DETAILED ACTION
Receipt of Applicant’s amendments filed on April 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Applicant amended claims 47, 57, and 66.
Claims 47-66 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 47-66 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Regarding Prior Art Rejections
Examiner initially rejected claims 47-66 as being unpatentable over the prior art. Applicant argued that the cited art does not teach the newly amended claims. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 47-66 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. Ljujic does teach that in order for the augmented reality image to be displayed, the user must be authorized done in the form of logging into the system. The difference between Ljujic and the new amendments is merely the form of that logging-in/authorization. A new reference Hurry is used to teach this aspect when the authorization process is based on a device identifier. Therefore the authorization based on a device identifier of Hurry, when combined with the generally recited authorization process of Ljujic teach Applicant’s claims.
Examiner maintains this rejection.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112 first paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47-51, 53-61, and 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljujic, US Patent Application Publication NO 2015/0371219 in view of Hurry, US Patent Application Publication NO 2009/0144205.
Regarding claims 47 and 57;
(Claim 57) A method for a mobile interface, the method comprising:
recognizing, by an application on a smart phone, an appearance of a contactless transaction card within a real-time digital image captured by a digital camera of the smart phone,
See Ljujic [0169] As with a standard image personalised card, a video card also allows for a preview functionality prior to confirming the purchase of the card (step S52), which is shown in FIG. 13. The user opens the preview screen and a camera associated with the user device 10 is turned on. The user then puts any card 11 in front of the camera, and the AR software recognises the shape of the card and then tracks the position of the recognised card. The proposed design and video is then overlaid 12 on the card in the user device display 13. Such a system does not require the card to be printed, but simply recognises the shape of any card in order to demonstrate the AR functionality and expected look/results. This AR functionality could also be utilised for previewing an image card.
communicating, by the application on the smart phone, with an authentication server to confirm that the contactless transaction card is one of a plurality of contactless transaction cards associated with a provider of an account holder account,
See Ljujic [0173] The user or recipient places the card in the view of an image capture device such as a camera of the user device used for reading the card (step S60). A recognition system is then used to recognise the card and perform a matching process. Once a match is made (between the card and the video), the user device either intakes a video stream or downloads the video, is in view of the camera. The card image is examined using a processor of the user device in order to attempt to identify unique features in the image being examined, such as the image itself or other recognition elements such as the PAN or an MRD (step S61). The processor uses a particular processing methodology forming part of the mobile app, which is stored on the user device. If the card image is used as an identifying unique feature, and since the image consists of pixels and pixels are interpreted as a series of numbers, the image recognition system detects these patterns. Once a suitable pattern has been recognised this recognised pattern is transmitted from the user device over a network to the service provider server. The service provider server then compares the received image pattern information and compares this with images stored in its database (step S62). Once the server finds a match, the server then obtains the video associated with the image and transmits this image to the user device (step S63).
transmitting, by the application on the smart phone, a display authorization request to the authentication server, the display authorization…,
See Ljujic [0173] [0009] The method may further comprise sending, with the manipulated image, information identifying a user associated with the user device when sending the manipulated image from the user device to the service provider. The method may further comprise obtaining the information identifying the user. The information identifying the user may be obtained using a login process. The user may be identified from information stored on the user device.
[0098] Once registered, the user is able to log into the system through a user login landing page as shown in FIG. 3, where the user is required to input the necessary security information. In FIG. 3, this login information is a username and password, however, it will be appreciated that other login information could be utilised. If the service provider's system is incorporated into an issuer's web page, such as a bank's web page, the login procedure can be connected to the bank's database and therefore the bank's server 500. In such circumstances the login details may be the same as for any other part of the bank's online banking services. In this case, the login and security provisions are the responsibility of the bank or issuer and if the login is successful, an Application Programming Interface (API) call is made to the service provider's system for identifying the user. The user is then passed to the next step, the card designer screen.
in response to receiving a display authorization response confirming that [the entity] is authorized to display the indicia related to the account holder account, constructing, by the application, an augmented reality image containing indicia related to the account holder account, and
See Ljujic [0173] The service provider server then compares the received image pattern information and compares this with images stored in its database (step S62). Once the server finds a match, the server then obtains the video associated with the image and transmits this image to the user device (step S63). The user device then displays the video overlaid on the card in the output image of the user device screen (step S64).
