DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 7/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
In an amendment filed 7/23/2026, Applicant canceled claims 7-20 which were drawn to unelected invention groups II and III, and added new claims 21-34 drawn to elected invention group I. This amendment is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 and 21-34 are pending and are currently being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/8/2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. The IDS, however, appears to mostly contain general information and technical documents about electrical systems and does not include any particularly relevant information about electronic interlocking toy blocks and therefore the cited art has been noted, however none of the provided references appear to be generally relevant as prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 23-25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lemchen US Pub. No. 2011/0263177.
Lemchen teaches:
In Reference to Claim 1
An electronic interlocking block system (interlocking electronic block system, Fig. 1-4b) comprising:
a power source (control box 32 has a power supply of internal batteries or ac/dc power source as known in the art, [0048]);
at least one electronic element (light or buzzer 46 is selectively activated by a completed circuit on control box 32, [0053], [0069], Fig. 4a-b, or the blocks may be designed as a toy assembly 30 which formed by the connected blocks may take the shape of a house in shape and electronic elements therein may be illuminated (lights within the house), a garage door may open, a doorbell may sound, or if the toy assembly is a car headlights may be lighted, a horn may sound, etc., [0054]);
a plurality of interlocking blocks (plurality of interlocking blocks 10-10e, Fig. 1-4b), each including an exterior surface and at least one coupling device (each body has an exterior outer surface and coupling devices 18 insertable into coupling recesses 20), the at least one coupling device of each of the plurality of interlocking blocks configured to interact with the at least one coupling device of a different one of the plurality of interlocking blocks (male coupling parts 18 insertable into female coupling parts 20 to connect any of the blocks to another block, Fig. 1-4b); and
one or more conductive pathways coupled to the exterior surface of one or more of the plurality of interlocking blocks (each male and female coupling part has electrodes 26 to provide a conductive pathway between connected parts on the exterior surface of the block body, and additional conductive pathways 24 are placed around the exterior surface to allow for conductive pathways 42 between connected blocks, Fig. 1-4b, [0042]-[0055]),
wherein the one or more conductive pathways are configured to define an electrical circuit between the power source and the at least one electronic element when the plurality of interlocking blocks are coupled together (the conductive pathway is completed from the power source, through outgoing 38, through conductive pathways in connected blocks, and through return lead 34 to complete the electronic circuit and activate the electronic lamp/buzzer/etc. element 46, Fig. 4a-b, [0040]-[0056]).
In Reference to Claim 3
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
the electrical circuit is a bilateral circuit with a physical return path (the conductive pathway is a physical return path capable of movement in either direction when completed from the power source, through outgoing 38, through conductive pathways in connected blocks, and through return lead 34 to complete the electronic circuit and activate the electronic lamp/buzzer/etc. element 46, Fig. 4a-b, [0040]-[[0056], as each lead 34/38 may be applied to either side of a connected block system as designed).
In Reference to Claim 4
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
each of the one or more of the plurality of interlocking blocks includes a first conductive pathway and a second conductive pathway of the one or more conductive pathways (connectable blocks each include a first conductive pathway 42 through conductive members 26 in the connecting portions and other conductive pathways 42 through conductive members 24 along the side surfaces, Fig. 1-4b).
In Reference to Claim 5
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
the exterior surface of each of the plurality of interlocking blocks defines the one or more conductive pathways (conductive pathways 42 are formed by matching conductive surfaces 24/26 on the exterior of the blocks, Fig. 1-4b).
In Reference to Claim 6
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
one of the at least one electronic element is positioned within at least one of the plurality of interlocking blocks and powered by the electrical circuit (the toy assembly 30 formed by the connected blocks may be formed as a house in shape and electronic elements therein may be illuminated (lights within the house), a garage door may open, a doorbell may sound, or if the toy is a car headlights may be lighted, a horn may sound, etc., [0054]).
In Reference to Claim 23
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more conductive pathways comprise a supply pathway and a return pathway extending between the power source and the at least one electronic element (the conductive pathway is completed from the power source, through outgoing 38, through conductive pathways in connected blocks, and through return lead 34 to complete the electronic circuit and activate the electronic lamp/buzzer/etc. element 46 on the control box or the electronic element on the assembly block toy 30 ([0054]), Fig. 4a-b, [0040]-[0056]).
