Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 10/11/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 91-117 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
Regarding the information disclosure statements filed on 3/13/2026, it is noted that there were eight (8) information disclosure statements filed on this date. In total, the IDS contained 134 US references, 288 foreign references and 387 NPL documents. The applicant has an obligation to call the most pertinent prior art to the attention of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office in a proper fashion. Burying one reference in one hundred other IDS references is like citing nothing. PENN YAN BOATS, INC. v. SEA LARK BOATS, INC., et. al. 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972). Golden Valley Microwave Foods, Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co. Inc., 24 USPQ2d 1801 (U.S. District Court Northern District of Indiana, July 22, 1992), Molins PLC v. Textron, Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 1184, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995). In the instant case, the Examiner has considered the US references, the 288 foreign references, in full, and the titles of the NPL documents recited on the IDS. Accordingly, all IDS have been considered except where lined through.
Specification
The use of the term ITP-PAQTM , which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 96, 99-101 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 99-101, the claims recite numerous acronyms without previous setting forth what the acronyms meaning.
Regarding claim 96, claim 96 recites “… within 12 weeks of initiating rilzabrutinib treatment”. While it is recognized that the compound recited in claim 92 is in fact commonly referred to as rilzabritunib, it is suggested that Applicants incorporate this language into claim 92.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claims 91 and 92 are directed towards methods of treating immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) in a human patient with persistent or chronic ITP in need thereof comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of at least one compound chosen from (R)-2-[3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxy-phenyl)pyrazolo [3,4-d]pyrimidin- 1-yl]piperidine-1-carbonyl]-4-methyl-4-[4-(oxetan-3-yl)piperazin-1-yl]pent-2-enenitrile. In view of the specification, as originally filed, the compound is also known as PRN1008 and rilzabrutinib (paragraph 0018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 91-117 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuter et al. (Blood 2021; 138:1010-1012, IDS).
Kuter et al discuss a phase III study, referred to as LUNA3, evaluating the safety and efficacy of rilzabrutinib vs. placebo with open label extension in adult and adolescent patients with persistent or chronic ITP (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to the patients, Kuter et al. discuss that eligible patients must have primary ITP for >6 months if aged 12-17 years or >3 months if aged ≥18 years and an average of 2 platelet counts < 30 x 109/L (no single count > 35 x 109/L) within 2 weeks prior to the study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods). Additionally, Kuter et al. teach that patients should have a previous response (platelet count ≥ 50 x 109/L) to corticosteroids or intravenous immunoglobulin/anti-D that was insufficient or not sustained, or documented intolerance or insufficient response to any appropriate courses of standard of care ITP therapy (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to rilzabrutinib, Kuter et al. teach that patients receive 400 mg of rilzabrutinib twice daily (bid) for up to 24 weeks, followed by open-label treatment for 28 weeks, and then a 4-week safety follow up (page 310, Study Design and Methods and figure 1). Kuter et al. further teach that concomitant stable doses of ITP medication (corticosteroids and/or thrombopoietin receptor agonists) are permitted if they were maintained for ≥ 2 weeks prior to study day 1 and patients whom receive rescue medication are allowed to continue study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods). Lastly, Kuter et al. teach that the primary endpoint is the achievement of platelet counts ≥ 50 x 109/L for ≥ 8 of the last 12 weeks of the 24-week blinded treatment period in the absence of rescue medication (page 310, Study Design and Methods).
Regarding claims 93-98 and claims 115-117, the claims appear to be directed to platelet counts at certain times during the treatment cycle. The claims do not require an active step of actually measuring platelet counts. The platelet count appears to be a property of the administration of the rilzabrutinib. A review of the specification appears to teach the same clinical trial referred to as LUNA3 which treats the same patient population, administers the same compound in the same amount amounts 2x a day and runs for the same amount of time (see specification, Example 1). As such, it is reasonable to assume that the claimed results would also be present in the study discussed by Kuter et al. Applicants are reminded that There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (rejecting the contention that inherent anticipation requires recognition by a person of ordinary skill in the art before the critical date and allowing expert testimony with respect to post-critical date clinical trials to show inherency); see also Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention.");
Claim(s) 91-96, 98-113 and 115-117 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Principia Biopharma INC (WO2021076514A1, 2021-04-22, IDS) referred to herein as Principia.
