DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the claims filed on 27 June 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “practises” in line 8 appears to be a typographical error of “practices.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “practises” in line 1 appears to be a typographical error of “practices.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 16 states that it depends on claim 17, a later numbered claim. This appears to be a typographical error of, meaning to depend on claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “practises” in line 4 appears to be a typographical error of “practices.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 5, 7, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5, 7, and 15-16, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Claims 1-10 fall within one or more statutory categories. Claims 1-10 fall within the category of a machine.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Claims 1-10 recite an abstract idea. Representative claim 1 recites a system for enhancing personal growth and well-being, comprising:
…a plurality of personal growth tools, including:
gratitude affirmations configured to promote a positive mindset,
manifestation practices providing structured techniques for achieving goals,
guided meditations offering step-by-step instructions for meditation,
therapeutic hypnosis sessions addressing specific user issues,
breathwork exercises teaching controlled breathing techniques,
sound therapies utilizing healing frequencies and soothing sounds;
receive user input selecting one or more of the personal growth tools;
provide the user with access to the selected personal growth tools;
store user progress data associated with the selected personal growth tools …; and
display user progress insights derived from the user progress data ….
Therefore, the claim as a whole is directed to “personal growth and well-being of a person” which is an abstract idea because it is a method of organizing human activity. “Personal growth and well-being of a person” is considered to be a method of organizing human activity because it is an example of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include the interaction between a provider and a patient.
Alternatively, the claims are directed to a mental process, because they recite concepts capable of being performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the following additional element(s):
a processor;
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to: [perform the steps recited in the claim];
display a user interface on a mobile device.
The additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application. These additional elements merely amount to reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claim 1 does not include additional elements, considered individually or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s), individually and in combination, merely amount to reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, claim 1 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the gratitude affirmations are personalized based on user preferences and inputs, and
are displayed on the user interface at scheduled intervals throughout the day.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 2 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 3 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the manifestation practices comprise a series of guided visualization exercises and goal-setting prompts that adapt based on user progress data stored in the memory.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 3 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 4 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the guided meditations are categorized by duration, purpose, and experience level, and include optional background music and nature sounds selectable by the user.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 4 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 5 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the therapeutic hypnosis sessions are conducted by certified hypnotherapists and target specific user issues such as stress, anxiety, sleep disorders, and habit control, with progress tracked via user feedback.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 5 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 6 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the breathwork exercises include visual guidance, auditory cues, and real-time biometric feedback collected from wearable devices paired with the mobile app.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 6 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 7 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the sound therapies utilize research-backed frequencies, binaural beats, isochronic tones, and solfeggio sequences to promote specific cognitive and emotional states, such as focus, relaxation, and creativity.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 7 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 8 recites the method of claim 1, further comprising:
a printable electronic gratitude journal feature that allows users to record daily reflections, affirmations, and manifestation progress,
with data exportable and shareable across devices.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 8 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 9 recites the method of claim 1, further comprising:
a series of daily Bible verses curated to provide spiritual guidance and inspiration,
with optional notifications and synchronization with the user's calendar.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 9 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 10 recites the method of claim 1, further comprising:
a series of daily motivational push notifications delivered at user-specified times, containing personalized content based on user goals, progress, and
app interaction data stored in the memory.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 10 is ineligible.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Claims 11-20 fall within one or more statutory categories. Claims 11-20 fall within the category of a process.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Claims 11-20 recite an abstract idea. Representative claim 11 recites method for facilitating personal transformation and goal achievement:
… a plurality of selectable personal growth features, including:
a gratitude journal for recording daily reflections and gratitude entries,
a database of daily Bible verses,
daily motivational push notifications delivering personalized messages;
receiving … user input indicating a selection of one or more of the personal growth features;
retrieving … content associated with the selected personal growth features;
displaying the retrieved content to the user …;
tracking user interactions with the selected personal growth features and storing associated user interaction data …;
analyzing the user interaction data … to generate personalized recommendations for optimizing the user's personal growth journey; and
presenting the personalized recommendations to the user ….
