DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 13-19 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neal et al. (US Publication Number 2024/0112394 A1, hereinafter “Neal”) in view of Roberts et al. (US Publication Number 2022/0004254 A1).
(1) regarding claim 1:
As shown in fig.1, Neal disclosed a system associated with an immersive experience framework of an enterprise (para. [0027], note that as referring to FIG. 1, the method 100 may be used to generate an immersive image suitable for 6DOF rendering and viewing in VR in response to a text description of the scene from the user), comprising:
an immersive virtual location data store that contains information about a plurality of three-dimensional scenes (para. [0061], note that a data structure may specify attributes, locations, or other information for entities referenced in the text-to-image prompt), each three-dimensional scene being associated with an immersive virtual location used to train employees of the enterprise (para. [0049], note that the immersive projection and corresponding depthmap, and possibly the background layer, may also be used in various other more complex ways. For example, for a still immersive projection, a simulated camera movement (rotation and/or translation) with respect to the surface 206 may be generated 120. The simulated camera movement may include a location and orientation of a virtual camera at each time point in a series of time points. For each time point, a frame of video may be rendered 122 by from the location and orientation corresponding to each time point); and
an immersive virtual location tool, coupled to the immersive virtual location data store (para. [0061], note that a data structure may specify attributes, locations, or other information for entities referenced in the text-to-image prompt), including:
a computer processor, and a computer memory storing instructions that when executed by the computer processor cause the immersive virtual location tool to (para. [0067], note that processor(s) 402 include one or more processors or controllers that execute instructions stored in memory device(s) 404 and/or mass storage device(s) 408):
receive, from one of a plurality of enterprise immersive virtual location creators, an immersive virtual location request (para. [0029], note that the text prompt may specify the relative locations of any of the above-mentioned entities (in front of, behind, to the side of, in foreground, in background etc). The text prompt may specify a collective or individual action and an object of such action that is performed by any of the entities referenced in the text prompt. The text prompt may specify attributes of any of the entities referenced in the text prompt),
automatically create a request prompt based on the immersive virtual location request, transmit the request prompt to a text-to-video generative artificial intelligence model (para. [0030], note that the method 100 may include processing 104 the text prompt with a text-to-image artificial image model to obtain a non-immersive image, such as DALL-E 1 or DALLE-2, Midjourney, Stable Diffusion, or other machine learning model, such as a deep neural network (DNN), generative adversarial network (GAN), or other type of machine learning network),
receive, from the text-to-video generative artificial intelligence model, a video of a virtual location, convert the video of the virtual location into a three-dimensional scene using a volume rendering technique (para. [0052], note that receiving 102 the text prompt may include the use of a large language model (LLM) 300 or other generative artificial intelligence model. The use of the LLM 300 will include the use of various types of text prompts. Accordingly, the text prompt used to generate an immersive projection and corresponding depthmap according to method 100 is referred to in the following description as a text-to-image prompt. Text prompts input to the LLM are referred to herein as text-generation prompts), store information about the three-dimensional scene in the immersive virtual location data store (para. [0048], note that the immersive projection and corresponding depthmap, and possibly the background layer, may be provided to a VR or three-dimensional rendering system in order to render left and right images for displaying 118 in a VR display device (e.g., headset), three-dimensional display viewable).
Neal disclosed most of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching arrange for a plurality of employees of the enterprise, who are not immersive virtual location creators, to access the virtual reality data store and receive enterprise training via the three-dimensional scene using a substantially real-time experience interaction engine.
However, Roberts disclosed arrange for a plurality of employees of the enterprise, who are not immersive virtual location creators, to access the virtual reality data store and receive enterprise training via the three-dimensional scene using a substantially real-time experience interaction engine (para. [0051], note that a virtual reality experience that blends real-time rendered computer graphics environments with full motion video to create an environment that that offers six degrees of freedom, reduces or eliminates the possibility of motion sickness, promotes depth perception of near-field objects, allows high-resolution video to be selectively used, and creates an immersive experience of an event. This viewing experience will revolutionize the way people remotely view sports, live shows, and other spectator events. Further use of this technology could be for emergency or first responder training, military training, pilot training, sports training).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach arrange for a plurality of employees of the enterprise, who are not immersive virtual location creators, to access the virtual reality data store and receive enterprise training via the three-dimensional scene using a substantially real-time experience interaction engine. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to enable an immersive virtual reality experience to be provided in a spectrum-efficient manner, while also being comfortable and enjoyable for the user (para. [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Neal with Roberts to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
(2) regarding claim 2:
Neal further disclosed the system of claim 1, wherein the request prompt is based on at least one of: (i) an environment description of the virtual location, and (ii) information inferred from a scenario (para. [0029], note that the text prompt will typically be a description of a scene. The text prompt may specify types of objects, types of people (gender, race, profession, fantasy role, etc.), real or mythical animals, or plants).