In Reference to Claim 24
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one coupling device of the one or more of the plurality of interlocking blocks is conductive and electrically connected to the one or more conductive pathways (each male and female coupling part has electrodes 26 to provide a conductive pathway between connected parts on the exterior surface of the block body forming conductive pathways 42 between connected blocks, Fig. 1-4b, [0042]-[0055]).
In Reference to Claim 25
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more conductive pathways comprise a conductive material selected from the group consisting of a metal, graphite, a conductive polymer, a carbon nanotube, and a metal alloy (electrodes 24/26 forming pathways 42 may be metal, [0055]).
In Reference to Claim 27
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
the electrical circuit has a break along the one or more conductive pathways such that the electrical circuit is open, and wherein the electrical circuit is closeable by coupling an additional one of the plurality of interlocking blocks having one or more conductive pathways defined thereon into the electrical circuit (the assembled toy 30 may be programmed such that a specific combination of connections is required to close the circuit during use forming a puzzle-like toy which is open until the respective pathways are closed via appropriate connection between the blocks, Fig. 1-4b, [0047]-[0055]).
In Reference to Claim 28
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one of a printed circuit board, a MOSFET, a capacitor, or a resistor coupled to the electrical circuit and configured to control or monitor the electrical circuit (blocks 10 may include an internal printed circuit board/wiring, [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemchen as applied to claim 1 above.
In Reference to Claim 21
Lemchen teaches:
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more conductive pathways comprise foil tape coupled to the exterior surface of the one or more of the plurality of interlocking blocks (square electrodes 24 are formed of fusible materials coated on the plastic toy body that allow current to pass [0046] which are functionally and structurally equivalent to foil tape or other similar materials and are coupled/joined to the exterior surface of the blocks).
Though Lemchen is silent to the exact conductive material used, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used foil tape as the electric conductor material as this is a known and commonly used material to conduct electric current between adjacent toy blocks in the art and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In Reference to Claim 22
Lemchen teaches:
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more conductive pathways are defined by a conductive coating applied to the exterior surface of the one or more of the plurality of interlocking blocks (square electrodes 24 are formed of fusible materials coated on the plastic toy body that allow current to pass [0046] which are functionally and structurally equivalent to foil tape or other similar materials and are coupled/joined to the exterior surface of the blocks).
Though Lemchen is silent to the exact conductive material used, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used a conductive coating, such as foil tape or the like, as the electric conductor material as this is a known and commonly used material to conduct electric current between adjacent toy blocks in the art and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In Reference to Claim 26
Lemchen teaches:
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, wherein:
the system further comprises a block character having one or more conductive feet or legs, each of the one or more conductive feet or legs configured to receive a coupling stud of the one or more of the plurality of interlocking blocks, and wherein the one or more conductive feet or legs are electrically connected to the electrical circuit to provide power to the at least one electronic element (each block 10 may take a different shapes/forms, and broadly any block may be imaginarily considered a character, wherein the conductive coupling portion 20 may be considered feet or legs that couple with studs 18 to provide power to the electronic element of that block, wherein the block may take numerous shapes [0040] and character or person shaped toys are further known and common in the art and would be obvious to include with a house or automobile or other similar assembled toy arrangement [0054]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape or appearance of a block to have been a character with feet or legs (which is broadly taught by Lemchen) as a character having feet or legs is known and common in toys and connectable assemblies, Lemchen teaches that the blocks may take numerous different shapes and forms as discussed above, and further as it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)) and it has been held that the configuration of a claimed product is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemchen as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chen et al. US Pub. No. 2018/0236368.
In Reference to Claim 2
Lemchen teaches:
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1 as rejected above.
Lemchen fails to teach:
The electrical circuit is a unilateral circuit with a through-air return path.