[0178] It will be appreciated that the augmented reality system need not provide an overlaid video, but could instead provide an overlaid image.
displaying, through a display on the smart phone, the augmented reality image superimposed over the real-time digital image of the contactless transaction card from a camera on the smart phone.
See Ljujic [0173] The service provider server then compares the received image pattern information and compares this with images stored in its database (step S62). Once the server finds a match, the server then obtains the video associated with the image and transmits this image to the user device (step S63). The user device then displays the video overlaid on the card in the output image of the user device screen (step S64).
[0178] It will be appreciated that the augmented reality system need not provide an overlaid video, but could instead provide an overlaid image.
Ljujic does not explicitly teach:
the display authorization request including user device identification information,
in response to receiving a display authorization response confirming that the smart phone is authorized to display the indicia related to the account holder account,
The reference Hurry teaches:
the display authorization request including user device identification information,
in response to receiving a display authorization response confirming that the smart phone is authorized to display the indicia related to the account holder account,
See Hurry [0062] User media device 144 is operable to provide payment account information and an ID of user media device 144 along with the purchase selection indication. Accordingly, at least one of the media server device 142, the media advertisement response processor 146, the acquiring entity device 152 and the issuer device 162 is operable to compare the user media device ID to the payment account information as a part of determining whether to approve (or forward) the authorization request.
[0111] Upon receiving message 516, merchant server 520 is operable to generate message 524 which includes a payment authorization request and the media device ID to a payment card acquirer payment server 528. The payment authorization request of message 524 further includes the payment card account information. Server 528 is then operable to determine a corresponding payment card processor server 536 and to send message 532 to corresponding payment card processor server 536. Message 532 includes the payment authorization request and the media device ID of the media device 14 that generated purchase selection message 30.
[0114] More specifically, server 536 compares the received media device ID to a media device ID that is embedded within the payment card account information (which was originally stored on smart card 34 when smart card 34 was created). Thus, server 536 is operable to extract the media device ID stored within the payment card account information. If the media device ID stored within the payment card account information corresponds to the received media device ID of the media device 14 that generated purchase selection message 30, authorization server 536 sends payment authorization request message 540 to financial institution issuer server 544 indicating that it has approved the payment authorization request for approval. In one embodiment, mere transmission of the payment authorization requests indicates the approval by the authorization server 536. Alternately, an express approval or denial by server 536 may be included in message 540 to enable server 544 to validate or override the determination by server 536.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the authorization process of the primary reference, the ability to have that authorization be based on a device ID as taught by Hurry since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additional motivation includes having the authorization be based on the device makes the processing of the information more secure.
Regarding claims 48 and 58;
(Claim 58) The method of claim 57, wherein the action to recognize an appearance of the contactless transaction card includes processing the real-time digital image to determine if a background pattern of the contactless transaction card matches one of a plurality of non-unique card background patterns associated with the provider of the account holder account.
See Ljujic [0173] The user or recipient places the card in the view of an image capture device such as a camera of the user device used for reading the card (step S60). A recognition system is then used to recognise the card and perform a matching process. Once a match is made (between the card and the video), the user device either intakes a video stream or downloads the video, is in view of the camera. The card image is examined using a processor of the user device in order to attempt to identify unique features in the image being examined, such as the image itself or other recognition elements such as the PAN or an MRD (step S61).
Regarding claims 49 and 59;
(Claim 59) The method of claim 57 wherein the action to communicate with the authentication server is carried out only in response to a determination that the background pattern matches one of the plurality of non-unique card background patterns.
See Ljujic [0173] The processor uses a particular processing methodology forming part of the mobile app, which is stored on the user device. If the card image is used as an identifying unique feature, and since the image consists of pixels and pixels are interpreted as a series of numbers, the image recognition system detects these patterns. Once a suitable pattern has been recognised this recognised pattern is transmitted from the user device over a network to the service provider server. The service provider server then compares the received image pattern information and compares this with images stored in its database (step S62). Once the server finds a match, the server then obtains the video associated with the image and transmits this image to the user device (step S63).