(3) regarding claim 3:
Neal further disclosed the system of claim 1, wherein the immersive virtual location request further includes information about at least one of: (i) a room description, (ii) a physics description, (iii) a style suggestion, (iv) an employee goal, and (v) a character in the virtual location (para. [0029], note that the text prompt may specify a setting (dessert, jungle, forest, outer space, city, town, fantasy village or city, alien planet or city, etc.), or any other information).
(4) regarding claim 4:
Neal further disclosed the system of claim 1, wherein the immersive virtual location request received from the immersive virtual location creator is associated with at least one of: (i) a text request, (ii) an audio request, (iii) an image request, and (iv) a video request (para. [0037], note that a consequence of generating the immersive projection while transforming the depthmap values as described above when warping between projections, is that lines which should be straight in the real 3D world are more likely to be straight in the immersive volumetric scene of the immersive image).
(5) regarding claim 5:
Neal further disclosed the system of claim 1, wherein the text-to-video model comprises a text-to-image model followed by an image-to-video model (para. [0049], note that a frame of video may be rendered 122 by from the location and orientation corresponding to each time point. An audio track corresponding to the rendered video may be generated 124).
(6) regarding claim 6:
Neal further disclosed the system of claim 1, wherein the generative artificial intelligence model comprises a multimodal Large Language Model ("LLM") (para. [0052], note that text prompts input to the LLM are referred to herein as text-generation prompts).
(7) regarding claim 9:
Neal further disclosed the system of claim 1, wherein the stored information about the three-dimensional scene includes a Java Script Object Notation ("JSON") file containing at least one of: (i) virtual environment locations, (ii) virtual environment dimensions, and (iii) virtual environment mesh references (para. [0061], note that the LLM 300 receives the text-generation prompt and outputs a text-to-image prompt that will have additional details for concepts referenced in the text-generation prompt. The text-to-image prompt may be in the form of text, one or more data structures (JavaScript Object Notation (JSON), or other type of object).).
(8) regarding claim 13:
Neal further disclosed the system of claim 1, wherein the immersive virtual location tool dynamically refines the request prompt via interactions with the immersive virtual location creator (para. [0072], note that interface(s) 406 include various interfaces that allow computing device 400 to interact with other systems, devices, or computing environments. Also see that, para. [0063], a user may then wish to make a change to the immersive projection and corresponding depthmap. The user may then provide an additional text-generation prompt to the LLM 300.).
Claim(s) 7-8, 14-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neal and Roberts, further in view of Ranjan et al. (US Publication Number 2025/0148678 A1, hereinafter “Ranjan”).
