DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application No. 18756112 filed on 06/27/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because it contains the limitation “further comprising a sealing material that seals the circuit board in such a way as to allow the discharge portion of the first conductive terminal and the discharge portion of the second conductive terminal protrude to face each other via the gas”. It appears that the highlighted term is a typographical error. The examiner suggests amending the claim to correct the typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “further comprising a discharge wiring board, including….”. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation can not be determined for the following reasons: Figs. 3-4 of the instant application appears to disclose a single discharge wiring board with the specific first gap and second gap configuration. As disclosed in Fig. 2 the other wiring boards do not appear to have the specific first gap and second gap configuration. However, claim 4 appears to require multiple discharge wiring board with the specific first gap and second gap configuration. Accordingly, the scope of the claim is ambiguous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (US 2020/0205292).
Regarding independent claim 1, Inoue teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a circuit board (Fig. 1, element 2, paragraph 0019), including:
a wiring board (Fig. 1, elements 20 & 21, paragraph 0020), and
a semiconductor element (Fig. 1, element 3, paragraph 0019) disposed on a first surface of the wiring board;
a case (Fig. 1, element 11, paragraph 0019) having a hollow portion (Fig. 1, portion where the circuit board and semiconductor elements are located) housing the circuit board; and
a first conductive terminal (Fig. 1, left side element 15, paragraph 0026) and a second conductive terminal (Fig. 1, right side element 15, paragraph 0026) attached to the case,
wherein each of the first conductive terminal and the second conductive terminal has an inner connection portion (Fig. 1, elements 15a, paragraph 0032) exposed to the hollow portion of the case, the inner connection portions having a first gap therebetween (Fig. 1, gap between elements 15a), and
each of the first conductive terminal and the second conductive terminal has a discharge portion (Fig. 1, bonding elements S, paragraph 0074 discloses brazing material),
the discharge portions facing each other across a second gap (Fig.1, gape between elements S) and with a gas therebetween (Fig. 1, there is no hermetical seal, therefore, there will be gas), the second gap being narrower than the first gap (Fig. 1), and the discharge portion of the first conductive terminal and the discharge portion of the second conductive terminal protrude to a position away from other members (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue teaches wherein the circuit board has a circuit formed thereon that has a first terminal and a second terminal (Fig. 1, paragraph 0075 discloses source/drain/emitter/collector/control electrode), the first conductive terminal is electrically connected to the first terminal, and the second conductive terminal is electrically connected to the second terminal (paragraph 0075), and the second gap is sized to allow discharge to occur when a potential difference between the first conductive terminal and the second conductive terminal becomes equal to or larger than a potential difference that is set based on an operating voltage of the circuit (This is an intended use recitation. The examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963)).
Regarding claim 5, Inoue teaches wherein the inner connection portion of the first conductive terminal and the inner connection portion of the second conductive terminal are disposed on a same surface of the case, and the discharge portion of the first conductive terminal and the discharge portion of the second conductive terminal face each other in an in-plane direction of said same surface (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue teaches wherein the wiring board further has a second surface (Fig. 1) opposite to the first surface, and the semiconductor device further includes a cooler (Fig. 1, element 10, paragraph 0019) that is disposed at a position facing the second surface of the wiring board and that is thermally connected to the wiring board.
Regarding claim 7, Inoue teaches further comprising a sealing material (Fig. 1, element 16, paragraph 0028) that seals the circuit board in such a way as to allow the discharge portion of the first conductive terminal and the discharge portion of the second conductive terminal protrude to face each other via the gas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada Inoue (US 2020/0205292) in view of Hayashiguchi et al. (US 2016/0294379).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue teaches all of the limitations as discussed above.
Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuit board has an inverter circuit formed thereon that has a first input end and a second input end, the first conductive terminal is connected to the first input end of the inverter circuit, and the second conductive terminal is connected to the second input end of the inverter circuit.
Hayashiguchi et al. teach wherein the circuit board has an inverter circuit (Fig. 3, element 31, paragraph 0044) formed thereon that has a first input end and a second input end (Fig. 3), the first conductive terminal is connected to the first input end of the inverter circuit, and the second conductive terminal is connected to the second input end of the inverter circuit (Figs. 7-9 discloses power supply terminals/output terminal etc, paragraph 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teachings of Inoue according to the teachings of Hayashiguchi et al. with the motivation to provide a switching device having a low impact on a switching performance of a switching element and being capable of improving a short-circuit capacity of the device (paragraph 0006) .
CITATION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20250293118-A1 discloses a wiring board with terminals.
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/SHAHED AHMED/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813