DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claims 1-11, 13-18, 20, and 22 considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated below.
Applicant is advised that the Notice of Allowance mailed 27 April 2026 is vacated. If the issue fee has already been paid, applicant may request a refund or request that the fee be credited to a deposit account. However, applicant may wait until the application is either found allowable or held abandoned. If allowed, upon receipt of a new Notice of Allowance, applicant may request that the previously submitted issue fee be applied. If abandoned, applicant may request refund or credit to a specified Deposit Account.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement filed 10 July 2026 has been fully considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 16, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 16 recite the limitation, “wherein the second resin layer includes at least one of diffusion agent, red phosphor and red ink particle.” This appears to contain a typographical error and may be corrected as, “wherein the second resin layer includes at least one of a diffusion agent, red phosphor and red ink particle.”
Claims 3 and 18 recite the limitation, “wherein the ink particle block incident light.” This appears to contain a typographical error and may be corrected as, “wherein the ink particle blocks incident light.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0334974, hereinafter Tamura ‘974) in view of Moon et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0197443, hereinafter Moon ‘443), both of record.
With respect to claim 1, Tamura ‘974 teaches (FIG. 5) a lighting assembly substantially as claimed, comprising:
a lighting module (100) including a substrate (20), a plurality of light emitting devices (51) disposed on the substrate, a first resin layer (fluorescent resin 25; [0042]) covering the plurality of light emitting devices, and at least one second resin layer (silicon resin dam member 23 and 24; [0043]) on the first resin layer ([0051-0052]);
a first cover (54) disposed on an outer portion of the substrate (20) ([0051]); and
a second cover (28) including a substrate support portion (raised portion of 28) under the substrate (20) of the lighting module (100) and a stepped coupling portion (recessed portion of 28) around an outer periphery of the substrate support portion ([0051]),
wherein the second resin layer (23 and 24) is disposed on side surfaces of the first resin layer (25) ([0052]),
wherein an outer portion of the substrate (20) extends further outward from edges of the second resin layer (23 and 24) ([0051-0052]),
wherein an area of the upper surface of the substrate (20) is greater than an area of a lower surface of the first resin layer (25) ([0051-0052]),
wherein the plurality of light emitting devices (51) is arranged in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction on the substrate (20) (“The array [emphasis added] of the LED dies 51”) ([0052]),
wherein the first cover (54) includes an opening portion (opening between elements 54) through which the first (25) and second (23 and 24) resin layers protrude, a substrate cover portion (portions of 54 directly over the top surface of element 20) disposed on the outer portion of the substrate (20) and around the opening portion, and a side cover portion (portions of 54 directly over top surfaces of elements 26 and 28) extending lower than a side surface of the substrate from the substrate cover portion ([0051]),
wherein an upper surface of the substrate cover portion (portions of 54 directly over the top surface of element 20) is disposed lower than the upper surface of the first resin layer (25) ([0051-0052]), and
wherein the side cover portion (portions of 54 directly over top surfaces of elements 26 and 28) of the first cover (54) is coupled to the coupling portion (recessed portion of 28) of the second cover (28) ([0051]).
Thus, Tamura ‘974 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
wherein the second resin layer is disposed on an upper surface of the first resin layer, and
wherein the second resin layer includes at least one of diffusion agent, red phosphor and red ink particle.
However, Moon ‘443 teaches (FIG. 8) a second resin layer (520) disposed on an upper surface of a first resin layer (510), wherein the second resin layer includes at least one of diffusion agent, red phosphor (521) and red ink particle to selectively convert light to a desired color, e.g. white light ([0045]). When applying the teachings of Moon ‘443 to the lighting assembly of Tamura ‘974, one of ordinary skill in the art could form the first resin layer (25) covering the light emitting devices (51) of Tamura ‘974 as the dual-layer structure (510 and 520) covering the light emitting device (150) of Moon ‘443 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second resin layer of Tamura ‘974 disposed on an upper surface of the first resin layer, wherein the second resin layer includes at least one of diffusion agent, red phosphor and red ink particle as taught by Moon ‘443 to selectively convert light to a desired color, e.g. white light.
With respect to claim 2, Tamura ‘974 teaches wherein an area of an upper surface of the opening portion (opening between elements 54) is larger than the area of the lower surface of the first resin layer (25) ([0051]).
With respect to claims 4-7, Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, but primary reference Tamura ‘974 does not explicitly teach the additional limitations wherein the second resin layer includes the red ink particle, and wherein the red ink particle has a color different from a color of light emitted from the light emitting devices; wherein a surface color of the second resin layer is red; wherein a surface of the second resin layer or a surface of the lighting module provides as a red image when the light emitting device is turned off; and wherein the surface of the second resin layer or the surface of the lighting module provides as a red image of a surface light source when the light emitting devices is turned on.
