Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lower portion of the femoral head prothesis must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 12, 14, 16, 32, 34 and 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “a liner is placed over the femoral head prothesis and into the medial shell and lateral shell” however, according to claim 1 “an upper portion of the femoral head prothesis fitting against an inner side of the medial shell and an inner side of the lateral shell.” It is unclear if the femoral head prothesis is in direct contact with the shells when “fitting against” each other or if there is a liner between the two components and the components are aligned in their composition together. The application is examined as though “fitting against” is in alignment, not direct contact between the components.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: "the later shell" in line 7 should read "the lateral shell". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: "the later shell" in line 2 should read "the lateral shell". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2022/0151792 A1) in view of Sherman (US 4,936,855 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches device adapted to secure a femoral head prosthesis (700, apparatus, figs. 7A-7B), the device comprising:
a medial shell (770, first section fig. 7B) and a lateral shell (772, second section, fig. 7B), each of the medial shell and the lateral shell shaped to fit around a portion of the femoral head prosthesis (fig. 8);
an upper portion of the femoral head prosthesis fitting against an inner side of the medial shell and an inner side of the lateral shell (¶ [0099]).
Lee fails to teach a constraining rim on lower portions of the shell configured to secure a lower portion of the femoral head prothesis. However, Sherman teaches a prosthetic joint implant that includes the medial shell having a medial shell constraining rim on a lower portion of the medial shell (62, flange, fig. 5), the lateral shell having a lateral shell constraining rim on a lower portion of the later shell (62, flange, fig. 5), the medial shell constraining rim and lateral shell constraining rim configured to secure the medial shell and the lateral shell to a lower portion of the femoral head prosthesis (fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the medial and lateral shells of Lee to include a constraining rim as taught by Sherman in order to in order to prevent the locking ring from being tilted (col 3 lines 35-47, Sherman).
Regarding claim 2, Lee further teaches wherein the medial shell includes one or more medial shell openings that are configured to allow insertion of fasteners through the medial shell to attach the medial shell to a bone surface (724, 788, openings, fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 3, Lee further teaches wherein the lateral shell includes one or more lateral shell openings that are configured to allow insertion of the fasteners through the lateral shell to attach the lateral shell to the medial shell (724, 788, openings, fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 4, Lee further teaches wherein at least one of the medial shell openings and at least one of the later shell openings are configured to be in alignment such that a fastener passes through each of the lateral shell and the medial shell and into the bone surface (fig. 7B). The phrase “at least one of the medial shell openings and at least one of the later shell openings are configured to be in alignment such that a fastener passes through each of the lateral shell and the medial shell and into the bone surface” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the opening 778 in the apex of the apparatus is considered to be capable of being in alignment such that a fastener passes through each of the lateral shell and the medial shell and into the bone surface .
Regarding claim 5, Lee further teaches a shell fastener that secures the lateral shell to the medial shell (760, fastener, fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 6, Lee further teaches a liner is placed over the femoral head prosthesis and into the medial shell and lateral shell (140, liner, fig. 1C, ¶ [0066]).
Conclusion
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799