Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 01/22/2026, with respect to ODP rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The ODP rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 for the prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claim as amended recites: “generate a waveform for the scheduling request message, wherein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks”,
Examiner interprets generate a waveform simply as generate a signal. The scheduling request message is HARQ based on the current application. Further, the claim does not define waveform types and how the two types are different. Waveform type is only mentioned a few times in the application, in PP 105 , reproduced below. So waveform types is related to roof Zadoff-Chu sequences, and Han teaches that. Roof Zadoff-Chu sequences is well known in the art for a long time.
The idea behind the claimed invention is when UE transmits on PSFCH on two or mor RBs, then UE can use different waveform types to reduce interference. But the claim is much broader. “[w]herein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type” requires only 1 wave form type. “Based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks” is just one resource block. “Comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks” is simply one resource block, since quantity is not even defined. Therefore the claim language reduces down to generate 1 waveform/signal for HARQ, of 1 waveform type (Root ZC is sufficient), based on 1 RB.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Park US 2020/0099479. Park, Fig. 14, produced below represent the state of art before the effective filing of the current invention and is closest to the current Application.
Current Application is best illustrative by Fig. 23 of the drawings, shown below.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by by Park US 2020/0099479.
For claim 1, Park teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the first UE to: (Park, Fig. 19, element 1900)
receive a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks for transmission of a scheduling request message to a second UE via a physical sidelink feedback channel; (Park, Fig. 14, step 1400, PSFCH or sidelink transmission is between UEs, PP171-177; an HARQ message could be a scheduling request for a NACK – negative acknowledgement is also a request for retransmission; current application, PP16 for example, support this interpretation of HARQ message)
generate a waveform for the scheduling request message, wherein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks, (Park Fig. 14, Step 1410, PP178-180; Also PP120 based on ZC Root) and
transmit, via the physical sidelink feedback channel, the scheduling request message via the indicated one or more resource blocks in accordance with the generated waveform. (Park Fig. 14, Step 1420, PP181-183).
For claim 10, An apparatus for wireless communications at a second user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the second lE to: (Park, Fig. 19, element 1900)
transmit a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks for receipt of a scheduling request message from a first lE via a physical sidelink feedback channel (Park, Fig. 15, Step 1500, PP185-190); and
receive, via the physical sidelink feedback channel, a waveform that corresponds to the scheduling request message via the indicated one or more resource blocks, wherein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks (Park, Fig. 15, Step 1510 and Step 1520, PP192 and 195).
For claim 18, A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving signaling indicating one or more resource blocks for transmission of a scheduling request message to a second UE via a physical sidelink feedback channel (Park, Fig. 14, step 1400, PSFCH or sidelink transmission is between UEs, PP171-177; an HARQ message could be a scheduling request for a NACK – negative acknowledgement is also a request for retransmission; current application, PP16 for example, support this interpretation of HARQ message);
generating a waveform for the scheduling request message, wherein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks (Park Fig. 14, Step 1410, PP178-180; Also PP120 based on ZC Root) and
transmitting, via the physical sidelink feedback channel, the scheduling request message via the indicated one or more resource blocks using the generated waveform (Park Fig. 14, Step 1420, PP181-183).
For claim 22, a method for wireless communications at a second user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks for receipt of a scheduling request message from a first UE via a physical sidelink feedback channel (Park, Fig. 15, Step 1500, PP185-190); and
receiving, via the physical sidelink feedback channel, a waveform that corresponds to the scheduling request message via the one or more resource blocks, wherein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks. (Park, Fig. 15, Step 1510 and Step 1520, PP192 and 195)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US 2020/0099479 in view of Han US 2013/0022019.
Examiner brings in 2ndary reference Han as a backup rejection for the independent claims. Also easier to write up the rejection for the dependent claims.
For claim 1, Park teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the first UE to: (Park, Fig. 19, element 1900)
receive a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks for transmission of a scheduling request message to a second UE via a physical sidelink feedback channel; (Park, Fig. 14, step 1400, PSFCH or sidelink transmission is between UEs, PP171-177; an HARQ message could be a scheduling request for a NACK – negative acknowledgement is also a request for retransmission; current application, PP16 for example, support this interpretation of HARQ message)
generate a waveform for the scheduling request message, wherein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks, (Park Fig. 14, Step 1410, PP178-180; Also PP120 based on ZC Root) and
transmit, via the physical sidelink feedback channel, the scheduling request message via the indicated one or more resource blocks in accordance with the generated waveform. (Park Fig. 14, Step 1420, PP181-183).
