) failure such sheet jams.
With respect to claim 2, Morisaki in view of Mukai teaches the device according to claim 1, further including a first image reading unit, wherein: the first image reading unit is used to scan the original document; when a single-sided scanning mode is activated, the image detection unit sends a first scanning start signal to the first image reading unit when detecting that the front end position of the original document reaches the first scanning preset position; and the first image reading unit is configured to scan a content of the original document at the second speed in response to the first scanning start signal (e.g. when a single-side mode is set, a reading signal is sent to detect a leading end position of the document and then read/scan the document at lower speed in response to the reading signal, ¶0061 - ¶0065, ¶0081, ¶0095, ¶109, ¶0125); and Mukai teaches that the first reading unit is including a contact image sensor or a non-contact image sensor (Fig. 2 – CIS 21A).
With respect to claim 3, Morisaki in view of Mukai teaches the device according to claim 1, further including a second image reading unit and a third image reading unit, wherein: the second image reading unit is used to scan a first side of the original document, and the third image reading unit is used to scan a second side of the original document; when a double-sided scanning mode is activated and the image detection unit detects that the front end position of the first side of the original document reaches the first scanning preset position, the second image reading unit scans a content of the first side of the original document at the second speed in response to a second scanning start signal sent by the image detection unit; and when the image detection unit detects that the front end position of the second side of the original document reaches a second scanning preset position, the third image reading unit scans the content of the second side of the original document at the second speed in response to a third scanning start signal sent by the image detection unit (e.g. when a double-side mode is set, a reading signal is sent to detect a leading end position of the document and then in sequence read first surface and second surface at lower speed in response to the reading signal, ¶0066 - ¶0069, ¶0079, ¶0093, ¶0097); and Mukai teaches that the second image reading unit is including a contact image sensor or a non-contact image sensor and a third image reading unit is including a contact image sensor or a non-contact image sensor (Fig. 2 – CIS 21A and CIS 21B, for each surface of a sheet, ¶0024).
With respect to claim 5, Morisaki in view of Mukai teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the motor is connected to the image detection unit; when the image detection unit detects that the front end position of any side of the original document reaches a scanning preset position, the control unit controls the motor to adjust the speed of transporting the original document from the first speed to the second speed in response to a first speed control signal sent by the image detection unit (e.g., this corresponds to a motor linked to the controller that drives/regulates the speeds to be changed or adjusted, ¶0049 - ¶0050, ¶0057, ¶0063, ¶0070, ¶0080).
With respect to claim 6, Morisaki teaches a scanning device (e.g., an image forming apparatus, an image reading device or a scanner, ¶0002 and/or ¶0163, Fig. 1), comprising a control unit (e.g., a controller 70, ¶0159), an image detection unit (e.g., CCD, ¶0035), and a flipping unit (e.g., a reverse rotation means, ¶0054), wherein: the control unit is used to control the scanning device to transport an original document at a first speed (e.g., a controller 70 configured to control the image forming apparatus to convey a document as feeding speed, ¶0073); the image detection unit is used to detect a position where the original document reaches (e.g., detect a position where the document reaches, ¶0073, ¶0076); the flipping unit is used to flip the original document when the original document reaches a first reverse position (e.g., configured to reverse the document when the document reaches a position, ¶0054, ¶0127); when a double-sided scanning mode is activated and the image detection unit detects that a front end position of a first side of the original document reaches a third scanning preset position, the control unit controls the scanning device to transport the first side of the original document at a second speed, wherein the second speed is smaller than the first speed (e.g. when a double-side mode is set, a reading signal is sent to detect a leading end position of the document and then in sequence read first surface and second surface at lower speed in response to the reading signal, ¶0066 - ¶0069, ¶0079, ¶0093, ¶0097); after finishing scanning the first side of the original document, when the image detection unit detects a rear end position of the first side of the original document reaches a second scanning end position, the control unit controls the scanning device to transport the first side of the original document at the first speed until detecting that the rear end position of the first side of the original document reaches the first reverse position (e.g., upon reading the first surface of the document, when detecting a rear end position of the first surface of the document reaches a second reading end position, the controllers controls the image forming apparatus to convey the first surface of the document at feeding speed until detecting that the rear end position of the first surface of the document reaches the reversing position, ¶0067 - ¶0069, ¶0093 - ¶0097); after the flipping unit flips the original document from the first side to the second side, the control unit controls the scanning device to transport the second side of the original document at the first speed until the image