Therefore, the claim as a whole is directed to “personal transformation and goal achievement of a person” which is an abstract idea because it is a method of organizing human activity. “Personal transformation and goal achievement of a person” is considered to be a method of organizing human activity because it is an example of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include the interaction between a provider and a patient.
Alternatively, the claims are directed to a mental process, because they recite concepts capable of being performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 11 recites the following additional element(s):
[the method is] computer-implemented;
providing a mobile application user interface, by a processor, via the mobile application user interface.
The additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application. These additional elements merely amount to reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 11 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claim 11 does not include additional elements, considered individually or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s), individually and in combination, merely amount to reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, claim 11 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 12 recites the method of claim 11, wherein:
the gratitude journal further comprises: a printable electronic format for users to download and print physical copies of their reflections and gratitude entries; and
an AI-based analysis feature that processes user entries to provide personalized insights and recommendations for enhancing the user's gratitude practice.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 12 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 13 recites the method of claim 11, wherein:
the database of daily Bible verses are organized into 366 unique verses, each associated with a specific calendar date.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 13 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 14 recites the method of claim 11, wherein:
the daily motivational push notifications are generated using an AI-driven personalization system that analyzes user interaction data, personal preferences, and behavioral patterns to deliver highly relevant and impactful motivational content.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 14 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 15 recites the method of claim 11, further comprising:
a library of guided meditation sessions designed to address specific user needs, such as stress reduction, focus enhancement, and emotional well-being; and
a progress tracking system that monitors user engagement with meditation sessions and provides visual feedback on the user's meditation habits and consistency.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 11 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 15 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 16 recites the method of claim 11, wherein:
the guided meditation sessions incorporate therapeutic hypnosis techniques, such as positive suggestion and visualization, to facilitate deeper relaxation and personal transformation.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 11 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 16 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 17 recites the method of claim 11, further comprising:
a collection of breathwork exercises that guide users through controlled breathing techniques designed to promote relaxation, reduce stress, and improve overall well-being.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 11 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 17 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 18 recites the method of claim 11, further comprising:
a sound therapy module that offers a variety of healing frequencies and soothing soundscapes, each tailored to specific user needs comprising improved sleep, reduced anxiety, and enhanced focus.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 11 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 18 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 19 recites the method of claim 11, further comprising:
a personalized goal-setting and manifestation system that: prompts users to input their personal goals and aspirations;
generates customized manifestation practices based on user input; and
provides a structured approach to visualizing and achieving goals through regular practice and reflection.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 11 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 19 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 20 recites the method of claim 11, further comprising:
a social community feature that enables users to: connect with like-minded individuals pursuing personal growth;
share experiences, insights, and support within the app's secure community environment; and
participate in group challenges and accountability programs to foster motivation and consistency in personal development practices.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 11 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 20 is considered to be ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowdell et al. (U.S. 2012/0084180), hereinafter “Dowdell,” in view of Taylor et al. (U.S. 2025/0288773), hereinafter “Taylor.”