Further, Chen teaches:
A similar electronic building block toy set having a plurality of connectable building blocks having coupling devices for connecting blocks to one another and conductive pathways being formed between adjacent blocks (Fig. 1-3 shows a main building block 1 and connectable auxiliary blocks 2 coupled frictionally and electrically to one another), the conductive pathways configured to define an electrical circuit between a power source (12) and electronic elements when the blocks are coupled together (function module 22 electrically performs a task, such as a sound, images, lights, etc. when connected to the power source of the main block, [0017]), the electrical circuit being a wired circuit, or a unilateral circuit with a through-air return path or wireless circuit ([0012], [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Lemchen to have formed the circuit connection between at least one of the blocks and the return terminal of the power source to have been wirelessly transmitted, as both wired and wireless powered communication forming circuits are known and commonly used in place of one another to provide a desired circuit between electrically interactive and powered blocks and a power source as taught by Chen ([0012], [0019]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemchen as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Karunaratne US Pat. No. 9,168,464.
In Reference to Claim 29
Lemchen teaches:
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 1, the at least one electronic element comprises a motor, the system further comprising a quarter wave resonator coupled to the one or more conductive pathways and an inductor coupled to the at least one electronic element, the quarter wave resonator and the inductor being configured to define a transformer that provides power to the at least one electronic element (the electronic element may include activated portions of an automobile (windshield wipers) or a movable garage door of a house, [0054], which would inherently require an electronically connected motor in that respective block).
Lemchen fails to teach:
The at least one electronic element specifically having a motor, the system further comprising a quarter wave resonator coupled to the one or more conductive pathways and an inductor coupled to the at least one electronic element, the quarter wave resonator and the inductor being configured to define a transformer that provides power to the at least one electronic element.
Further, Karunaratne teaches:
A similar electronic building block toy set (Fig. 1-70) having a plurality of connectable building blocks having coupling devices for connecting blocks to one another and conductive pathways being formed between adjacent blocks (plurality of connectable blocks that communicate between each other, ex. Fig. 23-24, 61, etc.), the conductive pathways configured to define an electrical circuit between a power source (circuits established between connected blocks, ex. Fig. 70) and electronic elements when the blocks are coupled together (numerous electronic elements may be used in a respective brick, ex. Fig. 1-24, etc.),
the at least one electronic element comprises a motor, the system further comprising a quarter wave resonator coupled to the one or more conductive pathways and an inductor coupled to the at least one electronic element, the quarter wave resonator and the inductor being configured to define a transformer that provides power to the at least one electronic element (bricks may include motors powered by conductive sources from a power source, the power received by a resonator/inductor/transformer to translate the provided power and convert it into activation/movement or light/display of the respective electronic element, Fig. 1-2, 8, 30-31, etc., col. 8 line 44 – col. 12 line 46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Lemchen to have further included different actuatable electronic elements using known power giving and receiving portions between coupled circuit pathways of connected blocks in order to allow different functioning electronic elements to be connected and used making the toy more versatile and interesting to play with as known and taught by Karunaratne (col. 8 line 44 – col. 12 line 46) and as Lemchen teaches that the blocks functions and designs may be modified ([0054]). Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used the respective power converting parts of the interactive circuit (QWR, inductor, transformer, etc.) to allow the blocks to function as needed as these parts are general components that would be used to transfer power between the connected blocks and allow the parts to function as described as the power transferring and converting means are suitable for the same intended purpose.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemchen US Pub. No. 2011/0263177 in view of Chen et al. US Pub. No. 2018/0236368.