Principia teaches a method for treating immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) in a human patient in need thereof comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of at least one compound chosen from (R)-2-[3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxy- phenyl)pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimi din-1 -yl] piperidine- 1 -carbonyl]-4-methyl-4-[4-(oxetan-3- yl)piperazin-l-yl]pent-2-enenitrile (PRN1008) and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof once a day or twice a day for a treatment period, wherein the human patient has at least one characteristic chosen from: an average plasma count of from 3,000/pL to 33,000/pL for a most recent platelet count prior to the start of the treatment period, a second most recent platelet count prior to the start of the treatment period, and a platelet count on the first day of the treatment period; a history of taking at least 4 prior ITP therapies prior to the start of the treatment period; and splenectomy prior to the start of the treatment period (claim 1). Moreover, Principia teaches that the patients has primary ITP, secondary ITP, chronic ITP, relapsing ITP or relapsing ITP (Claims 29-33). Regarding the 4 prior ITP therapies, Principia teaches that the at least 4 prior ITP therapies are chosen from corticosteroids, thrombopoietin receptor agonists, intravenous immunoglobulin, anti-D immunoglobulin, and rituximab (claim 38). With regards to the treatment period, Principia teaches that the treatment period is at least 168 days, e.g. 24 weeks (claim 42). With regards to the therapeutically effective amount, Principia teaches that the therapeutically effective amount is 400 mg twice a day, wherein the compound is administered orally in the form of a tablet with a glass of water (claims 43, 45, 54-56). With regards to the compound, Principia teaches that the (E) or (Z) isomer or a racemic mixture thereof (claims 51-53). With regards to the patients, Principia teaches that the age of the patients range from 18 years to 80 years (page 6, 5th paragraph). Moreover, Principia teaches that the compound is administered as either monotherapy or in combination with at least one concominant ITP therapy such as corticosteroids, eltrombopag, romiplostim or thrombopoietin receptor agonists (claims 47-50).
Regarding claims 93-98 and claims 115-117, the claims appear to be directed to platelet counts at certain times during the treatment cycle. The claims do not require an active step of actually measuring platelet counts. The platelet count appears to be a property of the administration of the rilzabrutinib. A review of the specification appears to teach a clinical trial referred to as LUNA3 which treats the same patient population, administers the same compound in the same amount amounts 2x a day and runs for at least 24 weeks (see specification, Example 1). As such, it is reasonable to assume that the claimed results would also be present in teachings of Principia. Applicants are reminded that There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (rejecting the contention that inherent anticipation requires recognition by a person of ordinary skill in the art before the critical date and allowing expert testimony with respect to post-critical date clinical trials to show inherency); see also Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention.");
Claim(s) 91-96, 98-105, 107-113, 115 and 117 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Daak et al. (US20250255874A1, 2025-08-14) .
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The PGPub teaches a method for treating immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) in a human patient in need thereof who has not received prior treatment with a thrombopoietin receptor agonist (TPO-RA) or rituximab comprising administering to the human patient who has not received prior treatment with a TPO-RA or rituximab a therapeutically effective amount of at least one compound chosen from (R)-2-[3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxy-phenyl)pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-1-yl]piperidine-1-carbonyl]-4-methyl-4-[4-(oxetan-3-yl)piperazin-1-yl]pent-2-enenitrile and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof twice a day for a treatment period, wherein the human patient in need thereof has at least one characteristic chosen from:
a. a platelet count of count <33,000/μL on two occasions no less than 7 days apart in the 15 days prior to beginning study treatment; and
b. a history of response (two or more platelet counts ≥50,000/μL with an increase of ≥20,000/μL) to at least one prior line of therapy, wherein the patient has a history of taking at least 1 to 4 ITP therapies prior to the start of the treatment period or had a splenectomy prior to the start of treatment or has a history of taking at least one TPO-RA such as rTPO, romiplostim, eltrombopag, and avatrombopaprior to the start of the treatment or has a history of response to at least one prior line of therapy, wherein at least one prior therapy is chosen from a splenectomy, intravenous immunoglobin (IVIG), corticosteroids, anti-D immunoglobulin therapy, and immunosuppressive drugs, wherein the patient has primary ITP, secondary ITP, chronic ITP, persistent ITP, chronic ITP, relapsing ITP or refractory ITP, the treatment cycle is 169 days (24 weeks and a day), the compound is administered at a dose of 400 mg twice a day orally as a tablet with water and the compound is the (E) or (Z) isomer or a racemic mixture thereof (see claims 1-59). The publication further provides a study assessing the activity of rilzabrutinib in patients with relapsed/refractory immune thrombocytopenia, wherein the patients were aged 18-80 years old (paragraph 0223).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 97 and 114 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Principia Biopharma INC (WO2021076514A1, 2021-04-22, IDS) referred to herein as Principia, as applied to claims 91-96, 98-113 and 115-117 above, in view of Kuter et al. (Blood 2021; 138:1010-1012, IDS).
