Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 15 and 17 – 20 remain pending.
Claims 1, 6 and 12 are Amended
Claims 5 and 16 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 20, 2026 with respect to claims 1 – 4, 6 – 15 and 17 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment. Applicants argument with respect to the added limitations to the independent claims 1, 6 and 12 are not persuasive because Zheng still teach those limitation as will be apparent in the revised ground of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 11, 12, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. Patent Application Publication No. CN-113570513-A (hereinafter Chen) in view of Zheng Patent Application Publication No. CN-109167915-A (hereinafter Zheng).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an image processing method, comprising: transmitting first image data to an image enhancement chip based on a main control chip (Chen in [0018] discloses about transmitting image and [0021] discloses about image enhancement chip. Chen in [0023] discloses, “In one embodiment, the PQ engine 140 performs image enhancement operations on the input image 131 using an image processing algorithm based on a set of attributes of the input image 131”), processing the first image data according to a target working mode based on the image enhancement chip to obtain second image data (Chen in [0023] discloses, “the PQ engine 140 performs image enhancement operations on the input image 131 using an image processing algorithm based on a set of attributes of the input image 131. Different algorithms may be used for different attributes. For example, one algorithm is used for noise reduction, another algorithm is used for natural scenes, and another algorithm is used for scene types of foods” wherein selecting an algorithm based on attribute equates to target working mode and output image is the second image); and transmitting the second image data to a display screen based on the image enhancement chip (Chen in [0019] discloses, “The output image 141 is transmitted to the display panel 160 to be displayed”); wherein the image enhancement chip has at least two working modes, one working mode corresponding to one image type, and the target working mode is a working mode corresponding to an image type of the first image data among the at least two working modes (Chen in [0023] discloses, “performs image enhancement operations on the input image ... Different algorithms may be used for different attributes. For example, one algorithm is used for noise reduction, another algorithm is used for natural scenes, and another algorithm is used for scene types of foods” wherein using one or different algorithm per attribute or scene equates to using one working mode corresponding to one image type); wherein after the processing the first image data according to a target working mode based on the image enhancement chip to obtain second image data (Chen in [0019] discloses, “The output image 141 is transmitted to the display panel 160 to be displayed”. Furthermore, Chen in [0023] discloses about image enhancement, “the PQ engine 140 performs image enhancement operations on the input image 131 using an image processing algorithm based on a set of attributes of the input image 131”).
Chen doesn’t disclose about the following limitation as further recited in the claim.
Zheng discloses the method further comprises: monitoring, based on the main control chip, whether a target instruction is received, and transmitting the target instruction to the image enhancement chip based on the main control chip in a case that the target instruction is received (Zheng in [0091] discloses, “s310': the image processing chip transmits the enhanced image data back to a central processing chip in an intelligent terminal”); transmitting the second image data to both the display screen and the main control chip based on the image enhancement chip in a case that the image enhancement chip receives the target instruction (Zheng in [0016 – 0017] discloses about s300 sends to the central processing unit whole s400 sends to the display module, “s300: the image processing chip transmits the enhanced image data back to a central processing chip in an intelligent terminal, and the central processing chip records the enhanced image data to a storage device. s400: and the image processing chip sends the enhanced image data to a display module, and the display module displays an enhanced image corresponding to the enhanced image data”) and transmitting the second image data to the display screen based on the image enhancement chip without transmitting the second image data to the main control chip based on the image enhancement chip in a case that the image enhancement chip does not receive the target instruction (Zheng in [0044] discloses, “the image preview data is directly sent to a display screen for display, and is not processed by the CPU, so that the load of the CPU is reduced, and the preview speed is accelerated”; this is read as screen capture instruction as recited in the claim) wherein the target instruction comprises at least one of the following instructions: a shooting instruction, a video recording instruction, or a screen capture instruction (Zheng in [0106] discloses, “the image processing system can also execute corresponding operation flows on applications such as video shooting ... the central processing chip encodes the enhanced image data to form video data and records the video data to the storage device, or the central processing chip”); in response to receiving the second image data based on the main control chip, processing the second image data based on the main control chip to obtain fourth image data; and storing the fourth image data based on a memory in the main control chip (Zheng in [0106] discloses, “the central processing chip encodes the enhanced image data to form video data and records the video data to the storage device, or the central processing chip compresses the enhanced image data to form a compressed image and records the compressed image to the storage device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to integrate the technique of Zheng into the system of Chen because it would improve display output efficiency.
Summary of Citations (Chen)
Paragraph [0018]; “The images to be processed may be captured by the same device or by different sources and then downloaded, streamed (streamed), transmitted or otherwise made available to the device”.
Paragraph [0019]; “The output image 141 is transmitted to the display panel 160 to be displayed”.
Paragraph [0021]; “In some embodiments, the image processing circuit 100 may be implemented in a system on a chip (SoC)”.
Paragraph [0023]; “In one embodiment, the PQ engine 140 performs image enhancement operations on the input image 131 using an image processing algorithm based on a set of attributes of the input image 131. Different algorithms may be used for different attributes. For example, one algorithm is used for noise reduction, another algorithm is used for natural scenes, and another algorithm is used for scene types of foods”.
