DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending in this office action.
Claims 1,11 and 12 are amended.
Claims 13-20 are new added claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument:
Maekawa does not select a subset of function call parts for analysis based on function writes to or reads from an operation target resource. Maekawa's analysis concerns whether variable values satisfy an attack execution condition, not whether a function performs a write operation or a read operation on a resource such as a file or a socket. To the extent the Office asserts that Maekawa's value-storing and value-referencing operations on a virtual memory map correspond to write and read operations, Applicant respectfully submits that these are records produced by the analysis rather than a criterion governing which parts are analyzed.
Examiner’s response:
The issue in the argument is that Maekawa does not select function/operation based on read or write into resources. Im Maekawa disclosure there are a et of routes, and among that set a single route is selected, and within tat selected route a branch is identified: branch as deviation of operation to another operation or function. Within that branch a condition statement is a key to deviating. In order to deviate: ACCESS to the variable is needed, that’s read from the resource in order for the next operation to continue execution.
[0080] “The notification of the fact that there is a branch caused by the variable or the like, the name of the variable or the like, and the actual value range information may be referred to as notification F. The actual value range information is information derived from the range of the variable such that the branch condition is the branch result.”;
[0101] “By allocating the virtual addresses before and after the reserved virtual address with the null flag to be recognizable, when there is an access to a virtual address that deviates from the virtual address associated with the variable or the like, the determination of the deviated virtual address can be made.
Accessing a variable/branch condition is read/write to the resource of the operation and while connecting the calls in a call graph that’s a source/destination based on the established flow:
[0043]” Information of procedure and processing to be followed as a processing flow in a source code of an evaluation target program or program information such as a control flow graph.
Not all the route or the flow is analyzed but specific branch or route where the vulnerability is positioned:
[0133] However, in the vulnerability analyzer 1000 according to the present embodiment, since the vulnerability is confirmed for the route between the attack determination position and the start position, this allows to exclude the route on the flow including the program processing of an evaluation target that does not need to be confirmed. As a result, an efficient vulnerability evaluation means without a great waste of calculation resources and calculation time can be provided”
[0161]“In other words, an efficient analysis means can be provided since the analysis can be performed as excluding a route that does not reach the attack determination position and does not need to be confirmed”.
Applicant’s argument:
Chari does not teach or suggest narrowing down analysis target parts from function call parts based on whether a function writes to or reads from an operation target resource. Chari's analysis concerns whether a path is anomalous relative to learned normal behavior, not whether a function performs a write operation or a read operation on a particular resource.
Examiner’s response:
Chari discloses:
[0067] The control flow graph 401 comprises nodes and edges, wherein the nodes of the control flow graph represent functions or instructions, and the edges thereof represent calls, or the like. Thus, an edge in the call flow graph may represent caller and callee, together with a value that represents a call sequence. The data flow graph 402 comprises nodes and edges, wherein the nodes of the data flow graph represent data objects, values, and the like, and the edges of the data flow graph represent variable/value pairs, or variable/value, sequence, or the like.
[0068] At step 404, and as the application program runtime executes (as depicted at 403), control flow events are logged, as are data flow events. A control flow event, for example, may be that a certain component called a certain method, whereas a data flow event, for example, may be that a given data flow resulted from a query to a particular database”,
Caller---callee is source---destination based on the operation, branch deviation and variable value.
Applicant’s argument:
For at least the reasons set forth above, the applied references, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the recited claim language. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claim 1, as being unpatentable over Maekawa in view of Chari, are respectfully requested.
Examiner’s response:
Liu s a new art used in connection with new claims 13-20 in this office action.
