DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the transport path" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oota (US-20210390814-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oota teaches
A coin processing device, comprising:
a first storage (30) and a second storage (238) each configured to store a coin;
a transport (236) configured to transport the coin;
an outlet (40, paragraph 43, lines 1-4) configured to dispense the coin to outside; and
a controller (249) configured to execute a first operation of transmitting the coin stored in the first storage so as to store the coin in the second storage (Paragraph 58, lines 1-7, paragraph 59, lines 4-6), and a second operation of dispensing the coin stored in the second storage from the outlet (Paragraph 95, lines 1-6),
wherein the controller executes the first operation in a period after execution of the second operation until a start of the next second operation (Paragraph 41, lines 1-4), and
wherein a timing of execution of the first operation can be changed in a period after execution of the second operation until a start of the next second operation (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11).
Regarding Claim 1, Oota discloses changing the timing of the second operation (dispensing), but not expressly changing the timing of the first operation (depositing). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have adjusted the timing of the depositing timing as well as the dispensing timing, as a matter of design choice since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of such timing of both variables involves routine skill in the art and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have found it beneficial to adjust both variables in the range to enable efficient and compact coin processing.
Regarding claim 2, Oota discloses the coin processing device according to claim 1, wherein the controller (249) acquires information about a timing of execution of the first operation input by a user through an input part (250), and sets the timing of execution of the first operation in accordance with the information acquired (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11 and Paragraph 64, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 2, while Oota does not expressly teach the input part setting the timing of execution of the first operation through an input by a user, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention that the input device could be configured to perform this operation as a matter of design choice. Oota discloses that the cash handling system can be configured such that a clerk can set the timing of execution of an operation manually (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11). One of ordinary skill in the art would identify the input part (250) as an obvious means of changing the timing of the first operation.
Regarding claim 3, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 2, wherein the controller (249) causes the input part (250) to display a screen configured to input a time from completion of the second operation to a start of the first operation (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11 and Paragraph 64, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 3, while Oota does not expressly teach the input part being capable of setting the timing from completion of the second operation to a start of the first operation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention that the input device could be configured to perform this operation. Oota discloses that the cash handling system can be configured such that a clerk can set the timing of execution of an operation manually (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11). One of ordinary skill in the art would identify the input part (250) as an obvious means of changing the operational timing.
Regarding claim 4 Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 2, wherein the controller (249) causes the input part (250) to display a time from completion of the second operation to a start of the first operation in a selectable manner from among a plurality of predetermined times (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11, Paragraph 64, lines 1-7 and Paragraph 102, lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 4, while Oota does not expressly teach the input part being capable of setting the timing from completion of the second operation to a start of the first operation in a selectable manner from among a plurality of predetermined times, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention that the input device could be configured to perform this operation. Oota discloses that the cash handling system can be configured such that a clerk can set the timing of execution of an operation manually (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11). Oota also discloses the timing of performing operations may be a plurality of timings (Paragraph 102, lines 11-14). One of ordinary skill in the art would identify the input part (250) as an obvious means of changing the operational timing.
Regarding claim 5, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 2, wherein the controller (249) causes the input part (250) to display the information about the timing of execution of the first operation in a selectable manner from among a plurality of options (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11 and Paragraph 64, lines 1-7 and Paragraph 102, lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 5, while Oota does not expressly teach the input part being capable of setting the timing of operation of the first operation in a selectable manner from among a plurality of predetermined times, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention that the input device could be configured to perform this operation. Oota discloses that the cash handling system can be configured such that a clerk can set the timing of execution of an operation manually (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11). Oota also discloses the timing of performing operations may be a plurality of timings (Paragraph 102, lines 11-14). One of ordinary skill in the art would identify the input part (250) as an obvious means of changing the operational timing.
Regarding claim 6, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 5, wherein as the plurality of options (Paragraph 102, lines 11-14), the controller (249) causes the input part (250) to display in a selectable manner (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11 and Paragraph 64, lines 1-7) at least execution of the first operation after an elapse of a predetermined time after completion of the second operation (Paragraph 41, lines 1-4), or execution of the first operation consecutively from the second operation (Paragraph 41, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, while Oota does not expressly teach the input part being capable of setting the timing of operation of the first operation in a selectable manner from among an elapse of time or consecutively from the second operation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention that the input device could be configured to perform this operation. Oota discloses that the cash handling system can be configured such that a clerk can set the timing of execution of an operation manually (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11). Oota also discloses the timing of performing operations may be a plurality of timings (Paragraph 102, lines 11-14). One of ordinary skill in the art would identify the input part (250) as an obvious means of changing the operational timing.
Regarding claim 7, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 5, wherein: the controller (249) acquires information about an input of the user on an order input part (250) configured to receive an input for transaction, and as the plurality of options (Paragraph 102, lines 11-14), the controller causes the input part to display in a selectable manner at least execution of the first operation while the user performs input on the order input part (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11 and Paragraph 64, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 7, while Oota does not expressly teach the input part being capable of executing the first operation in a selectable manner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention that the input device could be configured to perform this operation. Oota discloses that the cash handling system can be configured such that a clerk can set the timing of execution of an operation manually (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11). Oota also discloses the timing of performing operations may be a plurality of timings (Paragraph 102, lines 11-14). One of ordinary skill in the art would identify the input part (250) as an obvious means of changing the operational timing.