In Reference to Claim 30
Lemchen teaches:
An electronic interlocking block system (interlocking electronic block system, Fig. 1-4b) comprising:
a power source having a positive terminal and a negative terminal (control box 32 has a power supply of internal batteries or ac/dc power source as known in the art, [0048]);
at least one electronic element (light or buzzer 46 is selectively activated by a completed circuit on control box 32, [0053], [0069], Fig. 4a-b, or the blocks may be designed as a toy assembly 30 which formed by the connected blocks may take the shape of a house in shape and electronic elements therein may be illuminated (lights within the house), a garage door may open, a doorbell may sound, or if the toy assembly is a car headlights may be lighted, a horn may sound, etc., [0054]);
a plurality of interlocking blocks (plurality of interlocking blocks 10-10e, Fig. 1-4b), each including an exterior surface and at least one coupling device (each body has an exterior outer surface and coupling devices 18 insertable into coupling recesses 20), the at least one coupling device of each of the plurality of interlocking blocks configured to interact with the at least one coupling device of a different one of the plurality of interlocking blocks (male coupling parts 18 insertable into female coupling parts 20 to connect any of the blocks to another block, Fig. 1-4b); and
one or more conductive pathways coupled to the exterior surface of one or more of the plurality of interlocking blocks and extending from the positive terminal of the power source (each male and female coupling part has electrodes 26 to provide a conductive pathway between connected parts on the exterior surface of the block body, and additional conductive pathways 24 are placed around the exterior surface to allow for conductive pathways 42 between connected blocks, Fig. 1-4b, [0042]-[0055], which functionally extend from a positive terminal in the selected power source (batteries, etc.)),
wherein the one or more conductive pathways define a bilateral electrical circuit having an connected negative terminal, the bilateral electrical circuit being configured to provide power to the at least one electronic element via a wired return path when the plurality of interlocking blocks are coupled together (the conductive pathway is a physical return path capable of movement in either direction when completed from the power source, through outgoing 38, through conductive pathways in connected blocks, and through return lead 34 to complete the electronic circuit and activate the electronic lamp/buzzer/etc. element 46, Fig. 4a-b, [0040]-[[0056], as each lead 34/38 may be applied to either side of a connected block system as designed)
Lemchen fails to teach:
Wherein the one or more conductive pathways define a unilateral electrical circuit having an unconnected negative terminal, the unilateral electrical circuit being configured to provide power to the at least one electronic element via a through-air capacitive return path when the plurality of interlocking blocks are coupled together.
Further, Chen teaches:
A similar electronic building block toy set having a plurality of connectable building blocks having coupling devices for connecting blocks to one another and conductive pathways being formed between adjacent blocks (Fig. 1-3 shows a main building block 1 and connectable auxiliary blocks 2 coupled frictionally and electrically to one another), the conductive pathways configured to define an electrical circuit between a power source (12) having a connected terminal and an unconnected terminal to provide power to electronic elements when the blocks are coupled together via a through-air capactive/wireless manner (function module 22 electrically performs a task, such as a sound, images, lights, etc. when connected to the power source of the main block, [0017]), the electrical circuit being a wired circuit, or a unilateral circuit with a through-air return path/wireless circuit ([0012], [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Lemchen to have formed the circuit connection between at least one of the blocks and the return terminal of the power source to have been wirelessly transmitted, as both wired and wireless powered communication forming circuits are known and commonly used in place of one another to provide a desired circuit between electrically interactive and powered blocks and a power source as taught by Chen ([0012], [0019]).
Claims 31-34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemchen and Chen as applied to claim 30 above and further in view of Karunaratne US Pat. No. 9,168,464.
In Reference to Claim 31-32
Lemchen as modified by Chen teaches:
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 30, wherein:
the plurality of interlocking blocks comprise display panels, each of the display panels including a plurality of light emitting diodes defining a majority of a front surface thereof (Lemchen: the blocks may include lights and other similar electronic effects [0054], Chen: the blocks may include an electronic function, such as an image, [0017]), or at least one of the plurality of interlocking blocks comprises an axle piece having an upper surface and at least one coupling stud extending therefrom, or a steering piece including a receptacle configured to receive a coupling stud of one of the plurality of interlocking blocks (Lemchen: the toy assembly may take the form of an automobile which inherently would include an axle for wheels).
Lemchen fails to teach:
The at least one electronic element specifically having a motor, the system further comprising a quarter wave resonator coupled to the one or more conductive pathways and an inductor coupled to the at least one electronic element, the quarter wave resonator and the inductor being configured to define a transformer that provides power to the at least one electronic element.
Further, Karunaratne teaches:
A similar electronic building block toy set (Fig. 1-70) having a plurality of connectable building blocks having coupling devices for connecting blocks to one another and conductive pathways being formed between adjacent blocks (plurality of connectable blocks that communicate between each other, ex. Fig. 23-24, 61, etc.), the conductive pathways configured to define an electrical circuit between a power source (circuits established between connected blocks, ex. Fig. 70) and electronic elements when the blocks are coupled together (numerous electronic elements may be used in a respective brick, ex. Fig. 1-24, etc.), the block may include display areas/panels over a majority of a front surface, ex. 84/86/90/92/94, Fig. 19-22, 206/208, Fig. 41, 58, etc.), andat least one of the plurality of interlocking blocks comprises an axle piece having an upper surface and at least one coupling stud extending therefrom, or a steering piece including a receptacle configured to receive a coupling stud of one of the plurality of interlocking blocks (Karunaratne: Fig. 24 shows an automobile with an axle for wheels on one of the blocks).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Lemchen to have further included different actuatable electronic elements, such as LED displays and axles in order to allow different functioning electronic elements to be connected and used making the toy more versatile and interesting to play with as known and taught by Karunaratne (col. 8 line 44 – col. 12 line 46) and as Lemchen teaches that the blocks functions and designs may be modified ([0054]).