However, Moon ‘443 teaches (FIG. 8) wherein a second resin layer (520) includes a red ink particle, and wherein the red ink particle has a color different from a color of light emitted from a light emitting device (150); wherein a surface color of the second resin layer is red; wherein a surface of the second resin layer or a surface of a lighting module provides as a red image when the light emitting device is turned off; and wherein the surface of the second resin layer or the surface of the lighting module provides as a red image of a surface light source when the light emitting devices is turned on to selectively convert light to a desired color, e.g. white light ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second resin layer of Tamura ‘974 including the red ink particle, and wherein the red ink particle has a color different from a color of light emitted from the light emitting devices, wherein a surface color of the second resin layer is red, wherein a surface of the second resin layer or a surface of the lighting module provides as a red image when the light emitting device is turned off, and wherein the surface of the second resin layer or the surface of the lighting module provides as a red image of a surface light source when the light emitting devices is turned on as taught by Moon ‘443 to selectively convert light to a desired color, e.g. white light.
With respect to claim 8, Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, but primary reference Tamura ‘974 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein a thickness of the lighting module is 5.5 mm or less, and wherein the thickness of the lighting module is in a range of 180% to 220% of a thickness of the first resin layer.
However, Tamura ‘974 teaches (FIG. 5) a substrate (20) having a thickness of 0.3 to 1 mm, a first resin layer (25) having a thickness of 0.4 to 0.7 mm, a second resin layer (23 and 24) having a thickness of 0.5 to 0.8 mm, and an insulating sheet (26) having a thickness of 0.1 mm ([0043, 0045]). Based on these dimensions, and of the approximate relative dimensions suggested in FIG. 5 of Tamura ‘974, one of ordinary skill in the art could form a thickness of the lighting module to be 5.5 mm or less, wherein the thickness of the lighting module is in a range of 180% to 220% of a thickness of the first resin layer, because such a modification would have involved a mere change in size or proportion of a component. A change in size or proportion is generally recognized as being with the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a thickness of the lighting module of Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 5.5 mm or less, and wherein the thickness of the lighting module is in a range of 180% to 220% of a thickness of the first resin layer as taught by Tamura ‘974 because such a modification would have involved a mere change in size or proportion of a component.
With respect to claim 11, Tamura ‘974 teaches wherein the substrate cover portion (portions of 54 directly over the top surface of element 20) is spaced apart from the second resin layer (23 and 24) ([0051]).
With respect to claim 16, Tamura ‘974 teaches (FIG. 5) a lighting assembly substantially as claimed, comprising:
a lighting module (100) including a substrate (20), a plurality of light emitting devices (51) disposed on the substrate, a first resin layer (fluorescent resin 25; [0042]) covering the plurality of light emitting devices, and at least one second resin layer (silicon resin dam member 23 and 24; [0043]) on the first resin layer ([0051-0052]);
a first cover (54) disposed on an outer portion of the substrate (20) ([0051]); and
a second cover (28) including a substrate support portion (raised portion of 28) under the substrate (20) of the lighting module (100) and a stepped coupling portion (recessed portion of 28) around an outer periphery of the substrate support portion ([0051]),
wherein the second resin layer (23 and 24) is disposed on side surfaces of the first resin layer (25) ([0052]),
wherein an outer portion of the substrate (20) extends further outward from edges of the second resin layer (23 and 24) ([0051-0052]),
wherein an area of the upper surface of the substrate (20) is greater than an area of a lower surface of the first resin layer (25) ([0051-0052]),
wherein the plurality of light emitting devices (51) is arranged in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction on the substrate (20) (“The array [emphasis added] of the LED dies 51”) ([0051]),
wherein the first cover (54) includes an opening portion (opening between elements 54) through which the first (25) and second (23 and 24) resin layers protrude, a substrate cover portion (portions of 54 directly over the top surface of element 20) disposed on the outer portion of the substrate (20) and around the opening portion, and a side cover portion (portions of 54 directly over top surfaces of elements 26 and 28) extending lower than a side surface of the substrate from the substrate cover portion ([0051]),
wherein an upper surface of the substrate cover portion (portions of 54 directly over the top surface of element 20) is disposed lower than the upper surface of the first resin layer (25) ([0051-0052]), and
wherein the side cover portion (portions of 54 directly over top surfaces of elements 26 and 28) of the first cover (54) is coupled to the coupling portion (recessed portion of 28) of the second cover (28) ([0051]).
Thus, Tamura ‘974 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
wherein the second resin layer is disposed on an upper surface of the first resin layer,
wherein the second resin layer includes at least one of diffusion agent, red phosphor and red ink particle,
wherein the plurality of light emitting devices emit blue light, and
wherein the second resin layer includes the red phosphor.
