DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 6/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8,14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JP2020125857 to Yamamoto.
As to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses A heat storage power generation system comprising: a heat storage (140) including a heat storage material (Par 0045) that stores heat, and configured to heat a heat transmitting fluid (as flows via 264) by the heat stored in the heat storage material (storage material at 104 heats fluid 264 Fig 17); a first heater provided in the heat storage (A, below; alt A/B/C), and configured to heat the heat storage material (Heat via 115); and a power generator (121 to generator 101) configured to generate power using the heat transmitting fluid heated by the heat storage, wherein the heat storage includes an inlet to which the heat transmitting fluid is supplied (X, below) when storing the heat in the heat storage material (Par 0133-0137), and an outlet (Y, below) that discharges the heat transmitting fluid when storing the heat in the heat storage material, and the first heater includes one (A) or more (A/B/C) heat generation sources disposed closer to an inlet side (X, below) of the inlet than the outlet (Y, below), and heats the heat storage material by heat generated from the heat generation sources (115 to A/B/C).
As to claim 2, Yamamoto discloses the first heater heats the heat storage material by at least radiant heat transmission (Fig 17).
As to claim 3, Yamamoto discloses comprising a second heater provided outside the heat storage (115), and configured to heat the heat transmitting fluid to supply the heat transmitting fluid to the heat storage (Fig 17).
As to claim 4, Yamamoto discloses the second heater heats the heat storage material by at least convection heat transmission (convection as it heats the fluid which passes from 115 to 140).
As to claim 5, Yamamoto discloses a first heat transferring unit (piping 115) configured to convey the heat transmitting fluid when heating the heat storage material by the first heater; and a second heat transferring unit configured to convey the heat transmitting fluid when generating the power by the power generator (piping 264).
As to claim 6, Yamamoto discloses a heat transferring unit configured to convey the heat transmitting fluid when heating the heat storage material by the first heater and when generating the power by the power generator (Piping 114,115,264 considered as single pathway; Alt 135).
As to claim 7, Yamamoto discloses a first flow path switch configured to enter an open state when heating the heat storage material by the first heater (173), to allow passage of the heat transmitting fluid; and a second flow path switch configured to enter an open state when generating the power by the power generator (176), to allow passage of the heat transmitting fluid.
As to claim 8, Yamamoto discloses at least one of the one or more heat generation sources has a shape extending perpendicular or parallel to a conveying direction of the heat transmitting fluid (heat generation is perpendicular to heat transmitting fluid Fig 17).
As to claim 14, Yamamoto discloses the heat transmitting fluid flows so as not to circulate in the heat storage power generation system (bypass through valve 174; Alternatively the heat transmitting fluid may be passed to other services other than the turbine expander Par 0050 also meeting this limitation ie. not circulating but moving into and out of the system in a single pass).
As to claim 15, Yamamoto discloses A heat storage apparatus comprising: a heat storage including a heat storage material that stores heat, and configured to heat a heat transmitting fluid by the heat stored in the heat storage material; and a first heater provided in the heat storage, and configured to heat the heat storage material, wherein the heat storage includes an inlet to which the heat transmitting fluid is supplied when storing heat in the heat storage material, and an outlet that discharges the heat transmitting fluid when storing heat in the heat storage material, and the first heater includes one or more heat generation sources disposed closer to an inlet side of the inlet than the outlet, and heats the heat storage material by heat generated from the heat generation sources (as cited and rejected claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2020125857 to Yamamoto as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 13, Yamamoto discloses the heat storage is newly installed in the heat storage power generation system, the first heater is newly installed in the heat storage power generation system, and the power generator is originally installed in the heat storage power generation system (Abs, Fig 17). At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that during initial construction of the power plant comprising all parts disclosed this would yield “the power generator is originally installed” as it is the first installation, and “the heat storage is newly installed in the heat storage power generation system, the first heater is newly installed in the heat storage power generation system” would also be met as they are being newly installed into a first time installation system.
Additional Art
While not presently relied upon due to the broad nature of the claims US Patent 10563927 to Papadopoulos in view of US Patent 10767935 to Bergan is believed to read on the claims, specifically the counterflow thermal energy reservoir 11 of Papadopoulos (Fig 5) being substituted with the counterflow Thermal Energy reservoir of Bergan (Fig 10-12) which has at least one “upstream heat exchanger through which working fluid ie Steam” flows.
New Reference of Note presented in light of arguments:
The following is a new reference located during an updated search and presented herein though not currently relied upon.