Han teaches more detail about Root ZC sequence and Cyclic Shift (Han, Fig. 11, PP 69 to PP102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Park before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Han so that receive a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks, generate a waveform, based at least in part on a quantity of resource blocks of the indicated one or more resource blocks; and via the indicated one or more resource blocks in accordance with the generated waveform be included in an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Han would enable resources to be efficiently allocated. (Han, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0012])
For claim 10, An apparatus for wireless communications at a second user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the second lE to: (Park, Fig. 19, element 1900)
transmit a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks for receipt of a scheduling request message from a first lE via a physical sidelink feedback channel (Park, Fig. 15, Step 1500, PP185-190); and
receive, via the physical sidelink feedback channel, a waveform that corresponds to the scheduling request message via the indicated one or more resource blocks, wherein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks (Park, Fig. 15, Step 1510 and Step 1520, PP192 and 195).
Han teaches more detail about Root ZC sequence and Cyclic Shift (Han, Fig. 11, PP 69 to PP102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Park before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Han so that receive a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks, generate a waveform, based at least in part on a quantity of resource blocks of the indicated one or more resource blocks; and via the indicated one or more resource blocks in accordance with the generated waveform be included in an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Han would enable resources to be efficiently allocated. (Han, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0012])
For claim 18, A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving signaling indicating one or more resource blocks for transmission of a scheduling request message to a second UE via a physical sidelink feedback channel (Park, Fig. 14, step 1400, PSFCH or sidelink transmission is between UEs, PP171-177; an HARQ message could be a scheduling request for a NACK – negative acknowledgement is also a request for retransmission; current application, PP16 for example, support this interpretation of HARQ message);
generating a waveform for the scheduling request message, wherein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks (Park Fig. 14, Step 1410, PP178-180; Also PP120 based on ZC Root) and
transmitting, via the physical sidelink feedback channel, the scheduling request message via the indicated one or more resource blocks using the generated waveform (Park Fig. 14, Step 1420, PP181-183).
Han teaches more detail about Root ZC sequence and Cyclic Shift (Han, Fig. 11, PP 69 to PP102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Park before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Han so that receive a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks, generate a waveform, based at least in part on a quantity of resource blocks of the indicated one or more resource blocks; and via the indicated one or more resource blocks in accordance with the generated waveform be included in an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Han would enable resources to be efficiently allocated. (Han, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0012])
For claim 22, a method for wireless communications at a second user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks for receipt of a scheduling request message from a first UE via a physical sidelink feedback channel (Park, Fig. 15, Step 1500, PP185-190); and
receiving, via the physical sidelink feedback channel, a waveform that corresponds to the scheduling request message via the one or more resource blocks, wherein the waveform is one of a first waveform type or a second waveform type based at least in part on the one or more resource blocks comprising a first quantity of resource blocks or a second quantity of resource blocks. (Park, Fig. 15, Step 1510 and Step 1520, PP192 and 195)
Han teaches more detail about Root ZC sequence and Cyclic Shift (Han, Fig. 11, PP 69 to PP102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Park before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Han so that receive a signal that indicates one or more resource blocks, generate a waveform, based at least in part on a quantity of resource blocks of the indicated one or more resource blocks; and via the indicated one or more resource blocks in accordance with the generated waveform be included in an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Han would enable resources to be efficiently allocated. (Han, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0012])
Regarding Claim 2, The combination Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 1, the first quantity of resource blocks comprising one resource block (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to: determine a first root Zadoff-Chu sequence (Han, paragraph [0075] discloses root Zadoff-Chu sequence) assigned to the second UE for a first slot (Han, Abstract, first slot), the generated waveform (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform) based at least in part on the first root Zadoff-Chu sequence (Han, paragraph [0075] discloses root Zadoff-Chu sequence), a cyclic shift, or both (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift).