Regarding claims 50 and 60;
(Claim 60) The method of claim 57, further comprising, establishing communication with the contactless transaction card over a near field communication interface.
See Ljujic [0009] The information identifying the user may be obtained using near field communication NFC.
Regarding claims 51 and 61;
(Claim 61) The method of claim 60, further comprising, receiving account information from a processor chip on the contactless transaction card.
See Ljujic [0176] In the case of NFC, the initial matching of NFC chip is carried out during the personalisation of the card at the CPB. During the personalisation process, the CPBs equipment reads the serial number associated with the NFC chip and transfers it back to the service provider under the same unique identifier that was used for the user image. The service provider then associates chip number to the image and video. It will be appreciated that the CPB could encode the uID to the NFC tag so that the CPB need not send the chip serial number back to the service provider's system.
[0106] Due to the importance of financial data security, card issuers cannot and/or will not usually share account holder information with 3rd parties. For this reason instead of identifying the user and user image in accordance with their financial information, an alternative identification mechanism is provided for linking the user of the card personalisation service provider's service to an account held with their bank and in particular to a card perso file for that user, which is data required for a financial transaction card such as the magnetic stripe, chip, and emboss/indent data. This alternative identification mechanism is discussed below.
Regarding claims 53 and 63;
(Claim 63) The method of claim 61, further comprising, transmitting a display authorization request to the authentication server.
See Ljujic [0018] The method may further comprise receiving, at the server associated with the service provider, a request to access a financial card personalisation website hosted by the service provider, and providing access to the website responsive to receipt of the request, wherein the website includes the computer operable instructions. The service provider may be operated by the card issuer and therefore the request may be received at and processed by the card issuer. Alternatively, the request may also be received at a card issuer website and forwarded onto a service provider arranged to provide the card personalisation process for the card issuer.
Regarding claims 54 and 64;
(Claim 64) The method of claim 63, wherein the display authorization request includes the account information.
See Ljujic [0185] In an embodiment of the invention OCR is utilised in order to speed up the credit card saving procedure. OCR is used to recognize the credit card number the user wants to use for online payment. A camera of a user device takes a picture of a credit or debit card in the field of vision of the camera. The OCR function reads the data embossed on the card. For example, the OCR function reads the Personal Account Number (PAN) which is the long 16-digit number printed on any credit or debit card, valid from/to dates, issue number (if applicable), and/or cardholder name.
[0173] The user or recipient places the card in the view of an image capture device such as a camera of the user device used for reading the card (step S60). A recognition system is then used to recognise the card and perform a matching process. Once a match is made (between the card and the video), the user device either intakes a video stream or downloads the video, is in view of the camera. The card image is examined using a processor of the user device in order to attempt to identify unique features in the image being examined, such as the image itself or other recognition elements such as the PAN or an MRD (step S61).
Regarding claims 55 and 65;
(Claim 65) The method of claim 57, wherein constructing the augmented reality image further comprises determining a pose of the contactless transaction card relative to the digital camera.
See Ljujic [0173] The image is tracked in space using AR SDK and the position of the AR overlay is adjusted according to personalized card position. For non-standard shaped cards, the mobile device is able to detect the borders of the object (i.e. the card), so that it can determine the exact shape on which the AR content would be displayed. Consequently, the video can be displayed within the borders of the physical card.
Regarding claim 66;
(Claim 66) A mobile interface device, comprising:
a data processor; a communication interface in communication with the data processor and configured for selective communication with an authentication server via a network;
a near field communication interface in communication with the data processor and configured for communication with a contactless transaction card; a user interface comprising at least a user input device and a display device; a digital camera configured to capture a real-time digital image of the contactless transaction for real-time display on the display device;
a memory block accessible by the data processor and containing a transaction card application with instructions to be carried out by the data processor, the transaction card application being configured to:
See Ljujic [0086] In the system of FIG. 1, a user is able to create an image that they want printed on the card at a user device 100. The user device includes at least a processor arranged to perform the processing for creation of the image, a memory used to store the image being processed, and a communications unit for communicating with other devices and across one or more networks. The user device 100 is depicted as a laptop computer in FIG. 1, but it will be appreciated that the user device could be any computing device capable of performing such processing such as a desktop computer, mobile smart phone, tablet, PDA, or such like. The user is therefore able to edit, manipulate and process the image on the user device.