Regarding Claim 1, Dowdell discloses a system for enhancing personal growth and well-being, comprising:
a processor (See Dowdell [0043] the system uses processors and memory.);
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (See Dowdell [0043] the system uses processors and memory.), cause the system to:
display a user interface on a mobile device (See Dowdell Fig. 1 and [0041] the system may use any of a wide range of devices. As examples, mobile phones, computers, personal data assistants (PDAs) or other devices.), the user interface providing access to a plurality of personal growth tools (See Dowdell [0046] The guided experiences may be composed of instructions (e.g., in verbal, written, musical, video, or other form) that direct the user to perform acts in furtherance of the guided experience recommended to the user. The acts may be tagged or otherwise associated with desired results.), including:
gratitude affirmations configured to promote a positive mindset (See Dowdell [0072] The result of the guided experiences may be a transformation of an undesired mood into a desired mood, a reduction in stress, an improvement in the balance of the user's life, or other desired result. [0082] the focus of the guided experience "Paying Attention" is the gratitude intention. Here, breathing and journaling, writing down her thoughts of the day on an online platform. See also [0090].),
manifestation practices providing structured techniques for achieving goals (See Dowdell [0072] guided experiences generally involve instructing the user to "be aware", "act" and/or "reflect." [0073] the guided experience involves deep breathing, closing one's eyes, visualization, meditation, smelling a scent, viewing an image, performing body movements, listening to music, writing thoughts or feelings on a fixed medium, typing thoughts or feelings on a keyboard, or speaking thoughts or feelings aloud. [0083] guided experience focusing on a specific intention, the "Worry to Action" guided experience, which focuses on the intention of courage. Here, the user is encouraged to shift from worry into action.),
guided meditations offering step-by-step instructions for meditation (See Dowdell [0073] the guided experience involves deep breathing, closing one's eyes, visualization, meditation, smelling a scent, viewing an image, performing body movements, listening to music, writing thoughts or feelings on a fixed medium, typing thoughts or feelings on a keyboard, or speaking thoughts or feelings aloud. Fig. 7A-7E and [0077].),
breathwork exercises teaching controlled breathing techniques (See Dowdell Fig. 5 and [0070] system can provide breathe related guided experiences. [0073] the guided experience involves deep breathing, closing one's eyes, visualization, meditation, smelling a scent, viewing an image, performing body movements, listening to music, writing thoughts or feelings on a fixed medium, typing thoughts or feelings on a keyboard, or speaking thoughts or feelings aloud. See also Figs. 8A-8E and [0078].),
receive user input selecting one or more of the personal growth tools (See Dowdell [0070] the user may select one of the recommended guided experience options. the user may choose to review a complete listing of all the available guided experiences or a listing of a certain category of guided experiences.);
provide the user with access to the selected personal growth tools (See Dowdell [0070] the user may select one of the recommended guided experience options. the user may choose to review a complete listing of all the available guided experiences or a listing of a certain category of guided experiences.);
store user progress data associated with the selected personal growth tools in the memory (See Dowdell [0045] account database may store growth interaction history with the system.); and
display user progress insights derived from the user progress data on the user interface (See Dowdell [0052] the output of the system can include the perceived result of user actions recommended by the system. See also [0045].).
Dowdell does not disclose:
therapeutic hypnosis sessions addressing specific user issues,
sound therapies utilizing healing frequencies and soothing sounds.
Taylor teaches:
therapeutic hypnosis sessions addressing specific user issues (See Taylor [0296] the sessions are created with the help of a hypnotherapist. [0303] the hypnotherapist helps in the development of unique features within the system, such as personalized hypnotherapy sessions or guided transformations. [0114] system is aimed at helping the individual achieve their goal, whether it is quitting smoking, overcoming anxiety, improving sleep, or any other emotional, physical, or behavioral association that they are looking to change.),
sound therapies utilizing healing frequencies and soothing sounds (See Taylor [0177] the system can use binaural beats or isochronic tones for enhanced mental states.).
The system of Taylor is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the user experience in a wellness, mental health, meditation, relaxation or guided visualization context. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell to include the elements taught by Taylor. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in order to encompass a multidimensional approach that integrates various aspects of life (see Taylor [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Dowdell in view of Taylor discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a system, wherein:
the gratitude affirmations are personalized based on user preferences and inputs (See Dowdell [0056] the system may determine applicable guided experiences based on the user input obtained from the first information request, and from the account database (e.g., the growth interaction history of the user).), and
are displayed on the user interface at scheduled intervals throughout the day (See Dowdell [0054] scheduling program 536 may facilitate scheduling future guided experiences. See also Fig. 14 and [0084].).