(1) regarding claim 14:
As shown in fig.1, Neal disclosed a computer-implemented method associated with an immersive experience framework of an enterprise (para. [0027], note that as referring to FIG. 1, the method 100 may be used to generate an immersive image suitable for 6DOF rendering and viewing in VR in response to a text description of the scene from the user), comprising:
an immersive virtual location request including an environment description of an immersive virtual location used to train employees of the enterprise (para. [0049], note that the immersive projection and corresponding depthmap, and possibly the background layer, may also be used in various other more complex ways. For example, for a still immersive projection, a simulated camera movement (rotation and/or translation) with respect to the surface 206 may be generated 120. The simulated camera movement may include a location and orientation of a virtual camera at each time point in a series of time points. For each time point, a frame of video may be rendered 122 by from the location and orientation corresponding to each time point);
automatically creating a request prompt based on the environment description (para. [0029], note that the method 100 may include receiving 102 a text prompt from the user. The text prompt will typically be a description of a scene);
dynamically refining the request prompt via interactions with the immersive virtual location creator (para. [0029], note that the text prompt may specify types of objects, types of people (gender, race, profession, fantasy role, etc.), real or mythical animals, or plants. The text prompt may specify a setting (dessert, jungle, forest, outer space, city, town, fantasy village or city, alien planet or city, etc.), or any other information i.e. refined setting);
transmitting the request prompt to a Large Language Model ("LLM") (para. [0052], note that receiving 102 the text prompt may include the use of a large language model (LLM) 300 or other generative artificial intelligence model);
receiving, from the LLM, a structured scene description for the virtual location (para. [0061], note that the LLM 300 receives the text-generation prompt and outputs a text-to-image prompt that will have additional details for concepts referenced in the text-generation prompt);
storing information about the three-dimensional scene in an immersive virtual location data store, wherein the immersive virtual location data store contains information about a plurality of three-dimensional scenes, each three-dimensional scene being associated with an immersive virtual location (para. [0048], note that the immersive projection and corresponding depthmap, and possibly the background layer, may then be output 116 for use by another process, for storage for later use, or for any other purpose. The immersive projection and corresponding depthmap, and possibly the background layer, may be provided to a VR or three-dimensional rendering system in order to render left and right images for displaying 118 in a VR display device (e.g., headset), three-dimensional display viewable).
Neal disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching receiving, by a computer processor of an immersive virtual location tool from one of a plurality of enterprise immersive virtual location creators; converting the structured scene description for the virtual location into a three-dimensional scene using a volume rendering technique associated with Gaussian splatting; and for a plurality of employees of the enterprise, who are not immersive virtual location creators, to access the virtual data store and receive enterprise training via the three-dimensional scene using a substantially real-time experience interaction engine.
However, Roberts disclosed receiving, by a computer processor of an immersive virtual location tool from one of a plurality of enterprise immersive virtual location creators (para. [0027], note that to facilitate creating an immersive VR experience, a high-quality, view-dependent, texture-mapped, three-dimensional (3D) model 230 of one or more objects are superimposed in the virtual environment 200. As shown in FIG. 4, an object provider 232 may overlay the objects in the virtual environment 200. The 3D models 230 may be created based on 3D scans of real-world objects that are or may be in the real-world location); converting the structured scene description for the virtual location into a three-dimensional scene (para. [0027], note to facilitate creating an immersive VR experience, a high-quality, view-dependent, texture-mapped, three-dimensional (3D) model 230 of one or more objects are superimposed in the virtual environment 200. As shown in FIG. 4, an object provider 232 may overlay the objects in the virtual environment 200. The 3D models 230 may be created based on 3D scans of real-world objects that are or may be in the real-world location (e.g., chairs, stools, sofas, televisions)); and for a plurality of employees of the enterprise, who are not immersive virtual location creators, to access the virtual data store and receive enterprise training via the three-dimensional scene using a substantially real-time experience interaction engine (para. [0051], note that a virtual reality experience that blends real-time rendered computer graphics environments with full motion video to create an environment that that offers six degrees of freedom, reduces or eliminates the possibility of motion sickness, promotes depth perception of near-field objects, allows high-resolution video to be selectively used, and creates an immersive experience of an event. This viewing experience will revolutionize the way people remotely view sports, live shows, and other spectator events. Further use of this technology could be for emergency or first responder training, military training, pilot training, sports training).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach receiving, by a computer processor of an immersive virtual location tool from one of a plurality of enterprise immersive virtual location creators; converting the structured scene description for the virtual location into a three-dimensional scene; and for a plurality of employees of the enterprise, who are not immersive virtual location creators, to access the virtual data store and receive enterprise training via the three-dimensional scene using a substantially real-time experience interaction engine. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to enable an immersive virtual reality experience to be provided in a spectrum-efficient manner, while also being comfortable and enjoyable for the user (para. [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Neal with Roberts to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
In addition to that, Ranjan teaches using a volume rendering technique associated with Gaussian splatting (para. [0024], note that the subject technology provides for human subject Gaussian splatting using machine learning).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach using a volume rendering technique associated with Gaussian splatting. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide benefits such as efficient rasterization and adaptability to unobserved deformations and enhancing the representation and animation of avatars (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Neal and Roberts with Ranjan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
(2) regarding claim 15:
Neal further disclosed the method of claim 14, wherein the immersive virtual location request further includes information about at least one of: (i) a room description, (ii) a physics description, (iii) a style suggestion, (iv) an employee goal, and (v) a character in the virtual location (para. [0029], note that the text prompt may specify a setting (dessert, jungle, forest, outer space, city, town, fantasy village or city, alien planet or city, etc.), or any other information).