However, Moon ‘443 teaches (FIG. 8) a second resin layer (520) including a red phosphor (521) disposed on an upper surface of a first resin layer (510) that is in turn disposed over a light emitting device (150) emitting blue light to selectively convert light to a desired color, e.g. white light ([0045]). When applying the teachings of Moon ‘443 to the lighting assembly of Tamura ‘974, one of ordinary skill in the art could form the first resin layer (25) covering the light emitting devices (51) of Tamura ‘974 as the dual-layer structure (510 and 520) covering the blue light emitting device (150) of Moon ‘443 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second resin layer of Tamura ‘974 disposed on an upper surface of the first resin layer, wherein the second resin layer includes at least one of diffusion agent, red phosphor and red ink particle, wherein the plurality of light emitting devices emit blue light, and wherein the second resin layer includes the red phosphor as taught by Moon ‘443 to selectively convert light to a desired color, e.g. white light.
With respect to claim 17, Tamura ‘974 teaches wherein an area of an upper surface of the opening portion (opening between elements 54) is larger than the area of the lower surface of the first resin layer (25) ([0051]).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Okubo (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0074415, hereinafter Okubo ‘415).
With respect to claim 3, Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 teach the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein the second resin layer includes at least two of the diffusion agent, the red phosphor and the red ink particle, and wherein the ink particle block incident light.
However, Okubo ‘415 teaches (FIG. 6) a resin layer (23) including a diffusion agent (23c), a phosphor (23b), and an ink particle (23a) ([0022]) to provide a semiconductor light-emitting device capable of easily adjusting the light intensity of output light ([0005]). The ink particles (23a) block incident light, the size of which control how much light will pass through the gaps ([0029]). When the resin layer (23) of Okubo ‘415 is applied to the second resin layer (520) of Moon ‘443, the phosphor particle (23b) and the ink particle (23a) of Okubo ‘415 would be red because the equivalents of Moon ‘443 rely on being red.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second resin layer of Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 including at least two of the diffusion agent, the red phosphor and the red ink particle, and wherein the ink particle block incident light as taught by Okubo ‘415 to provide a semiconductor light-emitting device capable of easily adjusting the light intensity of output light.
With respect to claim 18, Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 teach the device as described in claim 16 above, but primary reference Tamura ‘974 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the second resin layer includes at least two of the diffusion agent, the red phosphor and the red ink particle, wherein the second resin layer further includes the red ink particle, wherein the ink particle block incident light, and wherein a thickness of the lighting module is 5.5mm or less.
However, Okubo ‘415 teaches (FIG. 6) a resin layer (23) including a diffusion agent (23c), a phosphor (23b), and an ink particle (23a) ([0022]) to provide a semiconductor light-emitting device capable of easily adjusting the light intensity of output light ([0005]). The ink particles (23a) block incident light. When the resin layer (23) of Okubo ‘415 is applied to the second resin layer (520) of Moon ‘443, the phosphor particle (23b) and the ink particle (23a) of Okubo ‘415 would be red because the equivalents of Moon ‘443 rely on being red.
Further, Tamura ‘974 teaches (FIG. 5) a substrate (20) having a thickness of 0.3 to 1 mm, a first resin layer (25) having a thickness of 0.4 to 0.7 mm, a second resin layer (23 and 24) having a thickness of 0.5 to 0.8 mm, and an insulating sheet (26) having a thickness of 0.1 mm ([0043, 0045]). Based on these dimensions, and of the approximate relative dimensions suggested in FIG. 5 of Tamura ‘974, one of ordinary skill in the art could form a thickness of the lighting module to be 5.5 mm or less because such a modification would have involved a mere change in size or proportion of a component. A change in size or proportion is generally recognized as being with the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second resin layer of Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 including at least two of the diffusion agent, the red phosphor and the red ink particle, wherein the second resin layer further includes the red ink particle, and wherein the ink particle block incident light as taught by Okubo ‘415 to provide a semiconductor light-emitting device capable of easily adjusting the light intensity of output light; and to have formed a thickness of the lighting module of Tamura ‘974, Moon, ‘443, and Okubo ‘415 5.5mm or less as taught by Tamura ‘974 because such a modification would have involved a mere change in size or proportion of a component.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0029263, hereinafter Park ‘263) of record.
With respect to claims 9 and 15, Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 teach the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitations wherein the lighting module is flexible; and wherein lighting assembly is coupled to a tail lamp, a brake lamp, or a turn signal lamp of a vehicle.
However, Park ‘263 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 55) a flexible lighting module (100) ([0070]) as part of a lighting assembly coupled to a tail lamp ([0308]) that can be easily mounted to a vehicle having a bend, improving freedom of design ([0319]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the lighting module and the lighting assembly of Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 flexible, and coupled to a tail lamp, a brake lamp, or a turn signal lamp of a vehicle respectively as taught by Park ‘263 to easily mount to a vehicle having a bend, improving freedom of design.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasaki et al. (Japanese Patent 3809760, hereinafter Sasaki ‘760).