NB: Applicant’s representative is encouraged for an interview using the information at the bottom of this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maekawa et al US 20210117550A1 in view of Chari et al US20210133324A1
As per claim 1, Maekawa discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
[0130] “Note that a part or all of the above-described processing procedure is executed by hardware such as a digital signal processor (DSP) or an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC). However, according to the present embodiment, the case where the CPU executes the program according to the program in the ROM has been described”;
specify an operation target resource to be operated by the function:
[0006] “a variable analysis unit configured to analyze the single route information from the start position to the attack determination position, and derives actual value range information that limits a value range of an actual value from information of a branch condition and a branch result in the program information”;
[0006]“A vulnerability analyzer that evaluates whether a vulnerability of information security exists in an evaluation target program according to some embodiments, includes a single route derivation unit configured to derive single route information that maintains each process of program information in order of processing, the single route information being route information from an attack determination position where determination of existence of vulnerability of the program information is made to a start position of the program information, the single route information being information of a route derived by dividing with a branch in the program information”:
and narrow down, based on content of an operation of the function on the operation target resource, analysis target parts on which a process flow analysis is performed from the function call parts:
[0089] “The variable extraction unit 241 determines whether or not the position indicated by the attack determination position of the attack point information is reached when the single route information is being analyzed. When reaching the location indicated by the attack determination position, the variable extraction unit 241 outputs, to the notification unit 243, an attack point arrival notification indicating the fact of the attack point arrival, and specification information for specifying the single route information under analysis as a notification G”.
wherein the inspection target program includes variable definition processing for defining a variable indicating the operation target resource:
[0074]“In step S503, the variable analysis unit 240 analyzes the single route information and recognizes the description of the declaration of the variable or the like included in the single route information”;
and the at least one processor specifies the operation target resource indicated by the variable defined in the variable definition processing:
[0082] In step S507, when reaching a place indicated by the attack determination position information while analyzing the single route information, the variable analysis unit 240 notifies the vulnerability existence determination unit 230 of the fact of reaching the attack point and information for identifying the single route information being analyzed. The notification of the fact of reaching the attack point and the information for identifying the single route information being analyzed may be referred to as notification G.
the content of the operation of the function on the operation target resource indicates whether the function writes to or reads from the operation target resource.
[0101] “By allocating the virtual addresses before and after the reserved virtual address with the null flag to be recognizable, when there is an access to a virtual address that deviates from the virtual address associated with the variable or the like, the determination of the deviated virtual address can be made. The virtual memory map editing unit 252 acquires the head virtual address for each variable or the like from the virtual memory map storage unit 260, and the record editing unit 251 stores the head virtual address in the variable-or-the-like table storage unit 270”.
But not explicitly:
extract function call parts each indicating a part of an inspection target program from which a function is called:
Chari discloses:
extract function call parts each indicating a part of an inspection target program from which a function is called:
[0069] “Indeed, the differences between call graphs produced from just two runs of the application program may evidence control or data flow anomalies. By applying fuzzers or other tools, by leverage unit testing, and other such known techniques, the mining process ensures that the code is fully exercised so that the “normal” traces of call graphs are obtained.
[0070] Using supervised clustering, a training classifier, or the like, the resulting call graphs generated during these multiple traces are clustered so that the system can learn which input options/parameters yield which sub-graphs, etc. Thus, step 406 as shown determines runtime data flow edges and paths, and control flow edges and paths, as well as potentially sensitive flows”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chari into teachings of Maekawa for detecting anomalous behavior of an application program. Cloud computing can significantly reduce information technology costs and complexities while improving workload optimization and service delivery. The method also generally improves computing functioning by providing provisioning, detection, monitoring and analysis of attacks as they occur in computing systems more efficiently and without the significant overhead. [Chari 0079].
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
wherein the at least one processor extracts the function call parts based on a registration function list in which a function that may perform a sensitive operation on a system including the inspection target program if performed improperly and a function for acquiring an external input are registered in advance.