[0009] The scanning may be performed by a camera of the user device obtaining an image and a processor of the user device processing the image to identify information identifying the user… The information identifying the user may be obtained using near field communication NFC.
See also Figure 1
receive an authentication request for an account associated with the contactless transaction card based on a near field communication from the contactless transaction card;
See Ljujic [0018] The method may further comprise receiving, at the server associated with the service provider, a request to access a financial card personalisation website hosted by the service provider, and providing access to the website responsive to receipt of the request, wherein the website includes the computer operable instructions. The service provider may be operated by the card issuer and therefore the request may be received at and processed by the card issuer. Alternatively, the request may also be received at a card issuer website and forwarded onto a service provider arranged to provide the card personalisation process for the card issuer.
[0097] When registering, the user can create a user account profile. The user profile is stored on the service provider server. The user information may include one or more of the user's first name, surname, address, DOB, and a log-in password. Depending on the system, various other security provisions could be provided for authentication purposes.
[0169] As with a standard image personalised card, a video card also allows for a preview functionality prior to confirming the purchase of the card (step S52), which is shown in FIG. 13. The user opens the preview screen and a camera associated with the user device 10 is turned on. The user then puts any card 11 in front of the camera, and the AR software recognises the shape of the card and then tracks the position of the recognised card. The proposed design and video is then overlaid 12 on the card in the user device display 13. Such a system does not require the card to be printed, but simply recognises the shape of any card in order to demonstrate the AR functionality and expected look/results. This AR functionality could also be utilised for previewing an image card.
transmit the authentication request to the authentication server;
See Ljujic [0097] When registering, the user can create a user account profile. The user profile is stored on the service provider server. The user information may include one or more of the user's first name, surname, address, DOB, and a log-in password. Depending on the system, various other security provisions could be provided for authentication purposes.
[0169] As with a standard image personalised card, a video card also allows for a preview functionality prior to confirming the purchase of the card (step S52), which is shown in FIG. 13. The user opens the preview screen and a camera associated with the user device 10 is turned on. The user then puts any card 11 in front of the camera, and the AR software recognises the shape of the card and then tracks the position of the recognised card. The proposed design and video is then overlaid 12 on the card in the user device display 13. Such a system does not require the card to be printed, but simply recognises the shape of any card in order to demonstrate the AR functionality and expected look/results. This AR functionality could also be utilised for previewing an image card.
receive authentication from the authentication server for the account;
See Ljujic [0099] Once the user has successfully passed authentication, the user is presented with a card designer module where the user is able to design their card at step S5. The design of the personalisation card will be described in detail later in this document.
transmit a display authorization request to the authentication server, the display authorization…,
See Ljujic [0173] [0009] The method may further comprise sending, with the manipulated image, information identifying a user associated with the user device when sending the manipulated image from the user device to the service provider. The method may further comprise obtaining the information identifying the user. The information identifying the user may be obtained using a login process. The user may be identified from information stored on the user device.
[0098] Once registered, the user is able to log into the system through a user login landing page as shown in FIG. 3, where the user is required to input the necessary security information. In FIG. 3, this login information is a username and password, however, it will be appreciated that other login information could be utilised. If the service provider's system is incorporated into an issuer's web page, such as a bank's web page, the login procedure can be connected to the bank's database and therefore the bank's server 500. In such circumstances the login details may be the same as for any other part of the bank's online banking services. In this case, the login and security provisions are the responsibility of the bank or issuer and if the login is successful, an Application Programming Interface (API) call is made to the service provider's system for identifying the user. The user is then passed to the next step, the card designer screen.
in response to receiving a display authorization response confirming that [the entity] is authorized to display the indicia related to the account holder account, construct an augmented reality image containing indicia related to the account holder account, and
See Ljujic [0173] The service provider server then compares the received image pattern information and compares this with images stored in its database (step S62). Once the server finds a match, the server then obtains the video associated with the image and transmits this image to the user device (step S63). The user device then displays the video overlaid on the card in the output image of the user device screen (step S64).