With respect to claim 10, Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, but primary reference Tamura ‘974 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the second resin layer includes the red phosphor and the red ink particle, wherein a content of the phosphor in the second resin layer is 23 wt% or less, and wherein a content of the ink particle in the second resin layer is in a range of 3 wt% to 13 wt%.
However, Sasaki ‘760 teaches a resin layer (211) including a phosphor and an ink particle (201), wherein a content of the ink particle is in a range of 4 wt% to 7 wt% to change the color tone (e.g. red) of the emitted light ([0061]). When the resin layer (211) of Sasaki ‘760 is applied to the second resin layer (520) of Moon ‘443, the phosphor particle and the ink particle (201) of Sasaki ‘760 would be red because the equivalents of Moon ‘443 rely on being red.
Further, Moon ‘443 teaches (FIG. 8) a resin layer (520) comprising a red phosphor (521), wherein the phosphor and the resin have a weight ratio of 1:20 ([0041]) as an ideal ratio for a mean free path to selectively convert light to a desired color ([0045]). A phosphor and a resin at a weight ratio of 1:20 would be 5 wt%, less than the 23 wt% required by the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second resin layer of Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 including the red phosphor and the red ink particle, wherein a content of the ink particle in the second resin layer is in a range of 3 wt% to 13 wt% as taught by Sasaki ‘760 to change the color tone of the emitted light; and to have formed a content of the phosphor in the second resin layer of Tamura ‘974, Moon ‘443, and Sasaki ‘760 23 wt% or less as taught by Moon ‘443 as an ideal ratio for a mean free path to selectively convert light to a desired color.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Moon et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0002427, hereinafter Moon ‘427) of record.
With respect to claims 13 and 20, Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 teach the device as described in claims 1 and 16 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein the second cover includes a terminal groove in which a terminal on a lower surface of the substrate is exposed.
However, Moon ‘427 teaches (FIG. 4) a second cover (25) includes a terminal groove (h3 and h4) in which a terminal (vertical extensions of 22 and 23) on a lower surface of a substrate (horizontal extensions of 22 and 23) is exposed to make backside contact to a light emitting element (21) ([0037-0038, 0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second cover of Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 including a terminal groove in which a terminal on a lower surface of the substrate is exposed as taught by Moon ‘427 to make backside contact to a light emitting element.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogawa et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0290346, hereinafter Ogawa ‘346) of record.
With respect to claim 14, Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, with primary reference Tamura ‘974 teaching the additional limitation wherein the lighting module (100) is protruded from each of the opening portions (opening between elements 54) ([0051]).
Thus, Tamura ‘974 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of wherein the opening portion of the first cover is provided in plural, and wherein the lighting module is provided in plural.
However, Ogawa ‘346 teaches (FIGs. 3 and 4) an opening portion (5b) of a first cover (5) is provided in plural, and wherein a lighting module (1) is provided in plural ([0034, 0041]) to form a lighting system (10) ([0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the opening portion of the first cover of Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 provided in plural, and wherein the lighting module is provided in plural as taught by Ogawa ‘346 to form a lighting system.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okubo ‘415 and Bibi et al. (US Patent 9,111,464, hereinafter Bibi ‘464) of record.
With respect to claim 22, Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, but primary reference Tamura ‘974 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the second resin layer includes the diffusion agent, and wherein the plurality of light emitting devices emit blue light.
However, Okubo ‘415 teaches (FIG. 6) a resin layer (23) including a diffusion agent (23c) ([0022]) to provide a semiconductor light-emitting device capable of easily adjusting the light intensity of output light ([0005]).
Further, Bibi ‘464 teaches (FIG. 11C) a plurality of light emitting devices (400) emitting blue light to achieve an RGB subpixel arrangement without having to covert the blue light from the blue emitting subpixel (col. 25, ln. 21-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second resin layer of Tamura ‘974 and Moon ‘443 including the diffusion agent as taught by Okubo ‘415 to provide a semiconductor light-emitting device capable of easily adjusting the light intensity of output light; and to have formed the plurality of light emitting devices of Tamura ‘974, Moon ‘443, and Okubo ‘415 emitting blue light as taught by Bibi ‘464 to achieve an RGB subpixel arrangement without having to covert the blue light from the blue emitting subpixel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Park et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0029263), already of record, teaches a first resin layer (40 and 41) covering a plurality of light emitting devices (20), and a second resin layer (70) disposed on an upper surface and side surfaces of the first resin layer, wherein the second resin layer includes at least one of diffusion agent, red phosphor and red ink particle ([0064, 067, 0085, 0235]).
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893