Regarding claim 3, Dowdell in view of Taylor discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a system, wherein:
the manifestation practices comprise a series of guided visualization exercises and goal-setting prompts (See Dowdell [0072] guided experiences generally involve instructing the user to "be aware", "act" and/or "reflect." [0073] the guided experience involves deep breathing, closing one's eyes, visualization, meditation, smelling a scent, viewing an image, performing body movements, listening to music, writing thoughts or feelings on a fixed medium, typing thoughts or feelings on a keyboard, or speaking thoughts or feelings aloud. [0083] guided experience focusing on a specific intention, the "Worry to Action" guided experience, which focuses on the intention of courage. Here, the user is encouraged to shift from worry into action.) that adapt based on user progress data stored in the memory (See Dowdell [0056] the system may determine applicable guided experiences based on the user input obtained from the first information request, and from the account database (e.g., the growth interaction history of the user).).
Regarding claim 4, Dowdell in view of Taylor discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a system, wherein:
the guided meditations are categorized by duration, purpose, and experience level (See Dowdell [0046] The guided experiences may be composed of instructions (e.g., in verbal, written, musical, video, or other form) that direct the user to perform acts in furtherance of the guided experience recommended to the user. The acts may be tagged or otherwise associated with desired results. See also Fig. 7A as an example. This Figure lists the duration, the purpose (i.e. “mantra collection”), and the experience level. Figs. 8A, 9A, 10A, and 12A show similar categorizations.), and
include optional background music and nature sounds selectable by the user (See Dowdell [0046] The guided experiences may be composed of instructions (e.g., in verbal, written, musical, video, or other form) that direct the user to perform acts in furtherance of the guided experience recommended to the user. Fig. 8A shows a music tab that can be selected for controlling music with the guided experience.).
Regarding claim 5, Dowdell in view of Taylor discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a system, wherein:
the therapeutic hypnosis sessions are conducted by certified hypnotherapists and target specific user issues such as stress, anxiety, sleep disorders, and habit control,
[conduct the guided experiences] with progress tracked via user feedback (See Dowdell [0071] the guided experience options are informed by the user's growth interaction history, which may include input relating to the user's current mood, thoughts, or feelings; input relating to the user's current mood, thoughts or feelings prior to a previous guided experience; input relating to the result of a previous guided experience; or a record of the guided experience. One way in which this may be accomplished is to obtain and track user input or feedback on the result.).
Dowdell does not disclose:
the therapeutic hypnosis sessions are conducted by certified hypnotherapists and target specific user issues such as stress, anxiety, sleep disorders, and habit control.
Taylor teaches:
the therapeutic hypnosis sessions are conducted by certified hypnotherapists and target specific user issues such as stress, anxiety, sleep disorders, and habit control (See Taylor [0296] the sessions are created with the help of a hypnotherapist. [0303] the hypnotherapist helps in the development of unique features within the system, such as personalized hypnotherapy sessions or guided transformations. [0114] system is aimed at helping the individual achieve their goal, whether it is quitting smoking, overcoming anxiety, improving sleep, or any other emotional, physical, or behavioral association that they are looking to change.).
The system of Taylor is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the user experience in a wellness, mental health, meditation, relaxation or guided visualization context. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell to include the elements taught by Taylor. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in order to encompass a multidimensional approach that integrates various aspects of life (see Taylor [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Dowdell in view of Taylor discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a system, wherein:
the breathwork exercises include visual guidance, auditory cues, and real-time biometric feedback (See Dowdell [0075] the system may generate visual images in response to the information regarding the intensity or rate of breath or vocalizations. [0076] the personal growth program may generate interactive feedback to the user in the form of images, audio, or other feedback in response to the rate, nature, pattern, extent, or other characteristic of the movements.).
Dowdell does not disclose:
[the biometric feedback is] collected from wearable devices paired with the mobile app.
Taylor teaches:
[the biometric feedback is] collected from wearable devices paired with the mobile app (See Taylor [0156] the system includes integration with Wearable Technology through use of biometric, brainwave and other mental, physical and emotional markers data from wearables to inform and adjust content delivery, providing users with immediate support exactly when they need it, such as stress relief prompts based on, for example, but not limited to, detected increases in heart rate or change in breathing rates.).