The teachings of Principia have been described above and incorporated herein. In short, Principia teaches a method for treating immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) in a human patient in need thereof comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of at least one compound chosen from (R)-2-[3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxy- phenyl)pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimi din-1 -yl] piperidine- 1 -carbonyl]-4-methyl-4-[4-(oxetan-3- yl)piperazin-l-yl]pent-2-enenitrile (PRN1008) and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof once a day or twice a day for a treatment period, wherein the human patient has at least one characteristic chosen from: an average plasma count of from 3,000/pL to 33,000/pL for a most recent platelet count prior to the start of the treatment period, a second most recent platelet count prior to the start of the treatment period, and a platelet count on the first day of the treatment period; a history of taking at least 4 prior ITP therapies prior to the start of the treatment period; and splenectomy prior to the start of the treatment period (claim 1).
While Principia teaches that the patient population is 18 years to 80 years and the duration is 24 week, Principia does not specifically teach that the patients are < 18 years old at the duration is at least 53 weeks.
Kuter et al discuss a phase III study, referred to as LUNA3, evaluating the safety and efficacy of rilzabrutinib vs. placebo with open label extension in adult and adolescent patients with persistent or chronic ITP (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to the patients, Kuter et al. discuss that eligible patients must have primary ITP for >6 months if aged 12-17 years or >3 months if aged ≥18 years and an average of 2 platelet counts < 30 x 109/L (no single count > 35 x 109/L) within 2 weeks prior to the study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods). Additionally, Kuter et al. teach that patients should have a previous response (platelet count ≥ 50 x 109/L) to corticosteroids or intravenous immunoglobulin/anti-D that was insufficient or not sustained, or documented intolerance or insufficient response to any appropriate courses of standard of care ITP therapy (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to rilzabrutinib, Kuter et al. teach that patients receive 400 mg of rilzabrutinib twice daily (bid) for up to 24 weeks, followed by open-label treatment for 28 weeks, and then a 4-week safety follow up (page 310, Study Design and Methods and figure 1). Kuter et al. further teach that concomitant stable doses of ITP medication (corticosteroids and/or thrombopoietin receptor agonists) are permitted if they were maintained for ≥ 2 weeks prior to study day 1 and patients whom receive rescue medication are allowed to continue study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Principia to include patients less than 18 years old and extend the treatment duration to at least 53 weeks in view of the teachings of Kuter et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modificatoin, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Kuter et al. teaches including this patient population and a 28week open label treatment following the 24 week study.
Claims 97, 106, 114 and 116 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Daak et al. (US20250255874A1, 2025-08-14), as applied to claims 91-96, 98-105, 107-113, 115 and 117 above, in view of Kuter et al. (Blood 2021; 138:1010-1012, IDS)..
