DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species II, FIG. 5 and claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 05/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/228,511, filed on August 04, 2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 06/27/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim should end with a period, not a comma.
Claims 2-12 are objected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohkubo et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2016/0351316 A1, hereinafter “Ohkubo”).
With respect to claim 1, Ohkubo teaches a coil component 1 (Figs. 1-6) comprising:
a body part 10 including a magnetic material;
a coil part 13 and 11 disposed in the body part; and
an electrode part 30A and or 30B disposed on the body part,
wherein the coil part includes:
a supporting member 11,
a coil conductor 14 disposed on at least one surface (upper and or lower surface) of the supporting member and having a conductor pattern 14A of a planar coil shape, and
an insulating film 18, 40 and 41 filling a space surrounded by the conductor pattern, and covering outermost side surfaces (peripheral surfaces) and top surface (upper surface) of the conductor pattern,
wherein the space surrounded by the conductor pattern has no magnetic material therein, and wherein H2/W2 is between 10 and 25, where H2 is a height of the insulating film and W2 is a width of the insulating film (paras. [0029], [0038], [0040] and [0046]).[[,]]
With respect to claim 2, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein
H2 is 220 µm or more and 250 µm or less (para. [0040]).
With respect to claim 3, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein
H1/W1 is between 3 and 9, where H1 is a height of the conductor pattern and W1 is a width of the conductor pattern (para. [0040]).
With respect to claim 4, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 3, wherein
H1 is 200 µm or more and 260 µm or less (para. [0040]).
With respect to claim 5, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the conductor pattern has a side surface which is in contact with the insulating wall (para. [0038]).
With respect to claim 6, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 5, wherein the insulating film extends to be in contact with at least one surface of the supporting member, and
thickness of the insulating film in contact with the side surface of the conductor pattern is substantially same as thickness of the insulating film in contact with the supporting member (para. [0040]).
With respect to claim 7, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the conductor pattern includes a plurality of turns,
the insulating film fills spaces between adjacent turns of the plurality of turns, respectively, and
the spaces between adjacent turns of the plurality of turns have no magnetic material therein (para. [0040]).
With respect to claim 8, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the conductor pattern includes
a seed layer 14a disposed on a surface of the supporting member, and
a plating layer 14b formed on the seed layer (para. [0038]).
With respect to claim 9, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the supporting member includes a glass fiber and an insulating resin (para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 10, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 3, wherein the coil part includes
the supporting member 11,
a first coil conductor (coil conductor 14 on upper side of the supporting member) disposed on a first surface of the supporting member and having a first conductor pattern 14A of a planar coil shape,
a second coil conductor (coil conductor 14 on lower side of the supporting member) disposed on a second surface of the supporting member opposing the first surface thereof and having a second conductor pattern 14A of a planar coil shape,
a first insulating film 18, 40 and 41 filling a space surrounded by the first conductor pattern, and covering outermost side surface and top surface of the first conductor pattern,
a second insulating film 18, 40 and 41 filling a space surrounded by the second conductor pattern, and covering outermost side surface and top surface of the second conductor pattern,
H11/W11 is between 3 to 9, where H11 is a height of the first conductor pattern and W11 is a width of the first conductor pattern, and
H12/W12 is between 3 to 9, where H12 is a height of the second conductor pattern and W12 is a width of the second conductor pattern (paras. [0032], [0038] and [0040]).
With respect to claim 11, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 10, wherein the coil part further includes a through via (“via” para. [0035]) penetrating through the supporting member and connecting the first and second coil conductors (para. [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkubo, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Nakamura et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2015/0035634 A1, hereinafter “Nakamura”).
With respect to claim 12, Ohkubo teaches the coil component of claim 1. Ohkubo does not expressly teach the insulating film includes at least one selected from the group consisting of an epoxy resin, a polyimide resin, and a liquid crystal crystalline polymer resin.
Nakamura teaches a coil component 1 (FIGs. 1A-2), wherein the insulating film 41 includes at least one selected from the group consisting of an epoxy resin, a polyimide resin, and a liquid crystal crystalline polymer resin (para. [0053]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have use epoxy resin wall as taught by Nakamura to the coil component of Ohkubo to provide the desired bonding characteristics to meet design requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837