The system of Taylor is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the user experience in a wellness, mental health, meditation, relaxation or guided visualization context. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell to include the elements taught by Taylor. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in order to encompass a multidimensional approach that integrates various aspects of life (see Taylor [0006]).
Regarding claim 8, Dowdell in view of Taylor discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a system, comprising:
a printable electronic gratitude journal feature that allows users to record daily reflections, affirmations, and manifestation progress (See Dowdell [0011] The personal growth system may generate and display in the display area a prompt that encourages a user to create a journal entry. [0089]-[0090] the system can include gratitude journalling cards.),
with data exportable and shareable across devices (See Dowdell [0042] the system includes the use of networking for data exchange across multiple devices. [0052] output generated by the system can include output to a printer.).
Regarding claim 10, Dowdell in view of Taylor discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a system, comprising:
a series of daily motivational push notifications delivered at user-specified times (See Dowdell [0054] scheduling program may facilitate scheduling future guided experiences. See also Fig. 14 and [0084].), containing personalized content based on user goals, progress (See Dowdell [0071] the guided experience options are informed by the user's growth interaction history.), and
app interaction data stored in the memory (See Dowdell [0045] account database may store growth interaction history with the system.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowdell et al. (U.S. 2012/0084180), hereinafter “Dowdell,” in view of Taylor et al. (U.S. 2025/0288773), hereinafter “Taylor,” and further in view of Papania (U.S. 20210046276), hereinafter “Papania.”
Regarding claim 7, Dowdell in view of Taylor discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a system, wherein:
the sound therapies … [are used] to promote specific cognitive and emotional states, such as focus, relaxation, and creativity (See Dowdell [0040] The personal growth system may be used, for example, to relieve stress, restore focus, achieve balance, clear the mind, or otherwise improve one's mood, thoughts, or feelings.[0081] The intention may be informed by western psychology and inspired by Buddhist teachings and may include, for example: grounded, creative energy, gratitude, loving kindness, courage, wisdom, and inspiration.).
Dowdell does not disclose:
the sound therapies utilize research-backed frequencies, binaural beats, isochronic tones, and solfeggio sequences.
Papania teaches:
the sound therapies utilize research-backed frequencies, binaural beats, isochronic tones, and solfeggio sequences (See Papania [0039] the system can use grounding tones from the solfeggio scale in combination with either a binaural technique or isochronic technique.).
The system of Papania is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell in view of Taylor as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to wellness and meditation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell in view of Taylor to include the particular sounds and frequencies as taught by Papania. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in view of Taylor in order to provide a solution to the detrimental emotional, mental, and physical effects of living in modern society (see Papania [0008]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowdell et al. (U.S. 2012/0084180), hereinafter “Dowdell,” in view of Taylor et al. (U.S. 2025/0288773), hereinafter “Taylor,” and further in view of Block et al. (U.S. 2007/0282786), hereinafter “Block.”
Regarding claim 9, Dowdell in view of Taylor discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a system, comprising:
optional notifications and synchronization with the user's calendar (See Dowdell [0054] scheduling program may facilitate scheduling future guided experiences. See also Fig. 14 and [0084].).
Dowdell does not disclose:
a series of daily Bible verses curated to provide spiritual guidance and inspiration.
Block teaches:
a series of daily Bible verses curated to provide spiritual guidance and inspiration (See Block [0059] the system can provide daily entries associated with different bible verses. [0021] sets of verse sequences are grouped according to various topics/themes (e.g., courage, forgiveness, bereavement/grief, hope, etc.).).
The system of Block is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell in View of Taylor as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to mental health and wellness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell in view of Taylor to include Bible verses as taught by Block. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in view of Taylor in order to provide access to particular stories, topics, and pre-selected daily verse sequences (see Block Abstract).
Claims 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowdell et al. (U.S. 2012/0084180), hereinafter “Dowdell,” in view of Block et al. (U.S. 2007/0282786), hereinafter “Block.”