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
The PGPub teaches a method for treating immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) in a human patient in need thereof who has not received prior treatment with a thrombopoietin receptor agonist (TPO-RA) or rituximab comprising administering to the human patient who has not received prior treatment with a TPO-RA or rituximab a therapeutically effective amount of at least one compound chosen from (R)-2-[3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxy-phenyl)pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-1-yl]piperidine-1-carbonyl]-4-methyl-4-[4-(oxetan-3-yl)piperazin-1-yl]pent-2-enenitrile and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof twice a day for a treatment period, wherein the human patient in need thereof has at least one characteristic chosen from:
a. a platelet count of count <33,000/μL on two occasions no less than 7 days apart in the 15 days prior to beginning study treatment; and
b. a history of response (two or more platelet counts ≥50,000/μL with an increase of ≥20,000/μL) to at least one prior line of therapy, wherein the patient has a history of taking at least 1 to 4 ITP therapies prior to the start of the treatment period or had a splenectomy prior to the start of treatment or has a history of taking at least one TPO-RA such as rTPO, romiplostim, eltrombopag, and avatrombopaprior to the start of the treatment or has a history of response to at least one prior line of therapy, wherein at least one prior therapy is chosen from a splenectomy, intravenous immunoglobin (IVIG), corticosteroids, anti-D immunoglobulin therapy, and immunosuppressive drugs, wherein the patient has primary ITP, secondary ITP, chronic ITP, persistent ITP, chronic ITP, relapsing ITP or refractory ITP, the treatment cycle is 169 days (24 weeks and a day), the compound is administered at a dose of 400 mg twice a day orally as a tablet with water and the compound is the (E) or (Z) isomer or a racemic mixture thereof (see claims 1-59). The publication further provides a study assessing the activity of rilzabrutinib in patients with relapsed/refractory immune thrombocytopenia, wherein the patients were aged 18-80 years old (paragraph 0223).
While the publication teaches that the patient population is 18 years to 80 years and the duration is at least 24 weeks, the publicatoin does not specifically teach that the patients are < 18 years old at the duration is at least 53 weeks.
Kuter et al discuss a phase III study, referred to as LUNA3, evaluating the safety and efficacy of rilzabrutinib vs. placebo with open label extension in adult and adolescent patients with persistent or chronic ITP (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to the patients, Kuter et al. discuss that eligible patients must have primary ITP for >6 months if aged 12-17 years or >3 months if aged ≥18 years and an average of 2 platelet counts < 30 x 109/L (no single count > 35 x 109/L) within 2 weeks prior to the study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods). Additionally, Kuter et al. teach that patients should have a previous response (platelet count ≥ 50 x 109/L) to corticosteroids or intravenous immunoglobulin/anti-D that was insufficient or not sustained, or documented intolerance or insufficient response to any appropriate courses of standard of care ITP therapy (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to rilzabrutinib, Kuter et al. teach that patients receive 400 mg of rilzabrutinib twice daily (bid) for up to 24 weeks, followed by open-label treatment for 28 weeks, and then a 4-week safety follow up (page 310, Study Design and Methods and figure 1). Kuter et al. further teach that concomitant stable doses of ITP medication (corticosteroids and/or thrombopoietin receptor agonists) are permitted if they were maintained for ≥ 2 weeks prior to study day 1 and patients whom receive rescue medication are allowed to continue study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by the PGPub to include patients less than 18 years old and extend the treatment duration to at least 53 weeks in view of the teachings of Kuter et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modificatoin, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Kuter et al. teaches including this patient population and a 28week open label treatment following the 24 week study.
Double Patenting
Claims 91-93, 99-104, 107, 109-113, 115 and 117 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-91-96, 98-113 and 115-117 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,818B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting patent claims A method for achieving a platelet count of at least 50,000/μL in a human patient with immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) in need thereof comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of at least one compound chosen from (R)-2-[3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxy-phenyl)pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-1-yl]piperidine-1-carbonyl]-4-methyl-4-[4-(oxetan-3-yl)piperazin-1-yl]pent-2-enenitrile and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, once a day or twice a day for a treatment period, wherein the human patient has been identified as having a platelet count of less than 30,000/μL for two or more consecutive platelet counts prior to the start of the treatment period, wherein two of the two or more platelet counts were measured no sooner than 7 days apart in the 15 days prior to the start of the treatment period, and wherein the human patient has been identified as having at least one characteristic chosen from:
a history of taking at least one prior ITP therapy prior to the start of the treatment period; and
splenectomy prior to the start of the treatment period, wherein the patient has chronic ITP, relapsing ITP or refractory ITP, 400 mg of the compound is administer twice a day, the compound is administered as a monotherapy or in combination with at least one concomitant ITP therapy such as corticosteroids, thrombopoietin receptor agonists, eltrombopag or romiplostim, the compound is the (E) or (Z) isomer or a racemic mixture and the compound is orally administered which encompasses the claimed method of the instant application.
Claims 94-99, 105-106, 108, 114 and 116 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-91-96, 98-113 and 115-117 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,818B2, as applied above to claims 91-93, 99-104, 107, 109-113, 115 and 117, in view of Kuter et al. (Blood 2021; 138:1010-1012, IDS).
