Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
One or more sections configured to form one or more plugs as in cl. 83.
Unclear from Applicant’s disclosure what the corresponding structure(s) is(are) for the one or more sections of the rotatable screw(s) which provide to form one or more plugs, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 83-102 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As discussed above, “one or more sections configured to form one or more plugs…” as recited in independent claim 83 is treated under 35 USC 112 6th/F as providing an alternative “means for” recitation wherein the recitation provides a generic placeholder of “section” and inadequately recites sufficient structure for accomplishing the recited functionality thereto.
By this, the metes and bounds of the structural constitution of the claimed system of claim 83 (and thus dependent claims thereof) are indefinitely defined.
Paragraph [0094] of Applicant’s pre-grant publication US 2024/0425893 discloses “[t]he screws can be designed with sections to form a high-shear plug P1, which can occur after the addition of water but prior to the addition of steam through the ports 32 and 33…”
This disclosure speaks to process-type recitations in that of the generally offered “can be designed” and concordant with process steps “after the addition of water, but prior to the addition of steam…” and does not offer clear metes and bounds to the actual, structural arrangement that affords the resultant “design” to the claimed “one or more sections configured to form one or more plugs…”
Paragraph [0114] discloses “…that the type of screw elements in sections that produce the plugs, and cut and move the processing materials forward and their placement can have an infinite number of permutations…” that does not provide clear metes and bound as to the structure(s) afforded to “the one or more sections configured to form one or more plugs…” and to the contrary, speaks to the highly indefinite nature thereof by way of prospective “infinite permutations” and being dependent upon process recitations not provided herein the device claims.
Par.[0115] speaks to the screw sections, in an exemplary sense, can include conveying elements and kneading block elements.
This disclosure is exemplary, which is implicitly non-definitive, and does not set forth clear metes and bounds to the structural constituency of the base, general “means for” type recitation in the claims. Clarification is required.
Further, with regard to independent claim 83, the recitation “the direction” lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims and it appears Applicant intends to recite “a direction.”
Claim 93 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of the sought system by the added element of a flash tank are indefinitely defined herein. The further element of the flash tank is not particularly bounded within the system by way of structure and/or function so as to clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the operative embodiment sought. By the specification, it appears that the flash tank is structurally/functionally connected to the discharge valve.
Claim 98 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of “a reverse-flow section” are indefinitely understood. It is unclear what structure(s) constitutes this element, and the disclosure does not provide discussion so as to render the metes and bounds clear (see general discussion found in par.[0421]).
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 83-98, and 100-102 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (US 2012/0214205), hereafter Iida, in view of Friend et al. (US 2009/0053800), hereafter Friend.
Iida discloses a plant biomass pretreatment method and system thereof (abstract). Iida discloses a system for industrial scale pretreatment, as recited in claim 1, (a) comprising a barrel 1 defining an inner chamber and comprising a first inlet port 4 near the first end of the barrel 1 (wherein item 2 designates the overall hopper; see also figs. 1, 35&36, for example), an inner chamber comprising two or more zones (see chamber within the confines of the cylinder/barrel 1 and zones as in at least two in zones 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 figs. 1, 35,36, par.[0071], in which any of such zones may be designated as “a feeder zone” and a “reaction zone,” such as in zone 11 for a “feeder zone” and at least zones 13-14 for a “reaction zone” wherein the feeder zone is upstream of the reaction zone in the direction from the first end to the second end) Further, with regard to claim 1, Iida further discloses (b) twin rotatable screws (as in “one or more rotatable screws…”) configured to move the biomass through the inner chamber of the barrel from the first end to the second end and containing one or more sections configured to form one or more plugs from the biomass to separate the inner chamber of the barrel into two or more zones, including a feeder zone and a reaction zone, given as the kneading disk portions (e.g. disks 54, 56, 58) of the screws (various embodiments thereof described in pars. [0106-0131], figs. 3-9, for example; further, Iida discloses that the kneading discs have a high shearing capability, which is coincident with Applicant’s own disclosure toward the functionality for providing plugs in the biomass in as much as presently understood herein and further coincident with Applicant’s disclosure to kneading blocks). Examiner further notes that the recitation in item (b) to “…wherein the one or more plugs from…” is drawn to a recitation of a prospective workpiece in which one or more plugs are not positive elements of the system, but are drawn back to a capability of the one or more sections discussed above, wherein Ilda provides and the capability to form such plugs, wherein no particular patentable weight is attributed to the prospective elements of the plugs themselves. Further, as in cl. 84, given that Iida discloses commensurately structured and arranged screws, Iida is fully capable of conveying an amount of biomass through the reaction zone in less than about 20 seconds, wherein Examiner notes that the claims are drawn to a device and do not require any particular processing, and further the claims do not require a biomass, nor a particular amount thereof, and clearly the screw section comprising the reaction zone of Iida, in which Ilda provides a drive motor (pars.