Regarding claim 11, Dowdell discloses a computer-implemented method for facilitating personal transformation and goal achievement, the method comprising:
providing a mobile application user interface (See Dowdell Fig. 1 and [0041] the system may use any of a wide range of devices. As examples, mobile phones, computers, personal data assistants (PDAs) or other devices.), by a processor (See Dowdell[0043] the system uses processors and memory.), the user interface displaying a plurality of selectable personal growth features (See Dowdell [0046] The guided experiences may be composed of instructions (e.g., in verbal, written, musical, video, or other form) that direct the user to perform acts in furtherance of the guided experience recommended to the user. The acts may be tagged or otherwise associated with desired results.), including:
a gratitude journal for recording daily reflections and gratitude entries (See Dowdell [0072] The result of the guided experiences may be a transformation of an undesired mood into a desired mood, a reduction in stress, an improvement in the balance of the user's life, or other desired result. [0082] the focus of the guided experience "Paying Attention" is the gratitude intention. Here, breathing and journaling, writing down her thoughts of the day on an online platform. See also [0090].),
daily motivational push notifications (See Dowdell [0054] scheduling program may facilitate scheduling future guided experiences. See also Fig. 14 and [0084].) delivering personalized messages (See Dowdell [0071] the guided experience options are informed by the user's growth interaction history.);
receiving, by the processor, user input indicating a selection of one or more of the personal growth features (See Dowdell [0070] the user may select one of the recommended guided experience options. the user may choose to review a complete listing of all the available guided experiences or a listing of a certain category of guided experiences.);
retrieving, from a memory (See Dowdell[0043] the system uses processors and memory.), content associated with the selected personal growth features (See Dowdell [0070] the user may select one of the recommended guided experience options. the user may choose to review a complete listing of all the available guided experiences or a listing of a certain category of guided experiences.);
displaying the retrieved content to the user via the mobile application user interface (See Dowdell Fig. 1 and [0041] the system may use any of a wide range of devices. As examples, mobile phones, computers, personal data assistants (PDAs) or other devices. [0070] the user may select one of the recommended guided experience options. the user may choose to review a complete listing of all the available guided experiences or a listing of a certain category of guided experiences.);
tracking user interactions with the selected personal growth features and storing associated user interaction data in the memory (See Dowdell [0045] account database may store growth interaction history with the system.);
analyzing the user interaction data, by the processor, to generate personalized recommendations for optimizing the user's personal growth journey (See Dowdell [0071] the guided experience options are informed by the user's growth interaction history.); and
presenting the personalized recommendations to the user via the mobile application user interface (See Dowdell [0070] the user may select one of the recommended guided experience options. The user may choose to review a complete listing of all the available guided experiences or a listing of a certain category of guided experiences.).
Dowdell does not disclose:
a database of daily Bible verses.
Block teaches:
a database of daily Bible verses (See Block [0059] the system can provide daily entries associated with different bible verses. [0021] sets of verse sequences are grouped according to various topics/themes (e.g., courage, forgiveness, bereavement/grief, hope, etc.).).
The system of Block is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell in View of Taylor as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to mental health and wellness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell in view of Taylor to include Bible verses as taught by Block. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in view of Taylor in order to provide access to particular stories, topics, and pre-selected daily verse sequences (see Block Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Dowdell in view of Block discloses the method of claim 11 as discussed above. Dowdell does not further disclose a method, wherein:
the database of daily Bible verses are organized into 366 unique verses, each associated with a specific calendar date.
Block teaches:
the database of daily Bible verses are organized into 366 unique verses, each associated with a specific calendar date (See Block [0059] the system can provide daily entries associated with different bible verses. [0060] verse sequences can be assigned to the particular day.).
