DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Cun et al. (2022/0122394).
Regarding applicant claim 1, Cun et al. discloses a computer system for handling a request to unlock a charge inlet of a vehicle, wherein the computer system comprises processing circuitry configured to ([0046] “vehicle computing device”):
obtain a request to unlock the charge inlet ([0043] “user authentication is utilized to authenticate the owner/operator of the EV to disable the locking mechanism to unlock the charging port from the charging inlet”; [0044] “one or more user interfaces”);
when the request has been received, compare a current condition of the vehicle with a target condition of the vehicle, wherein the current condition comprises a current position of the vehicle and the target condition comprises a target position of the vehicle ([0049] “the charging bay and/or the EVSE that is located within a predetermined distance of the EV”);
determine to grant the request to unlock the charge inlet when a result of the comparing indicates that the target condition is met; and to trigger unlocking of the charge inlet when the request has been granted ([0050] “upon receipt of the image data, the smart lock application may be configured to execute image logic”; [0058] user credentials may be utilized to enable locking or unlocking of the locking mechanism of the charging port based on the determination”).
Regarding applicant claim 2, Cun et al. discloses wherein the current condition further comprises a current State of Charge (SOC) of the vehicle and the target condition further comprises a target SOC of the vehicle; and/or wherein the current condition further comprises a current time and the target condition further comprises a target time; and/or wherein the current condition further comprises a current charging status and the target condition further comprises a target charging status; and/or wherein the current condition further comprises a current remaining range and the target condition further comprises a target remaining range ([0027]; [0081]-[0082] “state of charge… the EV has reached a full state of charge, the charge lock module may send an unlock command to the EVSE”).
Regarding applicant claim 3, Cun et al. discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine to deny the request to unlock the charge inlet when a result of the comparing indicates that the target condition is not met ([0094] “locking the charging port to the EV to disallow decoupling of the charging port from the EV by an unauthorized individual”).
Regarding applicant claim 4, Cun et al. discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: provide a confirmation of the unlocked charge inlet to a User Equipment (UE) ([0059] “allow the locking mechanism to be disabled upon determining that an authorized user is attempting to unlock and remove the charging port from the EV” [0064] “alert presentation module”; [0080]; [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding applicant claim 5, Cun et al. discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: provide information indicating the denial of the request to a User Equipment (UE) ([0064] “alert presentation module”; [0080]; [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding applicant claim 6, Cun et al. discloses wherein the request to unlock the charge inlet is obtained from a charging stop button of the vehicle ([0063] “smart lock applications may include one or more user input interfaces and/or input means e.g. buttons”).
Regarding applicant claim 7, Cun et al. discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain information indicating the target condition ([0045] “provide one or more user interfaces… user information”; [0081]-[0082] “state of charge”).
Regarding applicant claim 8, Cun et al. discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: provide an acknowledgement of that the information indicating the target condition has been obtained ([0081]-[0082] “state of charge… EV has reached a full state of charge”).
Regarding applicant claim 9, Cun et al. discloses wherein the vehicle is at least partly electrically driven or at least partly fuel cell driven (title, abstract, throughout reference, “electric vehicle”).
Regarding applicant claim 10, Cun et al. discloses a vehicle comprising a computer system of claim 1 and a charge inlet (title, abstract, throughout reference, “electric vehicle”).
Regarding applicant claim 11, Cun et al. discloses a computer-implemented method for handling a request to unlock a charge inlet of a vehicle ([0046] “vehicle computing device”) wherein the method comprises:
obtain a request to unlock the charge inlet ([0043] “user authentication is utilized to authenticate the owner/operator of the EV to disable the locking mechanism to unlock the charging port from the charging inlet”; [0044] “one or more user interfaces”);
when the request has been received, compare a current condition of the vehicle with a target condition of the vehicle, wherein the current condition comprises a current position of the vehicle and the target condition comprises a target position of the vehicle ([0049] “the charging bay and/or the EVSE that is located within a predetermined distance of the EV”);
determine to grant the request to unlock the charge inlet when a result of the comparing indicates that the target condition is met; and to trigger unlocking of the charge inlet when the request has been granted ([0050] “upon receipt of the image data, the smart lock application may be configured to execute image logic”; [0058] user credentials may be utilized to enable locking or unlocking of the locking mechanism of the charging port based on the determination”).
Regarding applicant claim 12, Cun et al. discloses wherein the current condition further comprises a current State of Charge (SOC) of the vehicle and the target condition further comprises a target SOC of the vehicle; and/or wherein the current condition further comprises a current time and the target condition further comprises a target time; and/or wherein the current condition further comprises a current charging status and the target condition further comprises a target charging status; and/or wherein the current condition further comprises a current remaining range and the target condition further comprises a target remaining range ([0027]; [0081]-[0082] “state of charge… the EV has reached a full state of charge, the charge lock module may send an unlock command to the EVSE”).
Regarding applicant claim 13, Cun et al. discloses further comprising: determining, by the processing circuitry, to deny the request to unlock the charge inlet when a result of the comparing indicates that the target condition is not met ([0094] “locking the charging port to the EV to disallow decoupling of the charging port from the EV by an unauthorized individual”).
Regarding applicant claim 14, Cun et al. discloses a computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by a processing circuitry, the method of claim 11 ([0046] “vehicle computing device”) .
Regarding applicant claim 15, Cun et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by a processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 11 ([0046] “vehicle computing device”).
/W.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661