Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are pending. Claims 2, 11, and 17 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 10, 12, 16, 18, and 20 have been amended. The rejections are revised in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark (US 2017/0120519). Claim(s) 9, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mark (US 2017/0120519).
Regarding claim 1, Mark discloses a method for forming a thermoplastic composite component (reinforced molding, abstract), the method comprising: forming a composite sheet using an additive manufacturing assembly ([0006]), the composite sheet including a thermoplastic continuous-fiber body including a first side surface, a second side surface, and a perimeter edge (wide prepreg sheet, [0013]), the first side surface disposed opposite the second side surface (opposite sides of the sheet), the perimeter edge circumscribing the first side surface and the second side surface (radially outward most portions of the part constitute a perimeter, [0096]); applying a thermoplastic continuous-fiber perimeter band onto the perimeter edge subsequent to forming the composite sheet (preform is a substrate, concentric infill of the edge, then placement in mold and injection molding, [0087] [0096]); and applying a thermoplastic overmold onto the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body along at least the perimeter edge using an injection molding assembly (concentric infill, starting with the perimeter, [0096]; followed by injection molding, [0087]).
Regarding claim 3, Mark discloses wherein applying the thermoplastic overmold onto the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body includes applying the thermoplastic overmold onto the thermoplastic continuous-fiber band (located within the mold with infill, [0087] [0096]).
Regarding claim 4, Mark discloses wherein forming the composite sheet includes forming at least one aperture of the composite sheet (Holes such as H5 in Fig. 8A, with subsequent reinforcement described in [0140]), the at least one aperture extending through the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body from the first side surface to the second side surface (Holes such as H5 in Fig. 8A, with subsequent reinforcement described in [0140]).
Regarding claim 5, Mark discloses wherein applying the thermoplastic overmold onto the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body includes applying the thermoplastic overmold onto one or both of the first side surface and the second side surface along the at least one aperture ([0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Mark discloses wherein forming the composite sheet includes depositing a plurality of layers of a continuous-fiber tape with the additive manufacturing assembly ([0013] [0077]).
Regarding claim 7, Mark discloses wherein the continuous-fiber tape includes a continuous carbon fiber reinforcing material impregnated with a thermoplastic polymeric matrix material ([0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Mark discloses wherein: the injection molding assembly includes a mold ([0087]); and applying the thermoplastic overmold onto the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body includes positioning the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body in the mold (located within a mold, [0087]) and injecting a heated and pressurized molten thermoplastic overmold material into the mold to form the thermoplastic overmold on the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body (loading, [0087]).
Regarding claim 9, Mark discloses wherein applying the thermoplastic overmold onto the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body further includes reducing a void content of the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body to less than one percent by volume of the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body (remove voids, [0115]; this at least teaches an overlapping range and is rejected under 35 USC 103 in the alternative, see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 10, Mark discloses a method for forming a thermoplastic composite component (reinforced molding, abstract), the method comprising: forming a composite sheet using an additive manufacturing assembly ([0006]), the composite sheet including a thermoplastic continuous-fiber body including a first side surface, a second side surface, and a perimeter edge (wide prepreg sheet, [0013]), the first side surface disposed opposite the second side surface (opposite sides of the sheet), the perimeter edge circumscribing the first side surface and the second side surface (radially outward most portions of the part constitute a perimeter, [0096]); and applying a thermoplastic continuous-fiber perimeter band onto the perimeter edge (preform is a substrate, concentric infill of the edge, then placement in mold and injection molding, [0087] [0096]), the thermoplastic continuous-fiber perimeter band extending completely about the composite sheet along the perimeter edge (concentric infill of edge extends completely as claimed, [0096]); and applying a thermoplastic overmold onto the thermoplastic continuous-fiber perimeter band, the first side, and the second side using an injection molding assembly (concentric infill, starting with the perimeter, [0096]; followed by injection molding, [0087]).
Regarding claim 12, Mark discloses wherein the thermoplastic overmold forms a perimeter overmold portion extending about the composite sheet along the continuous-fiber perimeter band (result of overmolding the structure, [0087]).
Regarding claim 13, Mark discloses wherein forming the composite sheet includes depositing a plurality of layers of a continuous-fiber tape with the additive manufacturing assembly ([0013] [0077]).
Regarding claim 14, Mark discloses wherein the continuous-fiber tape includes a continuous carbon fiber reinforcing material impregnated with a thermoplastic polymeric matrix material ([0071]).
Regarding claim 15, Mark discloses wherein applying the thermoplastic overmold onto the thermoplastic continuous-fiber perimeter band, the first side, and the second side further includes reducing a void content of the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body to less than one percent by volume of the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body (remove voids, [0115]; this at least teaches an overlapping range and is rejected under 35 USC 103 in the alternative, see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 16, Mark discloses a method for forming a thermoplastic composite component (reinforced molding, abstract), the method comprising: forming a composite sheet using an additive manufacturing assembly ([0006]), the composite sheet including a thermoplastic continuous-fiber body (wide prepreg sheet, [0013]); and applying a thermoplastic overmold onto the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body with an injection molding assembly (injection molding, [0087]) by: positioning the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body between a first mold plate and a second mold plate of a mold of the injection molding assembly (located within the mold, [0087]; an injection mold inherently has at least two plates so as to surround a cavity, an example is given in [0120] of a first mold plate and a second mold plate); and injecting a heated and pressurized molten thermoplastic overmold material into the mold to form the thermoplastic overmold on the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body (loading, [0087]) and to reduce a void content of the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body to less than one percent by volume of the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body (remove voids, [0115]; this at least teaches an overlapping range and is rejected under 35 USC 103 in the alternative, see MPEP 2144.05(I)); wherein the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body includes a first side surface, a second side surface, and a perimeter edge, the first side surface disposed opposite the second side surface, the perimeter edge circumscribing the first side surface and the second side surface (properties of wide prepreg sheet, [0013]), and the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body forms one or more apertures of the composite sheet (Holes such as H5 in Fig. 8A, with subsequent reinforcement described in [0140]), the one or more apertures extending through the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body from the first side surface to the second side surface (Holes such as H5 in Fig. 8A, with subsequent reinforcement described in [0140]).
Regarding claim 18, Mark discloses wherein the thermoplastic overmold includes a perimeter overmold portion disposed on the perimeter edge, the first side, and the second side (result of overmolding the structure and surrounding it, [0087]).
Regarding claim 19, Mark discloses wherein the perimeter overmold portion extends completely around the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body along the perimeter edge (result of overmolding the structure and surrounding it, [0087]).
Regarding claim 20, Mark discloses wherein the thermoplastic overmold includes an aperture overmold portion disposed on the first side, the second side, and the thermoplastic continuous-fiber body within a first aperture of the one or more apertures (Overmold OV9, [0099]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Mark does not disclose applying a thermoplastic continuous-fiber perimeter band onto the perimeter edge subsequent to forming the composite sheet. Applicant bases this argument on a mischaracterization of the cross-section figures 4E-G of Mark that in turn represent only a subset of the embodiments of Mark. A perimeter is made up of outside corners and wall sections. A concentric fill pattern that traces the outside corners and wall sections constitutes applying thermoplastic continuous-fiber perimeter band onto the perimeter edge. Figs. 4E-G of Mark show cross sections of a few embodiments. Portions within the interior of a different material do not preclude a perimeter of the material in question.
Applicants remaining arguments are derivative of the above unpersuasive argument and are similarly unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744