[0069,0070] can be operated with a given amount of prospective biomass so as to pass therethrough in less than about 20 seconds given the applied speed and amount of biomass passed therethrough. With regard to claim 85, Ilda further discloses a motor configured to rotate the one or more screws (pars.[0069,0070], for example). With regard to claim 86 and 87, Ilda disclose a hopper 2 in fluidic connected to the first inlet port 4 by fluidic communication, and for feeding biomass into the feeder zone, and wherein the hopper 2 includes a sealable port as given by its opening at the upper end that is fully capable of being sealed and fully capable of receiving a liquid (figs. 35, 36, for example). With regard to claims 88 and 89, Iida discloses one or more sealable ports 5 configured to add steam to the reaction zone as claimed, and one or more sealable ports 6 configured to add one or more chemical agents to the reaction zone, wherein the chemical agent comprises an acid, a base, or a combination thereof (pars. [0213,0214], figs. 35&36). With regards to claims 90-92, the recitations to the chemical agents are drawn to intended workpieces not positively provided to the system and that are not attributed patentable weight, wherein Ilda discloses commensurate sealable ports, as claimed, that are fully capable of receiving such agents in as much as recited and required herein. With regard to claim 94, Ilda discloses a twin screw extruder arrangement comprising two rotatable screws (pars.[0067,0069,0213], figs. 35,36). With regard to claim 95, Ilda discloses wherein the one or more rotatable screws comprise a single flight screw with mixing grooves (par.[0212] to utilizing a single screw, and wherein the mixing grooves are shown such as in 317 in fig. 22, par.[0168], for example). With regard to claims 96 and 97, Iida discloses that one or more rotatable screws have a left hand screw profile, as seen by way of a reverse flight 52, and one or more have a right hand screw profile as in a forward flight 50 (par.[0063], for example). With regard to claim 98, as best understood herein, the one or more rotatable screws comprise a reverse-flow section in as much as recited and required herein and given by a section, as in an area of the screw, wherein Ilda discloses reverse flights 52/32 to the screws (pars.[0015,0088,0091], for example).
With regard to claim 83, Iida does not specifically disclose that the discharge port is a pressure actuated discharge valve as recited therein. With regards to claims 100, Iida does not specifically disclose that the discharge valve comprises a poppet valve. With regard to claim 101, Iida does not specifically disclose the pressure actuated valve, is movably seated within a discharge valve opening at the second end of the barrel, and regulates release of a pretreated biomass out of the barrel through the discharge valve opening. With regard to claim 102, Iida does not specifically disclose the barrel further comprises one or more ports comprising a temperature gauge, pressure gauge, or a combination thereof.
With regard to claim 93, Iida does not specifically disclose the system further comprises a flash tank.
Friend discloses a biomass treatment apparatus (abstract). Friend discloses a pressure-actuated valve as a poppet discharge valve comprising a valve shaft 52 that is movably seated [implicit to a poppet valve, and herein being axially movable as seen through figs.3-4 and the noted axial displacement shown)] within a discharge valve opening, and such poppet discharge valve functionally provides to regulate release of a pretreated biomass as claimed (pars. [0076,0077], figs. 1, 3, & 4, for example). Friend further discloses that the actuator is operably to a back pressure control unit, and the control unit is coupled to one more pressure gauges (pars. [0020,0021,0050-0052,0069,0112,0115], figs., for example). Friend further discloses a flash tank 21 operatively connected to the discharge valve in which the biomass passes through the discharge valve and into the flash tank through which a port allows exiting of vapors therefrom that are collected and condensed downstream(par.[0024,0050,0051], fig. 1, for example).
It would have been obvious to modify Iida to include a pressure-actuated valve as a poppet discharge valve comprising a valve shaft, movably seated within a discharge valve opening such as taught by the analogous art of Friend in the likewise field of biomass treatment apparatuses wherein a poppet discharge valve connected to an actuator, and including coupling to back pressure control unit coupled to one or more pressure gauges provides an obvious alternative type of outlet, in which Iida provides a discharge outlet 3 with an end flange plate of the barrel (fig. 1, 35,36, for example), wherein such pressure-actuated valve allows for particular, selective, continuous discharge of the biomass while avoiding back-ups. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a flash tank to the system such as suggested by the analogous art of Friend so as to provide a suitable containment means for the biomass and which affords phase separation by venting and collector vapors therefrom at another location.
Claim(s) 99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida in view of Friend as applied to claims 83-98, and 100-102 above, and further in view of Dunn et al. (US 2006/0165973), hereafter Dunn.
Iida/Dunn does not specifically disclose that the one or more rotatable screws comprise surface coatings to reduce wear and abrasion.
Dunn discloses process equipment wear surfaces of extended resistance (abstract). Dunn discloses applying to the process equipment wear surface a metal matrix coating filled with superabrasive particles that prevent against wear of the wear surface [the piece of process equipment that is subject to the abrasion, corrosion, etc…by action of the flowable filler, such as in cellulosic or biomass material], and wherein this/these wear surfaces include wear surfaces of the extrusion equipment (pars.[0022-0024,0028,0029,0066], figs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida/Dunn to provide the one or more rotatable screws with surface coating to reduce wear and abrasion such as suggested by the analogous art of Dunn to compounding and extrusion equipment for processing cellulosic, biomass-type materials in which providing a coating thereto in superabrasive material affords a longer usable life and enhanced protection to the equipment that is to undergo abrasive, corrosive and erosive stresses during operation.
Conclusion
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798