Summary of Citations (Zheng)
Paragraph [0103]; “The image processing chip integrates the interactive interface data and the enhanced image data through Alphablending, so that the enhanced image is displayed by taking the interactive interface as a display interface, namely an integrated image is displayed. The unified image will be sent to the display module for display by the DPU”.
Paragraph [0016 – 0017]; “s300: the image processing chip transmits the enhanced image data back to a central processing chip in an intelligent terminal, and the central processing chip records the enhanced image data to a storage device. s400: and the image processing chip sends the enhanced image data to a display module, and the display module displays an enhanced image corresponding to the enhanced image data”.
Paragraph [0044]; “the image preview data is directly sent to a display screen for display, and is not processed by the CPU, so that the load of the CPU is reduced, and the preview speed is accelerated”.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen and Zheng as a whole teaches claim 1, and Zheng teaches claim 4 for the same grounds of rejection from the Non-Final Office Action of 04/22/2026.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses about an image processing circuit, comprising a main control chip, an image enhancement chip (Chen in [0020] discloses, “The image processing circuit 100 further comprises a control module 110 which sends control signals (shown in dashed lines) to control and manage training and inference operations on the device ... The hardware 610 may include an Artificial Intelligence (AI) processor 615, which may be an example of the AI processor 180 of fig. 1”), and a display screen (Chen in [0019] discloses, “The output image 141 is transmitted to the display panel 160 to be displayed”), wherein the main control chip is electrically connected to the image enhancement chip, and the image enhancement chip is electrically connected to the display screen (Chen in [0003 – 0004] discloses, “an image processing circuit and an image enhancement method executed by a device ... An image processing circuit includes an attribute recognition engine to identify an attribute from an input image based on a model stored in a memory, an image quality (PQ) engine to enhance the input image based on the attribute identified by the attribute recognition engine to generate an output image for display”); wherein the main control chip is configured to transmit first image data to the image enhancement chip (Chen in [0019] and [0023] in the combination discloses about transmitting first image data to the image enhancement chip); the image enhancement chip is configured to process the first image data according to a target working mode to obtain second image data (Chen in [0023] discloses, “In one embodiment, the PQ engine 140 performs image enhancement operations on the input image 131 using an image processing algorithm”); and the image enhancement chip is further configured to transmit the second image data to the display screen (Chen in [0019] discloses, “The output image 141 is transmitted to the display panel 160 to be displayed”).
Chen doesn’t disclose about the following limitation as further recited in the claim.
Zheng discloses the image enhancement chip has at least two working modes, one working mode corresponding to one image type, and the target working mode is a working mode corresponding to an image type of the first image data among the at least two working modes (Zheng in [0106] discloses, “the image processing system can also execute corresponding operation flows on applications such as video shooting ... the central processing chip encodes the enhanced image data to form video data and records the video data to the storage device, or the central processing chip”; this is read as first move video recording instruction. Zheng in [0044] discloses, “the image preview data is directly sent to a display screen for display, and is not processed by the CPU, so that the load of the CPU is reduced, and the preview speed is accelerated”; this is read as screen capture instruction as recited in the claim.); the main control chip is further configured to, after the image enhancement chip processes the first image data according to the target working mode to obtain the second image data (Zheng in [0103] discloses, “The image processing chip integrates the interactive interface data and the enhanced image data through Alphablending, so that the enhanced image is displayed by taking the interactive interface as a display interface, namely an integrated image is displayed. The unified image will be sent to the display module for display by the DPU”), monitor whether a target instruction is received, and transmit the target instruction to the image enhancement chip in a case that the target instruction is received (Zheng in [0091] discloses, “s310': the image processing chip transmits the enhanced image data back to a central processing chip in an intelligent terminal”); the image enhancement chip is further configured to transmit the second image data to both the display screen and the main control chip in a case that the image enhancement chip receives the target instruction (Zheng in [0016 – 0017] discloses about s300 sends to the central processing unit whole s400 sends to the display module, “s300: the image processing chip transmits the enhanced image data back to a central processing chip in an intelligent terminal, and the central processing chip records the enhanced image data to a storage device. s400: and the image processing chip sends the enhanced image data to a display module, and the display module displays an enhanced image corresponding to the enhanced image data”), and transmit the second image data to the display screen without transmitting the second image data to the main control chip in a case that the image enhancement chip does not receive the target instruction (Zheng in [0044] discloses, “the image preview data is directly sent to a display screen for display, and is not processed by the CPU, so that the load of the CPU is reduced, and the preview speed is accelerated”; this is read as screen capture instruction as recited in the claim), wherein the target instruction comprises at least one of the following instructions: a shooting instruction, a video recording instruction, or a screen capture instruction (Zheng in [0106] discloses, “the image processing system can also execute corresponding operation flows on applications such as video shooting ... the central processing chip encodes the enhanced image data to form video data and records the video data to the storage device, or the central processing chip”); the main control chip is further configured to, in response to receiving the second image data, process the second image data to obtain fourth image data, and store the fourth image data in a memory in the main control chip (Zheng in [0106] discloses, “the central processing chip encodes the enhanced image data to form video data and records the video data to the storage device, or the central processing chip compresses the enhanced image data to form a compressed image and records the compressed image to the storage device”).