Regarding claim 8, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 1, wherein the controller (249) sets a time until a start of the first operation after the second operation (Paragraph 103, lines 1-5 and Paragraph 102, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 8, while Oota does not expressly teach setting a time until a first operation after a second operation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the invention to do so. The control unit of Oota controls the timing of a dispensing process such that it is completed before depositing begins. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the timing between these operations could be controlled.
Regarding claim 9, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 1, wherein the controller (249) sets the timing of execution of the first operation from among a plurality of options (Paragraph 102, lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 9, while Oota does not expressly teach setting the timing of execution of the first operation from among a plurality of options, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the money handling apparatus could be adapted to do so. Oota expressly teaches the timing of the second operation being selectable from a plurality of options, not the first operation. One of ordinary skill in the art, however, would identify that by changing the timing of the second operation, the timing of the first operation would necessarily need to change as well, due to the relationship between these two operations established by Oota (Fig. 8, Paragraph 41, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 4, wherein the controller (249) sets execution of the first operation after an elapse of a predetermined time after completion of the second operation (Paragraph 103, lines 1-5 and Paragraph 102, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 10, while Oota does not expressly teach setting execution of the first operation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to do so. Oota teaches setting a timing of execution of the second operation, as well as a timed relationship between the first and second operations.
Regarding claim 11, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 1, wherein the controller (249) sets execution of the first operation consecutively from the second operation (Figure 8).
Regarding claim 11, while Oota does not expressly teach setting execution of the first operation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to do so. Oota teaches setting a timing of execution of the second operation, as well as a timed relationship between the first and second operations. Figure 8 shows a timing chart, displaying capability of the first operation to be executed consecutively from the second operation.
Regarding claim 15, Oota teaches a method of controlling a coin processing device, comprising: performing a first operation (Paragraph 58, lines 1-7, paragraph 59, lines 4-6) to store, from a first storage (30) configured to store coins, at least some of the coins in a second storage (238) by transporting the at least some of the coins from the first storage; and performing a second operation (Paragraph 95, lines 1-6) to dispense from an outlet (40) at least some of coins stored in the second storage, wherein the first operation is executed in a period after execution of the second operation until a start of the next second operation (Paragraph 41, lines 1-4), and wherein a timing of execution of the first operation can be changed in a period after execution of the second operation until a start of the next second operation (Paragraph 139, lines 1-11).
Regarding Claim 15, Oota discloses changing the timing of the second operation (dispensing), but not expressly changing the timing of the first operation (depositing). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have adjusted the timing of the depositing timing as well as the dispensing timing, as a matter of design choice since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of such timing of both variables involves routine skill in the art and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have found it beneficial to adjust both variables in the range to enable efficient and compact coin processing.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oota (US-20210390814-A1) in view of Machida (US-20190073854-A1).
Regarding claim 12, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 1, wherein the controller (249) sets the timing of execution of the first operation (Paragraph 103, lines 1-5). Oota does not expressly teach, however Machida teaches execution in accordance with frequency of the second operation (Paragraph 171, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the coin processing device taught by Oota with the execution of the first operation based on the frequency of the second operation taught by Machida. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that a replenishment of change to a storage meant to dispense change to the outside would not need to be completed upon every dispensing operation. Reducing the total amount of depositing operations per dispensing operation would reduce power required to operate the apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Oota in view of Machida teaches the coin processing device according to claim 12, wherein in a case where the frequency is lower than a predetermined level (Machida, Paragraph 171, lines 1-16), the controller (Oota, 249) executes the first operation when a predetermined time has elapsed after completion of the second operation (Oota, Paragraph 103, lines 1-5 and Paragraph 102, lines 4-9), and wherein in a case where the frequency is higher than the predetermined level (Machida, Paragraph 171, lines 1-16), the controller executes the first operation consecutively from the second operation (Oota, Figure 8).
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the ability to change the timing of execution of the first operation taught by Oota with the timing of execution on the basis of frequency taught by Machida. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that in a case where the frequency of the second operation is low, fewer change funds would need to be supplied to the second storage and in a case where the frequency of the second operation is high, change funds would need to be supplied more quickly. These two cases would balance the need to meet a supply of coins for dispensing to the outside as well as reducing power costs associated with more frequent executions of the first operation.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oota (US-20210390814-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwamura (US-20140238815-A1).
Regarding claim 14, Oota teaches the coin processing device according to claim 1. Oota does not teach, however Iwamura teaches further comprising a feeding part (“feeding unit” paragraph 72, lines 3-5) configured to feed the coin to the transport path (16); and a sensor (“remaining banknote detecting sensor” Paragraph 221, lines 1-3) disposed at the feeding part and configured to detect a remaining object inside the feeding part, wherein when the remaining object is detected by the sensor, the controller (320) determines whether to determine the remaining object to be an error in accordance with details of a process (Paragraph 221, lines 1-7) that is being executed.
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the coin processing device taught by Oota with the feeding part sensor taught by Iwamura. While Iwamura does not expressly teach an apparatus capable of handling coins, one of ordinary skill in the art would identify the structure of Iwamura as being capable of operating with coins in place of banknotes, as the feeding part sensor and controller are not exclusively usable for banknotes. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that a sensor to detect the presence of coins in a feeding part would ensure no coins remained undeposited in error. This would reduce the likelihood of unexpected jams in the transport unit.
Conclusion
/J.R.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653