Regarding Claims 3 and 20 , The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to:
determine a second root Zadoff-Chu sequence (Han, paragraph [0075] discloses root Zadoff-Chu sequence) assigned to the second UE for a second slot (Han, Abstract, second slot) based at least in part on a pseudo-random number generator (Han, paragraphs [0086], [0093], [0098] disclose pseudo-random sequence generator), a seed value (seed value could be anything. Han, Eq 3, where m=0 is a seed value), an identifier of the second UE , or a combination thereof. (Because the operator “or”, only one limitation is needed)
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 1, the second quantity of resource blocks comprising two or more resource blocks (the claimed second quantity could be interpreted as just a quantity. Because claim 6 depends on claim 1, that recites a first quantity OR a second quantity, examiner choose to reject just one of the two. In other words, it does not distinguish between a first quantity and a second quantity. Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to:
determine a root Zadoff-Chu sequence (Han, paragraph [0075] discloses root Zadoff-Chu sequence) for the two or more resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), the generated waveform (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform) based at least in part on the root Zadoff-Chu sequence (Han, paragraph [0075] discloses root Zadoff-Chu sequence); and
select a cyclic shift (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift) from a set of valid cyclic shifts (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift) for the scheduling request message, the set of valid cyclic shifts (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift) based at least in part on the quantity of resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), one or more channel conditions of the physical sidelink feedback channel (Park teaches PSFCH), or a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Park, and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 1, the first UE comprising a sensor/actuator and the second UE comprising a programmable logic controller (Han, paragraph [0335] programmable logic device (PLDs), controllers), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to:
determine the quantity of resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB) based at least in part on a quantity of sensors/actuators associated with the programmable logic controller (Han, paragraph [0335] programmable logic device (PLDs), controllers), a quantity of additional programmable logic controllers (Han, paragraph [0335] programmable logic device (PLDs), controllers) in coexistence with the programmable logic controller, or a combination thereof (Han, paragraph [0335] programmable logic device (PLDs), controllers).
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to :
receive a message that indicates a quantity of resource blocks of one or more resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), the waveform is generated based at least in part on the message. (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform)
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Park, and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a transceiver, the signal received via the transceiver and the scheduling request message transmitted via the transceiver (Park shows a transmitter and receiver, on Fig 20; Han, Fig. 63, RF Unit).
Regarding Claim 11 and 23, The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 10 and method claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the second UE to
transmit a message that indicates a quantity of resource blocks of the one or more resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), the waveform based at least in part on the message (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform).
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the waveform (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform) is based at least in part on a first root Zadoff-Chu sequence (Han, paragraph [0075] discloses root Zadoff-Chu sequence) assigned to the second UE for a first slot (Han, Abstract, first slot), a cyclic shift, or both (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift).
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 10, the one or more resource blocks comprising two or more resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), wherein, to receive the waveform (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform), the one or more processors are configured to cause the second UE to:
determine a cyclic shift (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift) for the scheduling request message (Adjakple, paragraphs [00143], [00151], and [0164] the scheduling request (SR)), wherein the cyclic shift (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift) is one of a set of valid cyclic shifts (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift) for the scheduling request message (Adjakple, paragraphs [00143], [00151], and [0164] the scheduling request (SR)), the set of valid cyclic shifts (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift) based at least in part on a quantity of the two or more resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), one or more channel conditions of the physical sidelink feedback channel (Adjakple, paragraphs [00151]-[00152] physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH), or a combination thereof, and the waveform (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform) based at least in part on a root Zadoff-Chu sequence (Han, paragraph [0075] discloses root Zadoff-Chu sequence) for the two or more resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB).
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Park, and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 10, the second UE comprising a programmable logic controller (Han, paragraph [0335] programmable logic device (PLDs), controllers), and the first UE comprising a sensor/actuator, (Park, PP97 has a sensor) wherein, to receive the waveform, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second UE to :
receive the waveform (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform) via the quantity of resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), the quantity of resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB) based at least in part on a quantity of sensors/actuators associated with the programmable logic controller (Han, paragraph [0335] programmable logic device (PLDs), controllers), a quantity of additional programmable logic controllers (Han, paragraph [0335] programmable logic device (PLDs), controllers) in coexistence with the programmable logic controller programmable logic controllers (Han, paragraph [0335] programmable logic device (PLDs), controllers), or a combination thereof (Han, paragraph [0335] programmable logic device (PLDs), controllers).