Summary of Citations (Chen)
Paragraph [0003 – 0004]; “an image processing circuit and an image enhancement method executed by a device ... An image processing circuit includes an attribute recognition engine to identify an attribute from an input image based on a model stored in a memory, an image quality (PQ) engine to enhance the input image based on the attribute identified by the attribute recognition engine to generate an output image for display”.
Paragraph [0019]; “The image processing circuit 100 comprises an input port 135 for receiving an input image 131 and an output port 145 for providing an output image 141 ... The output image 141 is transmitted to the display panel 160 to be displayed”.
Paragraph [0020]; “The image processing circuit 100 further comprises a control module 110 which sends control signals (shown in dashed lines) to control and manage training and inference operations on the device ... The hardware 610 may include an Artificial Intelligence (AI) processor 615, which may be an example of the AI processor 180 of fig. 1”.
Paragraph [0023]; “In one embodiment, the PQ engine 140 performs image enhancement operations on the input image 131 using an image processing algorithm”.
Summary of Citations (Zheng)
Paragraph [0103]; “The image processing chip integrates the interactive interface data and the enhanced image data through Alphablending, so that the enhanced image is displayed by taking the interactive interface as a display interface, namely an integrated image is displayed. The unified image will be sent to the display module for display by the DPU”.
Paragraph [0016 – 0017]; “s300: the image processing chip transmits the enhanced image data back to a central processing chip in an intelligent terminal, and the central processing chip records the enhanced image data to a storage device. s400: and the image processing chip sends the enhanced image data to a display module, and the display module displays an enhanced image corresponding to the enhanced image data”.
Paragraph [0044]; “the image preview data is directly sent to a display screen for display, and is not processed by the CPU, so that the load of the CPU is reduced, and the preview speed is accelerated”.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses an image processing apparatus, comprising the image processing circuit according to claim 6 (Chen in [0035] discloses, “Method 500 may be performed, for example, by image processing circuit 100 of fig. 1 and/or device 600 of fig. 6”).
Summary of Citations (Chen)
Paragraph [0035]; “Method 500 may be performed, for example, by image processing circuit 100 of fig. 1 and/or device 600 of fig. 6”.
Regarding claim 12, apparatus claim 12 corresponds to method claim 1. Therefore, the
rejection analysis and motivation to combine of claim 1 is applicable to claim 12.
Regarding claim 15, apparatus claim 15 corresponds to method claim 4. Therefore, the
rejection analysis and motivation to combine of claim 4 is applicable to claim 15.
Regarding claims 17, 19 and 20, the combination of Chen and Zheng as a whole teaches claim 1, and Chen teaches claim 17, 19 and 20 for the same grounds of rejection from the Non-Final Office Action of 04/22/2026.
Claim 2, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zheng and further in view of Shih US Patent Application Publication No. US-20210287339-A1 (hereinafter Shih).
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 18, the combination of Chen and Zheng as a whole teaches claim 1 but fails to teach the further limitations as recited in claims 2, 13 and 18. Shih teaches claims 2, 13 and 18 for the same grounds of rejection and motivation established in the Non-Final Office Action of 04/22/2026.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zheng and further in view of Fu Patent Application Publication No. CN-106851275-A (hereinafter Fu).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the combination of Chen and Zheng as a whole teaches claim 1 but fails to teach the further limitations as recited in claims 3 and 14. Fu teaches claims 3 and 14 for the same grounds of rejection and motivation established in the Non-Final Office Action of 04/22/2026.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zheng and Shih and further in view of Liu Patent Application Publication No. WO-2023096728-A1 (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chen and Zheng as a whole teaches claim 7 but fails to teach the further limitations as recited in claim 7. Shih and Liu teaches claim 7 for the same grounds of rejection and motivation established in the Non-Final Office Action of 04/22/2026.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zheng, Shih and Liu further in view of Han Patent Application Publication No. KR-20210085171-A (hereinafter Han) and Xia Patent Application Publication No. CN-112233031-A (hereinafter Xia).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chen, Zheng, Shih and Liu as a whole teaches claim 8 but fails to teach the further limitations as recited in claim 8. Han and Xia teaches claim 8 for the same grounds of rejection and motivation established in the Non-Final Office Action of 04/22/2026.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zheng, Shih, Liu, Han and Xia and further in view of Urabe US Patent Application Publication No. US-20190287450-A1 (hereinafter Urabe).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the combination of Chen, Zheng, Shih, Liu, Han and Xia as a whole teaches claims 9 and 10 but fails to teach the further limitations as recited in claims 9 and 10. Urabe teaches claim 9 and 10 for the same grounds of rejection and motivation established in the Non-Final Office Action of 04/22/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/ZAID MUHAMMAD SALEH/
Examiner, Art Unit 2668
8/13/2026
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668