[0093]” At this time, one virtual address area is allocated before and after the area on the virtual memory map. Records of virtual addresses left before and after the allocated area on the virtual memory map are allocated with null flag information. By allocating the virtual addresses before and after the reserved virtual address with the null flag to be recognizable, when there is an access to a virtual address that deviates from the virtual address associated with the variable or the like, the determination of the deviated virtual address can be made.”;
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
wherein the at least one processor specifies the operation target resource based on an argument information list in which an argument number indicating the operation target resource is defined for each of the functions and a corresponding resource list indicating the type of the resource that corresponds to the function used in the variable definition processing:
[0111] “When the variable or the like according to the present embodiment is a variable, a variable table is used as the variable-or-the-like table. The variable table has a record having a variable name of a variable, a head virtual address, and a variable type. Further, in the virtual memory map, the same amount of memory area amount as the variable type is secured. In FIG. 7B, since the variable name of the variable is “cData” and the type of the variable is “char”, the memory area amount of 1 byte is secured. When the variable name of the variable is “cData” and the head virtual address is “0x0001”, null flags are set to the virtual addresses “0x0000” and “0x0002”;
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
wherein the at least one processor narrows down the analysis target parts using a narrowing rule regarding the content of the operation of the function on the operation target resource:
[0133] However, in the vulnerability analyzer 1000 according to the present embodiment, since the vulnerability is confirmed for the route between the attack determination position and the start position, this allows to exclude the route on the flow including the program processing of an evaluation target that does not need to be confirmed. As a result, an efficient vulnerability evaluation means without a great waste of calculation resources and calculation time can be provided”
[0161]“In other words, an efficient analysis means can be provided since the analysis can be performed as excluding a route that does not reach the attack determination position and does not need to be confirmed”.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
wherein the narrowing rule includes at least one of a rule for making the function call parts the target of the process flow analysis or a rule for excluding the function call parts from the target of the process flow analysis:
[0161]“In other words, an efficient analysis means can be provided since the analysis can be performed as excluding a route that does not reach the attack determination position and does not need to be confirmed”.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
wherein the at least one processor narrows down the analysis target parts further based on resource identification information for identifying the operation target resource
[0008]“The input variable information may be variable information including a variable which is used by the evaluation target program to maintain information input from outside of the program, and the variable information may be information including a variable, a direct address value in a memory, a union, a structure, and an array”;
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one processor narrows down the analysis target parts in accordance with a level of confidentiality of the operation target resource indicated by the resource identification information.
Chari discloses:
wherein the at least one processor narrows down the analysis target parts in accordance with a level of confidentiality of the operation target resource indicated by the resource identification information:
[0063]“As will be seen, such training leads to development of a baseline “provenance” graph, which is evaluated to determine “sensitive” control or data flows for the application in its “normal” operation. This basic process is then enhanced by analyzing log data collected during runtime execution of the application program against one or more security, compliance or other policies to assign a set of confidence values to the control and data flows that are depicted in the baseline provenance graph”;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chari into teachings of Maekawa for detecting anomalous behavior of an application program. Cloud computing can significantly reduce information technology costs and complexities while improving workload optimization and service delivery. The method also generally improve computing functioning by providing provisioning, detection, monitoring and analysis of attacks as they occur in computing systems more efficiently and without the significant overhead. [Chari 0079].
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
wherein the at least one processor further performs an analysis on a process flow having the analysis target part narrowed down in the narrowing of the analysis target parts as a starting point or an end point
[0061] “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of the single route derivation unit 100. The single route derivation unit 100 has function to read program information, analyze the program information, generate all pieces of single route information, which is a route from an attack determination position to a start position and is a route that is derived by being divided by branches in the program information, and maintain the information”;
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
perform an analysis on a process flow having the function call part extracted in the extraction of the function call part as a starting point or an end point:
[0061] “analyze the program information, generate all pieces of single route information, which is a route from an attack determination position to a start position and is a route that is derived by being divided by branches in the program information, and maintain the information”;
[0160] The program information of the vulnerability analyzer 1000 according to an eighth aspect of the disclosure is information including a processing logic and a procedure of a function realized by a program including a program source code or a control flow graph”.
specify a process flow that may include a fraudulent function:
[0083] Through the notification G, the vulnerability existence determination unit 230 can recognize that the process has reached a position where the vulnerability can be determined in the program flow in the single route information. Further, the vulnerability existence determination unit 230 can recognize that the preparation for determining the vulnerability has been completed in the single route information.
and narrow down the analysis target parts from the function call parts further based on the process flow that may include the fraudulent function.
