Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langille (US
11647708 B2) in view of Heidl (US-10098287-B2), Howe (US-11758859-B2), and Kincaid (US 20200128761 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Langille discloses a hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus comprising:
a first panel (50, see figs 1-4) having a plurality of first apertures (137, see figs 1-4);
a plurality of first elbows (130) engaged with the plurality of first apertures (137) with one elbow engaging with one aperture (see fig 4);
a second panel (multiple panels 50, second is right front panel, see figs 1-4) having a plurality of second apertures (multiple apertures 137, see figs 1-4);
a plurality of second elbows (130) engaged with the plurality of second apertures (137) with one elbow engaging with one aperture (see fig 4);
a support (support frame 20) coupled to at least one of the first panel and the second panel (see figs 1-3 and col 5, lines 49-65);
a trough (reservoir 25) positioned at or below a bottom of the first panel and a bottom of the second panel (see figs 1-3 and col 5, lines 49-65).
Langille fails to disclose wherein the first panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the first panel; wherein the second panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the second panel; at least one lighting element forming a light array, the at least one lighting element positioned at a distance from the outer surface of the first panel or the outer surface of the second panel, and at least two blocking elements engaged with the trough and with one of the at least two blocking elements positioned at each of a first end of the first panel and at a second end of the first panel, wherein the at least two blocking elements are configured to limit light from the at least one lighting element from entering the trough.
Howe teaches wherein the first panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the first panel (handle 209 with side pieces 208a/b, see figs 1-4); wherein the second panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the second panel (handle 209 with side pieces 208a/b, see figs 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the wall system of Langille with the handles of Howe with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for easy and efficient opening of each wall panel for cleaning, transplanting and other maintenance.
Heidl teaches at least one lighting element forming a light array, the at least one lighting element positioned at a distance from the outer surface of the first panel or the outer surface of the second panel (vertical led strips 14a-c on sliding tracks 46, see fig 6 and col 10, lines 19-26, lines 56-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system of Langille with the lights of Heidl with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure plants throughout the wall system receive optimum lighting conditions for plant growth.
Kincaid teaches a blocking element (lid 345) engaged with the trough, wherein the blocking element is configured to limit light from the at least one lighting element from entering the trough (see fig 3 and para 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the trough blocking element of Kincaid with a reasonable expectation of success as this will prevent debris from entering the trough, and limiting sunlight exposure that can cause detrimental algae production.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention, except there being at least two blocking elements, positioned at each of a first end of the first panel and at a second end of the first panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the blocking element to be at least two blocking elements, located at the first end and second end of the first panel with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow easier access to the trough for cleaning or maintenance, and increased spacing for the fluid return piping, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 1, and Heidl further teaches wherein the distance of the light array is configured to be modified by sliding the light array towards or away from the outer surface of the first panel or the second panel (vertical led strips 14a-c on sliding tracks 46, see fig 6 and col 10, lines 19-26, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 1, and Langille further discloses further comprising a plurality of securement mechanisms (keys and keyholes 140/141 and 150/151, see fig 5) configured to selectively secure a position of the first panel and the second panel (see figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 1, and Langille further discloses further comprising a dispersion system (irrigation flood rail 250, see figs 2 and 10 and col 5, lines 49-65).
Regarding claim 5, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 1, and Langille further discloses wherein the dispersion system is coupled to the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus along a top side of the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus (irrigation flood rail 250, see figs 2 and 10 and col 5, lines 49-65)..
Regarding claim 6, Langille discloses a hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus comprising:
a first panel (50, see figs 1-4) having a plurality of first apertures (137, see figs 1-4);
a plurality of first elbows (130) engaged with the plurality of first apertures (137) with one elbow engaging with one aperture (see fig 4);
a second panel (multiple panels 50, see figs 1-4) having a plurality of second apertures (multiple apertures 137, see figs 1-4);
a plurality of second elbows (130) engaged with the plurality of second apertures (137) with one elbow engaging with one aperture (see fig 4);
a trough (reservoir 25) positioned at or below a bottom of the first panel and a bottom of the second panel (see figs 1-3 and col 5, lines 49-65);
a dispersion system configured to disperse water and/or nutrients on an interior of the first panel and the second panel (irrigation flood rail 250, see figs 2 and 10 and col 5, lines 49-65).
Langille fails to disclose wherein the first panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the first panel; wherein the second panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the second panel; at least one lighting element positioned at distance from the outer surface of the first panel and the outer surface of the second panel, and at least two blocking elements engaged with the trough and with one of the at least two blocking elements positioned at each of a first end of the first panel and at a second end of the first panel, wherein the at least two blocking elements are configured to limit light from the at least one lighting element from entering the trough.