The system of Block is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell in View of Taylor as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to mental health and wellness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell in view of Taylor to include Bible verses as taught by Block. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in view of Taylor in order to provide access to particular stories, topics, and pre-selected daily verse sequences (see Block Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Dowdell in view of Block discloses the method of claim 11 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a method, comprising:
a library of guided meditation sessions designed to address specific user needs, such as stress reduction, focus enhancement, and emotional well-being (See Dowdell [0072] The result of the guided experiences may be a transformation of an undesired mood into a desired mood, a reduction in stress, an improvement in the balance of the user's life, or other desired result. ); and
a progress tracking system that monitors user engagement with meditation sessions and provides visual feedback on the user's meditation habits and consistency (See Dowdell [0075] the system may generate visual images in response to the information regarding the intensity or rate of breath or vocalizations. [0076] the personal growth program may generate interactive feedback to the user in the form of images, audio, or other feedback in response to the rate, nature, pattern, extent, or other characteristic of the movements.).
Regarding claim 17, Dowdell in view of Block discloses the method of claim 11 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a method, comprising:
a collection of breathwork exercises that guide users through controlled breathing techniques designed to promote relaxation, reduce stress, and improve overall well-being (See Dowdell Fig. 5 and [0070] system can provide breathe related guided experiences. [0073] the guided experience involves deep breathing, closing one's eyes, visualization, meditation, smelling a scent, viewing an image, performing body movements, listening to music, writing thoughts or feelings on a fixed medium, typing thoughts or feelings on a keyboard, or speaking thoughts or feelings aloud. See also Figs. 8A-8E and [0078]. [0072] The result of the guided experiences may be a transformation of an undesired mood into a desired mood, a reduction in stress, an improvement in the balance of the user's life, or other desired result. ).
Regarding claim 19, Dowdell in view of Block discloses the method of claim 11 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a method, comprising:
a personalized goal-setting and manifestation system that: prompts users to input their personal goals and aspirations (See Dowdell [0045] the system can prompt user inputs regarding moods, thoughts, feelings, intentions or other user aspects.);
generates customized manifestation practices based on user input (See Dowdell [0072] guided experiences generally involve instructing the user to "be aware", "act" and/or "reflect." [0073] the guided experience involves deep breathing, closing one's eyes, visualization, meditation, smelling a scent, viewing an image, performing body movements, listening to music, writing thoughts or feelings on a fixed medium, typing thoughts or feelings on a keyboard, or speaking thoughts or feelings aloud. [0083] guided experience focusing on a specific intention, the "Worry to Action" guided experience, which focuses on the intention of courage. Here, the user is encouraged to shift from worry into action.); and
provides a structured approach to visualizing and achieving goals through regular practice and reflection (See Dowdell [0072] guided experiences generally involve instructing the user to "be aware", "act" and/or "reflect." [0073] the guided experience involves deep breathing, closing one's eyes, visualization, meditation, smelling a scent, viewing an image, performing body movements, listening to music, writing thoughts or feelings on a fixed medium, typing thoughts or feelings on a keyboard, or speaking thoughts or feelings aloud. [0083] guided experience focusing on a specific intention, the "Worry to Action" guided experience, which focuses on the intention of courage. Here, the user is encouraged to shift from worry into action.).
Regarding claim 20, Dowdell in view of Block discloses the method of claim 11 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a method, comprising:
a social community feature that enables users to: connect with like-minded individuals pursuing personal growth; share experiences, insights, and support within the app's secure community environment; and participate in group challenges and accountability programs to foster motivation and consistency in personal development practices (See Dowdell [0085] the system allows the user to share his or her experiences with the personal growth system with others and to incorporate guided experiences and rituals more fully into his or her life. This feature is understood to enable the user to perform all the actions listed in the claim).
Claims 12, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowdell et al. (U.S. 2012/0084180), hereinafter “Dowdell,” in view of Block et al. (U.S. 2007/0282786), hereinafter “Block,” and further in view of Taylor et al. (U.S. 2025/0288773), hereinafter “Taylor.”
Regarding claim 12, Dowdell in view of Block discloses the method of claim 11 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a method, wherein:
the gratitude journal further comprises: a printable electronic format for users to download and print physical copies of their reflections and gratitude entries (See Dowdell [0011] The personal growth system may generate and display in the display area a prompt that encourages a user to create a journal entry. [0089]-[0090] the system can include gratitude journalling cards. [0042] the system includes the use of networking for data exchange across multiple devices. [0052] output generated by the system can include output to a printer.).