(3) regarding claim 16:
Neal further disclosed the method of claim 14, wherein the immersive virtual location request received from the immersive virtual location creator is associated with at least one of: (i) a text request, (ii) an audio request, (iii) an image request, and (iv) a video request (para. [0037], note that a consequence of generating the immersive projection while transforming the depthmap values as described above when warping between projections, is that lines which should be straight in the real 3D world are more likely to be straight in the immersive volumetric scene of the immersive image).
(4) regarding claim 18:
Neal further disclosed the method of claim 16, wherein the stored information about the three-dimensional scene includes a Java Script Object Notation ("JSON") file containing at least one of: (i) virtual environment locations, (ii) virtual environment dimensions, and (iii) virtual environment mesh references (para. [0061], note that the LLM 300 receives the text-generation prompt and outputs a text-to-image prompt that will have additional details for concepts referenced in the text-generation prompt. The text-to-image prompt may be in the form of text, one or more data structures (JavaScript Object Notation (JSON), or other type of object).).
(5) regarding claim 7:
Neal disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the volume rendering technique is associated with Gaussian splatting.
However, Ranjan disclosed wherein the volume rendering technique is associated with Gaussian splatting (para. [0024], note that the subject technology provides for human subject Gaussian splatting using machine learning).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the volume rendering technique is associated with Gaussian splatting. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide benefits such as efficient rasterization and adaptability to unobserved deformations and enhancing the representation and animation of avatars (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Neal and Roberts with Ranjan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
(6) regarding claim 8:
Neal disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein three-dimensional Gaussians are converted into meshes enabling simulation physics.
However, Ranjan disclosed wherein three-dimensional Gaussians are converted into meshes enabling simulation physics (para. [0021], note that modeling individuals with clothing or intricate hairstyles within this approach may be limited, stemming from the inherent constraints of template meshes, including fixed topologies and surface-like geometries).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein three-dimensional Gaussians are converted into meshes enabling simulation physics. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide benefits such as efficient rasterization and adaptability to unobserved deformations and enhancing the representation and animation of avatars (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Neal and Roberts with Ranjan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
(7) regarding claim 13:
Neal further disclosed the media of claim 20, wherein the immersive virtual location tool dynamically refines the request prompt via interactions with the immersive virtual location creator (para. [0072], note that interface(s) 406 include various interfaces that allow computing device 400 to interact with other systems, devices, or computing environments. Also see, para. [0063], a user may then wish to make a change to the immersive projection and corresponding depthmap. The user may then provide an additional text-generation prompt to the LLM 300).
The proposed rejection of claims 8, 14, renders obvious the method claim 17 and the non-transitory computer-readable media claim 20 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed rejection as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claims 8 and 14 are equally applicable to claims 17 and 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Perez, III et al. (US Patent Number 10,373,342 B1) disclosed views of a virtual environment can be displayed on mobile devices in a real-world environment simultaneously for multiple users. The users can operate selections devices in the real-world environment that interact with objects in the virtual environment. Virtual characters and objects can be moved and manipulated using selection shapes. A graphical interface can be instantiated and rendered as part of the virtual environment. Virtual cameras and screens can also be instantiated to created storyboards, backdrops, and animated sequences of the virtual environment. These immersive experiences with the virtual environment can be used to generate content for users and for feature films.
Ouyang et al. (NPL, “Text2Immersion: Generative Immersive Scene with 3D Gaussians”, 12/2023) disclosed a method for producing high-quality 3D immersive scenes from text prompts. Our proposed pipeline initiated by progressively generating a Gaussian cloud using pre-trained 2D diffusion and depth estimation models. This is followed by a refining stage on the Gaussian cloud, interpolating and refining it to enhance the details of the generated scene.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HILINA K DEMETER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617