Howe teaches wherein the first panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the first panel (handle 209 with side pieces 208a/b, see figs 1-4); wherein the second panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the second panel (handle 209 with side pieces 208a/b, see figs 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the wall system of Langille with the handles of Howe with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for easy and efficient opening of each wall panel for cleaning, transplanting and other maintenance.
Heidl teaches at least one lighting element positioned at distance from the outer surface of the first panel and the outer surface of the second panel (vertical led strips 14a-c on sliding tracks 46, see fig 6 and col 10, lines 19-26, lines 56-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system of Langille with the lights of Heidl with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure plants throughout the wall system receive optimum lighting conditions for plant growth.
Kincaid teaches a blocking element (lid 345) engaged with the trough, wherein the blocking elements are configured to limit light from the at least one lighting element from entering the trough (see fig 3 and para 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the trough blocking element of Kincaid with a reasonable expectation of success as this will prevent debris from entering the trough, and limiting sunlight exposure that can cause detrimental algae production.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention, except there being at least two blocking elements, positioned at each of a first end of the first panel and at a second end of the first panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the blocking element to be at least two blocking elements, located at the first end and second end of the first panel with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow easier access to the trough for cleaning or maintenance, and increased spacing for the fluid return piping, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus of claim 6, and Langille further discloses further comprising a pump configured to pump the water and/or nutrients through the dispersion system (submersible pump 300, see col 7, lines 63-67 and col 8, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 8, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus of claim 6, and Langille further discloses wherein the pump is positioned in the trough (submersible pump 300, located in the reservoir, see col 7, lines 63-67 and col 8, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 98, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus of claim 6, and Langille further discloses wherein the dispersion system comprises at least one pipe having a plurality of apertures at a top of the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus (irrigation flood rail 250, see figs 2 and 10, drains 285 in flood rail, see col 7, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 10, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus of claim 6, and Langille further discloses wherein the pump in the trough pumps the water and/or nutrients into the dispersion system (submersible pump 300, located in the reservoir, see col 7, lines 63-67 and col 8, lines 1-7).
Claim(s) 11, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langille (US 11647708 B2) in view of Heidl (US-10098287-B2), Howe (US-11758859-B2), Gasmer (US 20170142912 A1), and Kincaid (US 20200128761 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Langille discloses a hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus comprising:
a first panel (50, see figs 1-4) having a plurality of first apertures (137, see figs 1-4);
a plurality of first elbows (130) engaged with the plurality of first apertures (137) with one elbow engaging with one aperture (see fig 4);
a second panel (multiple panels 50, see figs 1-4) having a plurality of second apertures (multiple apertures 137, see figs 1-4);
a plurality of second elbows (130) engaged with the plurality of second apertures (137) with one elbow engaging with one aperture (see fig 4);
a trough (reservoir 25) positioned at or below a bottom of the first panel and a bottom of the second panel (see figs 1-3 and col 5, lines 49-65),
a dispersion system configured to disperse water and/or nutrients on an interior of the first panel and the second panel (irrigation flood rail 250, see figs 2 and 10 and col 5, lines 49-65).
Langille fails to disclose wherein the first panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the first panel; wherein the second panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the second panel; at least one lighting element forming a light array positioned at a distance from the outer surface of the first panel or the outer surface of the second panel, a support channel engaged with a top of the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus, wherein each of the first panel, second panel, and at least one light element are coupled to the support channel, wherein the trough has at least one blocking element positioned at each of a first end of the first panel and at a second end of the first panel, wherein the at least one blocking element is configured to limit light from the at least one lighting element from entering the trough.
Howe teaches wherein the first panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the first panel (handle 209 with side pieces 208a/b, see figs 1-4); wherein the second panel has at least one handle on an outer surface of the second panel (handle 209 with side pieces 208a/b, see figs 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the wall system of Langille with the handles of Howe with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for easy and efficient opening of each wall panel for cleaning, transplanting and other maintenance.
Heidl teaches at least one lighting element forming a light array positioned at a distance from the outer surface of the first panel or the outer surface of the second panel (vertical led strips 14a-c on sliding tracks 46, see fig 6 and col 10, lines 19-26, lines 56-59), wherein at least one light element is coupled to the support channel (vertical led strips 14a-c on sliding tracks 46, see fig 6 and col 10, lines 19-26, lines 56-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system of Langille with the lights of Heidl with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure plants throughout the wall system receive optimum lighting conditions for plant growth.
Gasmer teaches a support channel engaged with a top of the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus (205, see figs 1-2), wherein each of the first panel, second panel and at least one light element are coupled to the support channel (see figs 1-2 and para 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with the support channel of Gasmer with a reasonable expectation of success because this will allow for easy and efficient transport of the vertical cultivation apparatuses as needed for cleaning, harvesting or planting.