US Patent No. 12,178,818 claims A method for achieving a platelet count of at least 50,000/μL in a human patient with immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) in need thereof comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of at least one compound chosen from (R)-2-[3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxy-phenyl)pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-1-yl]piperidine-1-carbonyl]-4-methyl-4-[4-(oxetan-3-yl)piperazin-1-yl]pent-2-enenitrile and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, once a day or twice a day for a treatment period, wherein the human patient has been identified as having a platelet count of less than 30,000/μL for two or more consecutive platelet counts prior to the start of the treatment period, wherein two of the two or more platelet counts were measured no sooner than 7 days apart in the 15 days prior to the start of the treatment period, and wherein the human patient has been identified as having at least one characteristic chosen from:
a history of taking at least one prior ITP therapy prior to the start of the treatment period; and
splenectomy prior to the start of the treatment period, wherein the patient has chronic ITP, relapsing ITP or refractory ITP, 400 mg of the compound is administer twice a day, the compound is administered as a monotherapy or in combination with at least one concomitant ITP therapy such as corticosteroids, thrombopoietin receptor agonists, eltrombopag or romiplostim, the compound is the (E) or (Z) isomer or a racemic mixture and the compound is orally administered and a treatment cycle of at least 28 days
The US Patent does not specifically claim a treatment schedule of at least 24 weeks or 53 weeks or that the patient is <18 or ≥18.
Kuter et al discuss a phase III study, referred to as LUNA3, evaluating the safety and efficacy of rilzabrutinib vs. placebo with open label extension in adult and adolescent patients with persistent or chronic ITP (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to the patients, Kuter et al. discuss that eligible patients must have primary ITP for >6 months if aged 12-17 years or >3 months if aged ≥18 years and an average of 2 platelet counts < 30 x 109/L (no single count > 35 x 109/L) within 2 weeks prior to the study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods). Additionally, Kuter et al. teach that patients should have a previous response (platelet count ≥ 50 x 109/L) to corticosteroids or intravenous immunoglobulin/anti-D that was insufficient or not sustained, or documented intolerance or insufficient response to any appropriate courses of standard of care ITP therapy (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to rilzabrutinib, Kuter et al. teach that patients receive 400 mg of rilzabrutinib twice daily (bid) for up to 24 weeks, followed by open-label treatment for 28 weeks, and then a 4-week safety follow up (page 310, Study Design and Methods and figure 1). Kuter et al. further teach that concomitant stable doses of ITP medication (corticosteroids and/or thrombopoietin receptor agonists) are permitted if they were maintained for ≥ 2 weeks prior to study day 1 and patients whom receive rescue medication are allowed to continue study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method claimed by the US Patent to include patients less than 18 years old or older than 18 and extend the treatment duration to at least 53 weeks in view of the teachings of Kuter et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Kuter et al. teaches including this patient population and a 28 week open label treatment following a 24 week study.
Claims 91-96, 98-104, 107-113, 115 and 117 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over as least claims 1-59 of copending Application No. 19/194,148 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting application claims A method for treating immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) in a human patient in need thereof who has not received prior treatment with a thrombopoietin receptor agonist (TPO-RA) or rituximab comprising administering to the human patient who has not received prior treatment with a TPO-RA or rituximab a therapeutically effective amount of at least one compound chosen from (R)-2-[3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxy-phenyl)pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-1-yl]piperidine-1-carbonyl]-4-methyl-4-[4-(oxetan-3-yl)piperazin-1-yl]pent-2-enenitrile and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof twice a day for a treatment period, wherein the human patient in need thereof has at least one characteristic chosen from:
a. a platelet count of count <33,000/μL on two occasions no less than 7 days apart in the 15 days prior to beginning study treatment; and
b. a history of response (two or more platelet counts ≥50,000/μL with an increase of ≥20,000/μL) to at least one prior line of therapy, wherein the patient has a history of taking at least 1 to 4 ITP therapies prior to the start of the treatment period or had a splenectomy prior to the start of treatment or has a history of taking at least one TPO-RA such as rTPO, romiplostim, eltrombopag, and avatrombopaprior to the start of the treatment or has a history of response to at least one prior line of therapy, wherein at least one prior therapy is chosen from a splenectomy, intravenous immunoglobin (IVIG), corticosteroids, anti-D immunoglobulin therapy, and immunosuppressive drugs, wherein the patient has primary ITP, secondary ITP, chronic ITP, persistent ITP, chronic ITP, relapsing ITP or refractory ITP, the treatment cycle is 169 days (24 weeks and a day), the compound is administered at a dose of 400 mg twice a day orally as a tablet with water and the compound is the (E) or (Z) isomer or a racemic mixture thereof which encompass the claims of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 97, 105-106, 114 and 116 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-59 of copending Application No. 19/194,148, as applied above to claims 91-96, 98-104, 107-113, 115 and 117, in view of Kuter et al. (Blood 2021; 138:1010-1012, IDS).