[0133]” However, in the vulnerability analyzer 1000 according to the present embodiment, since the vulnerability is confirmed for the route between the attack determination position and the start position, this allows to exclude the route on the flow including the program processing of an evaluation target that does not need to be confirmed. As a result, an efficient vulnerability evaluation means without a great waste of calculation resources and calculation time can be provided”;
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
wherein the at least one processor further notifies the user of a result of the analysis.
[0101]“ The single route information specification information, the limited input actual value information, and the fact that vulnerability exists, which are included in the notification G notified from the variable analysis unit 240, are output as the analysis result regarding the single route information”;
Claim 11 is the method claim corresponding to apparatus claim 1 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 12 is the non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to apparatus claim 1 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 1 above.
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one processor identifies, for each of the extracted function call parts, a target argument to which the variable indicating the operation target resource is given, based on the argument information list.
Chari discloses:
wherein the at least one processor identifies, for each of the extracted function call parts, a target argument to which the variable indicating the operation target resource is given, based on the argument information list.
[0067] “Thus, an edge in the call flow graph may represent caller and callee, together with a value that represents a call sequence. The data flow graph 402 comprises nodes and edges, wherein the nodes of the data flow graph represent data objects, values, and the like, and the edges of the data flow graph represent variable/value pairs, or variable/value, sequence, or the like”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chari into teachings of Maekawa for detecting anomalous behavior of an application program. Cloud computing can significantly reduce information technology costs and complexities while improving workload optimization and service delivery. The method also generally improves computing functioning by providing provisioning, detection, monitoring and analysis of attacks as they occur in computing systems more efficiently and without the significant overhead. [Chari 0079].
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the resource identification information includes at least one of a path, a file name, a socket name, or a process name indicating the operation target resource.
Chari discloses:
wherein the resource identification information includes at least one of a path, a file name, a socket name, or a process name indicating the operation target resource.
[0088] “The technique of this disclosure provides significant advantages. Using basic instrumentation and data collection, the system is readily trained about normal versus anomalous paths, and sensitive paths versus non-sensitive paths, with respect to an application being evaluated. Based on this initial learning, the approach herein enables rapid and accurate determination of control flow or data flow anomalies in the application program as such program executes within an execution environment in which one or more security or compliance policies, such as security policies, compliance policies, and the like, are desired or needed to be enforced”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chari into teachings of Maekawa for detecting anomalous behavior of an application program. Cloud computing can significantly reduce information technology costs and complexities while improving workload optimization and service delivery. The method also generally improves computing functioning by providing provisioning, detection, monitoring and analysis of attacks as they occur in computing systems more efficiently and without the significant overhead. [Chari 0079].
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim10 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
wherein the result of the analysis includes information indicating the operation target resource.
[0101]” The single route information specification information, the limited input actual value information, and the fact that vulnerability exists, which are included in the notification G notified from the variable analysis unit 240, are output as the analysis result regarding the single route information.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maekawa et al US 20210117550A1 in view of Chari et al US20210133324A1 and further in view of Liu et al US 20200220894 A1.
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one processor tracks propagation of the variable given to the target argument to specify the variable definition processing that defines the variable.
Liu discloses:
wherein the at least one processor tracks propagation of the variable given to the target argument to specify the variable definition processing that defines the variable.
[0028] “The path graph is used to determine those parts of the source code to which a particular value assigned to an object/variable might propagate. The processor 110 then identifies at least one tainted paths by enabling a plurality of vulnerability rules. The term “tainted” used herein refers to data that contains at least some data from an external source that is considered to be untrusted and propagates through, for example, some object/variable assignments to a destination. “;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Liu into teachings of Maekawa and Chari to mitigate various security vulnerabilities. Processor then identifies at least one tainted path, by enabling a plurality of vulnerability rules. The path graph is used to determine those parts of the source code to which a particular value assigned to an object/variable might propagate by allowing stakeholders to not to deploy the applications they may have potential security issues. [Liu 0005]
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the corresponding resource list associates a function used in the variable definition processing with a type of the operation target resource, and the at least one processor specifies the type of the operation target resource based on the corresponding resource list.