Regarding Claim 17, The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 10, further comprising:
a transceiver, the signal transmitted via the transceiver and the waveform received via the transceiver. (Park shows a transmitter and receiver, on Fig 20; Han, Fig. 63, RF Unit).
Regarding Claim 19, The combination of Park and Han disclose the method of claim 18, the quantity of resource blocks comprising one resource block (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), the method comprising:
determining a first root Zadoff-Chu sequence (Han, paragraph [0075] discloses root Zadoff-Chu sequence) assigned to the second UE, the generated waveform (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform) based at least in part on the first root Zadoff-Chu sequence (Han, paragraph [0075] discloses root Zadoff-Chu sequence), a cyclic shift, or both (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift).
Regarding Claim 24, The combination of Park and Han disclose the method of claim 22, receive a message that indicates a quantity of resource blocks of the one or more resource blocks (Han, Fig. 10, paragraph [0068] discloses resource block (RB), paragraphs [0101], [0113], Fig. 19, [0136], and paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose PRB), the waveform based at least in part on the message (Han, Fig. 29a, paragraph [0159] generate a waveform, Fig. 31, paragraph [0197] generate a waveform).
Claims 4-5, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US 2020/0099479 in view of Han US 2013/0022019, further in view of Adjakple, US 2021/0274545.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Park and Han do not teach generate a plurality of bits for the scheduling request message, the plurality of bits indicative of an amount of data stored in a buffer for transmission to the second UE. But this is a buffer status report or buffer status indicator. This is a well-known concept.
However, in the analogous art, Adjakple teaches generate a plurality of bits for the scheduling request message (Adjakple, paragraphs [00143], [00151], and [0164] the scheduling request (SR)), the plurality of bits indicative of an amount of data stored in a buffer for transmission to the second UE (Adjakple, paragraph [0183] WTRU 102b is a second UE).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the teachings of Park with that of Adjakple. Since Park teaches HARQ, it would be obvious to piggyback additional control signaling, like a buffer status report.
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to: select a cyclic shift (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift), a preamble, or both for …
Park and Han do not teach the scheduling request message to indicate an amount of data stored in a buffer for transmission to the second UE. But this is a buffer status report or buffer status indicator. This is a well-known concept.
However, in the analogous art, Adjakple teaches the scheduling request message to indicate an amount of data stored in a buffer for transmission to the second UE (Adjakple, abstract mentions pending buffer size, sidelink buffer status report).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the teachings of Park with that of Adjakple. Since Park teaches HARQ, it would be obvious to piggyback additional control signaling, like a buffer status report.
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein, to receive the waveform that corresponds to the scheduling request message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second UE to:
receive, via the waveform, a plurality of bits (Park, Fig. 15, Step 1520). Park and Han do not teach for the scheduling request message, the plurality of bits indicative of an amount of data for transmission to the second UE. But this is a buffer status report or buffer status indicator. This is a well-known concept.
However, in the analogous art, Adjakple teaches for the scheduling request message (Adjakple, paragraphs [00143], [00151], and [0164] the scheduling request (SR)), the plurality of bits indicative of an amount of data for transmission to the second UE (Adjakple, paragraph [0183] WTRU 102b is a second UE).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the teachings of Park with that of Adjakple. Since Park teaches HARQ, it would be obvious to piggyback additional control signaling, like a buffer status report.
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Park and Han disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein, to receive the waveform that corresponds to the scheduling request message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second UE to:
determine a cyclic shift (Han, paragraphs [0096], [0099], [0102], Fig. 56, paragraph [0309], and paragraph [0324] disclose cyclic shift), a preamble, or both/
Park and Han do not teach for the scheduling request message, the cyclic shift, the preamble, or both indicative of an amount of data for transmission to the second UE. But this is a buffer status report or buffer status indicator. This is a well-known concept.
However, in the analogous art, Adjakple teaches for the scheduling request message, the cyclic shift, the preamble, or both indicative of an amount of data for transmission to the second UE. (Adjakple, abstract mentions pending buffer size, sidelink buffer status report).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the teachings of Park with that of Adjakple. Since Park teaches HARQ, it would be obvious to piggyback additional control signaling, like a buffer status report.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang, US 2021/0168574, PSFCH and root ZC sequence.
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412