detection unit detects that a front end position of the second side of the original document reaches the third scanning preset position, and the control unit controls the scanning device to change a speed of transporting the second side of the original document from first speed to second speed (e.g., after performing switch-back, the controller of the image forming apparatus resumes with the second surface of the document in order to be scanned/read and then convey and discharge/eject; including when detecting that a leading end of the document reaches a first position, the controller controls the image forming apparatus to convey the document at lower speed, in which is lower than the feeding speed, ¶0073, ¶0076, ¶0079, ¶0089); and after scanning the second side of the original document is finished, the original document is continuously transported, and, when the image detection unit detects a rear end position of the second side of the original document reaches the second scanning end position, the control unit controls the scanning device to circulate and transport the original document at the first speed, until it is discharged the original document in a consistent state with the first side of the original document before scanning (e.g., upon reading (second surface) is completed, when detecting that a rear end position of the document reaches a position, the controller controls the document to be conveyed back to the feeding speed and ejected, ¶0069, ¶0079 - ¶0083, ¶0091, ¶0099 & ¶0158); but fails to teach that said control unit is including a motor; that said image detection unit is including a scanning sensor; when a double-sided scanning mode is activated and the image detection unit detects that a front end position of a first side of the original document reaches a third scanning preset position, the control unit controls the scanning device to change a speed of transporting the first side of the original document from the first speed to a second speed, wherein the second speed is smaller than the first speed; and wherein the first speed gradually decreases to the second speed, and the second speed gradually increases to the first speed.
However, in the same field of endeavor of scanning device and regulating speeds upon detecting edge/end of sheets, the mentioned claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Mukai. In particular, Mukai teaches a control unit is including a motor (e.g., a second motor, abstract, Fig. 2); an image detection unit is including a scanning sensor (e.g., an image sensor, abstract, Fig. 2);; when a double-sided scanning mode is activated and the image detection unit detects that a front end position of a first side of the original document reaches a third scanning preset position, the control unit controls the scanning device to change a speed of transporting the first side of the original document from the first speed to a second speed (e.g., even in reverse mode, when detecting leading edge, controls the reading device to decrease/reduce speed, abstract, ¶0004 - ¶0005, ¶0060 - ¶0068, ¶0086 - ¶0087), wherein the second speed is smaller than the first speed; and wherein the first speed gradually decreases to the second speed, and the second speed gradually increases to the first speed (e.g. the first speed decelerate to the second speed, and the second speed accelerates to the first speed, ¶0063 - ¶0065, ¶0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the image forming apparatus of Morisaki as taught by Mukai since Mukai suggested within abstract, ¶0004 - ¶0005, ¶0065 - ¶0068 and ¶0087 that such modification would regulate speeds in order to prevent or reduce conveyance (transport) failure(s) such sheet jams.
With respect to claim 9, Morisaki in view of Mukai teaches the device according to claim 6, further including a fourth image reading unit for scanning the original document, wherein: the motor is connected to the image detection unit; the first speed includes a first forward speed; when the image detection unit detects the front end position of any side of the original document reaches the third scanning preset position, a first forward speed control signal is sent to the motor, and a fourth scanning start signal is sent to the fourth image reading unit; and the control unit controls the motor to adjust the speed of transporting the original document from the first forward speed to the second speed in response to the first forward speed control signal, and the fourth image reading unit scans the contents of any side of the original document in response to the fourth scanning start signal (e.g., this can be one of several modifications so that a motor linked to the controller that drives/regulates the speeds to be changed or adjusted according to respective signals, ¶0049 - ¶0050, ¶0057, ¶0063, ¶0070, ¶0080 & ¶0161); and Mukai, by design, teaches that the fourth reading unit is including a contact image sensor or a non-contact image sensor (Fig. 2 – CIS 21A).
With respect to claim 10 – 12 and 14, these are rejected for the similar reasons as those described in connection with claim 1 – 3 and 5, respectively.
With respect to claim 15 (in which depend on claim 10), it's rejected for the similar reasons as those described in connection with claim 6.
With respect to claim 18, it's rejected for the similar reasons as those described in connection with claim 9.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morisaki in view of Yoshikaie et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2018/0198943 A1, hereinafter ‘Yoshikaie’).
With respect to claim 4, Morisaki in view of Mukai teaches the device according to claim 3, but fails to specifically teaches wherein: the second image reading unit and the third image reading unit are respectively disposed on the first side and the second side of the original document, and the second image reading unit and the third image reading unit are opposite to each other.