Liu discloses:
wherein the corresponding resource list associates a function used in the variable definition processing with a type of the operation target resource, and the at least one processor specifies the type of the operation target resource based on the corresponding resource list.
[0029] Next, the processor 110 determines if the at least one vulnerability is mitigable (Step S207). The at least one vulnerability may be associated with a node on a single tainted path or a node which is an intersection of multiple tainted paths. Therefore, the processor 110 may need to locate the exact position where the sanitization method may be placed so that the determined at least one vulnerability may be mitigated automatically in a precise manner (Step S209).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Liu into teachings of Maekawa and Chari to mitigate various security vulnerabilities. Processor then identifies at least one tainted path, by enabling a plurality of vulnerability rules. The path graph is used to determine those parts of the source code to which a particular value assigned to an object/variable might propagate by allowing stakeholders to not to deploy the applications they may have potential security issues. [Liu 0005]
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one processor associates, for each of the extracted function call parts, the specified type of the operation target resource and the content of the operation performed by the function on the operation target resource.
Chari discloses:
wherein the at least one processor associates, for each of the extracted function call parts, the specified type of the operation target resource and the content of the operation performed by the function on the operation target resource.
[0071] “The machine learning that determines whether a program execution behavior is normal or anomalous is based on the data flow paths and the control paths the program takes in runtime. Whether a given anomalous behavior has a security risk is dependent on whether the information processed/generated and the computation units involved in that anomaly are known, determined or learned as sensitive. As the system learns that such information and computation units are part of a behavior and are indeed sensitive, it can tag the affected paths or flows to present a higher risk.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chari into teachings of Maekawa and Liu for detecting anomalous behavior of an application program. Cloud computing can significantly reduce information technology costs and complexities while improving workload optimization and service delivery. The method also generally improves computing functioning by providing provisioning, detection, monitoring and analysis of attacks as they occur in computing systems more efficiently and without the significant overhead. [Chari 0079].
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one processor generates a resource specifying function list in which a function name, whether the function is a source function or a sink function, an address of the function call part, the specified operation target resource, and the content of the operation are associated with one another.
Liu discloses:
wherein the at least one processor generates a resource specifying function list in which a function name, whether the function is a source function or a sink function, an address of the function call part, the specified operation target resource, and the content of the operation are associated with one another.
[0028] “To be more specific, after the processor 110 obtains the source code of an application, it may compile the source code and builds a path graph according to the compiled source code. Such path graph includes a plurality of paths traversing from sources to sinks, and each of the paths includes a plurality of nodes. The path graph is used to determine those parts of the source code to which a particular value assigned to an object/variable might propagate. The processor 110 then identifies at least one tainted paths by enabling a plurality of vulnerability rules. The term “tainted” used herein refers to data that contains at least some data from an external source that is considered to be untrusted and propagates through, for example, some object/variable assignments to a destination”;
Examiner examination: call graph include caller and callee and value/variable sequence between them
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Liu into teachings of Maekawa and Chari to mitigate various security vulnerabilities. Processor then identifies at least one tainted path, by enabling a plurality of vulnerability rules. The path graph is used to determine those parts of the source code to which a particular value assigned to an object/variable might propagate by allowing stakeholders to not to deploy the applications they may have potential security issues. [Liu 0005]
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated and furthermore Maekawa discloses:
the at least one processor generates an analysis target function list by selecting, from the resource specifying function list, function call parts that satisfy a narrowing rule regarding the content of the operation of the function on the operation target resource.
[0109] “When the vulnerability existence analysis unit 234 determines that the attack execution condition is satisfied,…..The vulnerability existence analysis unit 234 outputs, to an output unit 235, the single route information specification information, the limited input actual value information, and the fact that vulnerability exists, which are included in the notification G notified from the variable analysis unit 240, as the analysis result information regarding the single route information.”;
Pertinent arts:
US20120144491A1:
analyzing execution of a software program, the software program having sources returning values, sinks that perform security-sensitive operations on those returned values or modified versions of the returned values, and flows of the returned values to the sinks, the analyzing determining a first set of methods having access to a value returned from a selected one of the sources.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/BRAHIM BOURZIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2191
/WEI Y MUI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191