[0178] It will be appreciated that the augmented reality system need not provide an overlaid video, but could instead provide an overlaid image.
display the augmented reality image superimposed over the real-time digital image of the contactless transaction card.
See Ljujic [0173] The service provider server then compares the received image pattern information and compares this with images stored in its database (step S62). Once the server finds a match, the server then obtains the video associated with the image and transmits this image to the user device (step S63). The user device then displays the video overlaid on the card in the output image of the user device screen (step S64).
[0178] It will be appreciated that the augmented reality system need not provide an overlaid video, but could instead provide an overlaid image.
Ljujic does not explicitly teach:
the display authorization request including user device identification information,
in response to receiving a display authorization response confirming that the smart phone is authorized to display the indicia related to the account holder account,
The reference Hurry teaches:
the display authorization request including user device identification information,
in response to receiving a display authorization response confirming that the smart phone is authorized to display the indicia related to the account holder account,
See Hurry [0062] User media device 144 is operable to provide payment account information and an ID of user media device 144 along with the purchase selection indication. Accordingly, at least one of the media server device 142, the media advertisement response processor 146, the acquiring entity device 152 and the issuer device 162 is operable to compare the user media device ID to the payment account information as a part of determining whether to approve (or forward) the authorization request.
[0111] Upon receiving message 516, merchant server 520 is operable to generate message 524 which includes a payment authorization request and the media device ID to a payment card acquirer payment server 528. The payment authorization request of message 524 further includes the payment card account information. Server 528 is then operable to determine a corresponding payment card processor server 536 and to send message 532 to corresponding payment card processor server 536. Message 532 includes the payment authorization request and the media device ID of the media device 14 that generated purchase selection message 30.
[0114] More specifically, server 536 compares the received media device ID to a media device ID that is embedded within the payment card account information (which was originally stored on smart card 34 when smart card 34 was created). Thus, server 536 is operable to extract the media device ID stored within the payment card account information. If the media device ID stored within the payment card account information corresponds to the received media device ID of the media device 14 that generated purchase selection message 30, authorization server 536 sends payment authorization request message 540 to financial institution issuer server 544 indicating that it has approved the payment authorization request for approval. In one embodiment, mere transmission of the payment authorization requests indicates the approval by the authorization server 536. Alternately, an express approval or denial by server 536 may be included in message 540 to enable server 544 to validate or override the determination by server 536.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the authorization process of the primary reference, the ability to have that authorization be based on a device ID as taught by Hurry since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additional motivation includes having the authorization be based on the device makes the processing of the information more secure.
Claims 52 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljujic and Hurry as applied to claims 47-51, 53-61, and 63-66 above, and further in view of Auten, US Patent Application Publication NO 2016/0019449.
Regarding claims 52 and 62;
The Primary reference does not explicitly teach:
(Claim 62) The method of claim 61, wherein the account information from the processor chip on the contactless transaction card is encrypted.
The reference Auten teaches:
wherein the account information from the processor chip on the contactless transaction card is encrypted.
See Auten [0048] [0048] In one embodiment microcomputer unit (MCU) 25 is implemented using part no. STM32L151C6U6 available from STMicroelectronics or equivalent low power MCU. The MCU handles all the interfaces, stores any required data, performs encryption/decryption, etc. It processes the instructions sent by the external smartphone (or cell phone) application and modifies the card operation. The processor may also have its own application that assists the card to communicate to a phone, other cards, payment devices, and networks. It also may use the information from the buttons and communicate to the LEDs to provide user input and output, have a lockout timer, help with security and more. The specifics of the programming of the MCU are not important for an understanding of the invention and, except for the emulator functionality are well within the abilities of those skilled in the art based on the descriptions provided herein.
[0063] All the information transmitted between the card and the application on the phone are encrypted with high standards to avoid “man in the middle” attacks or data leak/manipulation, or other attacks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the account information of the primary reference, the ability to encrypt that information as taught by Auten since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additional motivation includes encrypting the sensitive information makes the processing of the information more secure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J. WARDEN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3694
/BENNETT M SIGMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3694