In Reference to Claim 33-34
Lemchen as modified by Chen teaches:
The electronic interlocking block system of claim 30, wherein:
the plurality of interlocking blocks comprise robotic components, and the at least one electronic element comprises a motor, a quarter wave resonator coupled to the one or more conductive pathways and configured to act as a tap to pull electricity toward the at least one electronic element, and an inductor coupled to the at least one electronic element, the quarter wave resonator and the inductor being configured to operate together to define a transformer (Lemchen: the electronic element may include motor driven activated portions of an automobile (windshield wipers) or a movable garage door of a house, [0054], which would inherently require an electronically connected motor in that respective block to receives power using respective elements, such as a resonator/inductor/transformer).
Lemchen fails to teach:
The at least one electronic element specifically having a motor, the system further comprising a quarter wave resonator coupled to the one or more conductive pathways and an inductor coupled to the at least one electronic element, the quarter wave resonator and the inductor being configured to define a transformer that provides power to the at least one electronic element.
Further, Karunaratne teaches:
A similar electronic building block toy set (Fig. 1-70) having a plurality of connectable building blocks having coupling devices for connecting blocks to one another and conductive pathways being formed between adjacent blocks (plurality of connectable blocks that communicate between each other, ex. Fig. 23-24, 61, etc.), the conductive pathways configured to define an electrical circuit between a power source (circuits established between connected blocks, ex. Fig. 70) and electronic elements when the blocks are coupled together (numerous electronic elements may be used in a respective brick, ex. Fig. 1-24, etc.),
the at least one electronic element comprises a motor, the system further comprising a quarter wave resonator coupled to the one or more conductive pathways and an inductor coupled to the at least one electronic element, the quarter wave resonator and the inductor being configured to define a transformer that provides power to the at least one electronic element (bricks may include motors powered by conductive sources from a power source, the power received by a resonator/inductor/transformer to translate the provided power and convert it into activation/movement or light/display of the respective electronic element, Fig. 1-2, 8, 30-31, etc., col. 8 line 44 – col. 12 line 46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Lemchen to have further included different actuatable electronic elements using known power giving and receiving portions between coupled circuit pathways of connected blocks in order to allow different functioning electronic elements to be connected and used making the toy more versatile and interesting to play with as known and taught by Karunaratne (col. 8 line 44 – col. 12 line 46) and as Lemchen teaches that the blocks functions and designs may be modified ([0054]). Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used the respective power converting parts of the interactive circuit (QWR, inductor, transformer, etc.) to allow the blocks to function as needed as these parts are general components that would be used to transfer power between the connected blocks and allow the parts to function as described as the power transferring and converting means are suitable for the same intended purpose and Chen teaches that other known circuitry components are obvious to use ([0012], [0019]).
Brief Discussion of Other Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the references cited page for publications that are noted for containing similar subject matter as the applicant. For example, Kokhan (11,772,003), MacDonald (11,291,925), Almog (2016/0220919), Bdeir (9,597,607), Oschuetz (8,851,953), Gaute (8,753,163), Binder (8,742,814), Seymour (8,221,182), Schweikardt (2012/0122059), Seymour (7,273,377), Yim (6,575,802), Shackelford (6,443,796), Chung (5,779,515), and Bach (4,894,040) teach similar connectable conductive electronic block toy systems.
Conclusion
If the applicant or applicant’s representation has any questions or concerns regarding this office action or the application they are welcome to contact the examiner at the phone number listed below and schedule and interview to discuss the outstanding issues and possible amendments to expedite prosecution of this application.
/ALEXANDER R NICONOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711