Dowdell does not disclose:
an AI-based analysis feature that processes user entries to provide personalized insights and recommendations for enhancing the user's gratitude practice.
Taylor teaches:
an AI-based analysis feature that processes user entries to provide personalized insights and recommendations for enhancing the user's gratitude practice (See Taylor [0018] leverages cutting-edge artificial intelligence (AI) to revolutionize wellness experiences, offering users personalized content that adapts to their unique lifestyle and wellness goals.).
The system of Taylor is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the user experience in a wellness, mental health, meditation, relaxation or guided visualization context. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell to include the elements taught by Taylor. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in order to encompass a multidimensional approach that integrates various aspects of life (see Taylor [0006]).
Regarding claim 14, Dowdell in view of Block discloses the method of claim 11 as discussed above. Dowdell further discloses a method, wherein:
the daily motivational push notifications (See Dowdell [0054] scheduling program may facilitate scheduling future guided experiences. See also Fig. 14 and [0084].) are generated using [a system] that analyzes user interaction data, personal preferences, and behavioral patterns to deliver highly relevant and impactful motivational content (See Dowdell [0052] the output of the system can include the perceived result of user actions recommended by the system. [0071] the guided experience options are informed by the user's growth interaction history. See also [0045].).
Dowdell does not disclose:
[the system is] an AI-driven personalization system.
Taylor teaches:
[the system is] an AI-driven personalization system (See Taylor [0018] leverages cutting-edge artificial intelligence (AI) to revolutionize wellness experiences, offering users personalized content that adapts to their unique lifestyle and wellness goals.).
The system of Taylor is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the user experience in a wellness, mental health, meditation, relaxation or guided visualization context. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell to include the elements taught by Taylor. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in order to encompass a multidimensional approach that integrates various aspects of life (see Taylor [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Dowdell in view of Block discloses the method of claim 11 as discussed above. Dowdell does not further disclose a method, wherein:
the guided meditation sessions incorporate therapeutic hypnosis techniques, such as positive suggestion and visualization, to facilitate deeper relaxation and personal transformation.
Taylor teaches:
the guided meditation sessions incorporate therapeutic hypnosis techniques, such as positive suggestion and visualization, to facilitate deeper relaxation and personal transformation (See Taylor [0296] the sessions are created with the help of a hypnotherapist. [0303] the hypnotherapist helps in the development of unique features within the system, such as personalized hypnotherapy sessions or guided transformations. [0114] system is aimed at helping the individual achieve their goal, whether it is quitting smoking, overcoming anxiety, improving sleep, or any other emotional, physical, or behavioral association that they are looking to change.).
The system of Taylor is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the user experience in a wellness, mental health, meditation, relaxation or guided visualization context. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell to include the elements taught by Taylor. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in order to encompass a multidimensional approach that integrates various aspects of life (see Taylor [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, Dowdell in view of Block discloses the method of claim 11 as discussed above. Dowdell does not further disclose a method, comprising:
a sound therapy module that offers a variety of healing frequencies and soothing soundscapes, each tailored to specific user needs comprising improved sleep, reduced anxiety, and enhanced focus.
Taylor teaches:
a sound therapy module that offers a variety of healing frequencies and soothing soundscapes, each tailored to specific user needs comprising improved sleep, reduced anxiety, and enhanced focus (See Taylor [0177] the system can use binaural beats or isochronic tones for enhanced mental states. [0114] system is aimed at helping the individual achieve their goal, whether it is quitting smoking, overcoming anxiety, improving sleep, or any other emotional, physical, or behavioral association that they are looking to change.).
The system of Taylor is applicable to the disclosure of Dowdell as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the user experience in a wellness, mental health, meditation, relaxation or guided visualization context. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowdell to include the elements taught by Taylor. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dowdell in order to encompass a multidimensional approach that integrates various aspects of life (see Taylor [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sullivan (U.S. 20200303056) teaches a system and method for improving the emotional mindset of the user.
/B.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684