However, in the same field of endeavor of scanning devices and speed control, Yoshikaie teaches wherein: the second image reading unit and the third image reading unit are respectively disposed on the first side and the second side of the original document, and the second image reading unit and the third image reading unit are opposite to each other (e.g., where an upper scanning unit 50A is configured to scan/read the upper surface of a medium while an lower scanning unit 50B is configured to scan/read the lower surface of said medium, ¶0057, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the image forming device of Morisaki in view of Mukai as taught by Yoshikaie since Yoshikaie suggested in ¶0057 and Fig. 3 that such modification of having two opposite reading units facing each other would scan both sides or surfaces of a document in order to improve throughput and or make if faster to scan/read documents.
With respect to claim 13, it's rejected for the similar reasons as those described in connection with claim 4.
Claims 7, 8, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morisaki in view of Mukai and further in view of Honda (JP 2010141637 A, refer to English Machine Translation, hereinafter ‘Honda’).
With respect to claim 7, Morisaki in view of Mukai teaches the device according to claim 6, but fails to teach wherein: the first speed includes a first forward speed and a first reverse speed;
when the image detection unit detects that the rear end position of any side of the original document reaches the first reverse position,
the control unit controls the scanning device to transport the original document at the first reverse speed until the image detection unit detects that the front end position of the side of the original document reaches a second reverse position, and
the control unit then controls the scanning device to transport the original document at the first forward speed, wherein the first reverse position and the second reverse position are different.
However, in the same field of endeavor of image reading apparatus and controlling/switching position, Honda teaches wherein: the first speed includes a first forward speed and a first reverse speed (e.g. a first forward speed and a first reverse speed, pages 2 and 8 of 11);
when the image detection unit detects that the rear end position of any side of the original document reaches the first reverse position, the control unit controls the scanning device to transport the original document at the first reverse speed until the image detection unit detects that the front end position of the side of the original document reaches a second reverse position, and the control unit then controls the scanning device to transport the original document at the first forward speed, wherein the first reverse position and the second reverse position are different (e.g., when a rear position of any side of document reaches a “reverse position”, the scanning/reading mechanism controls to convey the document at a speed corresponding to a reverse direction until detecting a leading edge of the document of the side of the document reaches a position of a conveying roller 27, and then controls by conveying the document at first forward speed, wherein the reverse position and the position of the conveying roller 27 are different, Pages 2, 3 5, 7 and 8 of 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the device of Morisaki in view of Mukai as taught by Honda since Honda suggested within pages 2, 3, 5, 7 and 8 of 11 that such modification of having a first forward speed and first reverse speed for the document while reversing would efficiently complete the image reading operations of both sides/surfaces of the document in order to prevent image from being distorted or color-shifted due to vibration.
With respect to claim 8, Morisaki in view of Mukai and further in view of Honda teaches the device according to claim 7, wherein: the original document is transported at the first forward speed from a second reverse position to the third scanning preset position, wherein the second reverse position is different from the third scanning preset position (e.g., the document is conveyed at conveyor/feeding speed from a switch-back inversion to a second surface reading, both positions are different, ¶000073, ¶0093, ¶0158).
With respect to claim 16, it's rejected for the similar reasons as those described in connection with claim 7.
With respect to claim 17, it's rejected for the similar reasons as those described in connection with claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Osakabe (U.S PG Publication No. 2013/0003136 A1)1
Yomogida (U.S PG Publication No. 2011/0292476 A1)2
1This reference teaches an image reading apparatus configured to detect edges of a continuously conveying original sheet; when a front edge is detected, reduce conveying speed.
2This reference also teaches when a leading edge of an original is detected by a scanning entrance sensor 15, the original conveying speed begins to be reduced so as to be the same as a scanning conveying speed before the leading edge of the original enters a nip between a pair of scanning entrance rollers 16 provided in an up-down direction, and simultaneously a scanning motor is rotated in a normal rotational direction so as to drive the scanning entrance rollers 16, a pair of scanning exit rollers 23, and a pair of CIS exit rollers 27. When the leading edge of the original is detected by a registration sensor 17, the original conveying speed is reduced while the original is conveyed a predetermined conveying distance, so that the original is temporarily stopped before a scanning position 20. Then, a registration stop signal is transmitted to the main control unit. When a scanning start signal from the main control unit is received, the original in a registration stop state is conveyed in such a manner that the original conveying speed is increased to a predetermined conveying speed before the leading edge of the original reaches the scanning position 20.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUAN M GUILLERMETY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682