DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 11-25 are currently pending and the claims as originally filed on 07/24/2026 are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2026 was filed before the mailing date of the instant action on the merits. The submissions thereof are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. It is noted that the foreign references have only been considered to the extent that an English language abstract, translation or statement of relevance has been provided to the examiner. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner, and signed and initialed copy is enclosed herewith.
New Grounds of Objection/Rejections --- as necessitated by amendment
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to a minor informality under 37 CFR 1.75.
Claim 21 recites “added salt” in line 2, but which would be better to recite “the added salt”. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites claim 1 recites “a solution” in line 7, but which lacks an antecedent basis because this “solution” is a new element. Applicant may consider amending “An oral care solution composition comprising …. wherein the solution … a pH range of about 4.5 to about 9.”
Further, claim 1 recites “the one or more surfactant”, but which also lacks sufficient antecedent basis because claim 1 requires at least two surfactants, i.e., main surfactant and co-surfactant. Claim 13 reciting “the one or more surfactants” has the same issue.
Appropriate correction is requested.
The remaining claims are also rejected due to the rejection of base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St. John et al. (US2022/0096364A1, IDS of 11/07/2024).
Applicant claims the below claim 15 filed on 07/24/2026:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a medical/pharmaceutical oral care composition research scientist, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from oral care medicine, pharmacy, physiology and chemistry— without being told to do so. In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP 2141.01); Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Regarding instant claims 15, 20, 21 and 23-25, St. John discloses that an oral care composition comprising prenylated flavonoid that is extracted from hops extract ([0056]), i.e., hops beta acid having higher antibacterial and/or anticaries activity in an amount of about 2 to about 12% ([0032]-[0038]), one or more surfactant including SLS, lauryl glucoside, sodium cocoyl glutamate, poloxamer, etc. ([0118]-[0126]), flavoring agent (e.g., [0138]) and buffering agent such as citric acid and sodium citrate in an amount of about 0.1 to about 30% ([0078]) which reads on the claimed added salt and the amount overlaps the instant range of at least 2.5% or at least 3%; the composition has a pH of about 4 to about 10 ([0106]) which overlaps the instant pH range of about 5 to about 7.5 of instant claim 15; and the composition further thickening agent to provide a gelatinous structure that stabilizers the dentifrice and/or toothpaste against phase separation ([0130]) which reads on the claimed phase stability (instant claims 15, 20 and 23); the oral care composition can be dentifrice ([0027])(instant claim 24); and the composition further comprises flavoring agent such as wintergreen oil, peppermint or spearmint oil ([0138]) (instant claim 25).
Regarding instant claims 16-19 and 22, St. John discloses one or more surfactant includes one or more surfactants including sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) , sodium methyl acyl taurate, coco-betaine (=cocamidopropyl betaine), poloxamer, sodium cocoyl glutamate, lauryl glucoside … combinations thereof (e.g., [0119], [0122], [0123], [0125], [0126]) (instant claims 16-17); St. John does not expressly disclose the surfactant is free of poloxamer, and however, non-selecting poloxamer surfactant would be a matter of choice or design when preparing the composition because any other equivalent surfactant can be used from the standpoint of the ordinary artisan (instant claim 18); and St. John remains silent about polysorbate 80 as a surfactant (instant claim 19); and St. John teaches one or more metal ion source from Sn, Zn, Cu, Mn, Mg, Sr, Ti, Fe, Mo, B, Ba, Ce, Al, In and/or mixtures thereof ([0083]) and thus it would have been obvious to take Ti instead of Zn salt as a matter of choice or design (instant claim 22).
Although St. John does not expressly teach weight ratio of added salt to water of instant claim 21, this prior art teaches the composition has water in an amount from 0% to about 99% ([0098]) and the added salt e.g., sodium citrate in an amount of about 0.1 to about 30% ([0078]). Thus, the ordinary artisan would have optimized the ratio of added salt to water with the claimed ratio without undue experimentation, in the absence of criticality evidence of the claimed range (instant claim 21).
In light of the foregoing, instant claims 15-25 are obvious over St. John.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive because Applicant’s arguments based on OD600, combination of two surfactants, and alleged unexpected results are focused on the invention of instant claim 1, not of instant claim 15.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 15-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 8, 16 and 17 of patent no. 11,690,792B2 in view of St. John (US2022/0096364A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims set require hops acid including non-hydrogenated hops beta acid, metal ion including tin and zinc, buffering agent such as added salt, and overlapping pH.
However, the claims of patent ‘792 do not expressly teach one or more surfactant and their species. The deficiencies are cured by St. John teaches one or more surfactants. It would have been obvious to modify the claims of patent ‘792 with addition of surfactants in order to enhance the properties of oral care composition.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patent ‘792 subject matter.
Claims 15-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 9-11, 13 and 14 of patent no. 11,918,681B2 in view of St. John (US2022/0096364A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims set require hops acid including non-hydrogenated hops beta acid, metal ion tin, buffering agent and overlapping pH.
However, the claims of patent ‘681 do not expressly teach one or more surfactant and their species. The deficiencies are cured by St. John disclosing one or more surfactants. It would have been obvious to modify the claims of patent ‘681 with addition of surfactants in order to enhance the properties of oral care composition.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patent ‘681 subject matter.
Claims 15-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12 and 13-17 of copending application no. 18/884510 in view of St. John (US2022/0096364A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims set require hops acid including hops beta acid, metal ion including tin (=stannous ion) and overlapping amounts thereof.
However, the claims of copending ‘510 do not expressly teach one or more surfactant and their species. The deficiencies are cured by St. John disclosing one or more surfactants. It would have been obvious to modify the claims of copending ‘510 with addition of surfactants in order to enhance the properties of oral care composition.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending ‘510 subject matter.
This is a provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have not yet been patented.
Conclusion
All claims examined are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYUNG S CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613