The ‘148 application claims A method for treating immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) in a human patient in need thereof who has not received prior treatment with a thrombopoietin receptor agonist (TPO-RA) or rituximab comprising administering to the human patient who has not received prior treatment with a TPO-RA or rituximab a therapeutically effective amount of at least one compound chosen from (R)-2-[3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxy-phenyl)pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-1-yl]piperidine-1-carbonyl]-4-methyl-4-[4-(oxetan-3-yl)piperazin-1-yl]pent-2-enenitrile and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof twice a day for a treatment period, wherein the human patient in need thereof has at least one characteristic chosen from:
a. a platelet count of count <33,000/μL on two occasions no less than 7 days apart in the 15 days prior to beginning study treatment; and
b. a history of response (two or more platelet counts ≥50,000/μL with an increase of ≥20,000/μL) to at least one prior line of therapy, wherein the patient has a history of taking at least 1 to 4 ITP therapies prior to the start of the treatment period or had a splenectomy prior to the start of treatment or has a history of taking at least one TPO-RA such as rTPO, romiplostim, eltrombopag, and avatrombopaprior to the start of the treatment or has a history of response to at least one prior line of therapy, wherein at least one prior therapy is chosen from a splenectomy, intravenous immunoglobin (IVIG), corticosteroids, anti-D immunoglobulin therapy, and immunosuppressive drugs, wherein the patient has primary ITP, secondary ITP, chronic ITP, persistent ITP, chronic ITP, relapsing ITP or refractory ITP, the treatment cycle is 169 days (24 weeks and a day), the compound is administered at a dose of 400 mg twice a day orally as a tablet with water and the compound is the (E) or (Z) isomer or a racemic mixture thereof which encompass the claims of the instant application.
The ‘148 application does not specifically claim a treatment schedule of at least 53 weeks or that the patient is <18 or ≥18 years of age.
Kuter et al discuss a phase III study, referred to as LUNA3, evaluating the safety and efficacy of rilzabrutinib vs. placebo with open label extension in adult and adolescent patients with persistent or chronic ITP (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to the patients, Kuter et al. discuss that eligible patients must have primary ITP for >6 months if aged 12-17 years or >3 months if aged ≥18 years and an average of 2 platelet counts < 30 x 109/L (no single count > 35 x 109/L) within 2 weeks prior to the study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods). Additionally, Kuter et al. teach that patients should have a previous response (platelet count ≥ 50 x 109/L) to corticosteroids or intravenous immunoglobulin/anti-D that was insufficient or not sustained, or documented intolerance or insufficient response to any appropriate courses of standard of care ITP therapy (page 310, Study Design and Methods). With regards to rilzabrutinib, Kuter et al. teach that patients receive 400 mg of rilzabrutinib twice daily (bid) for up to 24 weeks, followed by open-label treatment for 28 weeks, and then a 4-week safety follow up (page 310, Study Design and Methods and figure 1). Kuter et al. further teach that concomitant stable doses of ITP medication (corticosteroids and/or thrombopoietin receptor agonists) are permitted if they were maintained for ≥ 2 weeks prior to study day 1 and patients whom receive rescue medication are allowed to continue study treatment (page 310, Study Design and Methods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method claimed by the ‘148 application to include patients less than 18 years old or older than 18 and extend the treatment duration to at least 53 weeks in view of the teachings of Kuter et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Kuter et al. teaches including this patient population and a 28 week open label treatment following a 24 week study.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ClinicalTrials.gov ID NCT04562766 (Study to Evaluate Rilzabrutinib in Adults and Adolescents with Persistent or Chronic Immune Thrombocytopenia (ITP) (LUNA 3), V16, 2022-05-16).
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626