Election/Restrictions
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected device, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/02/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "10" and "11" and “12” have all been used to designate the reaction chamber. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “total heat exchange” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “total heat exchange” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear if there is total heat exchange means the temperature between the air in the reaction chamber and clean room are completely switched or partially switched. [0078]-[0081] indicate the temperature may be solely adjusted or mixed and thus partially exchanging heat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomohiro (JP 2003277073) as cited in the machine translation provided herein and further in view of Ishihara (US 20040134236).
Regarding claim 1, Tomohiro discloses a method for manufacturing a glass particle deposit, the method comprising (title):
manufacturing the glass particle deposit by producing glass particles through glass particle synthesis, or a hydrolysis reaction, [0002], [0011] using flame of a burner (5) and depositing the glass particles on a target (8) {0002], [0011] Fig 1-2 in a reaction container;
and taking out the glass particle deposit from the reaction container (1) and
transporting the glass particle deposit to a clean room (12),
air is introduced into the clean room, or isolation chamber (12), a clean room generators (13), corresponding to the claimed through a clean room filter, that removes particles in the air from intake ports (14) [0011], thus when the glass particle deposit is manufactured
Tomohiro does not clearly discuss air is introduced from a space different from the clean room isolation chamber (12) into the reaction container (3) through a reaction container filter.
In analogous art of manufacturing a glass particle deposit Ishihara discloses a reaction container (Fig 1-2), and air is introduced into the reaction chamber from CG generator (14) [0025] (Fig 1), or (27/28) in Fig 2 [0040] from clean air [0051]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reaction chamber of Tomohiro within the clean room with the reaction chamber of Ishihara as motivated to reduce impurities during manufacturing.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings of Tomohiro and Ishihara disclose reaction chambers comprising glass particle deposit step of applying glass particles from burners onto a rod. Ishihara depicts air is taken in from an introduction duct (14) opened to what is considered “outdoors” of the reaction chamber, see Fig 1, is introduced into the reaction container.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings of Tomohiro and Ishihara disclose when the glass particle deposit is manufactured in the reaction chamber, air that is taken in from an introduction duct (Ishihara - 14).
Ishihara does not clearly specify the introduction duct (14) is opened to a room different from the clean room. It would be obvious for the air to be drawn into the reaction chamber from any room and converting to clean gas as suggested by Ishihara as motivated to reduce impurities during manufacturing.
MPEP 2144.04 states:
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice
Pulling air from outside of the reaction chamber, outside of the clean room, outside an addition surrounding chamber is an obvious matter of design choice absent any unexpected results. There is nothing claimed that indicates it would change the outcome of the method other than reducing impurities in the clean air eventually provided to the reaction space in the method.
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomohiro (JP 2003277073) as cited in the machine translation provided herein and further in view of Ishihara (US 20040134236) as applied above and further in view of Masuda (US 20210381703)
Regarding claim 5, Tomohiro discloses air is introduced into the clean room, or isolation chamber (12), via clean room generators (13), corresponding to the claimed through a clean room filter, that removes particles in the air from intake ports (14) [0011].
Tomohiro fails to disclose air is introduced into the clean room through an air conditioner capable of adjusting a temperature and a humidity.
In analogous art of a method of operating a clean room Masuda discloses controlling the temperature and humidity of air to the clean room [0003]. It would be obvious to modify the method of a clean room in Tomohiro with the steps of controlling the temperature and humidity of the clean room as motivated to further control the environment of the manufactured glass particle deposit.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings of Tomohiro, Ishihara, and Masuda is considered to have total heat exchange is performed between the air introduced into the reaction container and the air in the clean room as the air combined withing the reaction chamber given the broadest reasonable expectation in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN116209640 controlling gas pressure by exhausting during manufacture then sealing exhaust when deposition ceases
JP2004099353
JP2000319024 reaction chamber 5, with burner 2, exhaust from 6, everything outside is cleanroom [0040], clean air brought in through intake pipe 7, exhaust pipes 9 and 10, valves 11
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741