US Publication 20080219651 to Nayef:
Claim 1/15: a heat storage including a heat storage material that stores heat (Abs), and configured to heat a heat transmitting fluid by the heat stored in the heat storage material (Abs, heats heat storage medium); a first heater (embedded electric heater, 22, specifically 22 embedded in top 16 Fig 1) provided in the heat storage (14), and configured to heat the heat storage material (Abs); and a power generator configured to generate power (Par 0013) using the heat transmitting fluid heated by the heat storage (Abs), wherein the heat storage includes an inlet (18) to which the heat transmitting fluid is supplied when storing the heat in the heat storage material (Abs, expressly states that heat transmitting fluid in addition to the electric heaters will store heat), and an outlet (20) that discharges the heat transmitting fluid when storing the heat in the heat storage material, and the first heater (upper 22 in top 14) includes one or more heat generation sources disposed closer to an inlet side of the inlet than the outlet (upper 22 in top 14 are closer to 18 than to 20), and heats the heat storage material by heat generated from the heat generation sources (Abs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered.
With regards to applicants argument that: “Therefore, Yamamoto's portion X (see Annotated FIG. 17 of Yamamoto) does not satisfy the "inlet to which the heat transmitting fluid is supplied when storing the heat in the heat storage material" (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1. Applicant respectfully submits that the portion X (see Annotated FIG. 17 of Yamamoto) is the inlet for the heat recovery route, and is different from the "inlet to which the heat transmitting fluid is supplied when storing the heat in the heat storage material" (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1.”, examiner is unconvinced. The heat transfer fluid as it flows from X to Y as annotated flows while 115 also is flowing to supply heat to the heat storage 140. The heat transfer fluid flows through 264 at X to utilize the heat. The claim does not recite that heat is being stored from the heat transmitting fluid “X” as appears to be argued by applicant.
With regards to applicants argument that: “Yamamoto, at best, discloses that the steam from the reheater 115 releases the heat in the heat storage apparatus 140 to be condensed water, and the condensed water flows from the portion Y (the outlet of the heat storage apparatus 140) to the condenser 131. See Annotated FIG. 17 of Yamamoto. Therefore, Yamamoto's portion Y (see Annotated FIG. 17 of Yamamoto) does not satisfy the "outlet that discharges the heat transmitting fluid when storing the heat in the heat storage material" (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1. Applicant respectfully submits that the portion Y (see Annotated FIG. 17 of Yamamoto) is the outlet for the heat recovery route, and is different from the "outlet that discharges the heat transmitting fluid when storing the heat in the heat storage material" (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1.”, the examiner is unconvinced. The heat transmission fluid enters at “X” passes through 140 and leaves at “Y” as steam and passes to turbine 121 (Par 0136). Steam, not condensate, flows from exit “Y”.
With regards to applicants argument that: “For the foregoing reasons, Yamamoto's portion X does not correspond to the "inlet side of the inlet" as recited in claim 1. Yamamoto, at best, disclose inlets from the reheater 115 to the heat storage apparatus 140 (see FIG. 17 of Yamamoto). However, Yamamoto does not disclose that the one or more heat generation sources A, B, C are closer to the inlets from the reheater 115 to the heat storage apparatus 140. For example, if "the inlets from the reheater 115 to the heat storage apparatus 140" and "the outlet from the heat storage apparatus 140 to the condenser 131" (see FIG. 17 of Yamamoto) were corresponding to the "inlet" and "outlet" as recited in amended claim 1, respectively, the heat generation sources A, B, C (see Annotated FIG. 17 of Yamamoto) are disposed closer to the outlet in the heat storage route than the inlet. Therefore, Yamamoto's one or more heat generation sources A, B, C (see Annotated FIG. 17 of Yamamoto) do not satisfy the "the first heater includes one or more heat generation sources disposed closer to an inlet side of the inlet than the outlet…”, the examiner is unconvinced. The applicant is arguing the inlet to 140 from 115 and the outlet to 131 as the claimed “inlet” and “outlet”. However this is not what the rejection states. The claim says an inlet and outlet for the heat transfer fluid (emphasis added). In the reference the heat transfer fluid enters at “X”, is heated by ABC, and exits as Steam from Y and is expanded across the Turbine 121 to produce power. At the same time “reheat fluid” passes into the system at “entrance” at 115 to 140 where it supplies storage heat to 140 and then the “reheat fluid” leaves through the “exit” to 131. In the rejection the “reheat fluid” as it passes from 115 to 131 is not the heat transfer fluid as appears to be argued by applicant. The heat transfer fluid enters at “X” and leaves at “Y”. The heat generation sources A,B,C as viewed along the path from “X” to “Y” figure 17 are shown to be closer to the inlet at “X” than the outlet at “Y” as they are all located in region 230 which is significantly closer to “X” than “Y” as taken along the path of the reheat fluid from 264 to “X” to A/B/C to “Y” to 162 to 121.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JESSE SAMUEL. BOGUE
Examiner
Art Unit 3748
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746