Kincaid teaches at least one blocking element (lid 345) engaged with the trough, wherein the at least one blocking element is configured to limit light from the at least one lighting element from entering the trough (see fig 3 and para 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the trough blocking element of Kincaid with a reasonable expectation of success as this will prevent debris from entering the trough, and limiting sunlight exposure that can cause detrimental algae production.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention, the at least one blocking element being positioned at each of a first end of the first panel and at a second end of the first panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the blocking element to be located at the first end and second end of the first panel with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow easier access to the trough for cleaning or maintenance, and increased spacing for the fluid return piping, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 14, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 11, and Langille further discloses wherein the dispersion system comprises a dispersion pipe having a plurality of openings (irrigation flood rail 250, see figs 2 and 10, drains 285 in flood rail, see col 7, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 15, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 12, and Langille further discloses wherein the dispersion pipe is coupled to a support frame by one or more supports (side supports 32/34 for flood rail 250, see figs 2 and 10).
Regarding claim 17, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 14, and Langille further discloses wherein the dispersion system further comprises a pump and return piping coupled to the dispersion pipe (pump 300 and water drains back to reservoir, see col 7, lines 63-67 and col 8, lines 1-15, see also col 5, lines 57-65).
Regarding claim 18, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 18, and Langille further discloses wherein the pump is disposed in the trough (submersible pump 300 in trough, see col 5, lines 57-65).
Regarding claim 19, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 18, and Kincaid further teaches wherein the at least one blocking element (lid 345) is disposed on an upper surface of the trough and spans a distance of an upper opening of the trough (see fig 3).
Regarding claim 20, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 18, and Langille further discloses wherein the upper opening of the trough is defined by one or more sidewalls (32 and 34) and a base (25) of the trough (see col 5, lines 49-65).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langille (US 11647708 B2) in view of Heidl (US-10098287-B2), Howe (US-11758859-B2), Gasmer (US 20170142912 A1) and Kincaid (US 20200128761 A1), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Guo (US 20180199526 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant apparatus of claim 11.
The modified reference fails to teach further comprising a "C"-shaped end cap coupled to the first end of the first panel and the first end of the second panel, wherein the "C"-shaped end cap spans a vertical length of the first panel and the second panel to form a light, water, and/or nutrient barrier.
Guo teaches further comprising an end cap (120A & B) coupled to the first end of the first panel (110A) and the first end of the second panel (110B) wherein the end cap spans a vertical length of the first panel and the second panel to form a light, water, and/or nutrient barrier (see fig 1a and para 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the end cap of Guo with a reasonable expectation of success as this will fully enclose the plant production space to ensure no debris or contaminants enter the system.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except for the end caps being “C” shaped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the end caps to be “C” shaped with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow the end cap to wrap around to the edges of the first and second panels to ensure the interior environment is completely enclosed, to prevent debris or contaminants from entering the plant growing interior, and since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Claim(s) 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langille (US 11647708 B2) in view of Heidl (US-10098287-B2), Howe (US-11758859-B2), Gasmer (US 20170142912 A1), and Kincaid (US 20200128761 A1), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Cosmann (US 8966819 B1).
Regarding claim 21, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus of claim 11 and Langille further discloses further comprising a third panel having a plurality of third apertures and a fourth panel having a plurality of fourth apertures (see annotated fig 2 below), wherein the third panel and the fourth panel are coupled to the first panel and the second panel (see annotated fig 2 below, panels all coupled together on rails 32).
Annotated fig 2
However, if for any reason Applicant disagrees that the panels are coupled together, then Cosmann teaches further comprising a third panel having a plurality of third apertures and a fourth panel having a plurality of fourth apertures (see fig 1, dual sided panels also coupled horizontally to other panels), wherein the third panel and the fourth panel are coupled to the first panel and the second panel (see fig 1, dual sided panels also coupled horizontally to other panels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the panel system with the dual sided panels and horizontal coupling of Cosmann with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for a higher crop yield with less space required, thereby providing a space efficient and secure planting system.
Regarding claim 22, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic plant cultivation apparatus of claim 11.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein one of the at least one blocking elements is positioned between the first end of the first panel and the first end of the third panel.
Kincaid teaches wherein one of the at least one blocking elements (lid 345) is positioned between the first end of the first panel (front panel, see figs 1-3) and the first end of the third panel (rear panel, see figs 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the blocking element between the first and third panel as taught by Kincaid with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the span of the trough is effectively blocked, thereby ensuring the trough remains clean and does not overhead and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 06/22/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Applicant’s arguments pertain to the light blocking elements, for which a new reference has been used.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those references cited on the attached 892 form, but not referenced in the rejection above, exhibit similarities to the present invention, particularly, Duquesnay (US-20160066525-A1) which discloses a double sided hydroponic system with panels, a trough and end caps connecting the first and second panels.
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642